Here, guests can have a more refined dining experience, and enjoy our large, open kitchen, wine displays, two private dining rooms, additional fireside dining and views of landmarks like Copley Place, Trinity Church and the Hancock Tower.
Located in the Clarendon Building, on the corner of Clarendon and Stuart Streets at the site of the former Back Bay Post Office Annex, Post 390 is perfectly situated within walking distance of the South End and Back Bay neighborhoods.
Book your next event with us
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards
See availability for bonus point tables
Daily 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM
Thank your for a lovely dinner and evening. We appreciated your care and kind attention when my husband fell onto the floor. Your graciousness was exemplary !
Thank you for dining with us, and your kind note!
Went their on a first date and the atmosphere was great. Not to stuffy but still nice. Awesome, subtle Christmas decorations. Friendly wait staff and great food.
I always enjoy my outings at the restaurant and feel the staff are extremely courteous, kind and professional. The food was great, ambiance, and entire atmosphere. The two person table was more invasive than I recall in the past (on top of each other).
Thank you for your note. I am sorry the table were too tight on your last visit. ms
We had another terrific pre-theater dinner at Post 390 on Saturday. Everyone from the host to the servers was extremely helpful and cordial. I have several dietary restrictions that were cheerfully and graciously accommodated. The three people in our party ordered very different menu items, all of which were delivered to the table simultaneously and were absolutely delicious. We’re looking forward to our next meal here!
Thank you for your note!
Overall the dining was fine - food, service, etc. However, this was not good: Oysters are priced at $3.25 each and $18.00 for six. We ordered six. There were four oyster varieties listed on the menu. The waiter asked if we would like an assortment instead of all one variety. We chose the assortment. When the bill arrived, we found that we were charged $19.50 for the six oysters. The explanation - because we ordered an assortment we were charged the per oyster price ($3.25 x 6 = $19.50). This is not good policy.
Thank you so much for your note. You are absolutely correct. Unfortunately your oysters were not rung up properly. Definitely not our policy. We will go over this with our team. I am sorry. Please reach out to me the next time you would like to join us and I will make it up to you! Michael Seznec; mseznec@himmelhospitality. c o m.
Simply Amazing Time. Food and Drinks were top notch amoung the best in the city.
Went to Post 390 with my sons and Nephew. Great evening. Awesome food and the staff was over accomadating. Love the place will go back again when in Boston
Great location in downtown Boston with parking available on the street or nearby garage. Atmosphere was impressive, and you can see a cozy fireplace from the window. Plenty of seating options—downstairs in their “tavern” but it’s very nice with bar seating also available. We chose to dine upstairs in the main dining room, and can still order from downstairs menu as well. Very delicious drinks, food and dessert! Loved the holiday decor also, we will definitely be back!
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Great tasty meal prior to seeing a show. Very friendly staff and nice ambience.
The food was fine, but the wine was way too young to have been offered.
Thank you for your note. I am glad you enjoyed the food. I am sorry you did not enjoy the wine. I am curious as to what you had that you felt was too young. mseznec@himmelhospitality. co m
Just another overpriced restaurant whose menu reads well, but doesn't deliver. The wait staff is visibly under-trained, nobody who attended to us seemed to know much about how to deliver service at a level that matches this price point. Delays, missing cutlery, infrequent walks by the table to ensure we had what we needed. And not a "manager" type in sight. What could be easier than the "traditional" Thanksgiving dinner? My husband enjoyed his steak and croquettes, the actual turkey was good, the "traditional" (non-traditional) side dishes were lacking. The dessert cart looked like it had been wheeled down an airplane aisle on its way to our table. The coffee was old. C'mon people.....you can do better than that!! You're going to have to if you want this neighbor to return!!
Hello CCCCC, I am so sorry to read your review. I am sorry that we did not live up to expectations on your thanksgiving. We certainly do strive for a much better guest experience then you received. I would be very interested in speaking with you about your dinner with us, both to apologize directly and learn some specifics. I can be reached at mseznec@himmelhospitality dot c o m.
I always enjoy Post 390 but now eating gluten free and wish you had a few things that qualify.
Thank you for your nice note! As an fyi, we do have lots of GF items available for you and started marking our menu accordingly a few months back to make it easier. We are also happy to adapt many items for preference and or allergies, etc. Happy to serve you!
Food was excellent, service was awesome.
This is not my first Post 390 review, and it will read much like the others. As you can infer, we wouldn't keep going back unless we were happy with the restaurant, and we certainly are. The cuisine plays around with ingredients and flavors just enough to be out of the ordinary without being strange. Service, ambiance, noise levels are just fine. The wine and beer lists are excellent. The restaurant is not inexpensive but in my opinion it is a fine value, and we will be back.
Thank you so much!
Had dined here with my husband a couple years ago and really loved our meal, ambiance, service, everything. This time with my 25 year old daughter and a very disappointing experience! Arrived on time for our 9:15 reservation. Greeted with water service within minutes, but then sat with no one acknowledging us for over 15 minutes. When the server (Nina S) finally arrived , she did not apologize for the delay, but rather had a short and snippy attitude and said thank you for being patient. We ordered our drink and food together, not certain if it would be another long delay. Our drinks arrived in a reasonable amount of time, with bread (no butter) shortly after. We took 1 sip of our drinks and were starting to chat and were delivered our meals from a kitchen staff almost immediately. We were shocked!!! After waiting Over 15 minutes to be greeted, our drinks, bread and meal all arrived within 5 minutes!!!! It was one extreme to the other. My food was of good quality (scallops), my daughters (halibut) was VERY dry! We will not be back.
