Post 390

4.3
2490 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Executive Chef Deutmeyer's passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern: a casual but sophisticated menu and atmosphere, with a 25-seat bar and high top and banquette seating area, warmed by a beautiful four-sided fireplace. A massive wrought iron staircase connects the energy of the first floor with the Dining Room on the second floor.
Here, guests can have a more refined dining experience, and enjoy our large, open kitchen, wine displays, two private dining rooms, additional fireside dining and views of landmarks like Copley Place, Trinity Church and the Hancock Tower.
Located in the Clarendon Building, on the corner of Clarendon and Stuart Streets at the site of the former Back Bay Post Office Annex, Post 390 is perfectly situated within walking distance of the South End and Back Bay neighborhoods.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM
Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 7:30PM - 11:30PM

What 2490 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
w
New England
92 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

Pre-theater father's day meal for 8. Our request for a round table was honored to which we were grateful. Drinks arrived promptly & orders were taken. We never received the bread until the entrees were served & only because we asked. Some of the entrees were lukewarm but our server never returned to check. A 2nd cocktail was ordered & again, we had to ask for its delivery. All in all we had a good time but the service could have been a little better.

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Service was good. Food was good, not amazing though. Overpriced in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
u
New England
12 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

I did think the waiter, who I assume was new because I had never seen him before, could have been a whole lot friendlier, but the service was not compromised.

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Can only rate the service as we didn’t eat here. We had a 1030 PM reservation, and were planning to eat dinner after a Boston Pops show. The show got out late so I called stating we’d be a few minutes late. Hostess said, “Just so you know, our kitchen closes at 11.” I said okay thanks and we arrived at 10:36. When we arrived, the hostess was rude, saying she would have to go find us a table. There were plenty. We get seated. Menus tossed on the table. We look and it’s a snack/ tavern menu. 5 minutes pass and a server drops off water. Our waiter then appears and we ask for dinner menu. The tavern menu states “dinner menu upon request.” We ask and he says he doesn’t think the kitchen can do it. We said okay thanks and got up to leave. On the way out the hostess makes a face. I was appalled. While we tried to locate other dinner reservations, the manager approached us out side offering the dinner menu. Too little too late. The hostess, and waiter ruined our dinner plans. Prior to calling, I had already checked open table and they had a 1045 and 11 pm reservation so clearly something is wrong with their information if we couldn’t have dinner at either of those times either. I was embarrassed since it was four of us - two guests from out of town. Do better Post 390. I’ll never return, but hopefully you can learn from this. False advertising on when dinner ends or bad employees-either way it was a Friday night and we were well within the timeframe.

Post 390
Responded 3 days ago

Hello, I am very sorry for your experience last night and that you weren't able to stay and enjoy your evening with us. Our team is aware of the kitchen hours so I apologize for the confusion and why it was relayed to you this way. I would like to talk to you if you have time so I can learn more about what was said and what happened. Again, I am very sorry for your experience, I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you, Richard.

Report
Helpful
D
New England
192 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 4

Bad night.

Ordered a red raspberry martini, got a clear one.
Ordered salmon, got halibut.
Was asked 5 times to order, were not ready.

Food was good, but not the best evening

Report
Helpful
M
New England
31 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 3

Having dined upstairs we opted for the more casual tavern for our anniversary. We've dined upstairs previously and had a wonderful experience. This time we decided to choose the tavern as that was the type of cuisine we were craving for our anniversary. Based on the reviews from the other evening and our experience, it appears something is amiss at Post 390. Though the food quality was good, the meal pacing was horrible, the servers aloof and not properly trained or attentive, a lack of floor management, and the ambiance taken over by a televised golf game that they chose over playing music. I know this restaurant group is capable of providing outstanding experiences and hoping this experience was just a fluke.

Report
Helpful
JJ
New England
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service - Great atmosphere to host a business lunch.

Report
Helpful
B
New England
6 reviews
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent meal & service.

