Roast

4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
10758 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British

Top Tags:

Sunday Lunch
Deliciously British, Roast is aptly situated in Britain’s oldest food market.

We are dedicated to classical British cooking and using the finest seasonal produce.

Our dishes wines and cocktails are constantly evolving and, wherever you sit, there is a view- either into our open kitchen, over Borough Market or onto St. Paul’s Cathedral.

Specials

3 courses & a glass of sparkling wine: £40

From our Market menu, not available in connection with any other offers. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Terms and Conditions: For parties of 4 guests and above we require credit card details to secure the reservation. Please note that for cancellations with less than 24 hours notice or no-shows we will charge a cancellation fee of £30 per person. Please note that the final numbers must be confirmed 24 hours in advance. Should the party decrease numbers on the day, we will charge a cancellation fee of £30 per person.

Valid For: 1 - 10 people

Starts: February 3, 2020

Ends: July 27, 2020

Availability: Mon-Sat 1:30PM-6:30PM 9:00PM-10:00PM

National Steak Day: 25% Off

25% off from Monday 20th April to Sunday 26th April on:

-35-day dry aged rib-eye steak (300g) with French fries (GF)

-170g flat iron steak, skinny fries

-250g dry aged fillet steak Skinny fries (GF)

Please note on Sunday 26th April, the 25% offer will only apply on the 35-Day dry aged rib-eye steak (300g) with French fries

Pre-booking for the offer will be required.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes VAT, excludes service. CC details required for 4 guests or more, with £30 cancellation fee Monday to Saturday.

CC details required for all bookings, with £30 cancellation fee on Sunday.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: April 20, 2020

Ends: April 26, 2020

Availability: Sun 11:30AM-6:00PM
Mon-Tue 12:00PM-3:30PM 5:30PM-9:00PM
Wed 12:00PM-3:30PM 5:30PM-10:45PM
Thu-Sat 12:00PM-10:45PM

Valentine’s Day 3 courses with a cocktail or a glass of Prosecco £69

For parties of 2 guests and above the venue require credit card details to secure the reservation. Please note that for cancellations with less than 48 hours notice or no-shows the venue will charge a cancellation fee of £30 per person. Please note that the final numbers must be confirmed 48 hours in advance. Should the party decrease numbers on the day, the venue will charge a cancellation fee of £30 per person.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 10 diners. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Valid For: 2 - 10 people

Starts: February 14, 2020

Ends: February 14, 2020

Availability: Fri 5:30PM-10:45PM

Valentine’s Day 3 courses with a cocktail or a glass of Prosecco £69

For parties of 4 guests and above the venue require credit card details to secure the reservation. Please note that for cancellations with less than 24 hours notice or no-shows the venue will charge a cancellation fee of £30 per person. Please note that the final numbers must be confirmed 24 hours in advance. Should the party decrease numbers on the day, the venue will charge a cancellation fee of £30 per person.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 10 diners. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Valid For: 2 - 10 people

Starts: February 13, 2020

Ends: February 15, 2020

Availability: Thu 12:00PM-10:45PM
Fri 12:00PM-5:30PM
Sat 12:00PM-10:45PM

3 courses & a glass of sparkling wine: £40

From our Market menu, not available in connection with any other offers. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Terms and Conditions: For parties of 4 guests and above we require credit card details to secure the reservation. Please note that for cancellations with less than 24 hours notice or no-shows we will charge a cancellation fee of £30 per person. Please note that the final numbers must be confirmed 24 hours in advance. Should the party decrease numbers on the day, we will charge a cancellation fee of £30 per person.

Valid For: 1 - 10 people

Starts: January 10, 2020

Ends: February 1, 2020

Availability: Mon-Sat 12:00PM-3:30PM 5:30PM-6:30PM 8:30PM-10:30PM

What 10758 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
3.9
service
4.1
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
74% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
London
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food3service4ambience5

Went for a Sunday Roast which is £39 for three courses however I was disappointed to discover that this doesn’t include vegetables which are extra, and there is no two course option.

The meat, potatoes and cauliflower cheese were lovely however the rest of the vegetables (which you had to pay extra for) were average at best, boiled carrots, peas and cabbage. Not the quality you would expect at this price point.

The staff at Roast are always excellent and the dining room is beautiful.

OT
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great food but hugely overpriced

GI
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went to Roast for Sunday lunch and had the Market Menu, the food was great, the service attentive and the ambiance warm and friendly. A great place for a treat Sunday lunch.

B
London
37 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food1service4ambience3

Lovely staff, great company but food ranged from average to very poor. Vastly overpriced for the food on offer. We won’t be returning.

RC
London
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were taken to our table promptly and given a little bit of time to settle at our lovely window side table. We were there for a celebratory breakfast and ordered the Borough and pancakes. Both were delicious. Overall great food and fantastic service.

