Normandie Seaside Cafe at West Wind Inn

3.8
62 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
The Normandie is located at the West Wind Inn and is known as the best kept secret on the island. the restaurant serve breakfast , lunch and dinner every day, the ambiance is very relaxing and the menu offer choices for everybody. The restaurant is very casual and welcomes families .make sure you reserve for dinner because it fills up quickly.
What 62 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.7
food
4.1
service
3.5
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Quiet
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
S
New York Area
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 2

Service was rushed and food was overpriced for precooked, dry, stringy entrees.

OT
1 review
Dined on April 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

The food was wonderful and wait staff very attentive. Enjoy Ed our meal and would highly recommend!

JS
Minneapolis
6 reviews
Dined on April 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Terrific food, outstanding service and lovely ambiance. A dining trifecta!

J
Kansas City
51 reviews
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

We had good drinks, food and service. Delicious grouper was the highlight!

BH
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined on March 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Best burger I’ve ever had!

BT
New York Area
100 reviews
Dined on March 18, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Very, very good.
Surprisingly good.
Very good service, excellent food.
Grouper, grouper, grouper.
Well prepared, well presented.
We hadn’t been there before.
You should go there!

G
Philadelphia
20 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Service was prompt, setting was quiet. Pork chop and cioppino was over seasoned and grouper was bland. Wine was good.

NL
London
2 reviews
Dined on March 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Outstanding food. Most of the seafood dishes were served with risotto which was delicious. A relaxed atmosphere and good service (Nick deserves a mention) adds up to an enjoyable evening.

P
New England
5 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 3

We visited Normandie only because I saw it listed on Open Table. Otherwise, I'd never heard of nor seen any ads for it. I've been visiting Sanibel for many years and stay in a condo on West Gulf Drive. Our party of two ordered a small West Gulf Gorg salad to share, and Filet Mignon and Seafood Trio as entrees. Everything was PERFECT. Salad was loaded with gorgonzola and plenty big enough for two as a first course, served with warm dinner rolls. Filet was SO tender and perfectly medium. The Seafood Trio of grouper, scallops, and shrimp was delicious. Each of the fishes was succulent and perfectly cooked. Risotto with the fishes was bleh, roasted potatoes with the steak were just OK. We shared a key lime pie for dessert - it was OK, not great. Server was pleasant and attentive. We enjoyed Normandie so well that we returned one afternoon for lunch at the West Wind poolside deck for good sandwiches and a beer, and back to Normandie for a second dinner. For dinner we had the filet again and the sautéed snapper Sinatra. Fish was perfect, served with perfectly cooked asparagus, and again the bleh risotto. This time the steak was a little undercooked when it came out, but was quickly taken away, and came back perfect. Nomandie definitely has a great meat purveyor. Will definitely be back to Normandie to try more items on the menu.

OT
Chicago
8 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Pretty room. Can’t beat the value of the Sundown menu.

JA
Philadelphia
8 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 4ambience 1

The restaurant was a disappointment from the moment we entered the door. As an advertisement indicated a room with a few of the Gulf, we entered a windowless room on the ground floor of a motel.
The salmon I ordered tasted days old and over cooked. In addition the price was not cheap and I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Normandie Seaside Cafe at West Wind Inn
Responded on March 5, 2019

dear JerroldA, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Normandie. we take all critiques very seriously as they help us to improve. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy about the salmon, we usually do not have any issue with that dish. As for the price($23), it is our cheapest dinner seafood dish on the menu (except for the burgers)i also would like to mention that we do not advertise the restaurant with a view of the gulf neither on our website or tripadvisor!

Report
C
New England
25 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We wanted to try a new place to us and someplace close to where we were staying on West Gulf Dr. We were leaving the next day so didn't want any leftovers so my husband and I just ordered 2 appetizers each. And 2 yummy cocktails! We had the escargot, lobster bisque, Old Bay crabcakes, and onion caprese salad. Being from Maryland I'm always a little leery ordering crabcakes but these were VERY good! My husband liked the escargot and bisque. My only complaint would be the huge slabs of raw onion on the caprese salad. I knew it had onion, but that was just way too much - I took it all off and didn't eat any of the onion. The rest of the caprese salad was delicious. My suggestion would be to just ditch the onion.

SF
Minneapolis
4 reviews
Dined on February 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Excellent food. Attentive service. Good value. No view of the ocean

OT
New England
117 reviews
Dined on February 18, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

We went there for dinner, it was very good. Small dining room but nice decor. Very good service. Very convenient if you're staying at West Wind. Very good waiter (Noah?) I have no complaints, good value for your money.

BE
Baltimore
19 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The meals at the Normandie were superb. The scallops were so delicious as well as my husbands steak. The vegetable of the day was a medley of vegetables with such tasty seasonings. We hope to return there next week for another great meal.