Report
Helpful
SC
Charlotte
72 reviews
Dined on June 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

This is a great spot close to Copley Square. Food was very good. Service was very accommodating and I should have given them a higher mark. Food delivery was slow so maybe they lost something in the kitchen. I'll definitely return.

Report
Helpful
l
New England
6 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 2ambience 3

We made a reservation, when we arrived, we were directed to a terrible table, the reason being all other tables were reserved (there were many available tables), the hostess walked away, but a server came and moved us to another table, in the corner. Long story short, while we were having dinner, only one of the so called "reserved tables" became occupied by one person. Our meal was subpar, to say the least. We actually developed gastric discomfort that evening and the following day.

Post 390
Responded 7 days ago

Hello Lizzy, I am very sorry to hear about your experience with your table and your meal. I would like to learn more details so I can address any particular issues that contributed to your experience that night. Again, I apologize and I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you, Richard.

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
20 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

We had eaten at Post 390 a few years ago and had had a good experience. This time, not so much. On the plus side, the glass of wine I had (a sauvignon blanc) was excellent. Other than that, it was a pretty mediocre experience all around. Service was on the slow side and someone brought our platter of oysters to the wrong table. There were several large groups, and that may have accounted for the slowness and confusion. But it became annoying as the missteps added up. The food was ok, not great. We had casio e pepe which was more cheesy than peppery and was not very good. The chicken entrée also was undistinguished -- it tasted soggy (if that's possible!). We ran out of time so we could not try the dessert, but were served cold burnt coffee that had clearly been sitting for too long. Our waiter removed the coffee from our bill, but given the quality of the meal and service, we still didn't feel good at all about the experience. Maybe it's more of a bar than a place to get a good meal. But we won't be returning any time soon.

Post 390
Responded 7 days ago

Hello, I am very sorry to hear about your experience with us and your dissatisfaction with our menu. I would like to learn more details of your experience when you have time. You can email me or call the restaurant directly. Again, I apologize for your latest visit with us. Thank you, Richard.

Report
Helpful
LD
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

This was our second time here. We loved it the first time, so we decided to take two out-of-town colleagues here. BIG mistake, and it seems like they've changed some things in the last few months—for the worse.

1. Service:
Our waiter was not around, and honestly very hard to work with. He didn't seem well trained. He took a chair from our table mid-meal, and it was very awkward. He was in general difficult to converse with, and seem to have a bit of a language barrier. He was abrupt and did not seem interested in waiting on us. It took over an hour to put in our order due to an empty chair for someone we told him was supposed to come at the end of the meal. Again, miscommunication—but you'd think after a half an hour he'd ask if we wanted to order?

2. Food:
I eat low carb for health reasons, and have no trouble substituting in other restaurants (aka switch a potato for a vegetable). In fact, I have done that AT Post390! Our waiter absolutely refused to let me sub out my sides with my (not so cheap) strip steak. So... you'd rather give me a bunch of food that I'm going to throw away? Okay. Whether this is policy or not, you could at least LET ME and charge me a bit more. It was unbelievably awkward, and really too bad—because some of the sides that they have are amazing and I had no way of getting them unless I wanted to take up all of the room at the table—at a business dinner.
They smothered our steak in a sticky-sweet blackberry sauce. What a way to ruin a perfectly good steak. We probably missed it on the menu which is on us—but both of the people at the table that got the steak disliked it.
Our waiter never came to check on our meal or ask how the food was.


Anyway, it was a $500+ dinner that I would literally never have again. I will be bringing my office-business dinners somewhere else from now on.

Post 390
Responded 7 days ago

Hello Liz, I sincerely apologize for you and your colleagues experience. This is not at all the kind of service we strive to provide our guests and I'm sorry you received a compromise experience. If you have time, I would like to discuss your visit and learn more details. You can email me or call the restaurant directly. Again, I am deeply sorry for your experience and I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you, Richard

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
1 review
Dined on June 3, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 2ambience 4

Second time I’ve been there for lunch and had to wait almost an hour for my meal to be delivered.

