Marokko

4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
82 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Welcome to Marokko!

Marokko is a fine-dining experience of authentic Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine. We handcraft our specialties each day, using fresh, organic ingredients to provide you with a healthy, satisfying meal served in a unique and culturally- authentic ambience. At Marokko, we serve our delicacies both in our restaurant and through our catering services.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

What 82 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
70% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
K
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service3ambience5

This restaurant serves delicious Moraccan food and the chef /ownerreally makes an effort to please her customers, as she came out to speak to us and discuss the food, as well as apologize for the wait/confusion we experienced when we first arrived (the restaurant was short-staffed as two staff persons had not shown up). The restaurant is tastefully decorated and the seats and tables were comfortable. Would love to go again.

JW
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Ambiance was lovely. Service was very attentive and, frankly impressive in that the entire restaurant was overseen by one waiter. Stuffed grape leaves, Taktouka and Baba Ganouj were outstanding. Warm pita bread was delicious. Entrees were not as successful. My entree, a vegetable tagine, was a little odd: the menu describes the dish as being cooked in a chermoula sauce (chermoula is an herb based green sauce), but the dish served to me tasted distinctly of lamb (or feta?) and contained nothing green. When I asked the waiter if there was feta in the dish, he said no. I decided not to press the issue but, as I am a vegetarian with a dairy intolerance, this was a bummer. My husband ordered the salmon kebab, which I thought was a bit overcooked. Apparently the restaurant suffered a grill malfunction that night, and my husband received the last kebab of the night due to this issue. I honestly don't know if I would eat here again due to the vegetable tagine situation and the tummy troubles that ensued later that night.

AG
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience5

We made a reservation in advance, but were asked to wait in the back of the restaurant, as the only table was in the middle of the floor and they were preparing for belly dancers. We waited over half an hour to be seated, and then the service was very slow. The appetizers were delicious, but the vegetarian entree was very bland. In total, we were there for over 3 hours. The belly dancers and overall ambiance were great, but I don’t think we’ll be back.

EP
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great Marokko food and lively entertainment by two belly dancers = lots of fun

LL
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on February 11, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

The food had very little flavor and was bland for 5 of 6 of our entrees. The waiter was pleasant but missed our requests for opening wine and getting more bread.

VW
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We LOVED our dining experience at Marokko! We cannot stop talking about how delicious the food was, how vibrant and cozy the ambience was (it was the oerfect balance), how much fun we had and how the owner made us feel like we were truly guest dining at a friends home - her attention to detail and planning was impeccable.

The Saturday menu included a three tiered, fixed entree choice (all well priced) with soo much variety (vegetarian options, lamb, fish, chicken). Included in that price is an entire four course meal! (shared appetizer sampler/individual app sampler, small salad, main dish, dessert). Everything was truly delicious - the fresh housemade hummus choices and smoky eggplant and grape leaves stood out for the shared appetizer. The individual appetizer was a yummy sweet and savory chicken patty. I tried a stewed chicken dish as my entree- the flavors were so new to me (unlike other experiences with medditeranean food) and warming - you could tell the food was made with love. We never felt rushed through our meal, nor did we feel like we waited too long between courses. Throughout the night there was also a beautiful Belly dancer who comes out (also perfectly timed) to add to your experience at Marokko - soo much fun! I can't say enough good things about this restaraunt and the owner! She's exceptional and she really made a celebratory night special. PLEASE visit Marokko - truly a dining experience.

M
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall1food1service3ambience3

Appeizer (was overwhelmingly spicy
Veg entree was tasteless

EK
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Prix Fixe only on Saturdays. Several menu items not available. Salad and Mezza platter skimpy and not consistent with the price. Vegetarian entree woefully inadequate - tagine of carrots and zucchini on couscous, I don't consider that an entree, and certainly not worth $35. I'd rather go to hip city veg. or stay home. Chicken dishes were tasty.

s
Philadelphia
12 reviews
Dined on January 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Authentic Morrocan and the best I've ever had. Lamb shank entre, Morrocan appetizer for 2, and meat kabob my wife had we're all superb

MO
New York Area
27 reviews
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The 6 of us all loved this place. Food was authentic and delicious, workers were friendly and accommodating, and atmosphere was fun. We will be back!

