Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove

4.6
3935 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Occupying the upper level of iconic George’s at the Cove in the heart of La Jolla overlooking the Pacific coastline, George's Ocean Terrace features a casual bistro menu developed by Executive Chef/Partner Trey Foshee and his team. Consistently named the region's best outdoor dining by the likes of San Diego Magazine, San Diego Home & Garden and Ranch & Coast, and Zagat's most popular restaurant, the Ocean Terrace experience is quintessential Southern California.
What 3935 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Chicago
1 review
Dined 21 hours ago
Overall 3food 1service 5ambience 3

The food was disgusting

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded an hour ago

Hello and I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your food. It would be very helpful to hear more information about what items you ordered and why you didn't enjoy them. Feel free to respond to this comment or call me directly at 858-454-4244 ext. 124. I appreciate your time and willingness to help us improve. Respectfully, Mike GM- George's Ocean Terrace

Report
DR
Phoenix
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

We always enjoy dining on the Terrace at George's which we have done for MANY years when we vacation in the area. The view is breathtaking!

OT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 4

Service was average and the starter was not good!

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded a day ago

Sorry you had a below average experience on your most recent visit. It is always good to get feedback on how we are doing, but I would love to hear more. Please reply to this comment or call me at 858-454-4244 ext 124 if you are willing to give me just a few more minutes of your time. I hope you give us another opportunity to provide you with an amazing experience; I look forward to hearing from you. Respectfully, Mike GM- George's Ocean Terrace

Report
F
Tucson
421 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Great views from this 3rd floor roof top outdoor restaurant. Service is friendly and excellent! Food is very good, but not outstanding. People watching is fun here! Go for lunch.

OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Service was too fast

t
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Location. Location. Location. Just spectacular views. Can't beat it.

G
Houston
2 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Place was great. View was awesome. Service was top notch and friendly. Food was very good. Value for the area and experience also very good.

JK
San Diego
8 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Excellent views, very good food and good service. Definitely a place to visit!

WB
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined on August 9, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

Good food and view, but was disappointed with the service and the attention to detail. Would not visit again on a return trip to La Jolla.

OT
San Diego
1 review
Dined on August 9, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 4

The ambiance is always good but for the first time the food was less than expected for 3 of the 4 diners.

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded on August 11, 2019

Hello and thank you for the feedback. I would like to know more information such as what did you have and why they were less than expected as you mentioned. We value your ongoing patronage and we are committed to remaining at the top of your list when you consider your options. I look forward to hearing from you: 858-454-4244 ext. 124. Respectfully, Mike GM- George's Ocean Terrace

Report
M
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

We had a fabulous view where we were seated and that was great, but our food and service where just so-so. We wouldn't choose to go back, especially if we hadn't been seated with the great view. Two of our dishes were pasta dishes and the noodles were overcooked. That's a simple deal breaker.

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I have passed your feedback on the food to our chef. I am hoping that we might be able to continue this conversation about your service so that I may be able to direct my team accordingly. We strive to provide excellent service, so feedback from valued customers is crucial in maintaining our high standards. I hope you give us another opportunity in the future and I look forward to hearing from you; 8584544244 ext 124 Mike

Report
OT
Chicago
9 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always the highlight of my trips to San Diego

K
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful place and breathtaking view! Great food and excellent service! Highly recommended!

CL
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Yes. The view is beautiful, and the food good. It is on the high end with prices. It would not be a place I would frequent often because of the prices, but is good for a once in awhile get-together. Got lucky with street parking right before 6pm on a Wednesday so I can't quite review how this place is on other days.

BG
San Diego
3 reviews
Dined on August 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I always love coming here. From the service to the food and ambiance. It’s the epitome of So Cal
living!

o
New York Area
42 reviews
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

A wonderful restaurant that has lost its luster! We’ve been dining at George’s for more than twenty years and for this occasion chose the Terrace restaurant. The views are always amazing! Unfortunately, our greeting by the hostess was uninviting and set the tone for what was an average evening.