Post 390
Responded 6 days ago

Hello, I am sorry for the long service that you encountered during your lunch visit with us. It is not our intent to have long wait times for your meals during any service period, especially for lunch. We understand and respect your valuable time. I would like to invite you back in for lunch, if you would like to join us again. I'll send you my contact information and let me know if you would like to come back in. We would love to have you. Thank you, Richard.

Report
Helpful
D
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Decent lobster roll.
Suggest getting something besides the chips as a side.

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
5 reviews
Dined on May 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Although I wish there were more selections on the menu, the food was superb. The best part of the experience was our attentive and professional waiter. The customer service was outstanding!!

Report
Helpful
G
New England
8 reviews
Dined on May 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had an incredible grilled salom dish. Presentation was great and taste was superb. Mixed drinks are always an adventure.

Report
Helpful
BC
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

nice place for a business lunch. food was nice, vegetarian & vegan options appreciated, nice view from table, convenient location

Report
Helpful
JD
1 review
Dined on May 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We very much enjoyed all about Post 390: the location so convenient to the Lyric Stage, the food was GREAT as was the service. thank you! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good experience. Standard local go-to for business lunch meetings.

Report
Helpful
k
New England
7 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 3

Went with co-workers so was a bigger group then normal. Service was slow (food took a long time) though was expected as it was lunch time. Waitress barely came by to see if all was ok after the food came out. My salmon lunch was fantastic (cooked well and hot). Not sure if the beet puree went well with the salmon (this coming from a beet lover). Waitress took our plates away when we were done but it took a long while for her to come back since we wanted to order dessert. Instead of coming to take our dessert order, she just placed our check on the table. Oh well.

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Liked the atmosphere/decor. Great food! Wasn’t a bad item on the menu!

Report
Helpful
GB
New England
2 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

A terrific meal with great service, and incredible convenience as we were seeing a show right across the street at the Lyric Stage. We brought in our tickets and got 20 percent off our meal, which was great because it enabled us to give a nice big tip to our wonderful server! I highly recommend Post 390.

Report
Helpful
RA
New York Area
1 review
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 5

We returned because we had a fabulous time at a wine n food tasting that was held in the restaurant. We were very disappointed with this recent visit. We expected more. First, the service was incredibly slow but I think the pleasant waitress was not initially assigned to our table. I believe she was really assigned to the party table next to us. She tried her best though, so our complaints are not guided towards her. Second, the fried gnocchis were saltyyyyyyy.......thirdly, our steaks were too fatty. The dessert (the sundae) was nothing to write home about.......On the whole, we should have went to legal seafood down the block (again) where we have a consistently had a great meal n drinks........

Post 390
Responded on May 29, 2019

Hello Raymond, I'm very sorry to hear about your recent visit with us and that our service and menu didn't live up to your expectations. I would like to learn more details from you if you have time so that we can learn where we fell short and address with the team. You can email me or call the restaurant directly. Again, I'm very sorry for your experience. Thank you, Richard.

Report
Helpful
C
New England
7 reviews
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Too noisy but good food and service

Report
Helpful
u
New England
13 reviews
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

As usual, Post 390 was perfect!

Report
Helpful
KM
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is a great restaurant with a nice drink menu and excellent food! I went twice, had the salmon the first time and steak the second and it was amazing both times. Try the oysters!

Report
Helpful
J
New England
5 reviews
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

We found that their menu was very limited and portions were small.

