Salt + Marrow Kitchen

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
203 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Salt & Marrow Kitchen is home to the first, and only, Grillworks in the Augusta area. Praised by James Beard and noted chefs throughout the country, the American artisanal wood-fired grill with signature cast aluminum crankwheels will allow the culinary team to adjust the height of the cooking surface. Salt & Marrow Kitchen will be open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch. Special events, are offered throughout the year. Salt+Marrow Kitchen is the Crowne Plaza North Augusta’s signature restaurant, located on the first floor of the hotel with a street entrance for local guests and views of SRP Park, home of the Augusta Green Jackets, and Riverside Village.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 203 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
VP
VincetteP
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food1service2ambience4

Waited 1 hour for spinach dip,only received maybe 10 crackers...Shrimp and grits were runny

KH
KimberlyH
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was an open usual. The steak was cooked to perfection. The vegetables were fresh and crisp.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

They did a great job 👌🏼

j
jeanineb
1 review
Dined on May 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love everything.Its the most prettiest view in the csra. The wine and food was superb

BR
BarbaraR
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed a great dinner, great service and a great view!

JA
JoseA
1 review
Dined on May 15, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience5

The rooftop dining experience was excellent! The only drawback was the food was a little bland. Thoroughly cooked, but that’s about it. I had the chicken, collard greens, and Mac n cheese.

DC
DeanC
1 review
Dined on March 14, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience3

My Wife and I went to Salt + Marrow on the Saturday that the Nation was declared a state of National Emergency. The restaurant was mostly empty when we arrived but it took us almost two hours to get our food and when we did get it it wasn't exactly what we ordered. Our server was very kind and even gave us extra alcoholic beverages to ease our wait time. That does help. overall I would give them another chance but I would wait a while before I do that.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on March 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great experience and nice location. My wife and I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Would definitely go again.

E
Eatitup
Hawaii
11 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

This place has a small menu but the items we ordered were delicious. My only complaint is that the portions are small for the price but it’s the perfect size for a date night.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

I was seated quickly the hostess was very Pleasant and my server Paeton was very prompt and attentive.

MD
MikeD
1 review
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service .............................

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on March 1, 2020

Thank you MikeD!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Tampa
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall3food4service1ambience4

The food was very good. The service was totally inappropriate for a restaurant of this level. She either had no training or simply didn’t care. And every time we needed something, she was on her phone.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

Hello, we would like to extend to you our most sincere apologies regarding the recent issues with your visit at the Salt & Marrow Kitchen Restaurant. We have a high standard of quality customer service and your experience should never have been an exception. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you would be willing to talk further please call Food & Beverage Director, Dani Kraemer at 803-349-8401. Thank you and have a wonderful day. 

Report
RA
RussA
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The best PRIME sirloin I have ever had. You’re going to think it a filet. Great food, great experience.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 20, 2020

RussA- Thank you for the five stars! We're thrilled to hear both food and service were on point during your recent visit to the Salt we look forward to seeing you back again soon. 

Report
DH
DavidH
Savannah
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Beautiful atmosphere and wonderful food. We had a great time eating dinner. Can't wait to return for another great dinner.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on March 2, 2020

DavidH, Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to your return!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent service and very friendly. The Manager made sure to stop by everyone’s table and make sure their food was prepared to their liking. Definitely going back

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

We really appreciate the time you took out of your day to leave us your feedback. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was absolutely amazing! My boyfriend and I are steak fanatics and when I tell you..it melts in your mouth like butter!

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

We will definitely let our Chef and culinary team know about your feedback! The Salt & Marrow team utilizes on the only Wood-Fire Grillworks system found in the CSRA. Ultimately creating steaks cooked to perfection. Thank you so much! Please come again!

