Liberty Publick House

3.9
105 Reviews
$31 to $50
American

Top Tags:

Casual
Check out our new 3,500 sq ft outdoor patio! Patio dining, curbside pick up and delivery.
The atmosphere at The Publick House is best described as sociably sophisticated. An ambiance that lends itself to both a home style dining experience and spirited bar environment. An attractive space for discerning suburbanites and casual diners alike. A place where friends can socialize after work, anyone can pull up a stool and feel at home, and visitors come to revel in the ‘Boston Tavern experience’.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 105 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on all time ratings
4.0
food
3.9
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

The place is closed!!!!!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

It’s closed! Open table- do better

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This restaurant is no longer in business

R
Reenie63
New England
1 review
Dined on April 23, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This restaurant was closed but still accepted our reservations!?! We ended up in the parking lot on a busy weekend with no dinner options. Do no book here.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
2 reviews
Dined on February 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place was closed when we arrived. No cars in the parking lot. You should only have this available if they are open.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

They’re out of business, might want to remove them from this app..

EL
ElodiaL
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love liberty!! Drinks are really good and the food is delicious.

J
Jimmyjams
New England
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience4

Not worth the time or money. Service was great. Food mediocre at best. Alot of menu items not available. Really poorly made mixed drinks. Stick with beer if you can.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
3 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience3

We found the cleanliness of the establishment very good. We dined inside. Only one or two other parties in a Friday night. Service was brutally slow. We had been there one hour and had one drink. Our glasses were empty for at least 20 minutes before we saw our waitress. The food service was also very slow. They told us the kitchen was behind but there was literally only a few parties there. The quality of the food was ok. They could’ve made a lot more money on us if the waitress had only dropped by the table a few more times. We felt completely ignored. Hopefully when Covid restrictions ease up the restaurant will go back to its former, better self.

LM
LindaM
New England
2 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food and good service - nice outdoor area for a warm day

CD
CatherineD
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall1food1service3ambience3

Frozen chicken fingers at 11 dollars for a small. Ended up leaving and getting dinner elsewhere.

S
Steph
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

There was a long wait time to for everything including the drinks. Our waitress seemed rushed and didn’t hang around the table long enough to ask if we needed anything. Half of our order was undercooked and cold. We also found a hair in the Side of BBQ sauce. The manager was nice and apologetic and took one meal off the bill. I definitely would not recommend this place.

MV
MarissaV
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Caitlin our waitress was amazing!!!

minimum is 50 character so I am typing this out to send it

JG
JulieG
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Terrible service waited over an hour after ordering and finally left without eating

R
Richard
New England
12 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

My biggest complaint is the same one that I’ve had each of 3 times I’ve visited here. Service is slow. Three different servers, at least 2 years spanning the 3 visits. At this point I don’t blame the staff. It’s the training from management that’s lacking. 15+ minutes before getting to order drinks is just sad.

LS
LynneS1981
New England
13 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Service and food were subpar. Many restaurants are asking for more patience during covid times - but servers not being attentive and food being simply NOT good have nothing to do with Covid. Step up your staff and kitchen.

The ONLY thing that was good about visiting the restaurant tonight was the band Whiskey Princess - kudos to them.

KB
KayBee
New England
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Love the outside patio ambience....but gets too buggy around 8:00!! The music station kept cutting out and static which was annoying. Also...would like the volume turned down.
Will come again.

DW
DanielW
New England
10 reviews
Dined on July 25, 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience2

Hostess nowhere to be seen. Waited 5 minutes inside restaurant without anyone acknowledging us. Harried waitstaff finally asked if hostess had spoken to us. Finally a waitress seated us. Espresso martini was minuscule and bland. Calamari app was a hideous clump of prepackaged, mysterious nonsense. Like warm doughy, inedible paste. Waitress advised us that they had no pizza dough, so our pizza would have to be made with a frozen cauliflower crust?! No pizza dough at 7:00 on a Saturday night? Ok, just give us the bill and we’ll be on our way. The waitstaff was great.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2020
Overall2food2service5ambience3

Server was great. Food was very salty

DN
DanN
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food is excellent service is excellent
Went there three times not a issue
If you go there ask for Brian excellent
Server host etc he helps make your visit enjoyable

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

It was good

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved every bit of it!

MD
MattD
New England
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We wanted to try the new outdoor patio. Was a great date night! The selection of beers and cocktails were impressive.

AM
AprilM
1 review
Dined on July 8, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience1

Outside seating looks great. Seated and server came 10 minutes later to ask about drinks. Music was def chosen by young kids and not geared towards crowd and played too loud. Cheeseburger was requested medium but came well done/burnt, inside the bun as well.

A
Alana
New England
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Out of all the restaurants out there, I chose Liberty for my birthday dinner. I always LOVE the steak tips, mashed potatoes and asparagus. This time, the mashed potatoes were not anything like I’m used to, they were watery and flavorless. Also, there was no asparagus, not a huge deal. I was really looking forward to the pita bread chips with the spinach artichoke dip but our waitress brought us the tortilla chips. I love this place and will certainly be back but it was an off day for you guys on that day. On a more positive note, our waitress Megan was very nice, took pictures for me and my friend and also brought me a candle in my lava cake so I could celebrate my birthday the right way!