PF
Philadelphia
66 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience3

The food was GREAT. We loved the authentic dishes. Beware that Weekends require that you only order from the fixed price menu... which was really more food than we needed or wanted AND the evening includes a belly dancing show.

I’ll go back midweek, when I can sample the dishes not available on the fixed price menu and won’t have to endure the belly dancing.

Added bonus... it’s BYOB...

VD
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A lovely place. Service was attentive. Food superb and atmosphere is charming. Straightforward Moroccan cuisine, spices are nuanced, not overpowering. We’ll be back and will recommend.

M
New England
16 reviews
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely meal, great food, terrific service. BYOB. Restaurant was quiet at 6:30pm but filled in.

M
1 review
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall1food1service4ambience4

Hands down the worst Moroccan food I have ever had. Inedible. We tried this place because we were in the area that evening and the online reviews looked decent. Not sure if they pay for those reviews or what, but I cannot believe anyone would give them higher than 2 stars. I can say one positive thing: the hummus was good.

A
Philadelphia
7 reviews
Dined on January 2, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Food was wonderful!

MP
Philadelphia
31 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Prix Fixe menu was very good value. Food was also very good. Atmosphere is always nice. BYOB

PT
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on December 15, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was excellent. We loved the ambiance and atmosphere. Probably the best Moroccan food we have had in the Philadelphia region. Try Marokko - you won’t be disappointed!

MP
Philadelphia
31 reviews
Dined on December 10, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience5

very nice evening. baba ganouj was perhaps the best ever. the lamb was superbe. very nice quiet atmosphere on weekday

SS
Philadelphia
16 reviews
Dined on December 10, 2019
Overall5food5service3ambience5

The food was delicious . There were several miscommunications with the waiter, who took the order without writing it down. We would definitely return

DL
Philadelphia
23 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Seemed to be over booked as my wife and I had to eat at the table 1 of the worker use. Service was a little slow due to shortage of staff. Food was delicious. Would definitely go back but not on a Saturday night.

RS
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Good food & fun evening. Waited for our table a bit past our reservation. Belly dancer was wonderful. Service was decent & server was engaging & pleasant. Menu was somewhat limiting.

v
Philadelphia
37 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Good vegetarian dinner and we saw belly dancing. Fun evening.

n
Miami
1 review
Dined on November 15, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

We loved the food, the waitress was friendly. We return. The chicken was fabulous

NJ
1 review
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall2food3service2ambience4

Service slow. Had to wait to even get menu. Restaurant was out of several items. They brought an incorrect dish out. $7 for a tiny bowl of 8 small olives.

SP
Philadelphia
9 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

OUTSTANDING! This place is incredible. The food is phenomenal. Chicken Bastille...wow...oh, my, do not miss! The Tajine Casablanca was awesome; the beef was butter. The Mezze Marokko was awesome. We really owe everything our experience was to our server, who was wonderful. Everything is made to order. Order lots of different things and share. It's the only way to go. We'll be back.

D
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

The OpenTable reservation included information that this was for an anniversary, but the restaurant didn't appear to get the message. The food was good and the service reasonably prompt. The portion size of the entrees was a bit small for the price -- and not prepared as requested.

If the establishment is out of something, I'd prefer the information before we order. In our case, it happened twice; the falafel and the kabobs were not available when we visited.

The Mezza Marokko (combination starter platter) was excellent and recommended; we ordered it for two. The Harira soup with a hint of cinnamon was both unique and very flavorful and also recommended.

However, the chicken in the Tajine Marrakesh, while tasty, was a bit overcooked. We request Tajine Tangier (king salmon) be slightly underdone, and it was overcooked, not because we asked for it underdone, it was overcooked. While you might suggest this was a matter of personal taste, be aware.

The side of vegetables included two of each relatively small pieces of cooked carrot, zucchini, and potato -- side veggies not recommended.

