Red Salt Room by David Burke
Open for Dinner Fri/Sat from 5PM - 10PM (Last seating at 8:30pm)
Precautionary adjustments in place:
• All guests must wear appropriate face covering in all public space/dining areas unless seated.
• Safety partitions between all dining tables in Red Salt Room
• Guest temperature check prior to entering
• Seating plans to accommodate CDC guidance on social distancing
• Culinary staff wear PPE
• Disinfecting of all high touch points
• Sanitization by ULV atomization fog machine before/after meal periods
• UV light disinfection for all menus
• Air filtration system equipped with MERV 13 filters
We kindly ask that all guests vacate the restaurant before 11:00pm per NYS mandate as of 02/14/2021
Book your next event with us
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
The service and ambience is lovely but I was personally disappointed with my DB Angry Lobster. I was hoping that it tasted like the one from David Burke Townhouse or Fishtail, but sadly it did not and it had a strong peppercorn oil taste (FYI, I despise peppercorn oil).
My family enjoyed their meals for the most part.
The overall it was a nice evening and I would give them a second try but wouldn't have the angry lobster.
The David Burke room was pretty good I had an expectation
Of Old HomeStead quality it was close but didn’t exactly
Hit it out of the park . The shrimp cocktail was not as fresh as it could be shrimps were small . We Ordered steak special dish T bone and filet mignon cooked medium got medium rare ! Unforgivable in a steak restaurant!
The filet mignon , over cooked !
When you run a steak place you need to be very exact on your order !
You failed !
On a lighter note Sides on the other hand fabulous smooth creamy light mash and creamed spinach excellent!
Desert coffees great ! Bread was fresh well done pasty chef .
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the shrimp cocktail or steaks. We get rave reviews about both items. Our Executive Chef and Sous Chefs expedite every plate to ensure perfect temperatures. Next time please let us know and we will be happy to replace the item. We hope that you will give us another opportunity.
We had the bronzino and the halibut, and both were perfectly cooked and just delicious. The steak fries added a tasty touch.
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you back soon!
We had a lovely time. Food was delicious,and service was excellent.
We celebrated our anniversary and we enjoyed the dinner so much ! We shared the clothesline bacon (omg) & surf and turf dumplings. Both were very good. We also had the spinach salad with blue cheese. One of the best blue cheeses we have had. We also had the ribeye with mashed potatoes. Steak was very flavorful and excellent quality. The wait staff did an excellent job they were very attentive. We felt very safe with covid safety measures in place. Thanks for a wonderful evening !
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed dinner! We hope to see you back soon!
Great service great food and great atmosphere
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you soon!
Service was superb, food was excellent but our table was horrible.
Have dined here before and the food is always amazing. Our waiter Carlos was exceptional. The maple bacon is a must have appetizer.
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and found Carlos exceptional! We think he is too! We hope to see you again soon.
Wonderful date night out with my husband. So glad we discovered this jewel in the Garden City Hotel. We can’t wait to go back to try the brunch! Special mention of our wonderful waiter Carlos and the delightful Maitre’d and his Mickey Cuff links- they both made our evening a memorable one!
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dinner. We think Carlos and Robert are pretty special too! We hope to see you soon at brunch to enjoy some of Chef David Burke's fun and delicious creations!
No management available, very poor service. Will definitely not be back and not recommend this restaurant to anyone, Extremely over rated and over priced. Dull to no ambience and poor decorated for Christmas. A waste of time and money overall.
We would like to hear more about your experience based on your comment. Please feel free to contact us so that we may address.
Firstly,, I have to say the entire staff was great from beginning to end. Sadly, the food was horrible. I was shocked, to say the least, considering the dinner ended up costing over $400 for 3. My appetizer “crabmeat cob salad” had literally 3 tiny pieces of crab, no cheese, which was supposed to be a part of it, and the rest was just a handful of greens. My son had a dumpling appetizer that came to him cold. The Caesar salad my husband had was dressed in what seemed to be a bottled dressing. My son and I had the filet mignon, which was soooo charred it made me sick. My husband’s ribeye was all grizzle. The “truffle steak fries” were burned and the side of mushrooms was terrible as well. We had no dessert because we all were sick to our stomachs and also figured the deserts would probably be horrible considering everything else was. We’ve eaten at the hotel in the past and have enjoyed several Easter Sunday buffets and in fact had our wedding in the ballroom 27 years ago, and each of those times the food was outstanding, however, it seems the hotel is no longer what it used to be. Very sad.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. We receive mostly rave reviews on the items you mention. We use the freshest jumbo lump crab meat in the cobb salad and the ceasar dressing is made to perfection by our culinary team. All our menus are priced affordably for everyone to enjoy based on the item and market prices. Had any of this been brought to our attention we certainly would have addressed your issues. We thank you for your patronage and hope to see you again.
