This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Kona Grill - Huntsville

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
669 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Welcome to Kona Grill at Bridge Street Town Centre, Huntsville’s premier mixed-use lifestyle center. Enjoy your local paradise after work or a day of shopping. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Stop by for happy hour on our beautiful shaded patio to taste our handcrafted cocktails infused with freshly squeezed juices. Enjoy a diverse menu featuring a wide variety of contemporary American dishes, as well as unique entrées and appetizers with a global flair. The restaurant’s contemporary ambience and its new patio provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Huntsville during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
What 669 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
RR
RyanR
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was very polite and patient. The manager also visited our table to make sure we had everything we needed.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

The service was very bad. Took over an hour to get our food and then it was not what we had ordered. It was so late that we did not even bother to try and make it right. The noise level was very high. So disappointed.

A
Annon
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Call ahead to see if the DJ is playing. If the DJ is playing, don't plan on having a conversation with your party at your own table without telling at each other. TOO LOUD! Took 40 minutes for them to bring out our house salads. Half of us ordered season vegetables and when we got our food, we had green beans. We asked "are the greens beans the season vegetables?" Our waitresses response "no, we are out so I substituted green beans. We also have asparagus too." She didn't even come to tell us they were out of season vegetables and give us a choice of green beans or asparagus; she decided to make the choice for us. Not cool.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food2service4ambience3

My husband, granddaughter and myself went recently and we all tried their sushi (we had heard it was really good).
Our server was wonderful!! Our food wasn’t that great!! We have had much better sushi elsewhere. The only thing that was good was the dessert. When we got the bill, we were blown away!! Too expensive!!! We will not be returning!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

While the food is enough reason to want to go back to Kona Grill, the upbeat and overall friendliness of the waiting staff pushed this restaurant to the top of our favorites list. Perfect for a date night!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Terry was a great waiter. Everything was nice and top notch.

C
Courtney
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We chose Kona Grill for our weekly “Girls Night Out.” They had a live Dj who was great! The food was great, service was prompt and sweet!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Birmingham
4 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

It’s been a while since I’ve been to Kona. I tried their new Sea bass sliders. They were very good but the portion for the price was very expensive. I was only served two very small sliders. Instead of it coming with fries it came with chips....again, just not a good value. Will not order it again.

CD
ChristineD
Orange County
3 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2020
Overall2food3service4ambience3

A little unprofessional. Food was over priced. Waitress was lovely. But she could not make up for the rest of the deficiencies for the cost. It’s more like a sports bar and grill but they charge just shy of fine dining. I’d rather pay a little bit more (if even needed) and get the whole experience.

BS
BenS
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service and food were great! The calamari was perfectly cooked. You have to try the carrot cake and if you a chocolate lover the Triple Brownie is great.

MP
MarcoP
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience1

My waitress make me feel unconfortable because it was the ending of her shift and she was giving me everything so fast, she ask me to ask my dessert to go because she want to close my bill as soon as possible. When I pay, she assumed that the change was for her and I didnt see her again. I wanted to be a bit longer but her service make me feel that they want me to be out fast.

The food and the ambience was good, nothing else to say.

2
26years
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding food, outstanding service. Several choices of food for different tastes

KH
KrisH
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

This was our second trip to Kona Grill and it was every bit as memorable as the first. Our server, Alina, did an excellent job and provided some good recommendations on menu choices. My wife and I both ordered the ribeye and really enjoyed it. The portions are appropriately sized and the steak was prepared exactly as requested. The whole meal was very memorable, and we will definitely dine here again. My only negative comment would be that the restaurant has a lot of hard surfaces which cause a bit of a noise issue, but not so much as to interfere with conversation at our table.

BK
BiancaK
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I apologize for not remembering our waiter, however she was amazing! Everyone’s food came out in a timely manner as well as our drinks. This was my friends bachelorette weekend and her first visit. First impressions are everything and miss lady really set the tone. Great food and atmosphere.

YM
YolandaM
Charleston
4 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Excellent seating outside. Great waiter. Food took a long time. Two guests got sick later that night possibly food related.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

So our server was Travis, and let me tell you he was the best server I have ever had in my LIFE!! Food was amazing, music was great and we even saw a manager dancing in the kitchen with employees having fun. You can tell they love their job! We will be back ASAP!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Birmingham
29 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience4

Party of 3 outside, reserved in advance. We were ignored for a long time; no waiter assigned. “Complementary” appetizer was $15, and the only food worth paying for. Most everything was served cold, unintentionally.