The Terrace wine list is mediocre despite the Cove’s stellar selection downstairs. Service was less than attentive and the salmon entree left our guests hungry served on a plate of mushrooms all about 4-5 oz. The pork chop was yummy and plentiful and despite the views it was an average night with so many other great restaurants in San Diego and neighboring Coronado.

This will most certainly be our last visit to the Terrace. We may give the Cove another shot.

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded on August 8, 2019

I'm very sorry to hear that you left disappointed. I appreciate the time you took to provide us with feedback; I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to continue this confirmation and hopefully convince you that we are dedicated to improving and that we are worth giving another opportunity to prove it. Please call me since this platform will not allow me to leave my email address: 858-454-4244 ext 124. Respectfully, Mike GM- George's Ocean Terrace

Report
OT
Louisville
1 review
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great view and good. Nice staff

MD
Richmond
1 review
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Outstanding service! Awesome outdoor dining. We had a great time. Waiter was Ditri.

OT
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

We had read great things and our experience was average.
The service was great though!

OT
San Diego
1 review
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was perfect!!

MR
Houston
2 reviews
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

Requested glassside seating, but was unable to get it. Restaurant passes on 4% of the bill to the guest to cover the cost of labor, which is unfair. It is the responsibility of the establishment to ensure their workers are well paid. 4/5 stars overall. Paying mostly for the view.

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded on August 8, 2019

Hello, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the surcharge, with limited characters allowed, I will be unable to explain in adequate detail on this platform. Please call me at 858-454-4244 ext. 124 for a thorough explanation. For other readers, I strongly encourage you to inquire with a manager on duty at the time of your visit with any and all questions/comments/concerns so that we may address them promptly and directly. Respectfully, Mike GM- George's Ocean Terrace

Report
HD
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

View cannot be best! Our server was ok- not the friendliest...

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded on August 8, 2019

What a bummer! Can you let me know more about why they weren't friendly and hopefully their name so that I may coach them up? We take pride in hiring only the best; I think your experience was an anomaly so I hope to hear from you so that I can address their table manner. 858-454-4244 ext. 124. Thank you! Respectfully, Mike GM- George's Ocean Terrace

Report
VL
London
10 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 3

I was recommended this place by several people and it did not come up to expectations, think they rate themselves to much. Food was good and the views are special with the sunset. Found they had a slight arrogance and the person at the front of desk seamed to have no interest and looked bored. When to Dukes the day before (in the same street) and enjoyed that much more.

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded 6 days ago

Hello, I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit. I would really appreciate a few minute of your time to learn more about your other comments. You can reach me at 858-454-4244 ext 124. I think if you give us another opportunity, I think we can change your opinion and I would be happy to personally arrange a reservation for you. I look forward to your call; thank you. Respectfully, Mike GM- George's Ocean Terrace

Report
M
New Orleans
2 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great place on the water!

D
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on August 1, 2019
Overall 5food 3service 5ambience 3

We’ve always had such a wonderful time at George’s...I don’t know what happened this time, but it’s unlikely we’ll be back. We were looking forward to this night for weeks. We were celebrating my birthday and our anniversary as well. The food was mediocre compared to previous visits. I was surprised when the food came out within minutes of ordering it. I don’t know how they could have it ready that quickly. My son ordered the gnocchi. It was barely an appetizer portion...I think there were literally 6 pieces of gnocchi. Such a disappointment for $28. My daughter had the kids penne with red sauce. The sauce was so salty you could barely eat it. The halibut was good, but it was much better the last time we visited. We used had a $50 gift card, and the waiter was quick to point out that the recommended tip shown was not for the original amount. In other words, “You should tip me more than what’s shown on the receipt.” He proceeded to hover over me as I tipped and signed the bill. I’ve never had a server stand next to me, waiting for me to write the tip. I really didn’t appreciate it at all, and it’s probably the reason we won’t come back. Good customer service would’ve brought us back, even if the food wasn’t as good as it usually is. After dropping over $200, I left there so disappointed...with that sick feeling in your stomach. I rarely write reviews, if ever, but I felt like something needed to be said.

