Salt Springs Brewery
Salt Springs Brewery offers lovingly crafted & locally sourced food, true-to-style ales, wine & cider. Located in the heart of Saline, complete with an outdoor Biergarten and main dining room filled with the original stained from 1899, Salt Springs Brewery will quench your thirst and nourish your soul."
PLEASE TAKE NOTE : Our Kitchen closes 30 minutes prior to our stated closing time for that day. Last call for drinks is our stated closing time for that day.
Getting seated was ridiculous.. would not seat us because we were 4 minutes early then waited an additional 10 minutes. Slow service and food was not worth the cost.
Food was very slow to come out. We waited over an hour. Our waitress comped 15$ off our bill because of the wait, but it still makes it very hard when you’re dining with toddlers. The Michigan Summer Salad was delicious as were the truffle fries. Everything else we had was just okay.
We had brunch outside. The food was very good and the atmosphere very relaxing.
We could make a habit of Sunday brunch!
Hospitality was incomparable! We had a wonderful experience, and will recommend Salt Springs Brewery. So glad to have such an enjoyable place to go in such close proximity to where we live. Food was excellent and the service both at the bar (drinks and apps) and at our table was exceptional.
Cool location beer was good food was terrible. Wife had a steak that had a very burnt taste to it, pork sandwich was so bad couldn’t eat it!
Was there on a busy Friday night, great food, great beer, the kitchen is small, so don’t expect super fast service, but it is so worth the wait, great atmosphere to sit back, relax, enjoy each other’s company
Absolutely one of my favorite restaurants in the area!
Salt is always such a beautiful location! The stained glass and openness of the venue is wonderful. I love the benches as opposed to the chairs but all are comfortable.
It IS noisy at times, but the food is always fresh and delicious. It’s also not your usual American restaurant. They have schnitzel sometimes, burgers, but also smoked chicken, delicious mussels, and just some really varied mess on their small menu. My husband and father enjoy the beers, though I don’t personally drink beer so no personal experience with them.
Service is usually quick and always friendly. Once in while (I DO mean rarely) they get busy or the food is held up. Anyone who has ever had such a think happen here, it’s a bad coincidence. We’ve been eating here for years - probably a few hundred times and maybe twice an exception is occurred. That’s a very good batting average for any restaurant.
Salt Springs was amazing. We drove an hour to get there and it was worth it. Beer was some of the best we’ve had in the area and the food was great. Try the smoked wings. They were fantastic. Also it’s in an old church so the inside is beautiful. Great server too. We will definitely be back.
Thank you for sharing such a great review of Salt Springs! We're so happy that you enjoyed your visit, our scratch made food, and craft beer. We work very hard to make sure our guests are well taken care of. We are blessed to have such a beautiful building as our venue. It is a work of art and a dedication to human craftsmanship. Please come visit again soon. Cheers!
Fun place with great atmosphere. Food might be a little pricey, but good.
Hi Dave,, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Our food does cost a bit more that one might expect, but it's all scratch made. Nothing at Salt Springs comes frozen out of a big box or a huge plastic jug. All of our sauces and dressing are house-made fresh! We source food as locally as possible so that we can support other local businesses. We're glad you enjoyed your meal and could taste the difference. See you soon. Cheers!
Eating outdoors was a pleasure as the weather was nice and the acoustics inside make conversations a challenge. The food was good. One person ordered the beetle salad which was huge but served on a skinny rectangle plate, making it difficult to eat without spilling on the table. Had to ask for a big salad bowl which was perfect and how it should be served. There was no wine available except a Reisling. Nothing else could be served due to a labeling issue. Sounded odd. It was a birthday celebration and couldn't even get a glass of Prosecco. Lemonade and tea were very weak. Our server Adam was very attentive and did his best.
Probably won't eat there again for a while.
Hi Jan,, thank you for visiting Salt Springs and taking the time to share your visit with others. We're glad you enjoyed your visit on the patio and I have passed along your comments on the beet salad to our Head Chef. Unfortunately we were not able to sell any wine during your visit due to an issue with our suppliers labeling. We've been cleared to sell our wines so there will not be an issue when you visit again. As for Prosecca, we are only able to sell Michigan wines. Please try us again.
The evening started out bad, I had checked the website to see if they serve wine since I don’t drink beer. Unfortunately when we got there we were told they do not serve wine they had no wine other than a very sweet one leftover from brunch.
We ordered the muscles as an appetizer Patrick the server told us they were out of muscles. I order a cheeseburger with no special sauce, it came with the sauce so it had to be redone, when it arrived it have no cheese ask for a few slices of cheese they brought me a cup with shredded cheese which of course didn’t melt
All in all my husband enjoy the beer but we will not be returning, sorry that our server Patrick never told the manager all the problems we were having at our table it would have been nice for someone to stop by
Hello Foodie, thank you for sharing your experience. As the owner I work very hard to make sure that our guests are well taken care of. The difficulties you experienced should have been brought to the attention of a manager immediately! I will be speaking with Patrick about this as he had direct oversight of your visit and we could have addressed this in person. The labeling problem with our supplier has been resolved. Please ask for Ron so I can visit and treat you to a glass or two of wine.
