Old School - Toronto

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
90 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
​We offer a fresh perspective on the classic neighbourhood eatery, throwing back to a simpler, more wholesome time when eating out was fun, approachable and most importantly, accessible.It brings patrons back to the mid-twentieth century – an era defined by a feel-good, optimistic mentality that influenced popular culture and food. Think Leave it to Beaver, Superbad, and Saved By The Bell came together in the most epic way possible.
What 90 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
SZ
vipSZTO
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One of the best brunch/lunch spots in the 6. If you go, you NEED to get the blueberry pancakes! Shout out to John. Such amazing service. Definitely will be returning!

Old School - Toronto
Responded on March 11, 2020

Hi SZTO, Thanks so much for sharing some love and this great 5-star review! First, we will let John know about his amazing service. Second, we couldn't agree more about both being a top brunch/lunch spot in Toronto and offering up the best pancake stack in the city! We can't wait to see you again! Orlando

Report
SM
SM28
Toronto
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Always good food, friendly staff and a fun atmosphere!

Old School - Toronto
Responded on March 11, 2020

Hi SM28, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and the kind words! We pride ourselves on being your home away from home, and giving out guests a great time out while they enjoy epic comfort eats. We hope to see you again soon! Orlando

Report
C
Chrissy3421
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our first time here and we had a wonderful time. The food was great. I had the Blueberry Hill pancakes and they were absolutely amazing! We will definitely be back.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on March 11, 2020

Hi Chrissy3421, Thanks so much for coming by and sharing some love! We're so glad your first time here was a great experience while enjoying one of our most epic comfort food dishes - the Blueberry Hill. We can't wait to see you again! Orlando

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the atmosphere, waiters are hilarious, and the food is amazing! Highly recommend their milkshake. Make sure you book ahead of time!

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hi! Thanks so much for this great 5-star review! So happy to read these notes about your brunch visit with us! It's always nice to know that our friendly vibe is resonating with our guests. We love what we do from every plate of comfort food we dish out, to our service. You can also never go wrong with an epic milkshake! We look forward to seeing you again in the not-to-distant future Orlando

Report
LT
LenoreT
Philadelphia
7 reviews
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good amazing vibe perfect. Recommend making reservations though.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 20, 2020

Hi Jessica, Thanks for the 5-star review! We work hard to deliver a great comfort food experience to our patrons and love when that shines through. We look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future Orlando

Report
EZ
vipEriZC
Toronto
8 reviews
Dined on February 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Went for Family Day Brunch - huge lineup outside, but definitely worth the wait. Waitress was so friendly and food was delicious. Will definitely plan to come again. Due to the size of the restaurant, I would recommend only going with a party of 2 - they don't have much space for larger parties.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Really delicious place for brunch but it’s very very busy

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 18, 2020

Hi! Thanks for sharing some love our way! Epic comfort food and top-notch service are what we do best and love when our guests enjoy that experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the not-to-distant future Orlando

Report
BE
BrentE
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We were there for brunch to support the dude who goes to the bootcamp that I attend. I/we pretty much loved the entire expletive; however, the music was way too loud and the type of music could also have been more representative of “old school” type music. The type of music just didn’t fit into a brunch clientele or the feel and ambience that was trying to be created.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 18, 2020

Hey Brent, Thanks for leaving your feedback about your time with us! Glad that it was mostly a hit, except for the soundtrack! Our view on the term Old School is that the things that we look at to be "old school" are unique to each of our patrons that choose us over other restaurants. As such, it's important for us that we build a vibe that matches that subjectivity, so sometimes it's AC/DC and Bob Marley, and other times you'll hear Daft Punk and LL Cool J. See you at Bootcamp! Orlando

Report
t
taylorb
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Made a reservation for 12 o’clock on a Friday (Valentines Day), restaurant was busy, shoved in a corner table with barely any room. Upon seating, made our order about 10 minutes after and waited until 12:50, never got our food and left. Waiter continued to look at our table to see we had not yet received food and tables who were seated after us were well gone. Unfortunate as this was our first time going and we didn’t even get to try it, and unfortunately will not be returning.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 17, 2020