Report
RB
RayB
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience5

Dining experience was not as good as all the hype about the food and service. Service was slow our table was spinning and wobbly we had to ask for another table and was wobbly as well. The food was just ok not worth the $119.00 for two

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

RayB- Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. First and foremost, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you during your dining experience. We are discouraged to hear of your negative experience. Above all else, providing excellent customer service is our main goal. Given the opportunity, we to be able to make things right. Please contact us at 803-349-8401 and ask to speak with Dani Kraemer, F&B Director.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Valentine’s Day w/ my husband and my best friend and her husband. Great night!

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! Please keep us in mind when celebrating your future special occasions. We hope to see you all again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Well, honestly, it's a hotel restaurant that seems to be arriving for luxury dining. I dunno. Maybe it was an off night. But they weren't very busy but food took nearly an hour. We sat at the table for at least 10 min before a server came. They got my drink order wrong the first round and when it did come, my bloody Mary tasted like the base was made from cocktail sauce. Not good. BUT the server did swap it out for an Amaretto sour at no charge. So that was nice. Frankly, it did not FEEL like high end dining for date night but it cost like high end dining. I feel we can blame SRP Park for that and it's proximity to Hammond's Ferry... those poor people in their, now, very crowded neighborhood.
But hey, the roof top bar was nice. Just go there instead.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

We appreciate you giving us your feedback, but we're sorry if your meals didn't live up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our attentive service, and it's disappointing if it seemed like we dropped the ball when you stopped by. We'd like to look into things more. Please give us a call at your earliest convenience at 803-349-8401 and ask to speak with our Food & Beverage Director, Dani Kraemer. Thank you and we hope to hear from you very soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
5 reviews
Dined on February 13, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Overall, I truly enjoy the experience. Great atmosphere with even greater service. Meals were appropriately priced. I had the pork tomahawk, which was cooked beautifully. My only complaint is that the sweet potatoes, I felt, were over whipped and the kale could’ve been slightly cooked instead of being served raw. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

We appreciate your feedback! We will definitely let the Chef and culinary team know. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit to the Salt & Marrow Kitchen.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 11, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Service was good

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

Thank you for leaving us your review! We are so glad to hear that the service was good, it is our priority to present exceptional service to elevate all of our guests' experiences. We hope that you decided to stop by again soon.

Report
R
Reid
Atlanta
29 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience4

They seemed a bit shorthanded in the front of house, but the service was friendly and everything was paced out well.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 9, 2020

Hello Reid, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We apologize for being short staffed that evening and any inconvenience this may have caused you during your dining experience. We will also be reviewing our processes to make sure this does not happen to anyone else. Thank you.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Charleston
75 reviews
Dined on January 28, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The fish and grits is very good. The service was outstanding! Overall a little pricey but good.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 31, 2020

Hello, we're so happy that we could provide you with outstanding service. The Fish and Grits is one of our popular dishes and we are glad to hear you thought they were very good too. Thank you for dining at the Salt and Marrow Kitchen. We really appreciate the support!

Report
A
vipAnita
Orlando
25 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2020
Overall1food2service3ambience1

First Time and Last Time. We went to Salt and Marrow for lunch on Sunday. The only other party in the place should have been the clue. They sat us out in the lobby and not the restaurant even though no one was inside. The shrimp and grits were sent back as they were not as advertised just grits with gravy and shrimp thrown in, not tasso!. One server with a dirty shirt and attitude and mediocre service. This should be better considering it is in a nice hotel and North Augusta!

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 31, 2020

Anita-- Sorry to hear you had a less than amazing experience with us. Please give us a call at 803-349-8401 in order for us to get your contact information and someone will be in contact with you shortly to discuss our error. We normally do seat guests in our Parlor Bar area for lunch service. We strive to do our best at the Salt and Marrow Kitchen and we'd like to have the opportunity to make it up to you as soon as possible.

Report
e
vipebvinga
Atlanta
30 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Staff were friendly, not well trained or informed about menu or the availability of menu items.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 31, 2020

ebvinga-- we are so sorry for your unsatisfactory experience here. We would love to make it up to you and show you that we maintain a much higher level of service than you received. Please contact our Food and Beverage Director, Dani Kraemer at 803-349-8401.