Hello TZimm, I am sorry to read your review. Clearly several things that were not ok. I apologize. We certainly strive to do a much better job. I would really like to connect with you to discuss your experience and find a way to make it up to you. We truly appreciate it when guests let us know when we have let them down as well as when we have done a great job. I can be reached at mseznec@himmelhospitality dot c o m. Michael Seznec, Sr. VP Operations.
From the moment I stepped in to the moment I left, I absolutely loved this place. As soon as I got in, I was greeted by a very polite and upbeat hostess who pointed my friend and I to the bar. The whole place had dim lights and was kept warm by a large fireplace not far from the entrance (I'm sure they used central heating too :). The bar area looked really nice, clean and the bartender was awesome. She was engaging enough that it was a pleasure to talk to her and get feedback on drinks, but not too much that it was annoying. BTW, if you get the chance, try the sangria - it's amazing.
Soon after we went upstairs for dinner. After looking at the menu, we ordered another glass of wine, steak tartare for appetizer, haddock and scallops for main course, and creme brule and ice cream for dessets. Each and every item was incredible: the steak tartare had some spicyness to it, tasted fresh and was in a very generous portion, something you rarely see in upscale restaurants. The haddock was perfectly well made, not dry at all, and came with some delicious roasted cauliflowers and some delicious spicy sauce on the side. My friend who had the scallops really liked his dish as well. Finally, for dessert, the creme brule was incredible. Not only that, but it came in what appeared to be a larger portion than you would normally get in other restaurants, but that could be because the dish was much wider (although shallower).
The waiter and busser were excellent. He answered all our questions, from wine recommendations to more information on the main course. The busser was like a ninja: he would come in and out unobtrusively, filling our water.
Finally, we leave and we were thanked by both the waiter and the hostess on our way out.
Simply put: I LOVED this place and look foward to coming here again. I've heard that there were complaints regarding their speed. Yes, it did take them a bit longer than other places, but the quality an taste of the food made it more than worth it
Wow! Thank you!!
Had a lovely evening. Enjoyed sitting by the fire on a cold windy night. Food was good and service personnel very nice. Would definitely return and recommend to a friend. In fact, we came on the recommendation from a friend.
We appreciate you dining with us!
Food was good, but not exceptional. Halibut was bland, could have been elevated; it came with parmesan cauliflower, but the parmesan could barely be detected. The filet mignon was very tasty. The the "cookie jar" dessert was a disappointment. We got 3 cold, grocery store-type snickerdoodle cookies for 9$.
Service was excellent, food was good.
Hi Lidia, I am sorry that did not provide a better experience to you. We do truly appreciate feedback and I will share with the team. Please reach out so that I might find a way to make it up to you. I can be reached at mseznec@himmelhospitality dot c o m. Michael Seznec, Sr. VP Operations
Meal came up quickly but the food was cold. Service wasn’t very attentive. Overall it was disappointing. Not impressed. Great location and atmosphere but not the meal.
Hello William, I am disappointed to hear that we disappointed you! I apologize. I'd love to learn more about your experience and find a way to make it up to you. I hope that you will reach out to me. Michael Seznec, Sr VP Operations, mseznec@himmelhospitality dot c o m.
Food and ambiance is great. Waitress could have been a little more friendlier and personable!
We ate upstairs and it was a pleasant experience. The food was freshly prepared and delicious. My mom sent back her salmon to be cooked more ( it was seared) and it came back perfectly moist and juicy. We didn’t get dessert but they gave my mom the chocolate chip cookies to go as an apology for her meal. Nice touch and the cookies were insanely yummy! Will go again!
Great service; great food; toasty fire although the icy breeze from outside kept sneaking in!!!
Very good food. A bit noisy. Good staff for a busy night. All staff helped, not just your server. 20% discount with Lyric Stage ticket!
We waited 1 hour and 40 minutes between the appetizers and main course - it was a brutal experience. Stay away!
Hi, I am so sorry to hear about such a long wait for food. I'd appreciate the chance to speak with you directly to learn the details of your visit. Won't you please reach out to me, Michael Seznec, at mseznec@himmelhospitality ? Thanks!
The service was horrible! It took forever and they screwed up both the appetizer and entree of my friend. She ordered both without cheese because she has to be dairy free and both came out wrong. They took the salad back and then never brought another one! The waitstaff was non-existent. They ignored us when we arrived and through out the meal. I will not return.
Hello Kathy, I am so so sorry to read your comments. I'd love to hear more about it to learn some details from you. Sounds like we did a really terrible job. I can be reached at mseznec@himmelhospitality . Please reach out. I'd appreciate the chance to apologize and make good on this poor experience. Thanks, Michael Seznec.
Great vibe, excellent food, average cocktails. I'll definitely return.
Thank you for your nice note!
Pleased you serve late dinner.
Food was out of this world. Service took longer than expected but our waiter took care of us!
Very small menu and a bit overpriced. Food was very tasty but not much to choose from. Cocktail menu had only 4 selections, and 3 of them were unavailable... they were “changing out the cocktail menu and wouldn’t have new drinks until Monday”...This was a Saturday night. Waitstaff was unapologetic and did not attempt to guide any further decisions on beverages. Probably will not return.