Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar

4.4
1586 Reviews
$30 and under
Italian
Mulino provides a dining experience that takes the curious on a richly rewarding gastronomic journey across the Italian culinary landscape and rewards the intrepid adventurer with simple yet sumptuous cuisine, wines, and a complementary culinary education in the history of Italian cuisine all in a very cozy environment.

Patio seating is first come first serve for reservations.

Located in downtown Raleigh and minutes from the Raleigh Convention Center, Mulino can accommodate parties from 2-250.

For Parties of 12 or more, a large party menu will be required. For details, please navigate to: https://mulinoraleigh.com/menus/limited-menu/
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1586 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
G
Garrett
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We have been trying to get reservation here for a few weeks and finally got visit last night. We sat in the courtyard and, WOW! it was perfect. Ambience was amazing, food was beyond expectations, and service was great. Kim was our server and she was attentive and had a great personality. We will definitely be back!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our first time here and we loved it. Food was delicious, service was excellent, and the ambiance was soothing. We sat outside and really enjoyed our time here. Definitely coming back again soon!

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the five-star rating! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful dining experience on our outdoor patio. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon!

Report
KS
KarenS
Raleigh
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Our server, Roberto, was both charming and efficient. We would hope to have him serve us again.

Appetizers: Beet salad and Frito Misto, which we shared. The beet salad was a little bland and short on beets, but we loved the Frito Misto, which had a nice tangy dipping sauce. The addition of a few fried pickles and shrimp were a very nice touch.

Bread: Good crust and chewy interior. It came with olive oil for dipping. I would have liked it better had there been some herbs in the oil, and a side of butter would have been welcome. If I had asked, I'm sure that would have been provided. I'll know next time.

Entree: Bolognese and Carbonara, which we also shared. I thought the bolognese was better than the carbonara, which seemed a little runny and lacking the buttery flavor I usually associate with this dish. I did like the bits of guanciale which added the salt that the dish needed.

Ambience: We sat outside. It was lovely.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded a day ago

Good morning Karen, We appreciate your positive feedback! We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely dining experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to dining with you again soon!

Report
TE
TerrieE
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food! Absolutely great atmosphere. Pricey but worth it.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Terrie, Thank you for the high marks!

Report
B
Briana
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Very quiet setting, Gives Italy vibes with the pool in the middle.. my husband and I are photographers and enjoyes taking photos all night long.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Briana, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed dining on our outdoor patio. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charlotte
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our greater was amazing , everyone was friendly and very welcoming ! Our server was amazing as well , she constantly made sure we were comfortable and had everything we want and needed !! Had an amazing date night with my husband not to mention the food was to die for !!

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

We are happy you chose to dine with us for date night! Thank you for the positive review of our wait staff. We strive to provide five-star service to all of our diners. We look forward to dining with you again soon!

Report
R
Rebecca
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food2service5ambience5

We have been to Mulino's many times for special occasions and nice meals and it is my favorite spot, but last night we went for my partner's dinner and it was the first time we had a meal that we did not enjoy. It was really disappointing since we have never had food we did not like there. My fish was over cooked and very fishy tasting, pasta was blend/cold and my partner's food was also over cooked and not seasoned well. Service and ambience was wonderful and we know many places are short staffed so maybe that has impacted the food is some way, but disappointed in our meal. We spent over 100 dollars and just did not enjoy it and have never had that experience before in the years we have gone.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy to see that the service and ambience were enjoyable, but disappointed to hear that the food was not as you expected. We hope you will give us another try in the future to improve.

Report
SK
SarahK
Raleigh
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Ate outdoors under the beautiful string lights while it was lightly raining. Truly beautiful! Brandon gave us fantastic service. The gnocchi and bolognese tasted so fresh, the wine was fabulous, and the cocktails unique. Only thing I'd change is the music -- would love to hear something classier given the setting. Party music blaring didn't really fit the scene.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Sarah, We appreciate you taking the time to rate Mulino and share your thoughts. We are thrilled to see that you had a wonderful dining experience with us. We will pass along your feedback regarding the music to our team. We look forward to dining with you again soon.