Report
AG
vipAGent
Charlotte
42 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Service, as I read about in other reviews, was a bit slow from our waitress (seemed new). But other members of the staff ensured that our water glasses were filled and that we were satisfied. The pork meatballs were started with had a kick of spice but were excel. My steak and potatoes entree was amazing; steak cooked perfectly. My husband's salmon and grits was also very tasty. Overall great food; if they can get the kinks worked out with the service it will be a 5 star experience.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 31, 2020

AGent-- We would like to extend to you our most sincere apologies regarding the recent issue with your visit at the Salt & Marrow Kitchen. We have a high standard of quality customer service and your experience should never have been an exception. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you would be willing to talk further please call Food & Beverage Director, Dani Kraemer, at (803) 349-8401. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on January 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great birthday experience at Salt and Marrow! Food was delectable. A little pricier than restaurants we frequent, but worth it for a special occasion. Included complimentary champagne and dessert for the birthday boy! I was confused about the establishment not allowing members of our party to be seated as soon as they arrived because there were plenty of empty tables. The idea was to have our guests seated so that my husband would be surprised when we arrived to our table—this did end up playing out as I had planned, but my first guest had to buy a drink from the outside bar prior to being seated because they wanted more of the party present before he was seated. Minute detail that definitely did not put a damper on the night. Will be back for more special occasions, I’m sure!

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 31, 2020

Hello! We are so glad you had a great birthday experience with us at the Salt & Marrow Kitchen. We seat everyone together at one time in order to ensure the party may receive a steady flow of service. If we were to seat an incomplete party, we would be worried the service and pace of food may become disjointed. However, we do apologize if this may have caused any inconvenience. Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to celebrate this special occasions with us! Hope to see you again soon.

Report
J
vipJoern
Atlanta
19 reviews
Dined on January 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Second time to eat here. Very cool place with great food. They fixed my only complaint from last time and hired better service staff. Thank you!

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 28, 2020

Joern- Thank you for the 5 stars! Glad to hear our improvements have been noticed. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
EG
ElizabethG
New Orleans
6 reviews
Dined on January 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a great burger at the bar with my daughter. Roberta the bartender recommended an excellent glass of champagne. Laurent perrier minis are life! Everything was excellent. Thank you, Roberta, for taking such great care of us!

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 12, 2020

ElizabethG- Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your 5-star review! We are so glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your meal at the Salt & Marrow Parlor Bar. We will definitely acknowledge Roberta's excellent bartending and customer service skills. We hope to see you again. Have a happy new year!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 6, 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience2

It was my birthday. Horrible service. Had to ask to have dirty plates clears. Nothing special for my birthday. Didn’t even know it was when I put that it was on my reservation. No manager on. Asked for no horseradish sauce and they put it on there. Then when I asked the waitress what sauce was on my plate she lied and said broccoli sauce when it was clear as day horseradish. Never coming back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great addition to North Augusta. My husband and I had an amazing time. And Adrian was a great server! We will be back!

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 5, 2020

Thank you for the 5-star review! We will definitely make sure to acknowledge Adrian's wonderful service skills. We are so glad to hear that you and your husband had an amazing time with us. Have a fantastic new year!

Report
MM
MikeM
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Service was extremely slow and it was clear that they were understaffed and not prepared for the New Year's Eve Crowd. After sitting down for 20 minutes, I found a manager and requested a server. The oysters were not shucked very well at all and we had try to get them out of the shell with our knife and fork. I asked for my steak to be cooked medium and it was served rare. After waiting 10 minutes for the server to return, so that they could put it back on the grill for a little while I gave up and just didn't eat. They were nice enough to remove the charge from my bill and sincerely apologize. Despite this experience I would try it again under different circumstances.

