Service and surroundings were excellent!
Thank you for the helpful comments, it's always nice to hear when you are giving the excellent service that you are striving for! Hope to see you back soon.
Thought we'd try one more time. We were all pleasantly surprised. Will be back.
Thank you for your feedback Nancy, we are glad that you came back and had a wonderful experience. Hope to see you again soon.
Getting seated took way too long with a reservation. Food was great, service was great, Atmosphere was great. A very pleasant experience and will definitely come again and bring friends.
Hello Doug, thank you for your feedback. I do appreciate your input about it taking a little to long to be seated with a reservation, that particular Sunday was busier than normal and sometimes people linger a little longer than anticipated. I do apologize that you were not immediately seated, but I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything once you were seated! Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon.
My husband has the wonderful beef stew. Great taste and with the good bread he used to sop up all the juice from the bottom of the bowl --- it was our main meal of the day. I had the best quiche I've ever tasted. Delicious and beautiful. Tasty salad with a light dressing. We'll be there again soon.
Thank you for your feedback Bob, we appreciate it. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything that you were served, we always strive to provide the best food and service possible. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope to see you back soon.
It is unfortunate that the food on the lunch menu doesn't match up the the marvelous view. The salmon was okay, but my friend commented that her cheese sandwich was less than satisfactory.
Thank you for your feedback Elbe, it is very much appreciated. I am surprised to hear that you did not enjoy the salmon, it is brought in fresh daily from Bodean's and is one of our most popular items. I would love to know more in detail what you did not like about the food. The more specifics, the better I can understand how to correct it and make it better for everyone. If you could share that with me it would be very helpful. Thank you in advance. -Chef James
Kitchen 27 is a great place for a special celebration. The Sunday brunch was outstanding. Breakfast items, lunch entrees, carved ham and roast beef, and even a seafood selection. Also, a nice salad bar, and a variety of delicious desserts. The service was more than wonderful; I love it when someone refolds my napkin when I’m away from my seat! I highly recommend this restaurant!
Thank you for your feedback Kathryn, we always strive for excellence in food and service. It is always nice to hear when we are hitting that mark. We hope to see you again soon.
Most of our dinner choices were good. We loved the location and the view of the grounds!
Brunch used to be $20 per person, $18 with member discount. Now it is $30 per person and $27 with member discount. Food selection was not as good nor were the available choices as many. We were very disappointed.
Thank you for your feedback, the price is $27.95 ($25.00 with member discount) and it includes typical brunch offerings (locally grown organic eggs) bacon/sausage/biscuits&gravy, carving station with locally sourced ham & roasted sirloin, seafood station includes shrimp,oysters, and cold smoked salmon, as well as a full lunch buffet, salad bar, and dessert table. It also includes all drinks except alcohol (juice bar, virgin bloody mary, coffee, tea). We are open to suggestions of what to add.
The Sunday buffet was outstanding. Get the Orange Mimosas by the carafe. Brett was an attentive server.
Thank you for your feedback. The staff works very hard to make sure that the brunch buffet is a good experience for our guests, and we are excited when that is recognized. I will pass along the compliments, our staff does like to hear that. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon.
It was a little pricey, but the omelet bar was great! The food was excellent and service was friendly and on point. I definitely enjoyed the experience.
Thank you for your review. Our crew works very hard to make sure that the brunch buffet is a wonderful experience for our guests, and are especially excited when it is recognized. I will pass along your praise, they will be excited to hear. The ham on the carving station is grown by Grassroots Ranch (within 15 miles of our restaurant) and we also source all of our eggs for our restaurant from them as well, happy hens! Thank you again for your feedback, hope to see you back soon.
