Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Washington, D.C. Area
  4. District of Columbia
  5. Downtown
Opaline Bar and Brasserie, Washington, DC

Opaline Bar and Brasserie

3.9
3.9
149 Reviews
$30 and under
French
The French way of dining – often en plein air, typically unhurried and with a strong commitment to quality ingredients – is one of the cornerstones of l’art de vivre. Join us at Opaline Bar for thoughtful, French-inspired cuisine and specialty drinks in the heart of Washington DC.

We also offer In-Suite Dining for guests to enjoy an Enhanced Private Dining experience in the privacy and comfort of your own guestroom or suite, available Tuesday - Saturday for up to 6 guests for 2.5 hours. No guestroom or suite rate purchase necessary, starting only at a $125 Food & Beverage minimum spend required per reservation.

Make a reservation

2 people

9:30 PM


Booked 12 times today
Experiences are available.

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    French, Afternoon Tea, Contemporary French / American

  • Hours of operation

    Breakfast Mon–Fri 7:00 am–11:00 am Sat, Sun 8:00 am–12:00 pm Dinner Mon–Fri, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm Sat 2:00 pm–10:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (202) 730-8701

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Casual Dress

  • Executive chef

    Derek Brooks

  • Private party facilities

    Opaline Bar & Brasserie provides a unique setting with a vibrant upscale bar, restaurant and terrace. The guests of your event will enjoy classic French food, seasonal dishes and cocktails, inspired by France, and interpreted by the team. Opaline Bar & Brasserie has a multitude of space and menu options for parties of 8 to 150 guests.

  • Private party contact

    Teresa Montgomery: (877) 248-2674

  • Neighborhood

    Downtown

  • Cross street

    806 15th St. N.W. Washington D.C. 20005

  • Parking details

    Street Parking

  • Public transit

    McPherson square station (orange & blue line)

  • Entertainment

    Large parties, semi-private space, and outdoor patio

  • Additional

    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Vegan, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Experiences

  • Thé de l'après-midi des Fêtes, Holiday Tea

    $65.00 per person

    Multiple dates available
    In celebration of festive season, join us for our Thé de l'après-midi des Fêtes, our afternoon holiday tea beginning November 26. Every Saturday from 2:00pm to 4:00pm, enjoy the traditional French afternoon tea you know and love with seasonal touches. $65 per person | $32.50 per children under 12 years Enjoy sweet treats like our cranberry scone, assorted French macarons, and pumpkin spice crème brûlée. Some savory additions include herb whipped cream cheese, cucumber, and radish with brioche bread; and corn cake with smoked salmon. A selection of Metz fine teas, cocktails and other beverages adds to this magnifiuque experience. Hot chocolate service will also be available. Not available Dec 24 or Dec 31.

What 149 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

3.9
3.9 based on recent ratings
  • 3.9Food
  • 4.1Service
  • 4Ambience
  • 3.6Value

NoiseModerate

Sort by

Filters

  1. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 24, 2022

    overall1food2service4ambience2
    Thanksgiving dinner
  2. S

    Sean

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 24, 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience3
    We made the reservation for Thanksgiving dinner as we were staying at the hotel. We chose to NOT do the Thanksgiving meal when we made the reservation. When we arrived we were told that was the only option at almost $90 a person. I have two teenagers who I knew wouldn't like the meal, however we had no other option at that point. The meal was far from a $90 meal, food was average and service was average. Very frustrating and put a bad spot on our great vacation. Spending almost $500 for one average meal will do that to ya I guess. Maybe the regular menu is better, but I would not recommend this for a Holiday meal.
  3. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on November 19, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    Small tea selection, no scones, sub par customer service. Was butt-dialed several times at 7:30am after confirming reservation day before.
  4. M

    Michael

    New England

    99 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    99 reviews

    Dined on November 9, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    We had an enjoyable dinner at Opaline (we ate in the bar rather than the restaurant, which was closed the evening we were there). The food was servicable -- not awesome but very good -- and there was a small but decent selection of wines by the glass. Service was efficient and personable.
  5. RC

    RegularChicagoDiner

    Richmond

    145 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    145 reviews

    Dined on October 29, 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience3
    Inviting twists on traditional bistro fare. The service was impeccable if a bit overwhelmed at times. Great wine list. Scallops were exceptional even though can find scallops anywhere. Nice sized portions-not so large that is overwhelming and inelegant.
  6. KL

    KellyLingerUSA

    London

    8 reviews

    3.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on October 29, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience4
    Food and tea were enjoyable, service was mediocre at best.
  7. AJ

    AndreaJ

    Washington DC

    8 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on October 27, 2022

    overall3food4service5ambience3
    The problem was this event was advertised online and social media as wine tasting with food pairings and a DJ for a set price of $29. And the only thing they had was the wine and the regular bar menu… no DJ. Pretty disappointing.
  8. RW

