Lahinch Tavern and Grill
*Pub Seating, Live Music, with
Flatscreen TVs, NFL Ticket, Sports Bar, Fireplace.
*Tablecloth Dining with
Spacious, Quiet, Rustic Bar.
Regional American Cuisine, Irish Fare, Wood-burning Grill.
Weekdays Express Lunch Deals. Weekend Brunch with Bottomless Mimosas and Bloody Marys.
Hosting private events for up to 200 people. Off-premise catering available. Some of our customer favorites are The Mediterranean Platter, Shepherds Pie, Fish Tacos, and Steaks and Chops from our oak-wood burning grill to mention a few! Uber Eats Delivery Available and Grub Hub coming soon. Open Table Best Burger DC Tastemaker Award 2019 and Open Table Diners Choice Hot Spot and Vibrant Bar Scene 2019
Always have great service here and the food is delicious. Had the shepherd's pie and the bangers and mash and they were very authentic. Great spot to enjoy comfort food and relax.
Great food, service and music.
I enjoy the restaurant because of it homely environment and great music on Wednesday nights the band that I enjoy the most is The 19th Street Band. The only thing that I can say bad about the restaurant is is you cannot make reservations on the pup side .And I like to see more times than just Wednesday.
A great place with a friendly staff. I had the trout which was delicious and perfect summer dish. My husband had a fantastic fish and chips. Great local brews and a good wine selection. There are bands there on Friday night which adds to a great evening out!
My husband and I had been to Lahinch to hear our friend and his band a couple of times, but we had not eaten a full meal there. We were taking a friend out for her birthday, and thought that Lahinch would be a great choice. And boy was it!! We all enjoyed our meal.
Got the fish and chips. Meh..fish was soggy. Wife got flat iron steak and it was good but pricey. Muscles were pretty good.
Excellent Irish pub menu with great service.
The hostess, Grace, was very helpful and gracious and set a lovely tone for the restaurant. Emily, our server, was wonderful too. We appreciated the birthday candle and comp ice cream and cappuccino for the birthday celebration.
We were there to dance and listen to Quantum Leap band. Had a wonderful time. While most of us just drank, one couple did eat and enjoyed their meal. This is our special place to go.
We went there for the Irish specialties. The bangers and mash, the corned beef and cabbage and the sheppard's pie were all OK, but we have had better elsewhere. We tried the guiness battered eggplant and it was OK. The fried calamari was subpar. One of our dining partners had the blackened trout special, which was excellent. Good selection of beers. Other than a few Irish traditional dishes, the menu was very extensive. Probably a great place for happy hour. If we return, we will order other items on the menu.
Came to eat and dance and listen to band.
There was no dance floor or room in the band area. Really disappointing because the band was really good.
Wish that a couple tables could have been moved back away from the front of the band.
Left and went to Clyde’s ic Chevy Chase.
We went for the Express Lunch. Soup or salad and a main course for $13.00. The Caesar salad was excellent. We had the trout stroganoff and the fish and chips. Both were excellent. The batter on the fish (fish and chips) was a little too heavy, otherwise no complaints. We will be back.
We always feel at home when going to Lahinch. Service is excellent, friendly, and attentive. Love the food, atmosphere, and live music! Great night out.
Really great place for a family brunch - wonderful food and service!!
Thanks for the 5 stars and kind words! Sincerely, Chef Ted
Unfortunately, we sat in the front room for our first visit. We had to ask for a waiter, after sitting there staring out the window for awhile, who arrived acting like he was doing us a favor! He eventually ended up being the only one taking orders for the whole room. The service was slow, and the food was partially cold when we got it. Corned beef sandwich, corned beef dinner, and bangers and mash were subpar. We had to ask for mustard, which is supposed to be on there, overcooked fries, etc. Really sloppy, careless presentation. Maybe they had an off day, but having previous experience in the restaurant business, it's surprising they're getting away with this mismanaged performance. It could be so much better! So disappointing for a Mothers Day dinner.
Dear Peggy, We are sorry that your experience didn't live up to your expectations. We strive to always provide the best experience possible for all of our guests. We had a very brief time where we had a staffing shortage. We hope you will come back and try us again! Best Regards, Chef Ted
Food was decent. My husband loves the corned beef & cabbage. I love the lemon drop martini & fish & chips. Service was ok.