Hi! Thank you so much for the feedback. I know if I was in that position I wouldn't be happy either. We're sorry you had that experience. We never want our guests to feel that way. We'd love the opportunity to do right by you and have you back in our restaurant (on us, of course) to show you what I believe we're all about: genuine classics with quality and compassionate service. If you're interested in continuing the conversation, please reach out to me directly Orlando

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on February 12, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Small restaurant with an eclectic vibe serving southern favourites. Had the Mac & Cheese with fried chicken on top and have to say that the Mac &Cheese was excellent, the chicken was good with hot sauce but was not in the same league as the main part of the dish. Definitely worth trying again.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 17, 2020

Hi! Thanks so much for this great 5-star review! You hit the nail on the head, with our eclectic vibe with epic comfort food and top-notch service. The Skillet Mac & Cheese is a great option and always leaves you satisfied! Our fried chicken is made fresh daily and adds the perfect touch. Looking forward to seeing you again soon Orlando

Report
TY
TyYy
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on February 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was great! Food, service and atmosphere was perfect

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 6, 2020

Hi TyYy, Thanks so much for sharing some love and a 5-star review! Our modern approach to comfort food and commitment to deliver a great experience - is what we strive for daily. We love seeing the work we put in pay off with happy guests, such as yourself! Looking forward to seeing you back soon. Orlando

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was so good! I definitely will be coming back!

Old School - Toronto
Responded on January 31, 2020

Hi! Thanks for leaving us a 5-star review and the love for our modern twist on comfort food. We look forward to your next visit with us! Orlando

Report
RF
RebecaF
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Lovely place. The food was nice. The server was super friendly.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on January 22, 2020

Hi Rebeca, Thanks for sharing some love this way. Glad you enjoyed our modern twist on comfort food, and I will share your kind words with the team. We look forward to seeing you back again soon! O

Report
TW
TrixieW
Toronto
1 review
Dined on January 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great brunch experience. We’ve had brunch there numerous times over the years and we are never disappointed.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on January 17, 2020

Hi TrixieW Thanks for your great review and giving us 5 stars, means a lot! We love delivering an incredible brunch experience and love even more, when you can come back time and again. We're happy to have you as a valued member of our community and look forward to your next visit with us. Orlando

Report
KA
vipKarinaA
Toronto
23 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 4, 2020

Hi Karina, Thanks for sharing love our way! Always great to deliver a 5-star, epic comfort food experience See you again soon Orlando

Report
SM
SM28
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, large portions, fun crowd and nice staff

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall4food5service2ambience4

So yesterday i went to old school for a brunch with my friend everything was good, the food, service and everything. But at the end,when it was time to pay our bills, the waiter has been very unpleasant with us , because of the tip who may not have lived up to his expectations.He made us undertand his dissatisfaction with eye roll , blowing , by speaking to us in an authoritarian way. He even threw my card on the table after paying. We are students and we couldn't put a big tip. He left without even looking at us or saying "thank you goodbye". He left moaning and blowing. We were very disappointed the waiter didn't make us want to come back again to the restaurant. He should have stayed professional. His name was Josh or something like that.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on January 5, 2020

Hi Yasmine, Thank you so much for this feedback. I'm thrilled that everything went well until the end, and heartbroken that we dropped the ball at the finish line. It is up to you whether or not you want to/can leave a gratuity. While certainly, our service staff make the majority of their income off of tips, there is no excuse for him making you feel unwelcome because of it. I am so sorry to hear this. Hopefully we get to welcome you in sometime soon. Orlando

Report
YB
YBcause
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience4

The food is mediocre and overpriced. The coffee was terrible too. The servers were nice though and it was quite enough that I could have a conversation with my friends.