Y
vipYuck
New England
13 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Deck area is very comfortable. Nice beer selection.

RD
RyanD
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Waitress was attentive but waited a bit too long for the check. Def worth checking out.

MD
MikeD
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2020
Overall3food4service1ambience3

Food was good. Service very slow. People were not wearing masks up to the door, same leaving the outdoor area, walking by people eating, and not enforced! Also people from inside come out to smoke, yet people are outside eating. Gross!

PJ
PatJ
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience3

Enjoyed eating outside...Cesear Salad with chicken was very good...loved the shaved Parmesan cheese...

m
vipmalyce1104
New England
95 reviews
Dined on June 23, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

We arrived on time for our reservation and opted to sit inside. The outside "patio" is ok, but right on Route 139 and rather loud. There was no one inside due to the Covid restrictions. Our server came right over and took our drink orders. Opted to have the spinach artichoke dip for an appy, which was delicious. For entrees, I chose the fish tacos (even though they were on the small plate section) and hubby had a pizza. Both were very good and quite filling. Can't wait to come back here and try more.

JP
JenniferP
New England
3 reviews
Dined on August 16, 2019
Overall3food3service1ambience3

Went here to celebrate my birthday. There were 6 of us. The service was insanely slow. My daughter ordered a drink and it was forgotten about. Finally had to remind server. When the rest of us needed new drinks we waited a ridiculous amount of time while the server sat and chatted with someone. Very disappointed.

AG
AimeeG
1 review
Dined on July 12, 2019
Overall2food5service2ambience5

I've been a few times and really liked the service, great food and entertainment. However that being said country night was extremely loud so much so we left, the service was a lot slower than normal and watching the DJ grind on his girlfriend on the dance floor and at the DJ table was a little much. I'll come back but it most likely won't be on country night.

TC
TomC
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

great job restoring that old building looks great food and beer was outstanding

NO
NORMANC
1 review
Dined on May 15, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience4

Received a promotion for a free meal if ibooked a reservation through open table. I followed all of the instructions and read all of the fine print. When i got there, they refused to honor the promo, saying it was buy one get one free. When i pointed out that it didn't say that anywhere and that the app approved my reservation for 1, they said it was "implied" and still refused the offer. This isn't the first time I've gotten poor, argumentative service from this place and will never go here again. Neither will any of my friends. I grew up in Holbrook.

Liberty Publick House
Responded on May 24, 2019

Hello Norman, I remember your first trip with the expired Miller Sharps and we apologized for that and gave you a free round for the table. This trip we sent out an email offer for a meal for your party that day. You came alone and ordered a beverage at the bar and inquired about it. I told you it was for a party because it did state that on bottom but I offered you 50% off your meal. Then I bought you your drink (Saint Polly Girl) after you refused to order and leave.

Report
PM
PattiMayo
New England
3 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service is always wonderful with friendly staff. The food is great although they changed their tarter sauce with the fish and chips but still very good.

They have a very extensive beer list and always appear to have lively entertainment on the weekends.

It has a very interesting vibe on the inside as well.

The fish and chips as well as the steak tips are consistently good and we frequent the restaurant about twice a month.

We haven’t been wowed by the burgers or sandwiches but they are still good. However, the veggie burger is delicious.

RD
RhondaD
New England
1 review
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved the atmosphere and decor. Such a fun place to dine!

ST
vipScottT
New England
8 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Worth the trip. We drove an hour to see Hypercane, a band they had playing there. It was so worth it. Not just for the band, who are always spot on, but the food was great, the service was good, it was a nice atmosphere, and the price didn’t kill us. Plus the steaktips were OUT OF THIS WORLD! And, its a great place for entertainment after you eat. On a side note, they just put in a little arcade room off of the dining area. So it's a good family night place too.

SR
SusanR
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

My first time here for a birthday dinner! I had the baked fish with the green beans and I surprisingly found out that the green beans were cooked to perfection and WERE ACTUALLY HOT! This is the first restaurant that I have been to in awhile, that has served the vegetables HOT! My only issue was with the fish -- though it was a good sized portion, it was too dry. Everything else was great, though! The ambiance was great as well! Will definitely be coming back in the future!

L
Lpasts
New England
80 reviews
Dined on March 11, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience1

Setting was drab. Some kind of smell was present. Limited menu. STeak tips were good.
Place needs to be brightened up with new furniture and painted in light colors and less tacky decorations.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
4 reviews
Dined on February 26, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience4

Was a bit disappointed after wanting to try Liberty Publick House for so long. We only saw our waitress twice (once when she took our order and once when she brought our food). Our drinks didn’t come out until our food did and she never asked how everything was going. The food came cold which is interesting because my burger was burnt. It has a really cool eclectic vibe and the background music was great, just wish the service and food could catch up with the feel of the placer.

FAQs

Liberty Publick House offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (781) 885-0956.

Liberty Publick House is rated 3.9 stars by 105 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.