Report
KC
KristyC
Raleigh
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We went for my husband’s 50th birthday. The outside patio area is really big and beautiful!!! I think that was my favorite part of the restaurant. The pool outside is gorgeous. We had drinks under the twinkling lights and then went inside for dinner. I had the raviolis and the sauce was yummy! My husband had the salmon special and wasn’t super impressed with his meal. The food was a little pricey but it’s nice for a special occasion and you can’t beat the ambiance.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Kristy, We are delighted you chose, Mulino, to celebrate your husbands birthday! We love that you were able to enjoy both our outdoor patio and inside dining spaces. We look forward to celebrating more birthdays with you all in the future!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall2food2service4ambience5

The setting of the restaurant is amazing! The waitress was very good however the wine tasted cheap, the food was only ok. Plus, not the restaurant’s fault, but the noise level was ridiculous and it seemed like every table was shouting across to the other people at their table.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Good afternoon, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize that your dining experience was subpar, we will pass along your thoughts to our team. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Report
SD
StevieD
Raleigh
11 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall3food4service5ambience2

Authentic Italian food.
Full disclosure: My grandmother, mother, and wife (All Italian) make better rice balls (Arachini), but their sauces are really good.
We had the Tagliatelle Bolognese (beef and pork gravy) and the Amatriciana (with gluten free penne made from lentils - delicious). Both large portions and amazing. We shared a salad.
They have a great point of sale system. The food was bussed to the table in amazingly fast time. I mean really fast. The owner is also hovering all around making sure things are running well.

I read about a state of the art air filter system that is supposed to remove even virus from the air. I didn't see it, hear it, or feel it. It was actually a little stuffy inside. Instead I saw some floor fans. I mention this cause the place was packed, and I was a little nervous about that.
I will go again, but will sit outside.

Oh, and they don't put bread on the table. I asked for it, they said "thats extra - have to pay". I found this unusual.

We had a single glass of wine (not a great pour sad to say) and a ginger ale.

All in $95 + tip so $110 for 2.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Good afternoon Stevie, Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our food. We appreciate you taking the time to rate Mulino. We look forward to dining with you on our outdoor patio in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Raleigh
4 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great service. Noise inside was just a bit too loud for the intimate date night we were going for so will definitely be back to try the outside/patio vibe.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Mulino. We are happy to see that you had great service and will take your feedback regarding the music into consideration. We would like for you to return and dine with us on the outside patio. See you soon!

Report
L
Lizwiz
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Gabby, our server, was truly amazing. The food was incredible. It was the best meal we have had in Raleigh by far.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Liz, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We are thrilled to see that you had wonderful service and will pass your feedback along to our team. Thank you very much for the positive review of our feed. We look forward to dining with you again in the future.

Report
KB
vipKyleB
Raleigh
11 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place to share a meal. Definitely loved the waiters wine choice.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Kyle, We are elated to hear that you enjoyed the wine and had a five-star dining experience.

Report
MA
MaryAnn
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

We dined here last night. Atmosphere of the patio is lovely, service was very good, up the food not so much. My entree, zuppa de pesce, was not good, pasta was mushy, only 3 tiny clams that were tough. Overloaded with sauce, was like a bisque. For the price that they charge the food quality was not good in my opinion. Will not be going back

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Hi MaryAnn, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your food was subpar. We will pass your thoughts along to our team. We hope you will give us another try in the future to improve.