The waiter was inept and inexperienced. The manager was solicitous, but added nothing to the experience. He talked a lot without saying anything, and seemed to slur his words. Not sure if he was inebriated or not.

This was a very disappointing experience compared to previous visits. In the past, the food was reliably decent, the service good but slow.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Birmingham
9 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sarah was our server she was amazing ! Always checking on us and what we need, fun and nice took pics of us when we asked her , she is a 5 out of 5 :)

AG
vipAngelaG
Birmingham
29 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience1

Food was good. Flatbread was barely warm though. We went for the carrot cake and that did not disappoint! It is amazing!
The main complaint I have is the loud blaring music. My friend and I wanted to visit and we were literally screaming at each other. Who wants loud music while eating lunch?? I asked our waiter if they could turn it down and they actually did turn it down a little bit.
Our waiter was great. No complaints there.
We will be going back to Connors for our annual bday lunch since it’s much quieter, and the complimentary bday dessert doesn’t hurt either! :-)

BC
BridgetC
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience4

I have been to Kona before and the food was great both times. My recent visit was not the same. I could see the server taking care of other customers around us doing a great job but the server we had was slow and forgetful.

As for food, I didn't care for my meal but I think that was no fault of the cook, it's something I've never tried before.

My husband ordered a steak and the texture and flavor were just not good at all. It tasted cheap and previously frozen and perhaps the cook tried to cover it up with spices that did not work with the over all flavor.

PM
PaulaM
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

We were really disappointed. This was third time we have been and this was one of our first times out since Covid. Last time, we ordered from door dash and half the items were not delivered. We saved judgement for inhouse dining. It wasn't much better. We were celebrating birthdays. Food was bad. Cold. Overly... salted. Sushi didn't hold together, rice seemed old. My son said the filet was Carnival Cruise quality. Chicken was bitter from being over deep fried too long. I could go on. It was not worth the money. Our server was kind and helpful... very polite, atmosphere was great. Restrooms were clean.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 16, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience4

Every single thing we ordered had to be sent back because nothing was prepared according to the menu. (For example, my salad came out as a bowl of lettuce with a few pieces of chicken at the bottom. It was missing cheese, avocado,tomatoes, and everything else listed on the menu). 2 out of our 5 tickets had to be returned and adjusted because they were incorrectly calculated. This was the absolute most horrible experience I have ever had in a restaurant and I was so embarrassed that we had chosen this place as a venue for a friend’s special birthday. I will never, ever, ever patronize Kona grill again.

JS
JonathanS
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was great, and the food was outstanding. We look forward to our next visit.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Superb service and excellent food. My fiancé and I come here quite often.

AF
AlisonF
Birmingham
3 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall3food2service1ambience3

We had terrible service this evening. It took 10 minutes to even see our waiter to order drinks. We ordered a drink and a water each. 10 minutes after that we got our drinks but not water. Then he took our order. And never saw him again. Then hour later we flag another waitress down to ask about our food. Our original waiter then comes to the table and says the chefs are making it now and they won’t take long. We ordered 3 appetizers. I don’t believe he ever put our order into the computer. The waitress that helped us comes to our table and says they should be out soon. We ask for them to go and to see a manager. The manager comes to us and seems very upset a what happened. She takes our food off the bill. Then the waiter comes out with our food on a plate and we tell him we want it to go. The manager brings our food out in the bag and offers to get us a dessert on the house. Jessica the manager did an amazing job. Unfortunately when we get home to finally eat we realize that two of the three appetizers don’t have their dips. Jessica definitely saves the experience or else everything would have been a one star.

A
Annunziata
Indiana
7 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall1food2service3ambience3

Our waitress, Whitney was lovely! I’m not sure what was happening “behind the curtain “, but clearly they were understaffed! It took at least 20 minutes to get my dirty martini (which was delicious). My friend ordered a lemon drop martini which took as long to receive hers as it did mine. It came to the table without the sugar around the rim. My husband ordered the filet which came to him completely cut into bite size pieces. Weird! Never have we seen that before!
We waited over an hour for our meal. Thankfully we enjoyed the awesome weather and our friends!!