My husband and I are members of Philbrook. My sister was in town and I thought a nice lunch dining experience would be Kitchen 27 at Philbrook. On the menu was grilled cheese sandwich and tomato soup; we laughed about that; saw people with the quiche and both decided on that. Our reservations were at 12:30 and we were quickly seated; the restaurant wasn’t full; there appeared to be plenty of wait staff but the service was slow. DO NOT order the quiche; it was tasteless. Hugely disappointing. We asked our waiter for lemon for our tea and he said he would have to cut some for us. I noticed other people with bread baskets and since our quiche was such a disaster I asked if we could get some bread and our waiter said ‘if we have any left”. Mind you; they are open for lunch 11:00 - 2:00; having any clue as to how many people would be having lunch on any given day there should have been plenty of bread to go around; which we eventually did get and it was delicious; there was a nice salad with the quiche; which again I highly recommend NOT ORDERING THE QUICHE. It was understandably very noisy because of the 2 story ceiling; even without a full dining room. The overall experience was negative.
Thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear that you did not care for the quiche. Our quiche is a non-traditional deep dish and I do regret that you did not enjoy it. I wish you would have let your server know, we would have quickly replaced it and of course not charged you. I know that we had plenty of bread on Friday and I apologize that your server's verbiage was not well thought out. Please send me your information so I can get you taken care of: firstname.lastname@example.org Cheers-Chef James
Very pretty setting. Food was great. Service was OK, but no real problems. It started to get loud when more people were seated. Nothing obnoxious
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the setting and food. I do agree that the acoustics in the dining room can be a challenge when there is a crowd, we are working on that in partnership with the museum. Thank you again for your feedback.
I have always wanted to eat at Kitchen 27 and decided to come there for my birthday luncheon with family. We were seated on the patio and the weather was perfect for it. Our waiter was very kind and courteous. I was, however, disappointed in the food. I had the green tomato appetizer which wasn't very good. My entrée was extremely disappointing. It was the lemon pasta dish and it was lukewarm and the pasta was overcooked. I am a foodie so I was quite disappointed. The weather was beautiful, the staff was very nice but I don't think I'll be back.
Hi Susan, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. It is always our policy that if you did not enjoy your meal you should not pay for it, so please email me and I will get you taken care of (email@example.com). Cheers-Chef James
We went to dinner for the first time with some friends at Kitchen 27 and we all totally loved the dining experience.
Thank you for your feedback Steve, we truly appreciate it. We strive to provide a wonderful experience for our guests and it is always nice to hear when we hit that mark. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Not at this time. The buffet is so limited. Seems to have lost some of its charm.
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found the Sunday Brunch Buffet limited, we try to offer a good variety including: brunch fare (eggs, breakfast potatoes, sausage, bacon, biscuits&gravy, yogurt parfait station, fruit and charcuterie platter, waffle station, and live omlette station), the seafood buffet (smoked whole salmon, shrimp cocktail and oysters), and the carving station (roasted sirloin and ham), lunch items, dessert table and all NA drinks. What should we add?
The menu offered a wide variety of choices for all of us. My lemon ricotta ravioli was exceptional. The service was efficient and always with a smile! I look forward to returning as there are many ither dishes I’d like to try...or maybe I’ll have the ravioli again!
I wanted my husband to try the fabulous onion rings. They were disappointing. They were too spicy and greasy. Our waiter talked to the cook and we were told the Serrano peppers were probably hotter than before. Why put peppers in a standard like onion rings?
Our waiter was very attentive and the rest of the meal delicious.
Please add Pilsner Urquel and/or Stella to the beer list.
Thank you for your visit and detailed feedback. Our onion ring batter is made with Serrano peppers to add a warmth of flavor to them, it usually isn't spicy. I do apologize if they were too spicy, and greasy. I will certainly talk to the kitchen about that and make any adjustment necessary. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your meal and your service. Thank you again for your comments, they help us to continually improve the Kitchen 27 experience for all of our guests and we appreciate it.
I loved everything about Kitchen 27. The atmosphere was modern and relaxing, the service was phenomenal, and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. We went in the afternoon right before we explored the museum and it was the perfect way to start off our experience.
Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it. We strive to provide excellent service to our guests and are so glad that you enjoyed both your food and service. We do hope to see you again soon.
So wonderful! Best brunch with great service. And, of course the view!
Thanks for visiting Carrie and sharing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
I chose Kitchen 27 as the perfect venue to host a brunch for myself and seven close friends. I based my decision on the setting, atmosphere, service, and certainly on the reputation of the primary chef to provide an array of delicious food choices. Having dined frequently at the Palace Cafe, I was expecting the same kind of dining experience at Kitchen 27. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Although everyone was served at the same time, two of us ordered the steakburger expecting it to be medium; however, the meat on both burgers was well done. Also, we were not offered a dessert menu, nor were we asked in advance if we would prefer separate checks. As a disclaimer, I was not aware when I booked the resevation that this was Second Saturday At Philbrook; otherwise, I might have chosen a different day for our brunch. Nevertheless, the restaurant staff must have been made aware of the possibility of a greater number of customers on this occasion, so, regardless of the number of customers to be served, our dining experience should have fulfilled my initial reasons for choosing Kitchen 27 for brunch with my friends - setting, atmosphere, service, and a varied menu of delicious food. I can't say that I would make a repeat visit.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. You are correct to say that the dining experience at Kitchen 27 is not the same as Palace Cafe, Kitchen27's menu is designed to be a lot more casual in feel compared to the fine dining style of Palace. I do apologize that your server did not offer a dessert menu, this will be addressed, as will the overcooked burgers. In researching your comments I was happy that your server did provide separate checks. We do hope you will try us again.
I would recommend Kitchen 27, especially for its convenience in relation to Philbrook Museum.
The food is good, the service was fine, and the space is good ( the acoustics are hollow and echo, so not the best place for conversation.
My biggest complaint is that the gratuity was included on the ticket. I base the amount I leave as a tip solely on the waitstaffs performance. Bret, our server, was exceptional and would have received double the gratuity that was included, if I had simply been left to assess and decide for myself.
Thank you so much for your feedback. I would like to start by clarifying that the only reason that a gratuity would be added is if your party is a table of 6 or more, that is a policy that we have in place due to past experience. Normally when you make a reservation of 6+ the host will inform you of this ahead of time, I do apologize if this did not happen. I do agree acoustics are a challenge in the space. We are glad that you would recommend us, and do hope that you will come see us again.
Great staff from front desk to the table.. wonderful food selections..the entire party enjoyed the choice for our get together.
Thank you for joining us and sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you back soon.
I enjoyed the half portion of the chopped salad very much. Interesting ingredients and a unique flavor. My friend enjoyed the tomato bisque as well. We both had the salmon as an entree and it was probably one of the best prepared and most delicious pieces of salmon I've ever had.
Thank you so much for your feedback Mary Anne, we appreciate it. I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience, it is always our goal to provide our guests with outstanding food and service. It is nice to hear when we are hitting that mark. We hope to see you back soon!
Great food great service.... The atmosphere was very pleasant and the staff was very helpful and friendly..
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Hope to see you back soon.
Great food! I had the lemon ricotta ravioli and my friend had the tomato soup and grilled cheese. Both were excellent, fresh and hot. We definitely recommend Kitchen 27.
Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed everything and hope to see you back soon.
Beautiful place to have lunch. Felt like a special get away. Food was good but very small portions. Service was sub par.
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed the ambience of the restaurant and museum, it is a special place. I would like very much to know what you ordered that you thought was a very small portion, we have feedback from just a few weeks ago that the portions are too large. So I would like a little more information if you wouldn't mind, so I can understand. Also definitely would like to know more about your service experience, sub par service is not our standard. Cheer-Chef
We know The Palace well and love their food.
Hard to believe that the same person/team chose this Kitchen 27 menu. It was uninspired to say the least.