Report
JM
JenM
Atlanta
5 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the ambiance, the building, the decor, staff from beginning to end are so nice and lovely. Food is delicious and fresh. Favorite restaurant in the triangle. Cocktails are so yummy as well.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Jen, Thank you for the positive feedback. We are delighted to see that you had a wonderful dining experience with us. We appreciate the five-star review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
f
vipfoodie
Western NC
27 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great Service, Great Food, Great Ambiance! Would definitely go back next time I’m in town visiting my daughter.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

We appreciate the five-star rating and kind words. We look forward to dining with you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best place

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, food was amazing. Felt that they were mildly short staffed but our waiter had a great attitude and was still very attentive! Great experience!

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive feedback! We are happy to see that you had wonderful service and enjoyed the food. We look forward to dining with you again soon!

Report
B
vipBunny
Raleigh
4 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great time! The food was excellent and the service was good.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the kind words, Bunny! We look forward to dining with you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Horrible service. I understand the restaurants are short staffed but our server Roberto clearly kept ignoring us while attending to the table next to ours. I had to keep stopping him to order more drinks which took forever to come out. He also kept pulling his mask down to talk. The only time he was sticking around was after giving us the check like he was waiting for us to leave. Food was mediocre…not worth the price in my opinion. I was excited to try this place but came back very disappointed.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 7, 2021

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are disappointed to see that you did not have a pleasant dining experience. We will pass along your feedback to our team and we hope you will give us another shot in the future to improve and possibly earn your five-star rating.

Report
JL
JoshL
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a great date night with the wife here. Will definitely be back soon

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 7, 2021

Hi Josh, We are thrilled that you chose Mulino for date night! Thank you for the five-star rating. We look forward to dining with you all again in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall2food1service4ambience5

All 4 of our meals were well below par. Disappointing. We heard other diners grumbling as well. Appetizers were very good. Waiter was good.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 7, 2021

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meals. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We aim to provide a five-star experience to all of our guests and we apologize that that is not what you received. We hope you will give us another shot in the future to improve and earn your five-star rating.

Report
E
Emily
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience4

Truly the worst experience I've ever had at a restaurant. From the moment we sat down until the moment we left we felt uncomfortable and unwelcome. So many issues but I’ll focus on the food due the character limit.

The 28 dollar meat and cheese board consisted of a few tiny slivers of cheese, 9 pieces of pretty sub-par cured meats and cold bread. The meats and cheeses looked "sweaty" as if they had been sitting out for hours. My boyfriend got the Carbonara for his entree and it was cold and chunky. Flavor on his was OK. He ate it, but wasn't happy about paying nearly 20 dollars for food that looked microwaved. It got worse from there.

I ordered the Pasta al Frutti di Mare. It was atrocious. Literally couldn't eat it. The scallops on it were fantastic, I have to admit, but nothing else was even edible. The clams were half the size of a dime. There was a weird seasoning or spice in the sauce and overall the food looked old. My sister got the salmon ravioli and the salmon was dry as a bone and it tasted like I imagine cat food does. She also couldn't stomach hers. We have NEVER complain at a restaurant, but the two dishes were simply inedible. We decided to send them back, apologize for the inconvenience, and order something different. We ordered the lasagna and the risotto with scallops. My sister liked the lasagna just fine, but the risotto tasted like literal dishwater. Took one bite and sent that back too, asking for the check so we could get out of there.

Spent nearly $200 dollars on the worst dining experience and food I’ve ever had. Don’t go here. Ambiance can only make up for so much.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 8, 2021

Good morning Emily, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We take your feedback very seriously. Our management team will reach out to you directly to learn more about what happened.

Report
JO
JOEMAV
Raleigh
26 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Our server was clearly over-extended. We tolerated it, but at your prices, the service should be noteworthy. We will wait a bit before returning and hope that you can employ additional staff.
We prefer dining where employees are fully compensated by management and tipping is eliminated....ie, we prefer higher menu prices to the tipping hassle.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 7, 2021

Good morning Joe, We appreciate the five-star rating! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to dining with you again in the future!

Report
j
jmw1
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience3

We were given menus stating prices for two entrees and then charged $6 more. per entree than stated on menus. Lasagna fine pizza fair.