6 of us went there for dinner last Saturday evening. Appetizers were great and the meals- Ahi Tuna, Pizzas, Pork Snitzel, Pork Chop dinners were all great. One of the things that we couldn’t understand is they didn’t have any wine? She said they didn’t get their shipment in?? Some people don’t drink beer and it’s hard to understand that the managers didn’t plan ahead and run out to the grocery store and buy some wine for the guests??
Hi Paul, the lack of wine was due to a labeling issue from our supplier on their end, not our lack of planning. I apologize that this wasn't explained better during your visit. Our license only allows for Michigan wines, packaged specifically for us to be sold so a trip to the grocery store was not possible. Everything has been resolved so please visit again and enjoy your favorite wines. Thank you for the kid words about the scratch made food we make. We appreciate you. Cheers!
The food and service were great. It’s a beautiful venue. Two things might keep me from returning. They don’t appear to be single-diner friendly. The man in front of us requester a table. He didn’t want to sit at the bar. There were 15 empty tables at the time with at least four two tops open. The host wouldn’t give the table up saying they’d all been spoken for. They must have had a lot of no-shows. We left 80 minutes later and the same two tops were open. Second, we’d made reservations in advance. It was 95 degrees outside and they put us upstairs “selling” it was cooler. It was not...again...a lot of open tables when we arrived and left. Just a couple of service missteps that could so easily have been avoided.
Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us. The night you joined us was one of the hottest on record, so staying "cool" inside a 120 year old building can be a challenge. I'm not sure why the lone gentlemen would not have been seated and I've made a point to everyone on my staff that the lone diner is just as important as the group of 10. Every guest at Salt Springs deserves the same great service and hospitality. Thank you again for sharing and helping us fine tune what we do.
Beers and food are great. Problem we had was it took an hour for our food to come out. So don’t plan on a quick meal here, but rather sit back and enjoy a beer (or two). When the food did arrive it was delicious
In response to Salt Springs comment on my review:
I didn’t really want to get into this because we do enjoy your restaurant, but since you brought it up, it took over an hour for us to get our food but 2 different tables next to us arrived later than us and were served earlier than us. We saw a pulled pork sandwich that sat under the heater for literally (and my husband timed this) 25 minutes. Luckily it was served to someone else. Even though it was a Saturday half the tables were empty when we arrived.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the compliments regarding our food and drinks. I see you were in on a Saturday and unfortunately, when we get busy, tickets timescan take longer that even we would like. Everything we make is scratch made, to order. We could cook faster if we unloaded food from a freezer or big bags, but Salt Springs prides itself on quality. We're glad you did enjoy everything when it arrived as it was most certainly fresh. Thank you again.
We have been to Salt Springs Brewery about 10 times now and have bragged about the restaurant to many of our friends. Usually, the value is exceptional! Today missed the mark unfortunately. I ordered the Ribeye Steak,fingerling potatoes and broccolini. The ribeye steak was less than 1/4 inch thick, over-cooked to a medium well- well steak when asked for a more of a medium rare. I would expect this steak to be at IHOP for $7.99. The fingerling potatoes were not what they claimed to be. They were dry as —— and bigger than true fingerling potatoes. The broccolini was over broiled (with black on top to raw on the stalk. The steak meal was way overpriced. It was a $26 dollar plate. I would have expected a thicker cut of ribeye, true fingerling potatoes that were not dry, and broccolini cooked to perfection by being steamed. It was a disappointing trip. Sincerely, Natalia Litkewycz
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so sorry you were served such an inferior meal. You mentioned having dined with us 10 times before without exception which is wonderful, thank you! Did you make your server aware of these issues? We will always fix a problem if we're made aware of it while you are with us. I refuse to see a guest be served or pay for something that is not us to your expectations. Please ask for Ron the next time you visit so I can make things right.
First time here and I was impressed! I made reservations for a group of ladies and we sat in a special room off the main dining room and our waiter, Dan, was excellent. The food was very good and everyone enjoyed their meal. None of us are beer drinkers, but we enjoyed tea, soft drinks and sparkling rose. I had the reuben sandwich and it was one of the best I've ever had. The atmosphere is unique with the stained glass windows and lovely ambiance. I will definitely go back.
Linda, Thank you so much for the kind words. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the great scratch food and craft beer we make at Salt Springs. As others read the many reviews here, they will see a mixture of a poor experience mixed in with one as glowing as yours. Truth be told, we serve thousands of guests each week. We will no doubt lay an egg for a few of them. Nobody is perfect, but we do work so very hard to make each guest experience exceptional. Thank you again for sharing that fact. Cheers!
We sat outside on the patio on a beautiful summer day. My friend and I enjoyed the atmosphere while eating a delicious Brunch meal. Our server was friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.