AT
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food3service2ambience2

Not a good experience. Very harsh bright lighting and horrible atmosphere. Was meant to have 25% off the menu but it didn't go through on the bill (as it has done previously for other open table bookings at other restaurants I've booked with this offer code).
Very strange portions with no sides - they have to be ordered extra and are very expensive. £5 for 6 Brussel sprouts!
The chicken was quite raw in bits and I didn't eat much of it. Waiter was judgey and made some weird comments. Wouldn't go back again.

MC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Always good. Excellent quality food well presented with impeccable service. Attention to detail excellent. Not cheap but good value for money. Will return soon.

AB
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Roast is lovely but I received an email saying I could get 25% discount on my meal. I to obtain the code but it wanted to download software onto my PC. As I thought we’d be getting the set menu, I didn’t bother with the code as it didn’t apply. I had to ask for the set menu and then decided to order à la carte so missed out on the discount.

So 2 things, the set menu isn’t freely handed out. And it wasn’t easy to obtain the discount code.

JR
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Late breakfast. Really good. Beautiful smoked salmon snd scrambled egg

GP
London
2 reviews
Dined on January 22, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Roast put the 'mean' in toast! We've never been served such an apology of a Sourdough cut!

WS
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on January 21, 2020
Overall4food4service2ambience5

Service was poor especially as the restaurant was empty as this was first breakfast service

L
London
9 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall4food4service1ambience3

Overall a good experience but let down by the start; having reserved a table with the clear instructions to be no more than 15 minutes late we actually had to wait union arrival as the table was not ready. Not a problem per se, however we were directed to the bar very casually and there were no seats, we were not served at the bar so it felt very chaotic and far from the relaxing get together we had in mind. Once at the table things improved although service continued to be slow and level of service depended very much on person we were served by (various people). Excellent roast lunch and incredible value for money with the 25% off offer!

F
London
6 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall4food4service2ambience3

Birthday Sunday Lunch, food was great and the value was amazing (3 courses for £39.50) but the service wasn’t good. The restaurant was very busy but there were a few mistakes with our order / bill and took quite a while to get someone’s attention to get it changed.
Would go again but maybe not on a hectic Sunday!

MW
London
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Fantastic food, first class service, ideal location. Overall perfect meal out.

SK
Surrey
2 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Not our first visit and again the meal was sublime. The staff as friendly as you can get and the atmosphere welcoming but unobtrusive. THE best Sunday roast ( apart from my mums of course!)

M
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience2

A place for an occasion. What a lovely location. Food was excellent if a little more pricey than I would usually spend. the beef and pork were great, but personally wish I had gone for the lamb which was even better. Great surroundings, especially on the upper decking (looked a little cramped nearer the kitchen). The initial impression of the staff being a touch standoffish was more than made up for by our lovely waiter. He had the right level of attentiveness along side privacy.

PK
London
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Took family there for their first visit
It was really nice and they were very pleased with their Pork Belly.

V
London
18 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great service. My only complaints are that our bread and butter to start with arrived after our main courses arrived (it was taken off the bill however) drinks were slow to arrive and the ladies bathroom was grim. Apart from that, everything else was just lovely!

Roast
Responded on January 20, 2020

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback following your visit at Roast on Saturday night for your birthday celebration. I am sorry the bread was delayed, it should not have been specially as you did not have any entrees, I am sorry. I am pleased you had a great time and we look forward to welcome you again soon, Kind regards, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
SP
London
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great, Rui our waiter was fabulous, lovely food, great atmosphere

Roast
Responded on January 20, 2020

Dear guest Thank you very much for your review and lovely comments about our waiter Rui, we will make sure he has been made aware. We look forward to welcome you very soon, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
G
London
3 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall2food3service3ambience3

Food was not as good as previously enjoyed, beef wellington was good but barely warm when served. wine was nice but expensive enough to be off-putting. Not as enjoyable as hoped. Not competetively priced.

LH
London
4 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Service was just not really great Saturday, food was good though

OT
London
12 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Went there on Saturday specifically for the beef wellington; it was disappointing. It was cold and lacked flavour. The hake was tasty but was overdone, the mac n cheese however was the best I've had in london. Service was good as well. I've been here a few times but this visit wasn't that impressive.

S
Oxford
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Had to wait a while for our drinks. Fruit juice and coffee. Ordered repeat coffees which never arrived! Food wonderful though.

Roast
Responded on January 20, 2020

dear Sara I am sorry we did not meet our standards nor your expectations on Saturday morning, we had some challenges at peak time with many people at the same time, We hope you will visit us very soon, Regards, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
s
San Francisco
15 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Roast has been, and continues to be, my favorite London restaurant. Period. It is perfect.

Roast
Responded on January 20, 2020

Dear guest Thank you so much for your glowing review! What can I say .... We hope to see you again very soon, please let me know when you visit again I would love to meet you, #Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
RP
Thailand
1 review
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

The new menu is not pescatarian friendly I found! Their cod in the previous menu was awesome!