Place could use a sprucing up. Side door creates a cold dining room.
Thanks, Tess, for the review. We hope you'll come again. We direct guests to the door in the pub. Best regards, Chef Ted
Unfortunately every entree served was missing something - toast/sausage/potatoes. We had to ask multiple times for several of these as well as drink refills. The meals took quite a while to be served even though the restaurant wasn’t full. This has been the service level the last several times we have eaten at Lahinch and probably will not be back.
Dear Ed12, Mother's Day was a very busy day for us. Not sure what time you came in. We always strive for excellence in all areas. We do hope you'll come in again. Kindest Regards, Chef Ted
Always a pleasurable experience. Moderately priced an good entrainment.
The dining area lacked ambiance but the food was good.
Dear TracyM, Glad you liked the food. Sorry to hear our ambience was not to your liking. Many folks find the barn wood rustic and charming, but we realize it's not everyone's style. Hope you'll come again. Our restaurant features two sides, the bar/tavern side, and the quieter, white-table cloth restaurant side. Perhaps you could come again and try our 'other half'? All the best to you! Cheers, Chef Ted
Music a nice surprise
Dear Maureenh, Glad you enjoyed the live music. We would love to know how we can do better in the other areas as we strive to provide our diners with an excellent meal, and service every time! Best regards, Chef Ted
We had a great Easter lunch. Staff was very friendly and the portions were large. We had a great time.
Der RayJ, Thanks for the kind words. Glad you had a great time! Happy Easter! Chef Ted
Service was terrible, slow, disorganized. Manager was apologizing to several tables. Both of our hamburgers were cooked incorrectly.
We always have a good time when we go. The food options are varied and reasonably priced. The service can sometimes be slow on a busy night. We usually sit in the bar area and listen to the music that starts at 8....they get some really good bands. My girlfriend and I like to go listen to Bruce Ewan and the Late as Usual band.
We were there on Monday (Apr 8) evening. It was Trivia night and my wife and I participated. That was a lot of fun. All the items we ordered - deviled eggs, eggplant fritters, Fish and chips - were terrific except the grilled liver which was not cooked! However overall Lahinch is good! Just avoid the liver! Also, Guinness was not available that evening....hmmm? Irish pub without Guinness? But I would still go back...
Dear SayanB, Glad to hear you & your wife had a good time and enjoyed most of the dishes! Sorry to hear that the liver was not cooked to your liking. Please always ask for a manager so that we may make sure everything is to your satisfaction. Regarding the Guinness, we encountered a problem with the tower, but remedied it after a brief spell. Sorry about the inconvenience. Best regards, Chef Ted
Lamb stew was iffy
Went on St Patrick’s weekend for an early dinner. Waited a long time for a server to acknowledge us and take a drink order. Staff did not seem organized with table assignments at first. When server did come, situation improved and we received good service. Food is excellent!!!
Thanks for taking the time to write us and leave a review, bloodymarylover. We're glad in the end you had a positive experience. St. Patrick's Day is the busiest day of the year for us, so it's a little hectic. Hope you'll come and see us again. Cheers! Chef Ted
Amazing live music. Irish dancers and music from 5-7, then there was an awesome 80’s band that closed the night Normally a cozy bar that was packed for St Patrick’s day. Delicious traditional Irish fare with a twist. Of course the Guinness and Irish Whiskeys. I recommend the fish and chips. They know how to do it right.
Jonathan, Thanks for your review. Glad you had a good time, and thanks for your kind words. We are always striving to improve in every area. Hope we can do even better next time around. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers! Chef Ted
Great blues band - fun place!
So nice to have a neighborhood place with friendly atmosphere and really good food, and some ENTERTAINMENT! Makes it feel like you're really having a night out. It's also a place where the baby boomer age group can feel really comfortable.
Thanks DLN56, Glad you had such a good time! This is what we're all about! Cheers, Chef Ted
Our server messed up our order and paid very little attention to us. First, she missed my mom's order entirely. Then, we had to specially request our check. Even at that point, she went to another table and we had to flag her down. It was disappointing, as the food and atmosphere was quite good.
Great food and drink, great atmosphere, wonderful staff and really close to the Strathmore. Great place to start a fun night.