We looked forward to visiting here for the past month, so we were a bit disappointed when all was said and done. The dude waiting on us has no business being a server. He forgot our drink order and reorder several times, which is ironic considering it is after all a brewery. He also forgot to put our food order into the kitchen which resulted in one entree being sold out and having to choose another option. We also waited over an hour for our food which is just not acceptable. The manager comped us 1 round of drinks, which was not enough considering 1 person in our party of 4 did not want another round. The food was okay-- not horrible but not gourmet quality. A bit high priced for the value. The beer was good. The wine was good. The ambiance was cool and for that reason only we would try it again. Perhaps they had an off night.
Salt Springs Brewery, housed in a former church, offers a variety of dishes, freshly made. The pork loin schnitzel was a favorite, with a horseradish sauce, German potato salad, and sauerkraut. The Hawaiian pizza special, with fresh pineapple and ham, was enjoyed--and completely consumed--by one of our party. Others ordered the homemade macaroni and cheese, and Michigan grilled chicken sandwiches. We'll be back again.
Stopped on our way back to Cleveland and we were pleasantly surprised. The brewery sits in a church with beautiful stained glass windows which made for a very nice environment. The beer was good, I had the blood orange Hefeweizen and it was crisp and summery. The food was fantastic. A little pricey for bar food but it’s definitely elevated bar food. We started with the cheese bread which came with an amazing ranch sauce. We also indulged in the poutine which was cheesy deliciousness. For our entrees I had the macaroni and cheese (I added pulled pork and barbecue sauce which made it that much more delicious) and my boyfriend had the burger which he said was a good one. Overall good experience, cool location and in a charming little town.
Friday night. Had requested an outside table but due to air quality sat inside instead. Inside is interesting/cool as the restaurant is a converted church but tables are very close together and it’s too noisy and chaotic. Our waitress was very nice and very good, always on top of our meal. My dinner partner and I both had sandwiches which were excellent. The beer menu is good as were our beers. Overall a good experience although I’d prefer a quieter atmosphere.
Great food, Great beer, fun time
Great beer and even better creative food. The setting was fun and the waitress was friendly and very informative for both the beers and food. I never thought Brussels sprouts could taste so good and plan to get then again.
Everything was great, including the beer! The menu could use a few more items, but it was fine for beer centered restaurant.
Excellent as always. They ran out of the special I ordered. Owner came over, of course apologized, and and I ordered something else. He also offered and payed for one of my beers. Great customer service, food, and atmosphere will keep us coming back.
A lovely evening at what has come to be one of our favorite go-to places! Brews, food, service and ambiance were just right.
Great place for a Father’s Day dinner!
The beer was really good and the owner came to our table, introduced himself and chatted for a bit.
We will definitely come back!
The tempeh Ruben was exceptional!!’
We love this place. It is beautiful, has great ambiance, friendly knowledgeable staff, and amazing high quality beer and food options.
Father’s Day with kids- excellent service and good food!
I visit once a month at least. This past weekend the service and food really suffered I think because of a private event being held at the time. Eggs and beef were over cooked; potatoes had cooled off; salads missing showcase seasonal ingredient; at least one menu item not available. The waiter tried to fix what he could, but they were struggling to keep up with regular service. Cooled off french fries has been a regular occurrence the past 3-4 times I have visited though.
I would rate this lovely restaurant 4.5 stars out of 5. The food was AMAZING, but be prepared to pack your patience. The kitchen is right out in the open and from what I could tell, seems undersized and understaffed. BUT...we will be back. Our entrees were all delicious!! I had the smoked chicken sandwich, my daughter the Cuban, and my husband had the Mac n Cheese with pulled pork. All 3 meals were wonderful. Order the fries.
The only complaint is that the kitchen was backed up and it took a VERY long time for the main courses to come out. However, our waiter was FANTASTIC!
Get a reservation. Not walk-in friendly. Long waits with open tables.
Food, service and parking where all top notch. As it is in an old church there is a lot of noise and they place was only about 1/3 full. Not sure I would like the noise level on a busy night.
Loved everything about this place.. such a fun location. The food was amazing and good beer too!
Good food, good service. Downstairs is bustling and has a fun atmosphere (upstairs is kind of bland).
Food ok, took forever on a non busy night at non peak times. Took over 14 minutes just to talk to hostess and be seated. Thankful we had the foresight to make a reservation and were early. Tables are far too close together, constantly had to adjust to make room for wait ataff and for the other table to exit.
Don’t go on a holiday! This restaurant has amazing food and good beer. Unfortunately on Mother’s Day this year they were disorganized, service was slow and the food was not up to the excellent standard it usually is. I had just visited the Wednesday before Mother’s Day and everything was at the top of their game. So lesson learned, this is a great restaurant, one of my favorite but stay away on Holidays.
Great Mother’s Day brunch, so accommodating. Delicious food and great service in an awesome atmosphere.