Report
Helpful
BS
1 review
Dined on May 19, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 4

Waitress condescending because of late stay, service not attentive, she disappeared served 2 out of 3 dinners and we had to find her for the third

Post 390
Responded on May 21, 2019

Hello Barry, I am extremely apologetic and unhappy to read your note. This is not the type of service that we work to provide. I would appreciate the chance to speak with you regarding your experience if you would be so kind. My email is mseznec@himmelhospitality. c o m. I would appreciate the chance to learn more and apologize directly to you. Best, Michael Seznec

Report
Helpful
RJ
Washington DC
18 reviews
Dined on May 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

While Post 390 is not in any way stuffy, it has a very sophisticated and refined ambience. It has a great range of menu selections and the food is expertly prepared. The entire staff, from the hostess to the wait staff to the chefs to the managers are superb. We recently had a celebratory graduation dinner there and we had a food allergy issue that the management handled in a manner that exceeded our expectations. This is really well-run restaurant and anyone who chooses it will have a great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
LG
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on May 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent everything! Was there for a business dinner. Couldn't have been better. Food and service were amazing. Want to return asap.

Report
Helpful
SD
New England
2 reviews
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 3

Two reasons I was unhappy with Post 390:
1) Menu lacked variety
2) After 16 minutes of being seated, our server never showed.

Post 390
Responded on May 21, 2019

Hello Samuel, I am sorry to read your two reasons. I don't like to hear either of those things. I would be grateful if we could speak about your experience. I would also appreciate the chance to apologize directly for the poor service you received. I can be reached at mseznec@himmelhospitality. c o m. Thank you, Michael Seznec

Report
Helpful
JJ
New England
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Law school graduation

Report
Helpful
KB
New England
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Fantastic food. The super helpful waiter who was able to speak to the wine list and the menu with ease. I will come back again this summer with friends! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
F
New York Area
17 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Dinner was delicious and an unexpected guest was graciously incorporated into our table. Kevin, our server, was outstanding! He was attentive, knowledgeable and courteous. He was so agreeable and accommodating, especially when we asked for separate checks. Kevin really made the whole experience most enjoyable. I would most definitely recommend Post 390.

Report
Helpful
S
New England
8 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We were celebrating a personal milestone, and things couldn't have gone better. Our scallops were delicious, the side dish of carrots their equal. The manager very graciously comped us an excellent appetizer, & our rum cake dessert capped a most memorable meal. The location's classy & cool, with big windows on Copley's downtown streetlife, and directly across the street from the building where our play was staged. The generous ticket-holders' discount helped bring the cost well below $100 for our three-course meal and two cocktails.

Report
Helpful
E
New England
4 reviews
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 3

Food is incredible. Saw celebrity chef Ming Tsai eating at table near us.

Report
Helpful
CC
Washington DC
27 reviews
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great location and service for delightful food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
J
New England
8 reviews
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful meal! They put us in a nice cozy corner and we didn't feel rushed at all. Loved our server. She was so much fun. The food was amazing! Wish it were a little less expensive, but all in all the perfect place. And it's right across the street from where I work. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
CM
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 2

Went for Mother's day. The food was good. The service was terrible. On arrival the front of house barked at us like we were inconveniencing them. Seated about 15 minutes after reservation. Service was unbelievably slow. One diner's starter arrived 15 minutes before everyone else. Waitress never checked in to see if things were ok. Dining room freezing, everyone wearing coats. No a-la-carte option - forced into prix fixed 3 course. Kids menu meanwhile had no starter OR desert (happy mother's day). Overall felt like we were just part of a profit maximization on Mothers day and not made to feel special or even welcome. Would never go here again.

Report
Helpful
OT
Chicago
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 3

Attended Mother’s Day brunch— sadly, would’ve been better celebrated by staying home and preparing a meal for my family myself. Staff were clearly working hard, but the organization and infrastructure for the service were nothing short of a disaster. Waited 25 mins to be seated (despite reservation) and then admonished for not hearing our name called over the incredible noise (even though we had checked in with the reception staff twice to make sure they knew that all guests were present and waiting), waited 20 mins to be attended to upon being seated, and despite ordering all food and beverages immediately for the whole meal first chance we got, waited 2+ hrs for food— almost left without eating given how fed up our family with young children was! I will acknowledge that manager comped meal for us. We were appreciative of the gesture, but the experience was adequately miserable that we will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
63
null