Kona Grill - Minnetonka

4.3
713 Reviews
$30 and under
American
Welcome to Kona Grill Minnetonka, located at Ridgedale Center. Enjoy your local paradise after work or a day of shopping. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Stop by for happy hour to taste our handcrafted cocktails infused with freshly squeezed juices. Enjoy a diverse menu featuring a wide variety of contemporary American dishes, as well as unique entrées and appetizers with a global flair. The restaurant’s contemporary ambience and its new patio provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Minnetonka during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 9:30AM - 2:00PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 8:00PM - 11:00PM
Sat 9:30AM - 2:00PM 8:00PM - 11:00PM

What 713 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
V
Vanessa
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Their menu has a lot to choose from, which I liked. Everything came out great and service was good!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Service was slow and disorganized. Our main course was served while we were eating the appetizer. The restaurant was very warm since a large outside door was wide open. Flies in the eating area were common - probably due to the open door. Finally, food was only fair (over-seasoned).

F
Food4thought
Minneapolis
7 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Restaurant week menu was well worth the money. From the Picasso roll to the blue cheese salad and progressing to the citrus lime chicken and the 10 oz prime rib entrees and finishing w a delicious carrot cake and infused pound cake, this fixed price 3 course dinner was date worthy and a great value. Outdoor space was comfortable and our server was attentive and knowledgeable. Looking forward to trying happy hour in the near future!

HH
HeidiH
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Went for summer Restaurant Week to try Kona Grill for first time. Overall the experience was not worth the money spent. Food was just okay...steak was overcooked, green beans undercooked, and I could have used the round mound of mashed potatoes as a ball they were so dry. Drink was good, but not $12 good.

DT
DennisTkach
Minneapolis
15 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Waitress was new and did not know the menu or about Restaraunt week. Charged regular menu prices versus happy hour prices. Check was off by $100.

AB
AllyB
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was attentive and our appetizers and drinks arrived quickly. Everything was delicious, and the happy hour prices are great!

D
vipDiningfun
Minneapolis
28 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We went for the first time during Restaurant Week. There was a great dinner offering that allowed us to try a number of things at a really good value. The carrot cake was AMAZING!

JA
JACOBS
1 review
Dined on July 12, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Food was okay for the most part.
Asparagus was under cooked and not good. I did not like the miso mashed potatoes. Potstickers were really good and the prime rib was fair.
Our server was excellent.

m
vipmrgrub
Minneapolis
28 reviews
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience5

Good Service

MY
MelissaY
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Went to Kona for a date night. We each ordered two signature rolls, so not a cheap meal. When we got our food we discovered that they failed to put the mangos in the shrimp rolls. We double checked the menu to confirm there was supposed to be mangos in the rolls then contacted our server. He checked with the kitchen staff and informed us that the kitchen was out of mangos, so they made the rolls without them. These particular rolls are pretty dry without the mangos, but the part that was really upsetting was ordering food and then not being informed there was an issue. They simply served us the food and hoped we wouldn't notice/mind. They should have told us when we ordered the food and given us the opportunity to decide if we still wanted the food without the mangos. No apologies from the kitchen or management, and we were charged full price for our meal even though we didn't get what we ordered/paid for. When made correctly this place has delicious food, but for the price, I have a real problem taking a gamble on whether or not they will actually make the food as promised on their menu.

JW
vipJimW
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

Very, very poor service. Hostess left a long line of people waiting in line to check-in for lunch--even if you had a reservation as we did. Food took a very long time to arrive after we had ordered.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice 4th of July experience!

SM
SherryM
Minneapolis
5 reviews
Dined on June 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always great food, friendly staff, great service!

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on July 2, 2021

Hi SherryM, We are thrilled to hear you always have a great time with us! See you again, hopefully soon! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 24, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

Takeout sushi isn’t great. Same sauces need to be included in takeout as ordering in restaurant otherwise what’s the point. Also why was the Naruto removed from the menu?? It was the most incredible roll ever and no one else does it even close to Kona. Please please bring back! 🙏🏽🙏🏽🙏🏽

R
Rachel
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on June 22, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Service was fantastic, attentive. Food value at happy hour was great, and delicious.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 24, 2021

Hello Rachel, Thank you for the feedback. Hope you can join us again soon for some more Happy Hour! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
RH
RebeccaH
1 review
Dined on June 21, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Great food. The Fish Tacos available during happy hour are amazing!!