K
vipKsdlovesfood
Raleigh
19 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always great food, excellent service, and fun energy. Consistently one of our favorites!

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 5, 2021

We appreciate your kind words and the five-star rating !

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Food was ok

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 5, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to rate Mulino. We hope you will give us another try and hopefully we can earn your five-star rating.

Report
MT
MichaelT
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Inside seating/Not crowded because it was a nice evening and everyone wanted to be outside. Excellent service.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 5, 2021

Good morning Michael, We are happy to hear that you had excellent service. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report
LF
LorrieF
Raleigh
4 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, ambience and our server, Christian was fantastic! Will be back again and again.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 5, 2021

Good morning Lorrie, Thank you for the five-star rating! We are thrilled to see that you had a wonderful dining experience. We will be certain to pass along your kind words to Christian. We look forward to dining with you again in the future.

Report
TM
TerrellM
Raleigh
7 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The waiters were awesome. The food was delicious. But the hostess was extremely rude on several different occasions. My party of 15 almost took our business somewhere else. But I'm glad it ended up working out. Overall I enjoyed my time here after composing myself from the initial poor interaction with the front entrance representative

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 5, 2021

Hi Terrell, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We apologize for the substandard interaction you had with the front-of-house staff. We are happy to hear that you still were able to have a pleasant dining experience. We look forward to dining with you again soon!

Report
CT
CrystalT
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Mulino is a great date night spot and I highly recommend it! We made a reservation and it was a bit of a wait to get an outside table around 9PM but we were seated in about 10 minutes. The food and drinks were great! Highly recommend the gnocchi tartufo and the mulino pizza. I'm planning my next visit back!

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 5, 2021

We appreciate the five-star rating, Crystal! We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant dining experience on our outdoor patio. We look forward to dining with you again in the future!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Anniversary

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 4, 2021

Thank you for rating your dining experience. We look forward to dining with you again soon and hopefully we can earn your five-star rating.

Report
BR
BrittanyR
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time and it was delicious. The service was great and the atmosphere is even better

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 4, 2021

Hi Brittany, We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience at Mulino! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
S
Steve
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Took 30 minutes to get drinks. Then food came out 4 minutes after we ordered. It had obviously been NUKED by the microwave. Never going again.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 4, 2021

Hi Steve, We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a good dining experience with us. We will share this feedback with our time and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Report
PL
PaulL
Raleigh
16 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful evening on the patio. Perfect weather paired with exquisite food and signature drinks!
Mulino never disappoints!

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 4, 2021

Hi Paul, We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed a wonderful dining experience on our outside patio. We appreciate the five-star rating and look forward to dining with you again soon.

Report
p
phil
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service. Seated on time. Fantastic food

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 4, 2021

Hi Phil, We really appreciate the five-star review! We are happy to see that you had great service and enjoyed the food. We look forward to dining with you again soon.

Report
a
ashleym
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One of the best experiences we have had dining in Raleigh ever. Outstanding in every way.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 4, 2021

Hi Ashley, Thank you for the positive feedback! We are elated to see that you had a wonderful dining experience with us! We strive to provide a five-star experience to all of our guests and we love that you left with that impression. We look forward to dining with you again soon!

Report
HA
HazelA
1 review
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful place and the food was great. I love this place

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 4, 2021

Hi Hazel, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are thrilled to see that you loved dining with us at Mulino! We appreciate the five-star rating and look forward to dining with you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and the pasta was truly incredible. Highly recommend getting the bread basket too

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar
Responded on October 1, 2021

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and that you had great service. We look forward to dining with you again in the future!

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar using the Order Online button. Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (919) 838-8595.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar is rated 4.4 stars by 1586 OpenTable diners.

Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.toasttab.com/mulino-italian-kitchen-and-bar/giftcards?utmCampaign=onlineOrdering.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Mulino Italian Kitchen & Bar