The service was the best I have had in a very long time! It was a wonderful meal!
Thank you for you review. I am happy to hear that the service and meal were wonderful. We look forward to seeing you soon again.
I was glad to see how the tables were separated from each other. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The food was beautifully presented and delicious.
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal. We have set forth to provide a safe and enjoyable dining experience and are strictly guided by the direction of multiple government health agencies with regard to maintaining both required and recommended safety protocols. All of which we adhere to with great rigor for the safety and comfort of our guests. We hope to see you soon!
Due to Covid restrictions, each table was separated by a cloth partition. The partition cut down on the noise and you were not on top of anyone. We have dined at the Red Salt Room in previous years, they always exceed our expectations. We ordered the Fillet Mignon, which was cooked to perfection. The waiter even gave us Bernaise and Peppercorn sauces I always enjoy those added sauces. We were a party of 4 and everyone enjoyed their meal. Dessert was just as good. I highly recommend the Red Salt Room especially if your looking for something special. The staff and hostess are lovely and helpful!!
Thank you for your feedback and we are thrilled that you and your party enjoyed dinner! By following the direction of multiple government health agencies both required and recommended we strive to provide an enjoyable dining experience and a safe environment. We hope to welcome you back soon!
My steak was burnt, extremely difficult to cut, and cooked unevenly.
Thank you for your feedback. Our steaks are hand–picked & aged with Pink Himalayan Salt, then seared and cooked to your preferred temperature. I am sorry that it was not to your liking and I do hope that you mentioned it to the server for it to be remade for you. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you!
The staff was very warm and accommodating, especially considering that we are in the midst of a pandemic and we all have to adhere with social distancing. I appreciated their service and the food was great.
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate your patronage and hope to welcome you back soon!
Great ambiance, great food and great service. I will be back.
THank you so much for your feedback! We hope to see you back soon!
Avoid if you are concerned about COVID precautions!
The hostess was extremely rude when we asked her if we could move tables since we were uncomfortable regarding our table's proximity to a large party.
The table we were given was up against a large (20+) party. Unlike the other tables in the room, these two tables were noticeably close (definitely not even 2 feet apart) and were only separated by a mesh decorative curtain. To give you an idea of how close we were, the waitstaff knocked over glasses on our table when trying to navigate between the tight space. It was a birthday party so it was complete with singing, yelling and generally boisterous people who played musical chairs and hitting our table every time they got up. Once we realized how close the tables were and that the party was not even close to leaving, my husband got up and asked the hostess if we could move to one of the several empty tables in other parts of the room. He explained to her that we were uncomfortable given how close we were. Her response was no and the only option we were given was to deal with it or leave. No attempt at another accommodation was made.
We stayed and ate our dinner but before we left, I told the hostess that I thought she should consider handling that situation differently in the future. Instead of apologizing, she argued with me and said that that party wasn't the largest party they had that night and I should be lucky that I wasn't against one of the other groups.
What's the point of taking patrons' temperatures if you are going to sit them so close to each other that they could spit into each other's food?
The food was good, but the restaurant is too expensive to be worried about COVID. Try another restaurant in the area - the rest of them seem to handle it better and have nicer hostesses.
We have set forth to provide a safe & enjoyable experience & adhere to the direction of multiple government health agencies. We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction & apologize for the conversation level of other diner’s. The restaurant was relatively busy, despite operating at only 50% capacity. Thank you for sharing your opinion, albeit an inaccurate description & contrary to that of the many diners that are regularly enjoying our high quality & safe restaurant experience.
Was an amazing setup great for date night and more. Was on the pricier side but the decor, ambiance and service along with great tasting food made it worth it. The food was packed with flavor in every dish would definitely revisit. For now I will remain with the craving.
Thank you for your feedback and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your night. We hope to see you soon!
Really surprised at how subpar the food was. The staff gave excellent service, but the food was no where near worth the price. Disappointing.
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the items hand picked by Chef David Burke on Restaurant Week's menu. Long Island Restaurant Week is a tri-annual event sponsored by Long Island Restaurant & Hospitality Group. The pricing of $35 for a 3 course dinner is set by LIRHG and we do offer some add ons for a greater menu selection. We hope you will visit again.
Wonderful meal! Food was outstanding! Followed all covid precautions. Will definitely be back again.
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you soon again. Please follow us on Instagram @redsaltroom_bydavidburke for special updates!
My mom and I came here for Restaurant Week. Everything was top-notch, including the food and service. Everyone was so nice. Multiple people checked on how we were doing. The food was excellent. Definitely plan on coming back.
Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed Restaurant week. Please follow us on Instagram @redsaltroom_bydavidburke for special updates! We hope to see you back soon.
Food, service and decor are all excellent. Go to enjoy a terrific dining experience. Do not go if you have a big appetite...that is not the objective of this restaurant.