RT
RandallT
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Made reservations to go to this restaurant because a friend said it was a great place to hang out. We pre-booked for a New Year’s eve event. We sat for nearly 2 1/2 hours before we were even served food. When we did receive our meals, several items were missing from the plates.

For example, ordered entree, with broccoli, it only came out with a meat. My brother ordered a steak and potatoes the plate came out with no potatoes. Tried several times to speak with management, finally got their attention and explained to them that service was poor and we were not going to pay for our meal. They wanted give us half off of the meal.

Mind you we were a party of 6. Two of six did not even eat the food because it was not fit to eat. Out of the two steak entree’s one was raw and the second steak was overcooked.We had to keep going back-and-forth with management about service the food and the fact that were ignored for almost 1 1/2 hour and only got to get a couple of glasses of water. Not very accommodating in making things right. After much discussion with management, they decided to completely write off the bill seeing how dissatisfied we were with the whole experience. It is highly unlikely that I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on February 17, 2020

Dear RandallT, Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review about your recent experience at Salt & Marrow Kitchen. We are disheartened to hear that many elements of your stay were disappointing to say the least. We would like to take the opportunity to speak with you further to discuss your visit in depth. Please give us a call at 803-349-8401 and ask to speak with the Food & Beverage Director, Dani Kraemer. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report
L
Lala
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3food4service1ambience2

food was good, but waited 4 dinner 45 min & 4 dessert 35 min!Asked 4 warm cake & ice cream as displayed in menu, cake was cold waitress stated that they don't serve the cake warm

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
9 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3food5service2ambience4

Great steaks. Slow service. We waited 15 minutes to be greeted by our server and there were only three other tables with guests at the time. The drinks were weak. The charcuterie board was bad. The steaks were awesome! Once we got a server, things were good. Again, great steak. We will try you again.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall2food3service3ambience1

We didn't find out until we were seated that that the restaurant had left the "booking" on on-line when they actually had no availability left. Therefore when we arrived we were seated in the bar area which was very noisy. Our waitress was already working behind the bar so our service was sparatic. The food was ok but not worth the price and definitely not worth the atmosphere.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hello- Happy New Year! We are very sorry for any inconvenience our over-booking may have caused you. We did use the Parlor Bar dining area to seat our overflow that night. We hope that you may give us another chance to possibly make this right. Please give us a call at 803-349-8401 and ask to speak with our Food & Beverage Manager, Dani Kraemer. We really hope we can hear from you soon. Thank you.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Charleston
75 reviews
Dined on December 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

This is our second time eating at Salt + Marrow and it did not disappoint. Once again one had the Fish and Grits, but this time the other had the Grouper on Red Rice special. Both were excellent. Both fish dishes cooked to perfection and the tomato garnish on top added a nice refreshing taste. I also had a bowl of the Sweet Potato soup which I enjoyed. The portions are just right, although many might say they are too small for the price, we do not think so. The service was excellent, but that was to be expected since there were very few people in the restaurant at the time.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hello- Thank you so much for leaving us a 5-star review! Have a happy new year!

Report
MP
vipMichaelP
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on December 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delightful

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 2, 2020

MichaelP, Thank you so much for leaving us 5-stars! Hope you have a wonderful new year!

Report
SL
SLF2014
Orlando
3 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Made Christmas dinner reservations but at no point via email, phone or website were we informed the single menu option was their Christmas dinner. It was good, not stellar but we would have appreciated the opportunity to know this ahead of time.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen
Responded on January 2, 2020

SLF2014, We are sorry to hear that you were not informed of the Special Christmas Lunch/Dinner Menu. On special holidays our Chef designs an unique menu to help celebrate the special occasion. If given the opportunity we would like to possibly try to make it up to you. At your earliest convenience, please give us a call at 803-349-8401 and ask to speak with our Food & Beverage Manager, Dani Kraemer. We hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.

Report

FAQs

Salt + Marrow Kitchen offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (803) 349-8401.

Salt + Marrow Kitchen is rated 4.1 stars by 203 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.