Roast
Responded on January 20, 2020

Dear guest thank you so much for your review, we do take on boards all your constructive comments, I am glad our cod dish had an impact ! however we do need to come up with new dishes for our regular guests We look forward to welcome you back soon, , Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
b
2 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience3

Poor food for the price! Overlooking the market what a shame, full veg breakfast was reheated food, full English was poor, avocado toast with one eggs barely any avocado, way over priced for the quality! Not worth a visit

JM
1 review
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely breakfast. Great quality food and coffee.
Good attentive service too.
Will be back again.

Roast
Responded on January 20, 2020

Dear guest Thank you for your lovely review 5 star review, we are delighted you enjoyed the food and attentive service,. wWe look forward to welcome you back very soon, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on January 15, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience2

Date night

J
London
1 review
Dined on January 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really impressed by ROAST. Superb Service, plenty of atmosphere, really tasty food and great value for money. Can't wait to go back.

Roast
Responded on January 17, 2020

Dear Joanna Thank you so much for your lovely review!! and comments about the food and service, it is extremely motivating for the team to read your appreciation. We hope to welcome you again very soon, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on January 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really excellent service. The meal was delicious too

JD
London
1 review
Dined on January 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

From when we walked in until we checked out, we were well taken care of. We were three guests and we had the Sunday fixed price menu. The roast was tough on the plate, but great in the mouth. The lamb shoulder was as tender as it can get. The service was very attentive. The ambience was fantastic, though the acoustics in the room are bad. So we will definitely come back when we are in London again.

JY
London
2 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

What a spectacular place to celebrate a 50th birthday.
Service, food and ambience outstanding.
Would definitely dine here again.

Roast
Responded on January 17, 2020

Dear guest Thank you so much for your amazing review. We thank you for choosing Roast for your special celebration! we are delighted we left you with a memorable experience. We look forward to welcome you back very soon, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
AR
New York Area
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The fold was superb. I had the pork belly as a main and it was outstanding. The sticky date pudding was amongst the best I’ve had in a long time. The service was attentive and friendly. The only slight complaint I have is that the mussels that I had for a starter had some a small amount of grit, but they were very tasty. I loved my experience at Roast and would highly recommend eating there.

Roast
Responded on January 13, 2020

Dear guest Thank you for your lovely comments about food and service, it is rewarding for the team to be appreciated. our chef has also taken on board your feedback regarding the mussels. thank you for your recommendations. we look forward to welcome you back very soon, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
MB
London
6 reviews
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Been several times lunches and evening meals and the experience is always consistently good. Easy access via London Bridge.

Roast
Responded on January 13, 2020

Dear guest thank you for taking the time to write a review. it is encouraging for us to know our food and service delivery is consistent. thank you also for your regular custom, We look forward to welcome you very soon, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
CR
London
1 review
Dined on January 9, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

I suspect it has change the management and staff recently. Didn’t remember such bad experience

Roast
Responded on January 13, 2020

Dear guest thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you had a bad experience following your visit to Roast, however I would like to find out about your experience in more details. would you be kind enough to contact me directly at the restaurant to discuss further, should you wish. We look forward to hear from you, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
L
1 review
Dined on January 8, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Really gone down hill. Food average and over priced. Essentially pub food and not great pub food at that. Service was poor as well. Had to ask to order several times. Really unattentive and preferred to set the tables rather than serve customers. A shame as this place used to be decent.

Roast
Responded on January 20, 2020

Dear Luca Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations nor our standards on your visit I can assure you this is a one off as you can judge from our good reviews. please contact me directlyto discuss in details, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
R
1 review
Dined on January 7, 2020
Overall3food1service4ambience5

It is a lovely location but... the breakfast was clearly leftovers from the morning and not cooked freshly which was really disappointing given the cost. I was with a client so it was not possible to say anything.

Roast
Responded on January 9, 2020

Dear guest I am sorry you felt our breakfast was not cooked freshly. please contact me directly to discuss. you can contact me at the restaurant Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
T
London
1 review
Dined on January 6, 2020
Overall3food4service5ambience4

Good cooking in a very pleasant setting, utilizing the old Floral Hall from Covent Garden in an appealing manner. Attentive staff and a lovely ambiance. My major complaint is that most of the best menu items, including almost all the most idiosyncratically British dishes, are on a rotating 'Daily Specials' system so cannot be ordered freely. I think this is a poor choice with a menu that is otherwise so limited.

Roast
Responded on January 9, 2020

Dear guest Thank you very much for your constructive feed back, and compliments about our team members. I am delighted you think our "daily specials" are the best items, I do tend to strongly agree with you! let us look and review our menu structure. its a very valid point thank you. Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
JC
1 review
Dined on January 5, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Genuinely warm welcoming front of house and staff, beautifully presented flavoursome locally sourced produce with incredibly generous portion size. Initially I thought the price for 3 courses was relatively steep but after experiencing the gargantuan culinary treat I now believe it to be great value and if looking for a traditional Sunday lunch of the highest quality do not look any further than The Roast for a memorable treat !!!

Roast
Responded on January 9, 2020

Dear guest I am really pleased you had a memorable experience, and additionally that we anticipated the delay upon settling up the bill. we look forward to welcome you back very soon, Bruno Zuliani general manager

Report
MG
London
2 reviews