Philbrook has traditionally served more women than men at lunchtime. My husband and I chose soup ( delicious but not hot enough as I had requested) plus an appetizer. He ordered onion rings and I ordered salmon with some bruschetta.
Both orders were huge!!! Hardly appetizer size!
We found the Entrée menu geared to a hungry diner and not creative or sophisticated enough. Sad.
Thank you for your feedback. I certainly understand your disappointment if you were expecting a Palace style menu, however our intent for Kitchen 27 is casual fare made well, not fine dining. Our appetizers are geared for sharing, so you are right that they are larger sized. The goal of K27 is to be approachable and not too fancy so that all feel comfortable. We do understand if that isn't for you and hope to see you back at the Palace which may be more your style. Thank you again for sharing.
Excellent service, excellent food and excellent presentation. We’ll definitely go back!
Thank you for the review Laurie, we are committed to providing the best food and service we can. It is always nice to hear when we hit the mark! Hope to see you back soon.
Even though we were there toward the end of their Sunday brunch buffet, the food was well stocked, fresh, and delicious! Service was great and the views from our patio table could not have been better.
Than you for your review Kayla, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your Father's Day brunch and you are right, the views cannot be beat! Hope to see you again soon.
The salad selection was very sparse. The desserts were cut in small portions. They have cut back on food selections but not on the price.
Hi Cheri, it looks like you visited us on Father's Day Sunday Brunch Buffet. You are absolutely correct, we do offer desserts cut in smaller portions due to many people wanting to try all of the desserts. Our dessert table usually has a selection of 5-7 different desserts, and being an all you can eat buffet you can try all of them. As far as the salad bar, what would you like to see added? We are always open to constructive suggestions, just let us know! Thanks again for the feedback!
Amazing service and food. They even found me a place to breastfeed my 3 month old son in private. Will definitely be going back.
Hi Brittany, thank you for your review. We strive to provide the very best in food and service and it is so nice to hear when we have hit that mark. We hope to see you back soon.
Beautiful view of the garden from our table. As soon as we ordered we were told it be extra long wait time because of a 20 top still waiting on their food... Coffee was cold. Had to ask twice for many things. Won’t be back on a weekend that’s for sure.
Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it. Comments like yours help us to improve upon our service. We appreciate that it can be frustrating to have ask multiple times for something and I apologize that was the case for you. I know that this past Saturday we did have a 28 top walk in without a reservation, that coupled with an already busy day can make wait times for food a little longer. I hope that you will be back and give us another chance, we strive for a perfect experience.
My first visit to Kitchen 27, a birthday lunch with daughters. The food was excellent, came as ordered in timely fashion and our server was delightful (beautiful, dark hair, friendly and helpful. name started with "M" maybe?). Can't wait for a return visit.
Hi Kate, thank you for your comments. We strive for an excellent experience for our guests and it is nice to hear when we have hit that mark. I believe that Marissa was your server and I will pass along your compliments. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon.
Just okay. Quiche was cold and mushy and tasted like it may have been made hours before and reheated and omelet was kind of blah. I can’t say I could recommend it for the price unfortunately. I wanted to like it.
Hi cdbs, we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your omlette or quiche, both are made with locally raised Grassroots Ranch eggs. I checked with the servers that were on staff the day and we didn't have anyone that voiced those complaints otherwise you would not have paid. Our policy is if you are not satisfied with your food you are not expected to pay for it. So just email me directly at firstname.lastname@example.org and I will get you taken care of ~Cheers, Chef James
Vacation- excellent food and staff
Thank you for your review, we strive to provide an excellent experience for our guests and it is always nice to hear when we have succeeded! Come visit again next time you are in town.
We really enjoyed our meal at Kitchen 27! It was all very delicious and I would love to go back sometime and try something different. My favorite starter was the smoked salmon dip....OMG! So good. I wanted to lick the bowl.
And of course, Philbrook is a very special place to visit.