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you had a wonderful night and hope to see you soon.
We were there for Restaurant week so I realize that things may be a little different. Our group of 4 enjoyed our experience. The food was very good the the candied bacon was absolutely delicious. It is a must try. Tbe roasted chicken was tender and flavorful. Slbeit a but salty.. The service was not up to par for such a high end restaurant. All covid protocols were followed though. We were constantly scanning the room for our waitress although it was not crowded.. We ordered coffee w our dessert. But our dessert was delivered, and eaten, and we were more than ready for our check before the coffees ever arrived.
Thank you for your feedback. It is only through your comments that we can continue to make improvements and further train our staff. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and we hope to see you back soon!
Lovely atmosphere. Ambiance is outstanding! This visit was during restaurant week and the 3 course meal was $35. Great place. I have been there many times and it is most usually wonderful. The wait staff is outstanding!!! J.C. especially on this day was sooooo great! made me feel like a queen.
The food was very good, as it usually is. The selection was not as good as last year for restaurant week. There were three entree choices and 3 additional entree items with a $20-30 supplement price added which had not been done previously for restaurant week here. The restaurant is cozy, good separation for social distancing and the seating very comfortable. Our sever Angel was friendly, efficient and a real pleasure. He made our dining experience even better. Will continue to come here.
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you soon again. Please follow us on Instagram @redsaltroom_bydavidburke for special updates!
Waitress was terrible!!! Was there with my daughter celebrating her birthday and she didn’t listen to anything we said.
We elated when we heard the Red Salt Room would be opening for dining.
They have gone beyond to make sure you feel safe. The dining area has been rearranged for appropriate social distancing. Everyone on staff has mask and gloves.
We seated seated upon our arrival( you do need a reservation)
Our server “ Angel” bought our dinner and drink menus
We ordered our drinks ( I had Frida’s way!). He also mentioned the specials. Professional, engaging, efficient
We ordered the grilled spanish octopus... (like butter) for starters
The autumn squash flavorful, so perfect for the season
We could not pass on the infamous ( confession we always order it!) candied bacon on clothesline ( they added another option.. Korean flavored)..
Our dinners were sumptuous, Maine lobster, Branzino .
A formal shout out to Brian for the amazing desserts
Pumpkin cheese cake, decadent dbl chocolate mousse ( I’m sorry I had to share it!), affogato, rustic apple tart.
We can’t wait to return.
Welcome back Red Salt Room
Must have the maple glazed bacon! Such a unique , delicious treat. All food was fresh and deliciously plated. Great service. Highly recommend!
Thank you for your feedback! The bacon clothesline is a true Chef Burke experience. We are pleased to announce that Brunch a la carte is back not only on Sundays but also Saturdays! We hope to see you soon again. Please follow us on Instagram @redsaltroom_bydavidburke for special updates!
Overall it was quite good my bone in rib-eye was delicious. My wife had the flat iron steak and it was ok.I might be judging the flat iron low because the ribeye was excellent! Close line bacon was also tasty. Desserts were also tasty.
Thank you for your feedback! Not only do we hand pick our steaks, but Chef Burke owns the patent for the unique process in which he uses pink Himalayan salt to dry age the steaks. As you experienced, the result is an unbelievably tender and mouthwatering piece of beef. We hope to see you soon again. Please follow us on Instagram @redsaltroom_bydavidburke for special updates!
I would like to start with our waiter was AMAZING!
Where shall I start, on Friday we went out to have one last dinner out before we are all forced in quarantine. Disappointment is an understatement as I have been to the hotel for dinner and drinks in the past. And yes, I know were are in the middle of a virus and people are staying home. We started off by arriving to an empty hostess stand, I walked around and into the restaurant looking for someone to assist us. We were finally greeted by the Maître d' who was dry and unwelcoming as possible.
We ordered the beet and goat cheese salad and lump crab and artichoke salad, beet salad was very small with mostly greens to fill in, the lump crab was hidden in a large plate of lettuce. The rib eye and the filet were really perfect, the bristle sprouts were excellent, but the "stuffed " baked potato with lobster was just a baked potato with a mini lobster tail on top , we finished with the donuts dessert, donuts were OK , dipping sauces were to hard to dip into.
WHY WE WILL NOT RETURN OR RECOMMEND
As I said earlier restaurant wasn't crowded (think partially due to the virus going around)and you would think they would sit us 6' away from the next table, but instead we sat on top of one another. While our main course was being severed the rest of the wait staff was breaking down all the remaining tables changing table clothes and setting up for next day, including blowing out all candles, the busboy had the nerve to place table cloth and table settings at table next to us for our table, we were rushed out, very unprofessional, and all the while manager/ Maître d' walked around never once coming to our table.