    RobertW

    Washington DC

    4 reviews

    2.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on October 23, 2022

    overall2food3service2ambience2
    Light was way to bright, even for the morning. Not enough staff. Very very slow.
  9. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    4 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on October 21, 2022

    overall4food2service5ambience5
    Food was just okay. However the service was great from valet to the team of servers.
  10. RH

    RoyH

    Philadelphia

    1 review

    vip
    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 14, 2022

    overall3food4service5ambience3
    Brunch was so loud that conversation was just about impossible. Perhaps dinner would be better next time.
  11. JS

    JodieS

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 8, 2022

    overall3food2service2ambience4
    Went for afternoon tea. Servers and staff were very pleasant and working hard as they were understaffed. Tea was served with sandwiches (typical) but was missing some of things like scones and jam. Other than the sandwiches, everything was a sweet. I felt like it was missing something.
  12. H

    Hestia

    Washington DC

    37 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    37 reviews

    Dined on October 8, 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    We went for Afternoon Tea and were very disappointed that there were no scones on the tea tray. The tea selection was limited and meh. We were left to figure out the flavors of the sweets - the waiter didn't point any of it out although he was helpful and pleasant with other requests. We paid for valet parking and the car was parked across the street and we had to pull out of a tight spot. Really didn't meet our expectations and all agreed on a 3.5 out of 5 rating.
  13. TC

    ThomasC

    London

    22 reviews

    vip
    1.0

    22 reviews

    Dined on October 8, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    The restaurant was closed! My guest and I made a special trip only to learn that Open Table should not have taken the booking.
  14. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New York Area

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 1, 2022

    overall2food1service4ambience2
    Food was sub par, small portions, low quality, unsatisfying for the high prices
  15. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    San Francisco

    1 review

    vip
    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 1, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Wonderful place for afternoon tea!
  16. MB

    MicheleB

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 26, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Outside terrasses are rare in Washington DC. If you wish a European atmosphere, this restaurant is the place to be. Opaline Bar and Brasserie is highly recommenced. The food is good, the service is efficient and the atmosphere is very pleasant.
  17. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New York Area

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on September 4, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Absolutely perfect dining experience. Food was fabulous and phenomenal service!
  18. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    1 review

    vip
    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 19, 2022

    overall2food2service3ambience2
    Food was not up to standard, portions was very small but the service was decent.
  19. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Las Vegas

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 7, 2022

    overall4food4service2ambience4
    Food was good. The service wasn’t great. Barely touched good. The server wasn’t as attentive as I would like. I would go back and try this place again!
  20. GE

    GarEka

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 6, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We did a staycation at the hotel and got to try breakfast as well as dinner at the bar. Loved everything about this place. The bartenders were a major standout. Cocktail crafters and au fait with wine. Our favorite dish hands down was the duck confit. We will be returning as much as possible for delicious after work drinks and eats!!
  21. K

    dvbKansas

    Washington DC

    43 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    43 reviews

    Dined on July 30, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    We met for afternoon tea. Typical assortment of sandwiches, no scones, madeleines. Tea selection is limited (no Darjeeling?). Additional hot water not offered. Was ok, but if you are looking for more pomp (like a tablecloth), or something for a special occasion, keep searching. Service was pleasant but not attentive. Overall, tea seemed like an afterthought.
  22. AL

    AnnaL

    Baltimore

    9 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on July 30, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We had a wonderful breakfast on the patio. The food was great (the portions are very generous) and our waiter was very nice and always on time.
  23. JB

    JeffB

    Washington DC

    19 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    19 reviews

    Dined on July 17, 2022

    overall3food4service5ambience2
    Main dining room was closed. That was very disappointing.
  24. LC

    LCsdf

    Washington DC

    5 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on July 15, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience3
    I have been here before for their Bastille Day party with much experience. Food was good if not on the pricey side which is expected for a hotel but the service was not good at all. While it was a little busy it was by no means busy enough for lack of service. We finally just left after about 20 minutes of our drinks being empty and no one stopping to ask if we wanted another
  25. M

    Mike

    Washington DC

    4 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on July 3, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    It feels European classical style. Quiet and comfortable. Will go back again.
  26. HP

    HelenP

    Las Vegas

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on May 30, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely breakfast, excellent value, nice atmosphere.
  27. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on May 28, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We went to celebrate my moms birthday and the staff were so helpful and recommended the best drinks. My mom had a great time!
  28. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    1 review

    vip
    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 30, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    The worst! And food quality is terrible. Old and tired hotel!
  29. B

    Bobby

    San Francisco

    2 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 16, 2022

    overall2food4service1ambience3
    We were staying at the hotel above so we went once for a late afternoon drink and the next day for breakfast. Drinks and food were good but the place is severely understaffed so you better be patient. Despite having a reservation for breakfast , there’s no host at the front so it made no difference and we waited 20 min before being seated. Waiters constantly run table to table, I feel bad for them
  30. BF