SR
ShuchiR
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Beginning the year at this place was a BAD idea. Went for breakfast on New Year's day. Food was mediocre at best. Service is the worst I've experienced in a long time...and that's saying a lot for Toronto. The first thing they will say to you when you enter is not "How are you doing today?" but "We'll be able to give you a table only for an hour and a half". Our server was alright, but there was one other server who was exceptionally obnoxious, who felt the need to comment loudly about my choice of putting salt on bland and tasteless home fries. The acclaimed hot chocolate was nothing to write home about. Definitely not going here again. I can think of many better places that don't make you feel like they're doing you a favour. Also, doesn't help that me and my husband came away with queasy stomachs.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on January 3, 2020

Hi Shuchi, I want to thank you personally for your honest feedback about your appalling experience with us. It appears that we let you down in all areas, from the greeting to goodbye. While we must occasionally enforce the 1 1/2 hour seating time from our reservation policy, it should not have been used as a greeting, and I'd feel as uneasy about things if the same happened to me while dining out. Our team would love the chance to right your poor experience, so please reach out to us! O

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
3 reviews
Dined on December 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Really nice restaurant! The food was amazing!! I usually don’t finish my food and I ate my entire plate (France toast, bacon and home fries). The sides are huge, so consider sharing with a friend. Water wasn’t the best but it was cold. Super friendly and if you’re using USD, we paid $32 for 2 meals!

TB
TanyaB
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on December 21, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Chicken and Waffles were amazing! Definitely recommend those if going for brunch.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on December 26, 2019

Hi Tanya, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review! The Chicken and Waffles are an Old School classic and I'm glad you got to have those. I recommend our Blueberry Hill or French Toast upon your next visit. See you again soon! Orlando

Report
MW
MellissaW
1 review
Dined on December 8, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food...great staff...appreciated the service.

RO
ROBERTOR
1 review
Dined on December 1, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good service, friendly staff, great food, the only thing is the avocado toast was ok not that exiting but again Everything else was great. Great date spot

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on November 24, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Birthday brunch

OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on November 23, 2019
Overall2food3service2ambience4

Just a brunch with friends. Waited for our food for ~45 minutes (other tables that got there AFTER us) were served quicker... and our reservation for 1:15pm got delayed till 1:30pm even though there were a couple empty tables..

OM
OakvilleMom
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on November 17, 2019
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Blueberry pancakes were excellent - portion was generous and cooked to perfection. Fried chicken eggs benny was mediocre - eggs weren’t warm, English muffin was dry and over toasted and fried chicken was rock hard over done. The service was really good, ambiance trendy but a touch on the loud side. 3.5/5 stars.

AL
AmberLee
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 16, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful food, vibe, great music, relaxed, chill, Happy to go back for Brunch Anytime with friends!

h
hollystonhill
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was ginger - she was so funny and welcoming. Best type of service. And $5 mimosas on wednesdays!!!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Miami
123 reviews
Dined on November 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Was my daughters 30th birthday. Brunch was outstanding, the service amazing as was our server from start to finish. Food allergies well addressed and highly recommend

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on October 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a great place to have brunch with a group of lovely woman. Food & atmosphere were both great. Service was kind of weird but that just may be the style being in forgiven land because a lot of our wait staff was weird the way it worked. Americans are more get in & get out. But overall very nice the drink were great & affordable. Only down fall my friend mad a reservation online & the day of she called saying we would be late. But I also made a reservation online which was fine. So idk where the confusion lied but it was fine we ending up having an appetizer at the place down the street Almond Butterfly (recommend Kale Salad).

RO
ROro
1 review
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall2food3service2ambience3

Busy Saturday lunch, however more staff needs to be on hand. Too much pressure for one server for so many customers. We arrived at 2:15 did not get seated til 2:30 and then received out order at 3:25. Coffee was luke warm also. Fries were cold.
We had a lovely server Ginger, however as I have stated it is too much pressure for one pressure

IP
vipIvanaP
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2019
Overall3food2service2ambience3

Very overpriced food and slow service. We waited about an hour or so to get our food. The pancakes were good but the other items we ordered were not great. The healthy bruncher was a very confusing plate that did not go well together. They forgot a couple of items that we ordered. I don't think I'd come back.

C
Carmen
1 review
Dined on October 14, 2019
Overall3food5service2ambience4

I would only recommend Old School if it’s for a table of 2-4. Otherwise, it’s best to go else where for bigger parties.

Our experience at Old School was not the best. We booked for a table of 5, but they gave us a table for 4. 3 of us had to squish into the bench seating.