We left and went to attached bar next door, bartender greeted us and walked away, again we were 2 of 8 customers at bar, we waited over 20 min before bartender returned, in his defense he bought our drinks and apologized
The entire experience was very disappointing for the location and price!!
Although you have already posted this on other sites, I will apologize again that you felt the food was not up to standards and for the delay you experienced. With all current emergencies that we've all been facing over the last few weeks, I would hope you can understand the reduced staffing levels. Thank you again for dining with us and we hope we see you soon again.
I don't eat red meat so the food that I had was all seafood. I had four different kinds of salmon, the pastramied salmon was the only one that was really good. The smoked salmons were average (the sliced onions and the capers were a distance away from the salmon). The lobster gnocchi was good. I had the seafood salad which had no taste and the tuna which had no taste - they both needed seasoning. The artichokes with the little fish on them were excellent as well as the shrimp and corn. The lobster tails were tough, The cheesecake was dry, the lemon meringue shooter was too sweet , but the strawberry lychee cake was phenomenal. My tea was weak as they needed more than one Earl Grey teabag for that amount of water. I will not return for brunch but dinner is always outstanding!
Thank you for your feedback about your recent Sunday Brunch experience. I am surprised to hear that our variety of food did not satisfy your standards. We get rave reviews of our Sunday Brunch which is quite the extravaganza offering tons of options for everyone. I do hope that you give our brunch another opportunity as our brunch items are constantly changing with special stations each week to satisfy anyones tastes. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Other than waiting for longer than anticipated for drinks it was very good. However the acoustics are awful. Meat was really good. If they can solve the noise situation I would eat there more often. The candied bacon is phenomenal.
Thank you for your feedback about your dining experience. Excellent service is as important as excellent food. I apologize for the wait on your drinks. We will be addressing this with our team so that we can continue to improve. Upon your next return, we have noted on your profile that you would like to be in an area where the noise levels would be slightly lower in our busy restaurant. Thank you again for allowing us the pleasure of servicing you. We hope to be able to welcome you back!
Yes. Definitely. The service and food were excellent.
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Stephen, our waiter, was so professional and couldn't do enough for us. He is a real gem. The remainder of the staff were likewise on the alert as to anticipating our needs. The food was all I expected. I loved the room's atmosphere and look forward to a return visit.
Thank you for your feedback! Our staff is habitually applauded about the high level of service they always extend to our guests. I am so happy to hear that Stephen did just that! Our culinary team is also one of the finest in Long Island. Glad to hear that the imaginative dishes that they created was all you expected! Thank you again for your acknowledgement & I will be sure to pass it along. We look forward to welcoming you back!
The food was good however the wait time to get anything was way to long
Thank you for joining and I am happy to hear you enjoyed dinner. I apologize for the slow service that evening. I do hope you come back soon and should you need any assistance, please feel free to reach out to our Food & Beverage Manager at 516-877-9385 where they will be able to oversee your service personally. Thank you again for allowing us the pleasure of servicing you and we hope to see you soon!
A nice option while staying at the Garden City Hotel. Interesting menu, I'd go back. One negative was that the sauce on my pasta did not taste as if it had just been prepared for my dish in the kitchen - I'd guess made in larger batches and frozen/defrosted in portion sizes. Still enjoyable, but not "haute cuisine."
Thank you for your feedback! Chef Burke has a fascination with ingredients and the art of the meal is marked by his creativity, which leads to such results of the variety of whimsical items we have to offer on our menu. All our sauces are made to order with the freshest ingredients. I apologize that it was not to your liking. Thank you again for allowing us the pleasure of servicing you and we hope to welcome you back again!
We celebrated my friend’s birthday and the service was amazing as was the food. Everything was fresh and delicious!! The favorite was the 2 lb lobster out of the shell. They brought us the bacon appetizer on the house to try and it was So good!
Birthdays are always special and what better way to celebrate the occasion by enjoying it here with us. I am delighted your entire experience with our varied culinary selections, an elegant yet intimate and relaxing atmosphere and amazing service from our team - all contributed toward making your friends special day even more memorable. Chef Burke's whimsical creation of bacon on a clothesline is a must have and I am glad that you were able to try it. We hope to see you soon again!
Celebrated our friends birthday - Buffet was great and fun! Service is impeccable!
Birthdays are always special and what better way to celebrate the occasion than by enjoying it here with us. Sunday Brunch at The Garden City Hotel is quite the extravaganza and I'm delighted the service and menu selections exceeded expectations when celebrating your friends birthday! We take pride in putting our best foot forward & giving all our attention to our guests. We hope to be part of your next celebration!
Red Salt Room by David Burke offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (516) 877-9385.
Red Salt Room by David Burke is rated 4.3 stars by 551 OpenTable diners.
Red Salt Room by David Burke does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.gardencityhotel.com/gift-cards.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.