Hi Jeri, thank you for your feedback. We strive to give our guests a truly memorable experience and we love to hear when we succeed. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back soon. Cheers-Chef James
Absolutely awesome Sunday brunch brunch…They had excellent locally grown ham, perfectly cooked roast beef, omelettes to order, salmon, shelled shrimp, oysters… And a lot of other breakfast type foods
Thank you for your review. Our crew works very hard to make sure that the brunch buffet is a wonderful experience for our guests, and are especially excited when it is recognized. I will pass along your praise, they will be excited to hear. The ham is grown by Grassroots Ranch (within 15 miles of our restaurant) and we also source all of our eggs for our restaurant from them as well, happy hens! Thank you again for your feedback, hope to see you back soon.
It probably would have been a nice brunch if we had been in the regular restaurant but they put us in a banquet room with 5 of us at a round table for 10 surrounded by big family’s with children so it was noisy and hard for some people at our table to talk to each other. They also must have had their regular wait staff busy out there because whoever was taking care of us surely wasn’t a waiter normally and should never become a waiter.
Hi Mike, thank you for the feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Mother's Day Brunch buffet, the kitchen worked hard on the preparations and I will pass along your praise. I do understand your disappointment with sitting in the private room off the side of the restaurant, it is not as lovely as the dining room but necessary on a day like Mother's Day to allow us to accomodate the number of people wanting reservations. I do regret that your service was lacking, we will work on that.
I was able to make our reservation for 2 pm, although the website said the restaurant closed at 2pm. I called Kitchen 27 directly and a woman answered the phone who kindly told me they were still taking reservations despite their closing time of 2pm. I was told this timing would not be an issue at all as they are moving towards staying open until 3pm and she gladly accepted our reservation. I arrived early with half of my party at 1:45 at which time our server, Tyler, informed us in a rude tone that the kitchen would be closing in ten minutes and we would not be able to order food last that time. I tried to explain to him that when I made my reservation I was told this would not be an issue. He continued to talk over me, interrupt me, and not even allow me to finish one sentence. He was obviously in a rush to leave for the day and was completely disrespectful to my mother and I who were there to celebrate mother’s day. I have never encountered such a disrespectful, rude server in my life., who proceeded to tell us at the end of the meal that he himself had mother’s day plans that evening, hinting towards the idea that is why he was so rude to us at 1:45pm.
The food was cold and did not live up to the “renowned chef” status as advertised on their website- possibly because our server had gone to the kitchen to voice his annoyance with us to the rest of the staff. We will never return to this restaurant. The restaurant and museum should be embarrassed to have such disrespectful staff member. Had he allowed me to explain what I was told when I made the reservation, this situation would have gone differently; however, he wouldn’t let me get two words out without cutting me off so he could speak. It was absolutely ridiculous.
Hi Kim, thank you for your feedback. Sounds like you and your server got off on the wrong foot. I was the one who told you it was fine for your party to come in at 2PM and it was. Tyler did try his hardest to make it up to you after your initial interaction (I was on the floor and he made me aware of the situation), obviously it ruined your whole experience and you were unable to let go of that and enjoy the rest of your experience, for that I am sorry. Thank you again for your feedback.
Service was great. It is too expensive for what you get, but we knew this going in. Price is about the same as it was when the Villa owned it.
The pork Belly was great and the breakfast was top notch. One of the two shrimp I chose was not deveined (Yuck!)
The new owners let the restaurant fill up. When the Villa owned it they would only let a certain amount of tables be seated at one time. The net result was lines at the buffet that were way too long in certain places and not being able to try some things without an unreasonable wait.
Overall pretty good and cool every now and then, but more experience than food.
Hi Kurth, thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best in food and experience at all times, even during our Sunday brunch buffet, which may account the increased traffic in the restaurant that you experienced. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience overall and would love to see you back to try our a la carte menu during the week or our burger bar on the patio every Friday night starting May 17th. Thank you again for your comments, we appreciate the feedback.