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 23, 2021

Hi RebeccaH, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the tacos on your time with us! We would love to talk to you more about your experience with us. Hope to hear from you soon and hope you can join us again soon so we can really knock your socks off! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management minnetonka@konagrill.c om

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Kona is great! The food is good, service good and ambiance good too. The sushi tastes great but I do think it’s slightly overpriced for the quality. It could be more affordable because it isn’t the absolute best in the city. Still good to dine at and worth recommending!

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 23, 2021

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are happy to hear you had a great time with us. Hope you can join us again soon, maybe during our Happy Hour where we have deals on drinks, food and sushi! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall3food5service1ambience3

Took an hour to get our food.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 23, 2021

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We would love to talk with you more and make it up to you. Hope to hear from you soon! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management minnetonka@konagrill.c om

Report
SK
ScottK
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Food wasn't done properly. Medium rare steak was medium. French toast wasn't fully cooked. However, it was gracefully replaced with correctly cooked food, and some other items were great.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 23, 2021

Hi ScottK, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your time with us. We hope you join us again soon so we can really make your experience exceptional! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
SS
vipSandieS
Minneapolis
8 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Our food was good. Not outstanding. The hashbrowns
were greasy. Bacon was very skimpy compared to other restaurants of this caliber.

Server was pleasant. Server's assistant did not speak to us until we asked him a question. No pleasantries etc. Perhaps this is the generational communication gap/barrier.

Noise level is rather loud. In order to carry on a conversation we had to talk loud.

I like this restaurant so I will most likely return. They just have some training opportunities.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 23, 2021

Hi SandieS, Thank you for the feedback on your time with us. On any future visits please ask for a manager and we can help make sure that music is not too loud for you and will make your experience exceptional! Hope we can see you again soon! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
m
melissak
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience5

Awful service, ordered pancakes and were told they had no syrup after cakes were served to us. Waiter was not familiar with menu. Received the wrong tables check. Never interested in brunch there again.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 23, 2021

Hi melissak, Thank you for your feedback on your Father's Day visit. We sincerely apologize about the time you had with us. The service you were given is not what we strive for. We would love to talk to you more about your time with us and want to make it up to you. Hope to hear from you soon. Kona Grill Minnetonka Management minnetonka@konagrill. c om

Report
J
Jodi
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience3

We went for brunch-food was ok . Service was very slow, especially on getting our drink orders. We had a few special requests for food, which were ignored, not a huge deal just added to the disappointment. I had heard great things about Kona, but was not very impressed.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 23, 2021

Hi Jodi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry about the time you had with us on your Father's Day. We would love to talk to you more about your time with us and want to make it up to you. We hope to hear from you soon and hope you can try us out again so we can make your experience with us exceptional. Kona Grill Minnetonka Management minnetonka@konagrill. c om

Report
JJ
JoanJ
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience1

Even though there was only one other party in the restaurant, they seated us in an area overlooking the parking lot. The service was slow, and although the food was pretty good, $50 for breakfast for two people was really high priced. We had French toast, bacon, egg platter and a couple of sodas. Not a great way to start Father’s Day.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 23, 2021

Hi JoanJ, Thank you for your feedback on your visit with us on Father's Day. We would like to talk to you more about your time with us. Next time you join us and there is any issue we will be more than willing to come help you and make your time with us exceptional. Hope to hear from you soon. Kona Grill Minnetonka Management minnetonka@konagrill. c om

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on June 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and drink! Server was awesome.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 20, 2021

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for leaving us feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
PT
PT1954
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on June 16, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

First time visit -- had a great dining experience! Will definitely return!

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 18, 2021

Hi PT1954, We are happy to hear you had a great first time with us! Hope to see you again soon, maybe for some weekend brunch! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
S
Sylvia
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We loved the place and the service was amazing. Our waitress was awesome. We will definitely go back!!

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 15, 2021

Hi Sylvia, Thank you for the review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and your time with our staff, they are pretty amazing. We'd love to serve you again sometime soon, hopefully for Fathers' Day or weekend brunch! Kona Grill Management Team

Report
M
Mitt
Minneapolis
10 reviews
Dined on June 10, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience1

We went here to celebrate my husband's birthday, which I stated on the reservation. They sat us in the noisiest section and we couldn't even hear our waiter or each other. I feel for an occasion like this you should be given a table in the nicer part of the restaurant and not next to a large table who were also loud. We ate off the happy hour menu and some of the food was good and some just OK. If these are the same items from the regular menu, very disappointing. Our waiter Ryan was great, but we probably won't be returning.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 12, 2021

