Mount Towrong Vineyard

4.6
25 Reviews
$41 to $100
Italian
Our Cellar Door offers hearty, homestyle Italian cooking intentionally created to pair perfectly with our wine. Sit upstairs and dine against a backdrop of sweeping views across the vineyard and down the south-west valleys, or feel right at home in the downstairs dining area amongst the cosily -styled interior.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Extra space between tables
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 25 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
PA
PhilA
1 review
Dined on March 21, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Bad day weather wise on our visit but the restaurant was cosy. Upstairs tables provide a better ambiance with views over the vineyard. Service was good, staff were all friendly, helpful and well informed. Food was delicious with a good selection of wines. Overall we had an enjoyable lunch and will visit again.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 29, 2021

Thank you Phil, it's great to hear you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
SB
SteveB
1 review
Dined on March 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Another great lunch at Mt Towrong on Sunday. Great food, great wine, great service and great people!

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 22, 2021

Thank you Steve we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us!

Report
MS
MickS
1 review
Dined on March 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a wonderful lunch. Could not fault a thing. Even had Deidre, the owner, chatting with us for 10m. Will definitely go back.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 29, 2021

We are really pleased that you had such a wonderful time Mick. Thanks for the fantastic feedback we hope to see you again soon.

Report
MP
MarikaP
1 review
Dined on March 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic food and atmosphere with friendly and helpful service. The wine was amazing and the wood fire created a pleasant warmth. Overall we had an excellent time and would definitely go back again.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 22, 2021

Thank you Marika, we look forward to seeing you again at our Cellar Door!

Report
AL
AnitaL
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience4

Lovely lunch and delicious wine. Pity we couldn’t do a tasting.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 22, 2021

Thanks Anita we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
AC
AlexC
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Yet another terrific day at the cellar door, fine food, wine and attention to detail. Lovely wine and magic mountain gin.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 22, 2021

Thank you Alex. It's great to hear you had such a fantastic experience!

Report
FP
FionaP
Melbourne
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Small menu with fabulous food. We were lucky enough to have a table on the balcony with a glorious view. Service was friendly and even though they were very busy we were served in a timely manner. Very enjoyable lunch

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 9, 2021

Thank you Fiona, we love hearing you had such a great time. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
AB
AnnB
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

A simply delightful way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 9, 2021

Thank you Ann, we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to Mount Towrong Vineyard!

Report
SL
SflynL
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great service and good food. I've booked for standard seating thinking it should be indoor seating. But i got seated outdoor, it worked out well as the weather was great for outdoor. Overall great experience.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 9, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy that you had a great time and enjoyed our service, food and wine!

Report
JG
JessG
Melbourne
2 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Lovely vineyard. Great service and gluten options available.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 9, 2021

Thank you Jess, we are very happy you enjoyed your time with us.

Report
CH
ClareH
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience2

Food was nice, wine excellent but overall disappointing service having to wait a while for drinks and having cars drive between tables past you to get to the car park isn’t great.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 9, 2021

Thank you for your feedback Clare. We are happy that you enjoyed our food and wine. We hope you can visit again another time and we can pop you on an inside table.

Report
BH
BarryH
Victoria
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

This was our second time in 2 weeks - we have to keep going back!! Fabulous food and service. The waiters are engaging but professional. We love their Italian varietal wines and their locally made Gin is not bad either!! We had great dishes of antipasto, chicken terrine and a duck confit with a white bean sauce. We will go back again.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 9, 2021

Thank you Barry. Will we see you again this weekend? You are always welcome!

Report
CB
CarlB
Melbourne
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We sat at an outside table that allowed us to have our dog with us. Service was excellent and wines of high standard with several unusual Italian varieties. Menu choices were limited but the food servings were generous and tasty.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 9, 2021

Thank you for your fabulous review Carl, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report
LN
LynN
Melbourne
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience5

A wonderful gem in the Macedon Ranges. We love going to Mount Towrong for lunch with friends. Our friends who visited with us for this lunch were extremely impressed.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Beautiful family place! Food a little limiting for vegetarian but love the share plate concept. Great wine!

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 9, 2021

Thank you, we are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and yes, the share plates are a great way to sample our local produce over a wine with friends.

Report
DH
DianeH
1 review
Dined on February 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We had a lovely day. We sat outside and only small problem was the dust from the cars passing, but your staff were lovely, food was great, pricing excellent. Thank you for a lovely experienc

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 1, 2021

Hi Diane, thanks for your lovely feedback - we can't wait to welcome you back to our Cellar Door soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The whole experience was fabulous. Can’t wait to return.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on March 1, 2021

Thanks for your lovely review, we're looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
JL
JessieL
1 review
Dined on February 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic venue, food and service was fantastic. Wine and Gin - delicious. Will definitely attend again.

KJ
KatherineJ
1 review
Dined on February 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding venue - beautiful location, wonderful food and wine and lovely, attentive staff. Exceptional place to have a long lunch in the country.

WH
WillH
1 review
Dined on February 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere and attentive and friendly staff. A small but well varied menu offers something to everyone’s liking, we will be back!

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on February 8, 2021

Hi Will, Thank you for your great feedback, we're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
V
Vivien
Brisbane
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

We were here for our wedding anniversary. The staff are great! They made us feel very welcome and special, and presented us with a gift as we left. The wine was excellent, and views over the vines from our table made for a very pleasant lunch.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on February 4, 2021

Thank you Vivien for your kind words, we're glad we made you both feel special and welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Cellar Door soon!

Report
AM
AmandaM
1 review
Dined on January 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved the whole experience and would definitely return and recommend to others
Thank you

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on February 4, 2021

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We're glad you had a nice time at our Cellar Door and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
G
Georgia
London
1 review
Dined on January 30, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Beautiful setting and excellent views! The wine was beautiful and different to the standard wine list

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on February 4, 2021

Thank you Georgia, we're so glad you enjoyed your experience at our Cellar Door. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
PC
PhilC
Melbourne
1 review
Dined on January 17, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

A very limited menu was disappointing. The platter was nice, but the ricotta on toast lacked much in the way of taste and interest, with a small drizzle of honey and a few pine nuts not really saving the dish. Service would be improved with a little more attention for the table and no last minute "times up" warnings - we would have had more wine and probably dessert and coffee, but for lack of attention. We asked to do a wine tasting and were told no, only to find on leaving that we could have done one at the table!

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on January 19, 2021

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed on your recent visit to our Vineyard. We offer simple rustic Italian homestyle food that is matched with our Italian wine varietals. We are grateful to receive feedback on improving our guest experience and apologise if you felt you were not attended to as you would expect. We will review our communication stream to ensure that future guests are aware there is currently a time limit on sittings as we work our way through re-opening after Covid19.

Report
U
Unknown
Melbourne
1 review
Dined on January 16, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience1

Wine = excellent
Service = friendly but did not offer wine tastings really which was unfortunate because we were ready to buy. Also did not have heaters on and ready to go which given the temp was essential. Disappointing.
Surroundings = very disappointing. Literally outside tables were in the driveway. We had a view of the car park.
Food = little choice but what we had was delightful.
Overall = had a great time cos the wine, food and company was good. But to be honest, wouldn’t rush back.

Mount Towrong Vineyard
Responded on January 19, 2021

Thank you for your review. It is great that you enjoyed our excellent friendly service, wine and your meal. We are sorry that you were unhappy with an outside table. The weather here in the Macedon Ranges can be very changeable! We would love to see you again and can arrange a reservation for you inside our Cellar Door where you will find our views and surroundings both very beautiful.

Report

FAQs

Mount Towrong Vineyard is rated 4.6 stars by 25 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.