    BobF

    New York Area

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 12, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Sat outdoors. Wait staff was great and very attentive. Food was excellent.
  31. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    8 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on February 19, 2022

    overall2food1service2ambience3
    Opaline was listed as one of the few places to go for afternoon tea especially post-Covid. The ambience is nice, but the afternoon tea was an utter disappointment. The food was stale and after sending it back they still charged us the $50 per person fee. They comped us a free drink each, but that didn’t make up for the food we didn’t get to eat. We ordered off the regular menu instead and it was not memorable. Considering we had already received a spread that had clearly been sitting out for hours and we’re still charged is unacceptable especially since we still decided to eat off the regular menu. Would not recommend.
  32. LC

    LukeC

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 14, 2022

    overall3food3service5ambience3
    Opaline is a nice restaurant, but for the amount of money you will have to spend, your money is better spent elsewhere.
  33. m

    marilync

    Washington DC

    10 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on February 12, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    This is my second visit at opaline and I loved it. All three of us greatly enjoyed the service, food, and ambiance. Would highly recommend it
  34. AG

    AnnG

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on December 24, 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We dined early on Christmas Eve at Opaline so it wasn't crowded. The host and wait staff were most accommodating. They offered a three-course prix-fixe that included a nice variety of dishes. We shared the butternut squash bisque and shrimp cocktail appetizers, the filet mignon and halibut mains, and the apple galette and white chocolate raspberry mouse for dessert. Each was excellent. The main dining room was closed for COVID concerns so we ate in the bar. It was elegantly decorated, the ambient light sufficient to read the menu but not glaring. We found a jewel with Opaline.
  35. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    1 review

    vip
    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 16, 2021

    overall5food4service5ambience3
    Great bartenders. They know what they’re doing.
  36. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Charlotte

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 5, 2021

    overall1food5service2ambience5
    Ambiance and Entree/Cocktail were great, however the Wait Staff was way too aggressive. I had a 7PM reservation, and called to share I’d be running late, but was still questioned by a Server when I arrived. I offered to sit at the Bar even though almost all of the restaurant was empty, where I was hovered over the entire time being told 2 or 3 times to order a dessert, and 3 or 4 times to order a second drink with my meal. I shared that I had an event early the next morning and declined, and then was told by a Server that I “would learn one day what it was like to work and have responsibilities..”? I suppose he judged my age off my appearance, and I shared in response that I have a full time career and a second job, to which he then stopped pushing for more orders. I felt uncomfortable throughout, payed cash and left immediately following my meal. As I was leaving, the same Server felt obligated to hand me my receipt when I already laid cash out, in an effort to attempt to protect his tip, I imagine. I tipped my usual 20%, but likely shouldn’t have given how aggressive they were throughout. I’d encourage doing research and finding a better spot, or definitely opting for the patio or a regular table.
  37. JK

    JoanK

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 27, 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    It was amazing. Food and service were excellent. Highly recommend!
  38. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on November 21, 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Birthday! Wonderful experience
  39. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    6 reviews

    vip
    1.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on November 5, 2021

    overall1food3service3ambience1
    This was not what I was expecting. It is not a French brasserie! They only had four things on their menu to select from. A very big disappointment!
  40. S

    Stumperdining

    San Francisco

    8 reviews

    3.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on November 5, 2021

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    Is essentially a bar with restaurant food. Very average in every way. Cannot recommend .

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
  • Physical distancing

    • Limited number of seated diners
    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Protective equipment

    • Waitstaff wear masks
    • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
    • Proof of vaccination required to dine indoors
    • Staff temperature check required

FAQs

Opaline Bar and Brasserie offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (202) 730-8701.

Opaline Bar and Brasserie is rated 3.9 stars by 149 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

9:30 PM


Booked 12 times today
Experiences are available.
Google Map for Opaline Bar and Brasserie

806 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Additional information

  • Cross street

    806 15th St. N.W. Washington D.C. 20005

  • Neighborhood

    Downtown

  • Hours of operation

    Breakfast Mon–Fri 7:00 am–11:00 am Sat, Sun 8:00 am–12:00 pm Dinner Mon–Fri, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm Sat 2:00 pm–10:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    French, Afternoon Tea, Contemporary French / American

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking details

    Street Parking

  • Public transit

    McPherson square station (orange & blue line)

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

  • Executive chef

    Derek Brooks

  • Entertainment

    Large parties, semi-private space, and outdoor patio

  • Additional

    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Vegan, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

  • Phone number

    (202) 730-8701

  • Private party facilities

    Opaline Bar & Brasserie provides a unique setting with a vibrant upscale bar, restaurant and terrace. The guests of your event will enjoy classic French food, seasonal dishes and cocktails, inspired by France, and interpreted by the team. Opaline Bar & Brasserie has a multitude of space and menu options for parties of 8 to 150 guests.

  • Private party contact

    Teresa Montgomery: (877) 248-2674

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo