Milton's Black Mountain

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
227 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Southern
Milton's Cuisine and Cocktails- Black Mountain features contemporary New Southern Cuisine that utilizes fresh, local ingredients to create regionally inspired comfort food with bold flavors that are artistically presented in a relaxed and friendly environment.
What 227 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
i
E. Tennessee
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The only complaint I would have is the temperature of the actual food as it came to the table. Food was good. Presentation was good, temperature was not good. Restaurant was not full so don’t know why that was an issue. I did not complain as we were with friends, sharing food, and we all just went with it.

KW
Las Vegas
26 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had brunch and everything was delish!! We will return ASAP !!

MG
Western NC
30 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Great spot for an upscale brunch in Black Mountain. Food is delicious and comes pretty quickly. A little pricey, but that's what was expected. No pressure to rush off and they allow guests to visit as long as they like.
A lovely experience.

OT
Western NC
2 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

The food is just okay, which is a shame because we had such high expectations. My lamb was extremely tough and my Old Fashioned from the bar was so strong it had none of the subtle flavors that come with this lovely drink. None or my guests finished their drinks from the bar. My mother’s corn bisque tasted nice but it was lukewarm. Why are soups in American restaurants never hot? The shrimp & grits was lovely and the pork was nice but the rest of our guests meals were just fine. That being said, service was absolutely stellar. Everyone there is so nice and accommodating from the moment you arrive till the moment you leave. Our server Megan got everything right. Hopefully you can sit in the dining area off the lobby. It’s so pretty. I really wish I could have given the food better marks.

m
Atlanta
29 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

You can count on a fine meal at Miltons. I do not like quinoa but the quinoa risotto was delicious as was the friend chicken and trout we enjoyed. Our server, Brandy, was outstanding I. hope I remembered her hame correctly. We were there for my birthday Tuesday night.

SB
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I was the one who suggested Milton's as a gathering place for 10 friends to meet up. Half of us had been there before. All were satisfied with their meals. The server was excellent: prompt, attentive, friendly and patient with our large group.

HS
Western NC
4 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

LOVE MILTON's! Great food and Great Atmosphere! Excellent Brunch Spot

CF
Charlotte
14 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Creative dishes, fresh ingredients, lovely service, excellent value. We ordered a medley of small plates and none disappointed: delicious peach/tomato salad, shrimp fritters, corn/tomato tart, squash risotto! Wonderful!!

L
Western NC
16 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Beautiful historic inn with lovely restaurant. Sat outside and enjoyed cocktails and delicious dinner. Will be back!

OT
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

One of the nicest dining experiences I've had in quite awhile - and I live Raleigh, and dine at the most popular restaurants in the Triangle, frequently. The food, from the appetizers to the dessert, were delicious and the service was excellent. Kudos to the Chef and his staff!! My family and I will definitely return.

j
Western NC
12 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love this Restaurant! Our 2nd trip in only a couple of weeks because it is so good!

GR
Charlotte
2 reviews
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very good. Atmosphere was great. Quiet, nice jazz fusion in background. My companion had quail special and I had pork chop and we split a pepper special appetizer. 15$ corkage fee.

CB
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We ate outside, food was great, service was good but seats were very uncomfortable.

M
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 15, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Lovely brunch, great service. Love the pre-order muffins and biscuits!

T
Chicago
24 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 4

My food was overcooked and no accommodations as to the dinner was made. Free dessert offered, but disappointed in this marginal accommodation...

TH
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

We ordered decaf coffee with dessert. When they came the coffee was luke- warm. Logan, the waiter brought us 2 cups of hot coffee. Later that night we realized that the replacement coffee was NOT decaf as we were kept awake longer than we normally are. I should not have tipped him at all.

j
Western NC
12 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We are new to the area and had been recommended to Milton’s. It is only open for dinner, so we were pleased to find it is open for Brunch. We had the Perfect brunch ! Beautiful ambiance in the historic hotel. Service and food were top class. We look forward to returning for dinner and will book a room so we can enjoy the entire experience!

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on September 12, 2019

Thank you so much for your review! It's great to know you enjoyed Brunch with us. We hope you come back and join us for dinner soon! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
BB
Western NC
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Although we have previously dined in the courtyard through the bar at this Inn-based venue, we had not tried the dining room until this past visit. We enjoyed everything, even the music selection. The tempura catfish was outstanding. My wife loved the peach and tomato salad.

RB
Western NC
7 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Quaint location. Started with drinks at the bar. Bartender was very friendly and gave us menus to peruse. Met another couple and we decided to dine together on the patio. Food was fabulous! Everyone was so friendly and attentive. Going back soon!!!

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on September 12, 2019

It makes me happy to hear of situations like this. Making new friends and having great experiences is what it's all about! Hope to have you back soon! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
MM
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 5

I have spoken about the food at Miltons. The food is excellent. This review is about the Buttermilk Pie. It is not to be missed! Very few desserts are this perfect. This one is! They added a spoonful of ice-cream and two slices of grilled peaches. Yum!

The place was packed so maybe that is why the service suffered. Our server, missed three things, including messing up the bill b/c she was not listening. I had to find my own salt and pepper and flag down a hostess to get my drink order. I could get picky about some other things but I will chalk this experience up to Miltons being so popular for brunch the wait staff was not prepared.

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 28, 2019

I am glad to hear such a greats review of the Buttermilk Pie! You are correct - it is not to be missed! I do want to apologize for the the dismal service you received. Being busy is not an excuse for poor service. I will admit that we were not prepared this past Sunday. I hope it doesn't discourage future experiences. We will be better prepared to give excellent service in the future. Thank you for your feedback - it is greatly appreciated. Jessica Green - Manager

Report
C
Western NC
7 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Milton’s is a favorite place in town so we asked our friends to meet us there for brunch. Everyone was happy with their food. The service was excellent. It got a little noisy and warm once the room filled up. Otherwise, it was perfect.

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 28, 2019

Thank you for bringing your friends in to dine with us this past Sunday. I'm happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their food and that the service was excellent! We did get really busy this past Sunday and filled up quickly. I apologize for the temperature. We will keep a better eye on that in the future. Hope to have you back soon! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
c
1 review
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

The outside dining area very cozy with the fire pit ambiance. We went at 10am aug25th for Sunday brunch. The bartender was very cheerful. She made a perfect bloody mary and brought the drinks to the sofa area outside. Server named Logan was very friendly and smiled! We ordered the eggs Benedict. My only complaint is that someone in the kitchen poured way too much salt into the grits. Will return ...

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 28, 2019

Thank you for joining us this past Sunday! I am glad to hear the Bloody Mary I made you was well received :) Logan is one of our newer server and I am happy to know that he was so kind. He did actually inform me about the grits being too salty and Chef ended up making another batch, so thank you for letting him know. I hope to have you back soon! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
OT
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food for price. In lovely historic inn.

MC
Nashville
31 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

Very pleasant restaurant setting in and around the hotel main entrance room. Service was timely and friendly. Menu has many interesting entrees to suit a wide range of tastes. My rating is less because of the very small portion size of the grilled cod that was served to me. Our table of four all ordered the fish and the other three portions were acceptable. Later we learned they had exhausted their inventory of the fish. I suspect the kitchen got to the end of stock and used smaller pieces to make a plate. The server adjusted our bill to reflect the very small portion.

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 28, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you received a significantly smaller portion than the rest of the table. Consistency is very important and if we weren't able to plate consistently, you should have been informed. I am glad that your check reflected the deficit. We will work to better our communication. I hope you give us the opportunity to WOW you in the near future. Thanks again, Jessica Green - Manager

Report
CC
1 review
Dined on August 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is the second time I have had dinner there. The food is excellent and so is service. Will definitely go back.

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 19, 2019

Thank you very much! I am pleased we were able to provide a great experience for you for the second time. Hope to have you back soon! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
l
Raleigh
57 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Beautiful patio & ding area. We were there for brunch. Cocktails are very good. Great place to stop on your way to or from Asheville.

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 15, 2019

Thank you for joining us for brunch this past weekend! I'm glad you enjoyed the patio and cocktails. We hope to have you back soon! Thanks for the feedback. Jessica Green - Manager

Report
J
Adelaide / SA
2 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We loved it! The food, service, and setting were all great! We will be back!!

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 13, 2019

Thanks Julie! I am glad that you enjoyed your time here. Come back and see us soon! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on August 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday dinner. Perfect romantic date night spot! Ambiance was awesome! We sat outside on the patio and it set the whole mood. Food was delicious and our server Chloe was great!! Will definitely be back!

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 12, 2019

I am glad you had such a wonderful date night with us! It's good to hear that Chloe took such good care of you. I hope you both are able to make it back soon. Thanks for your feedback! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
m
Atlanta
30 reviews
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is my new favorite spot for brunch! My poached eggs were delicious and as I requested (no oozing).
I loved the side of fresh greens. And before all this the yummy blueberry muffin and biscuit. I had to be somewhere that afternoon or I would have started my meal with a Bloody Mary and finished it with the Buttermilk Pie. Next time.....

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 12, 2019

Thank you for your kind review! I am happy to know that you food was as you requested. We would love to have you back for dinner. Our Chef recently added some new items to the dinner menu for the season - and you must try the Buttermilk Pie! It's amazing. Looking forward to your return visit. Jessica Green - Manager

Report
E
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is our new go to after church Sunday brunch place is Black Mountain. Great eggs Benedict. Great omelet. Good North Carolina approved sausage and grits. Biscuits are yummy with the berry jelly. Service is excellent. Prices are comparable to those crowded, stand up and order, find the coffee pot places and with tablecloths and real glass and plates, we are in! The old hotel is a great venue. Service is attentive and you never run out of coffee. See you next Sunday!

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to know Brunch is such a pleasure for you and am glad to know we are your go-to every week! We look forward to hosting you again next Sunday! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
V
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

The menu is somewhat limited, but the quality and presentation of the food more than offsets the quantity of the selections. I normally avoid fried foods, but based on recommendations indulged with the fried chicken nonetheless. It was incredible and well worth the dietary sin! From fresh fish to the filet mignon special, everyone at our table loved every bite. We will definitely return!

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 12, 2019

Thank you, Victor, for your feedback! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time and meal with us. Chef Cole will be glad to hear that you took the risk and indulged in the Fried Chicken. We look forward to having you back with us soon! Thanks again! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
JK
1 review
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome place! Outside patio is delightful and we could carry on conversations easily...nice and quiet!

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 12, 2019

Thank you Jean! Outdoor dining can be a little tricky, and I happy to know we got it right for you. Come back and see us soon! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
MS
1 review
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food is very good and has a beautiful setting. The only thing I wish was that the music was either slightly quieter or a different selection. Didn't quit fit the food and setting. It didn't help we were pretty close to the speaker. I had the lamb and my wife had the glazed chicken. Both were very good and my wife is still thinking and talking about the pickled peaches.

Milton's Black Mountain
Responded on August 5, 2019

Thank you, Michael for your feedback. We will be working on the music issue, for sure. I got some similar feedback from this past weekend and am making some changes. Chef will be happy to hear that you both enjoyed your food so much. I hope to have you back soon! Jessica Green - Manager

Report
AF
Raleigh
3 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday brunch at Milton’s! The food was fresh and delicious and the outdoor courtyard seating is lovely. Nothing about the menu is pretentious, yet it is very good food with excellent presentation. We are local and will return!

d
Chicago
18 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This restaurant is a jewel! We had intended to try some other restaurants in the area, but we kept coming back to Milton's because it couldn't be improved upon in any way!

There are beautiful dining areas both inside and out on the charming patio. Our bartender revised one of their creative and unique cocktails to specifically suit the personal taste of one of our diners. Our waitress was fantastic! She was warm, friendly, attentive, and very helpful to us in selecting our meals. We enjoyed 2 dinners and 2 meals earlier in the day, and they were all very special and perfectly prepared.

G
1 review
Dined on July 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We love Milton's. It's a great spot if you want to eat at a nicer restaurant in Black Mountain (instead of going to Asheville and struggling to find parking downtown). We came just for dessert and cocktails since we had dinner at Milton's the night before. Mom got the duck which she thought was "Ok"; she's a duck connoisseur. I had the butter lettuce salad with grilled chicken. It was a decent amount of chicken but a little overpriced for amount scattered in the bowl. I loved the salad. The radish-fennel-pea combo is so tasty. My aunt got the fried chicken which honestly looked like it had been cooked too long. She ate it all, though, and said it was good. Prepare yourself for the cheesecake. It looks like a blob in a bowl but tastes delish (especially the honey and orange accents). Their Old Fashioned is one of my faves. On night two, I tried the Strawberry Basil Mule, which was light and refreshing...a perfect summer cocktail. I'll definitely be back.

CN
1 review
Dined on July 24, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 4

The venue is lovely, very quiet, simple and elegant. I feel the staff was the weak link. The hostess seemed utterly bored to death, not friendly. We booked here for our 30th anniversary and it was
not even acknowledged. Our waitress was very nice, genuine. The food was a mix. I had the filet,
which was seasoned perfectly and delicious. My husband had the fried chicken, also very good.
The garlic mashed potatoes were runny, thin. The grilled asparagus was burnt, it was bitter with
the taste of char...yuk! The grilled tomatoes were fine, nothing much. So that's why I felt the food was a mix. Haven't decided if I'd go back. For their prices, I might try a different upscale in the area.

r
Western NC
10 reviews
Dined on July 21, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

We had made a reservation which was unnecessary but the hostess had to clean and set a table for us. Seemed they could have been better prepared as they were not busy for a Sunday brunch. The Bloody Mary was over heavy on the horseradish. The appetizer was the best part of the meal. The portions for brunch of the shrimp and grits seemed small. The Benedict was under seasoned and the potatoes on the plate seemed an afterthought. Our waitress was attentive and did a fine job. We did enjoy walking next door to the art show.

LR
1 review
Dined on July 21, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We went to Milton's for brunch with family after church on a Sunday. It was a very pleasant experience for us. The dining area ambiance was welcoming and attractive with a nice view of the outdoors. The food and service were excellent.

GR
Detroit
10 reviews
Dined on July 21, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Overall great experience.

1
2
3
6