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded on August 8, 2019

Hi Drew, I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such articulate notes. What you described is explicitly forbidden in our policy. I was able to identify who your server was and will act accordingly. I apologize that we made you feel so uncomfortable. Please reach out to me at 858-454-4244 ext. 124; I am confident we can deliver on your expectations if you give us another opportunity. I look forward to hearing from you! Thank you. Respectfully, Mike GM- George's Ocean Terrace

Report
RK
1 review
Dined on August 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful view with a table on the glass. Food was incredible with awesome service!

AL
Oklahoma City
4 reviews
Dined on August 1, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 5ambience 4

Great service and beautiful location. The good was all subpar. Maybe it was because this restaurant was so hyped up to us. I had shrimp tacos. No crema, 3 small shrimp and a cold, chewy tortilla. My husband had the yellow fish taco. Fish was fresh and tasty but he had to take it out of the shell. For how pricey it was, I expected excellence. Probably should have tried dinner instead. Left us seriously underwhelmed.

RA
Seattle
4 reviews
Dined on August 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Several young children running around the restaurant patio and making a lot of noise made lunch less pleasant than usual. The parent seemed oblivious to the irritation her kids were causing others.

KD
1 review
Dined on July 30, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 4

When making a reservation it would have been nice to have been offered seating by the glass wall for the best view. We were not given that as an option when we made our reservation 3 weeks in advance.

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded on August 6, 2019

Hello KeithD, I am sorry to hear you did not get the table you would have liked. It is true we do not offer specific tables for reservations as our seating policy is based on a first come first serve basis regarding specific tables. The next time your in be sure to let the hostess know of any specific seating request and if the table is not available you are always welcome to grab a beverage & wait for one to open up. Regards, Jake S.

Report
B
San Diego
4 reviews
Dined on July 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Whenever we are in the area, George's is a must. The view, the Staff and the food are always exceptional.

OT
1 review
Dined on July 29, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 4

We had good service at George’s, but the food was just ok. One detractor from the experience is that there is only one bathroom for the entire restaurant, and it was not well tended to during our visit. Positive is that the views are wonderful.

T
Phoenix
6 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Food was fabulous as always, but took forever to get a drink. We ordered appetizers and they came before our drinks came. Other than that dinner was great!

JC
San Diego
1 review
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Awesome view with tables overlooking La Jolla Cove. Attentive service and exceptional place to celebrate.

KG
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We love George’s! Ocean Terrace! Wonderful view and atmosphere. The food and drinks are awesome too!

Ocean Terrace - George's at the Cove
Responded on July 30, 2019

Hello KathyG, We love having you here as well! So nice to hear you had an all around great experience. Hope to see you back soon! Cheers, Jake S. Level 2 AGM

Report
SD
Los Angeles
9 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

For my brother birthday

CR
Los Angeles
26 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

The food was very good, but it was very expensive (e.g., $40 for a halibut entree). The view was spectacular and the drinks were good.

BS
San Diego
1 review
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful views and great service! Good photo ops.

CV
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing place. Unbelievable view, fantastic service, excellent cocktails and wine, and delicious food. Perfect place for a special evening!

OT
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on July 24, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

The atmosphere and food was great. Out server was awesome too. The only improvement I would suggest was the rude hostess. Didn’t wish us a goodnight when we were leaving and have both my husband and I attitude on separate trips to ask her a question while waiting for our table. She wasn’t busy, just young and inexperienced in how to deal with people patiently and kindly.

PS
San Diego
18 reviews
Dined on July 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful La Jolla day. Food was delicious and service wonderful!

1
2
3
99