MD
MaryD
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Visiting Huntsville for the holiday weekend and enjoyed a relaxing dining experience. Our server Katelin did an excellent job of answering our questions and offering suggestions. We enjoyed starters of Spicy Shrimp Tempura and Kona Sea Bass Sliders - dinner included the Kona Filet and Combo Stir-Fry all had great flavors. If you have room for dessert I recommend the Coconut Rum Cake but since I couldn’t decide ordered Carrot Cake to go. 😊

MR
vipMikeR
Mobile
6 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

In this Covid era, this dining experience was very nice. The food was fantastic, and the service provided by George was exceptional. He was prompt, friendly and ready to serve us throughout our meal. The Sushi and Salad (my wife’s meal)and my Kona stir fry were delicious.

ML
vipMelindaL
Atlanta
27 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Food was horrible. Delivered cold & reheated plate in microwave. Air completely out in entire restaurant. No notice on door whatsoever. Seemed to “corner customers” and not being honest.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Food was real good but very disappointed they were out of sea bass. Got the macadamia but chicken instead .

HF
HugoF
Adelaide / SA
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall3food1service5ambience4

Very disappointed with the food
Steak was hard and certainly not a Ribeye, the Prime Rib was close to a piece of leather, vegetables were frozen

SG
vipSGT1
Birmingham
14 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Food and service were awesome but the restaurant was really hot!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience5

Service was extremely bad, we had to ask for menus, silverware, water over and over. We were extremely disappointed

AF
vipAnotherFoodie
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This was a truly horrible experience. We arrived on time, made drink and appetizer orders, then ordered dinner when the drinks arrived. Forty-five minutes later, my main course arrived, but it was wrong. Ten minutes later (now close to an hour), still no other food. We spoke to the manager, but we decided it was not worth waiting for the food to be made. We left without eating. The restaurant has an open kitchen and the expeditor has his mask down over his chin the entire time. Needless to say, we will not be back. And, until COVID is no longer a threat, we would recommend that diners avoid this restaurant l.

SB
ShayB
Birmingham
6 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such an improvement. I went to Kona Grill years ago and loved the ambiance but the food didn't wow me; this time I actually went on a whim, just happened to be in the area. It was my friend's first time there and we both appreciated the chic decor (I forgot how cute it was inside) and our waitress, who called herself Sweet Melissa, was attentive and funny and knowledgeable about the menu. She actually helped me pick out my meal, the stir fry, SO GOOD. My friend had the lemon garlic pasta and it's a huge portion and it was tasty too. The manager politely stopped by our table the make sure we were satisfied; the staff even changed the TV to the game we wanted to watch. Highly recommend.

AM
AmandaM
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The food and service was exceptional! Our server, George, took excellent care of us!

R
vipRojo
Atlanta
85 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Another fabulous Kona Grill experience. The food was excellent as always, and our server Cal provided us with awesome, spot-on service. We will definitely be back!

AR
AmyR
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience2

Sushi was not good. They didn't have a large menu and what they had I didn't want. Nice building though with nice seating outside.

MN
MarkN
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on August 18, 2020
Overall3food2service1ambience5

Was a really disappointing experience at Kona. We've eaten there before and had much better experiences. Our server was almost completely absent from our table which may explain much of the trouble. He could be seen clowning around in the kitchen though. It took us 30 minutes to get our drinks. Most of our food was dry and over-cooked, probably based on being stuck under a food lamp for too long. Even the fantastic cheesecake had less carmel driveled over it and tasted a bit dry like it had sat out. No manager came by our table to check in (like normal). The electric blue and mojitos we ordered were much too sweet. Again, we've had great experiences at Kona, but this wasn't one of them.

Kona Grill - Huntsville
Responded on August 22, 2020

We are so sorry that you did not receive the service you have grown accustomed to and anticipated. We are very interested in hearing back from you to discuss further. Please reach out as soon as you can via phone or email! Thank you!

Report
BG
BGlass
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very nice ambiance. All scratch-made food. Very kind servers. The food is absolutely amazing.

Kona Grill - Huntsville
Responded on August 22, 2020

BGlass, we are thrilled to read this kind of feedback about our staff and kitchen! Thank you so much! - Kona Grill Huntsville

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Huntsville offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (256) 808-2540.

Kona Grill - Huntsville is rated 4.1 stars by 669 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Huntsville does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Kona Grill - Huntsville