Always an authentic wonderful meal with excellent service.
We had a 7pm reservation this past Saturday night. We arrived timely. The place was a chaotic mob scene. We weren't seated until 7:25 and never saw a waitress until 8pm. I discovered the restaurant had booked 2 parties that night - 50 people and 10 people. They clearly couldn't handle the load but instead of closing their reservations they greedily continued to accept open table reservations despite the obvious overload. After an inordinate wait we were finally able to order dinner. The hamburger I ordered, medium rare, arrived well done. By that point I had given up on getting anyone to correct the mistake. At no point did the manager come around to check or apologize. After writing a similar review on Yelp, the chief/owner wrote back & apologized. However, he never mentioned overbooking the restaurant but instead tried to excuse the incompetence claiming he was short staffed. All the more reason not to have accepted the additional reservations he knew he couldn't handle. There are dozens of other good restaurants in the Bethesda/Rockville area to chose from. Last time I spend my hard earned money at Lahinch.
Dear Jeff, It's true staff called out sick. Sadly, this can't be foreseen & planned for. I assure you that we stopped taking reservations when the limit was reached. Our pub seating is walk-in seating. We regret that you had to wait 25 min for your table, and especially that the service was slow and the burger overdone. It truly was a perfect storm. We strive to provide a wonderful experience every time & regret that we fell short. We wish you all the best! Sincerely, Chef Ted
Wonderful local restaurant/bar with great, tasty food, wonderful staff and service and fun music at times too!
This was my first visit to Lahinch based on a recommendation of a close friend. I was very impressed with everything - especially the music (one of the best bands) as well as the food and ambiance. I was particularly impressed with the Owner (Frank) whom I met afterwards and who went out of his way to make sure we had a great evening to watch this year's Super Bowl on Sunday. We also need to compliment our waitress for her outstanding service prior to and during the Super Bowl. I plan to continue going to Lahinch with friends for live music, dinner and special performances (such as Open Mic on Wednesdays and the 19th Street Band on February 20.
We had a reservation at 6:30 on Saturday evening. When we arrived the hostess told us there were no available tables in the dining room and that we would have to be seated in the bar where music was blaring. We've been here many times and never been treated like this. We're never coming back. This place can't be trusted to honor reservations.
Dear AvidDiner, I'm very sorry to hear this. May I ask if you spoke with a manager? I will look into this and am so sorry that this happened. We would love to have a chance to make this right. Please call 240-499-8922 and ask for me, Chef Ted Again, my most sincere apologies. We value all of our customers and desire for everyone to have a good time. This is not acceptable and I will look into the matter to ensure nothing like this happens again. Kindest regards, Chef Ted
This was our waitress's first day as a waitress anywhere. We waited an hour to get our drink order even though we asked about it 4 times. We asked about our meal three times and each time was told it was a kitchen problem. Once she came back and asked if we were ready to order, even though we had 20 minutes earlier. And twice she came back to ask about the order again...'so she could get it correct'. None of the food was great, the chicken was very dry and my salad didn't come as outlined on the menu. It was missing several ingredients that the menu had, and the chicken I ordered for on top was not cooked properly and I couldn't eat it.
I spoke to the manager, who was very nice and did comp our meal explaining how they were short staffed and had a big party unexpectedly that evening. I understand his challenges, I run a business also but having a new employee, who has never been a waitress, work by herself with no support wasn't smart. She couldn't handle the job.
Dear LindaF, I'm so sorry that we did not live up to our standards this evening. Unfortunately, we had some staff who were ill and unable to come in; an undesirable occurrence that was out of our control. The shortage in staff was unavoidable despite our best efforts. On top of that we had a record night (a happy occurrence, but unfortunately coincided with short staffing resulting in difficulties). Thanks for your understanding. Hope you'll give us another try. Most Sincerely, Chef Ted
The service was wonderful. We went for britches and bottomless mimosas. When we sat down we were instantly greeted with scones and butter on the house. The food was warm and delicious. Highly recommended for brunch and mimosas!
Love the atmosphere, fireplace, irish coffee, smoked salmon platter and scones!
Had a great meal. We’ve been here a number of times and the food this time was much better than I previously remembered it. A very nice experience, especially since our two young kids enjoyed it too.