Hi Mitt, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We apologize on your time with us. We would love to talk with you more about your time with us and make it up to you. Hope to hear from you soon. Kona Grill Minnetonka Management minnetonka@konagrill.c om

Report
EW
EvanW
Minneapolis
4 reviews
Dined on June 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Kona is my go-to for a quick bite and good service. The menu is unique with good portions that are not overwhelming.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 15, 2021

Hi Evan W, Thank you for the 5 star review! We appreciate all of your feedback and your business. We hope to see you again very soon, hopefully for Fathers' Day or weekend brunch! Kona Grill Management Team

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall2food4service3ambience3

No Sunday Happy Hour was very disappointing. Food was decent but not worth the price. Would only go back during happy hour so we lost our Sunday hang out eat/drink all day spot. 😫

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 10, 2021

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry to hear that you are disappointed by our menu change, we are trying something new! Happy hour is still available on the weekdays from 2-6 and 9-close. We hope to see you during the week sometime soon. Kona Grill Management Team

Report
CN
ChrissyN
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience3

Kids love it. Sushi menu is good but didn’t like a few of the rolls we had this time. Kind of expensive compared to other places we’ve been with better sushi.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 6, 2021

Hi ChrissyN, Sorry you didn't enjoy some of the rolls, but thank you so much for your feedback we always strive to have fresh vibrate sushi available, we have fresh Hawaiian Tuna flown in 4 times a week minimum. If there is details you could share so we can dig into what happened I would appreciate it. Thank you so much for being our guest, we hope to see you soon! Chef Dave and Team Kona

Report
P
Paul
Minneapolis
6 reviews
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great service, quiet enough to talk.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 5, 2021

Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the feedback. Hope we can see you again soon! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
R
vipRcdahlberg
Minneapolis
10 reviews
Dined on June 1, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Great service, not too crowded, very good food! Post pandemic though, currently very expensive. I want to support the industry but the current pricing will force me to reduce my visits.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 3, 2021

Hi Rcdahlberg, Thank you for the review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed everything. Thank you for the feedback on the menu prices, we did just roll out a new menu so everything changed slightly. I will pass you feedback along. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon! Kona Grill Management Team

Report
WL
vipWilliamL
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on May 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love sitting at the tables on the patio up against the bar. The bartenders are very attentive and make excellent cocktails!

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on June 3, 2021

Hi William L, Thank you for the excellent review!! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with the bartenders, they do make some tasty cocktails. We hope to serve you again sometime soon, hopefully for Fathers' Day or weekend brunch! Kona Grill Management team

Report
RL
RLRG
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service as always! Server Josh was personable, and also knowledgeable about the menu items.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on May 30, 2021

Hi RLRG, Thank you for the great feedback! We are happy to hear that Josh could give you an exceptional visit with us. Hope to see you again soon! Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Minneapolis
4 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We loved our server and everything was great. Really appreciated the timeliness of the delivery and quality of the food.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on May 30, 2021

Hi Anonymous, Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We hope to serve you again soon, come in for weekend brunch sometime! Kona Grill Management Team

Report
LL
LLLdinner
Minneapolis
9 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Prices are so high, we loved it but getting to $$ for regular visits sadly

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on May 28, 2021

Hi LLLdinner, We appreciate you taking the time leaving us feedback. Maybe next time you can come in during our Happy Hour and get some great deals on sushi and drinks! We hope to see you again. Kona Grill Minnetonka Management

Report
HF
HaiF
Orlando
1 review
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Food was okay. Many better alternatives out there.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on May 25, 2021

Hi HaiF, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your meal. Let us know what we could've done better so we can improve for next time! Kona Grill Management Team

Report
KL
vipKristineL
Minneapolis
10 reviews
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience2

The menu is not very descriptive at all, some of the food seemed over-cooked, and it was very loud.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on May 23, 2021

HI KristineL - I apologize your food seemed over-cooked, we do have a DJ in the evenings on Fri and Sat if you stop in those nights, let the host know we have some no as loud spots in the diningroom. Please reach out to us directly at minnetonka@konagrill. c om we would like to make this right. - Team Kona

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great and knowledgeable service and fantastic food!

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on May 23, 2021

HI Anonymous, Super Glad to hear the service and food were on point! We hope to see you very soon, thank you for your feedback. - Chef Dave and Team Kona

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on May 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great date night spot! We could chat and actually hear each other!

Kona Grill - Minnetonka
Responded on May 22, 2021

HI Anonymous, Thank you for your stellar review! We hope to see you soon - Chef Dave and Team Kona

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Minnetonka is rated 4.3 stars by 713 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Minnetonka does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.