RN
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 2

Like many other reviews, food was very nicely prepared and presented. Wine list average.
Inside decorating needs help. 2 standing lamps with daylight bulbs, need to be removed. Hayes if look like a cafeteria.
Don’t let the outside fool you. Try it; you may be surprised.

LY
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Loved everything about the place just they only had two servers on for Valentine's night and they were a little over whelmed. But I can't wait to go again.

c
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Surprising find. All near perfect

R
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined on February 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Food was fabulous. Place is small and unassuming. A real gem!

PN
Naples
14 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 3

This place was a great favourite of ours until a change of management a few years ago so we decided to try it again. We found the food a bit sloppy. Nothing terribly bad, but a bit of a disappointment.

K
New York Area
19 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Excellent meal! The preparation is truly excellent. I'd strongly recommend the steak au poivre - one of my favorites that they do just perfectly. Very friendly, down to earth waitstaff.

A
New England
42 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Nice intimate dining room, friendly service. During the busiest times they might be slightly under-staffed, but once the rush is over the service is great. The food is fresh well prepared and very tasty. If you are going at the height of the dinner hour, I suggest making a reservation.

PB
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 2

Service was absolutely terrible as tho both servers had no experience or training. They were both very pleasant young men but could not keep up with the service, would have he,led if the hostess would have handed menus out upon seating and maybe even did drink orders, especially water.

Normandie Seaside Cafe at West Wind Inn
Responded on February 4, 2019

Thank you for the feedback and harsh 2 stars note in regards to your recent experience with us at the Normandie. We take all of our reviews very seriously especially the critiques, as they give us opportunities to improve. We're sorry to hear about the service. That is definitely not the standard we uphold here at the Normandie. We are working to resolve the issue. We do hope you give us another opportunity in the future Thank you, F&B Management

Report
SS
Seattle
4 reviews
Dined on January 22, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 2

My husband and I enjoyed the food but the place was lit like it was a cafeteria. If they turned the lights down (and had all of the bulbs match,) it would make the experience nicer.

A
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Food was not shockingly good. Average food. The ambiance was average, there were only 2 servers managing the entire restaurant hence it took the server a while to notice we were waiting at the front desk.

RE
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great Restaurant

Report
LI
Naples
3 reviews
Dined on January 2, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 2

We have had excellent meals here in the past. Our recent experience was a disappointment. They were short staffed. Server reached over us. Obviously not versed in serving etiquette. Filet appeared to be a sirloin and over cooked. The cioppini had a good flavor. One order had 2 shrimp. 2 scallops and 3 mussels. The other had 5 shrimp. 4 scallops 3 mussels. The one server was hosting, serving and tending bar. Only two servers. It’s a shame because they do have potential

ME
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 2

The restaurant is a casual hotelrestaurant and is good enough for a tired family that don’t have the spirit or energy to leave the hotel. Decent food, reasonable money, no more and no less

DG
Naples
14 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2018
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 1

This place would be ok for breakfast or lunch. It is a small place lacking ambiance and has no view of the Gulf or anything else. Dinner selection is limited and prices are pretty high. Food was just ok, service was mediocre. It is difficult to find a restaurant with a view on Sanibel, but it is not difficult to find a restaurant with better food and better prices.

d
Philadelphia
10 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

Doors don't open until 5:00 pm sharp so don't arrive early expecting to enjoy a drink at the bar because they don't really have a bar. Great food and friendly service in a causal atmosphere. It's not a good stop for a long leisurely dinning experience.

ML
Milwaukee
10 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

We went there for Christmas Eve dinner. The service was fantastic and the food was excellent but the dining room is a bit disappointing. It was small with a low ceiling.

PL
Denver
57 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 3

We found ourselves in Normandie because we couldn’t get a reservation elsewhere. GREAT FIND!! We’ll definitely be back next time we’re on Sanibel.

AF
New England
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 3

Overall a great food place. Service was ok but hurried and not very personable staff. They were not rude just not warm.

L
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We had dinner on Thanksgiving evening. Although the restaurant was understaffed they provided excellent service, the food was prepared well, and overall, our evening was very enjoyable. We will be returning the next time we are at Sanibel.

OT
Naples
2 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 1

Thanksgiving menu. Food quality was not good. Overbrined turkey slices, mushy, sticky dressing and creamed corn not fitting in with the menu. There was nothing green on the plate.
The waitstaff acted as if they would rather be anywhere else but working.

J
Naples
7 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really enjoyed the Normandie, lookingorward to return.

OT
Baltimore
8 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Got an early meal then walked to the beach to watch the sunset.

m
Philadelphia
32 reviews
Dined on October 26, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service. Reasonably priced menu. Great breakfast and dinner choices.

LM
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 3

Best grouper on Sanibel. The food was amazing-we will be back again

IB
Naples
2 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

Decor a bit dared, but food and service is very nice!

1
2