We were not comfortable while eating, it would have been more enjoyable if we were not concerned with hitting other people at the table.

We asked our server if we could get a bigger table or get one more seat, she said “good luck with that”. We were hoping she could have been more accommodating and understanding, unfortunately - that was not the case.

We will not be returning as our first experience was not pleasant.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on October 18, 2019

Hi Carmen, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We're grateful you chose us, but disappointed that we let you down as our guests. While, yes: it is true that space is very much at a premium here, and that some of our tables set for 4-6 are situated close together during peak hour, we're sorry that our server's tone towards you was unkind, and not fitting of who we are as a restaurant. Hopefully, we get the chance to win you back with our super-friendly service sometime! O

Report
CS
ChristinaS
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were a large international group and the staff was super friendly, accommodating! All the food was delicious and came out at the same time. Excellent service and ambiance. I highly recommend 🤗

Old School - Toronto
Responded on October 18, 2019

Hi Christina, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! Glad you loved what we had to offer! Best, Orlando

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Miami
123 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

From the moment we arrive my food allergies were address and a printed version put on the table and given to the chef. Our server was very attentive and told me nothing fried based in my allergies. I ordered the mile high blueberry pancakes. Simply amazing as was the Fitch toast. Highly recommend and we will return

Old School - Toronto
Responded on October 18, 2019

Hello! Thank you so much for spending part of your week with Old School. We're honoured you chose us, and beyond thankful that you took the time to leave your feedback about us. While we are not an allergen-free facility, we take every dietary concern very seriously. The safety and comfort of our guests and staff is more important than anything else we do, and I'm thankful that you recognized our care here. Thank you again. Orlando

Report
DR
DidarR
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall4food5service2ambience3

Very slow service
Eventhough we had a reservation for 10 am for Sunday brunch and the restaurant wasn't busy at that time, it took about an hour for our order to arrive
The blueberry pancake is to die for though

Old School - Toronto
Responded on October 18, 2019

Hello Didar, Thanks for this piece of feedback! I'm disappointed to hear that we dropped the ball at getting your breakfast out to your table in our usually speedy time, but I can certainly understand how that would leave you unsatisfied. On behalf of the entire team, we'd love to hear a little more about your time with us in hopes that we can win you back to our restaurant. If you'd like to continue the conversation, DM us on Instagram (@oldschoolyyz) Orlando

Report
AK
AmandaK
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing brunch!

Old School - Toronto
Responded on February 20, 2020

Hi Amanda, Thanks for sharing some love and leaving us a 5-star review! Amazing brunches are one of the things we do best, from epic comfort food to our commitment to great service. We look forward to seeing you back again soon Orlando

Report
N
Naima
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall4food2service5ambience4

The service was amazing! Everyone was kind, warm, funny and personable. If only the food was better! We started with the mozzarella sticks, but they were pretty bland: I even added salt and pepper to mine just to get some flavour. 2 of us ordered the chicken and waffles, which we both found a bit flavourless. I added tobasco sauce to the "tobasco honey" (which was neither spicy, nor tasted like honey), which helped, but doesn't compare to fried chicken that's properly seasoned. I don't need spice, but I do need seasoning and flavour. Our friend ordered the steak and she wasn't a fan of it either. The service was so good that I might be willing to give it another try if a friend invited me there, but I probably wouldn't go there again myself. Which is a shame, since all the items on the menu sound perfect.

Old School - Toronto
Responded on October 18, 2019

Hello Naima! Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback about your visit. We're thrilled that you loved our service, but extremely disappointed that our dinner fare fell flat for your and your dining companions. Your feedback about the respective dishes has been passed on to our Executive Chef Stu to monitor as we get ready to launch our upcoming fall-winter dinner menu. We'd love to hear more about your experience. If interested, please DM us at @oldschoolyyz! Orlando

Report
B
Badd
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was excellent!!

JM
JM123
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience1

Bland, tasteless food. Service was decent. Overpriced for the quality of food you get.

FAQs

Old School - Toronto does offer delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Old School - Toronto also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (416) 815-8790.

Old School - Toronto is rated 4.4 stars by 90 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.