Summary, for the money spent, I expect more.

DF
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience3

The food is definitely the highlight at Marokko. Really delicious, fresh, and good value for the money (we had the prix fixe on a Saturday night). I have to say that I think they need more staff. The waitress/hostess/owner? always is so frazzled and seems to be doing 10 things at once. It stressed us out a little to see her so crazed. Also, not sure we loved the belly dancer who appeared at 8PM. One or two songs would have been fun, but when it became 5 or 6 we kind of wished it would end so we could resume our conversation. We would avoid that time in the future if this is an every Saturday occurrence. But, would recommend for the food for sure.

R
Philadelphia
10 reviews
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Food was very fresh, service was a little slow. The hostess was apologetic . I would definitely go again

RC
Philadelphia
82 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food was excellent - both the ingredients and sauces - and the owner coming over & telling us about the dishes and preparation made the experience completely unique and enjoyable - would definitely come back!!

OT
Philadelphia
3 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience5

The restaurant is beautifully decorated creating a very nice ambience. The chef owner was mingling with guests which was very nice. The food itself was delicious from appetizers, entrees and desserts. On a Saturday night it felt like the restaurant needed more help. Simple things such as filling our waters and additional after meal beverages were less attentive with other guests around us looking around for their server as well.

DU
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Wonderful service and friendly staff, delivering delicious food at a perfect pace. Great place to connect with friends, where the noise level doesn’t impact conversation. Excellent.

MM
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food along with a nice atmosphere. The staff was super friendly and the owner was very accommodating.

N
San Francisco
19 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall3food4service1ambience4

We arrived early and there was a seat available outside and the weather was pleasant. We were promptly served water and the waiter said he would be right out to take our order. A half hour later and the other outside tables had emptied, it started to chill and still no one had taken our order. We walked inside and were seated at a table inside. It still took about another 15 minutes to order our food and over an hour from when we walked in to have it in front of us.

P
Philadelphia
14 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2019
Overall5food4service3ambience5

Mediterranean cafe feel, food is delicious, I had the tangine marrakesh, presentation of food and atmosphere is excellent. Owner ran and operated, very personable

OT
Philadelphia
8 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

The food was mediocre and so was the service. It’s overpriced.

Marokko
Responded on September 19, 2019

We're sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We provide high quality Moroccan food with organic ingredients and authentic, imported spices so it may not be what you were expecting.

Report
OT
Philadelphia
20 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious! Great service and beautiful decor. Will be back!

Marokko
Responded on September 19, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback!

Report
BA
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was excellent as well as the service. Nice ambience and cant wait to go back again

Marokko
Responded on September 19, 2019

Thank you Barry for your lovely review!

Report
BM
Philadelphia
19 reviews
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Really wanted to love this place. Im a big fan of Moroccan food. Unfortunately flavors were bland, the restaurant's tables and seats were not clean, it was poorly staffed so the service was extremely slow. The manager/owner was very friendly and we wanted to be flexible with seating/staff, but other than the hummus and mezze platter, food lacked flavor. Like other reviewers, we were also told there were no chicken or beef kebabs. We won't be back.

Marokko
Responded on September 19, 2019

We're sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have not had chicken or beef kebabs on our menu for about four months either on our website or on our menu in the restaurant. We are working with OpenTable to correct their version of our menu as we understand it is disappointing not to have what you were expecting. We provide authentic Moroccan food so it may not be what you were expecting. Our tables, while a little worn, are certainly clean.

Report
A
Philadelphia
49 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We had a very nice time. Food was very good and fresh. We are married to Middle Eastern spouses so we are used to a bit different cooking for the items we ordered.

Marokko
Responded on September 19, 2019

Thank you Amy! We do hope you'll join us again.

Report
OT
Philadelphia
8 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall3food5service1ambience4

The food was excellent and the menu had many choices but the night the four of us were there, the service, although kind and apologetic, was terrible. We hope this will improve,

Marokko
Responded on September 19, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the service did not meet your expectations. We're glad you enjoyed your meal and do hope you will give us another try.

Report