kitaro surf & turf & sushi

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
325 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
KITARO Surf & Turf & Sushi is a 4000 sq. ft. restaurant that has seating for 140, large bar, patio dining for 40, and a private dining room that will seat 50. You will find the atmosphere modern and alive with energy. Our expanded bar will offer full service cocktails, fine wine, sake and handcrafted cocktails. We open 7 days a week.
Executive Chef and owner John Kitaro has over 30 years’ experience specializing in preparation of exquisite sushi dishes. He brings to your table not only the best sushi, but also stunning presentations of each dish that comes to your table.
Our new and expanded menu successfully marries extraordinary cuisine in an exquisite setting. Asian Fusion creations, a large selection of top quality steaks, lobster, sushi & much more. We believe that we have created the best of both Modern Asian cuisine and an upscale steakhouse for your dining pleasure.
What 325 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
SW
SimeonW
Indiana
21 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice environment, great service..fast

ES
EricaS
Chicago
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice would recommend

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded 3 days ago

We loved that you took the time to let us know how your visit with us, along with giving us 5 stars and a recommendation! Please come back and see us again soon!!

Report
S
Spunky44444
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful food and staff!!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded 3 days ago

Woo Hoo! Thank you so much for posting your response and 5 stars!! Come back and see us again soon!!!

Report
JM
JenniferM
Chicago
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Normally I love it but this was beyond disappointing. My daughters filet and shrimp came out at least 20 min prior to my meals and my friends meal. My daughter finished all of her food and we sat and waited for ours. Our drinks (which were $12) we horrible. Bury tastes like soap. I don’t care about paying $12 for a drink if it’s worth it. My Mexican roll tasted spoiled and the rest of them were good.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded 3 days ago

Hello, I am so very sorry to hear that your visit this time was not a 5 star experience. It is not our standard to have a meal come out before everyone else's unless requested so I apologize for this. I hope that you were able to let your server know of the issues regarding the drink and Mexican maki to help resolve it during your stay. We hope that you can give us another try and hope to see you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was delicious!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on October 14, 2020

Greetings! Thank you for letting us know you had a 5 star experience with us!! We hope to see you again soon!!!

Report
RC
RoseC
Phoenix
5 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great service, great time with friends!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on October 14, 2020

Hi RoseC! We loved hearing you had a nice time here and we believe great times are definitely a side effect to being with fantastic friends!! We hope to see all of you again soon!!!

Report
E
vipElaina
Chicago
35 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Food was delicious! They had many options to choose from. The only down side was service was a little slow but besides that a great experience.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on October 14, 2020

Hello Elaina! Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us!! We hope that you can see us again to experience the service that is 5 star worthy!!!

Report
MG
MattG
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great! Little pricey so be prepared to spend a little of $100 for two

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on October 14, 2020

Hi MattG! We really appreciate your post and awarding us 5 stars!! Thank you!!!

Report
s
shellyf
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food! Great service!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on October 7, 2020

Hello shellyf! Thank you for the "GREAT" review and awarding us 5 stars!! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how things went and hope to see you back again soon!!!

Report
DR
DawnR
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2020
Overall2food5service1ambience3

The food was amazing but the service was awful. Took almost 2 1/2 hours and we had difficulty just getting things we asked for like a knife, our complete order or another round of drinks. I will say there only appeared to be a couple of servers and they had to cover the inside and outside dining areas.. There looked to be many takeout orders which could have jammed up the kitchen as well. We asked the busser twice for napkins and utensils but we never received them. Unfortunate way to spend my birthday dinner.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on October 7, 2020

Hello DawnR, we are very sorry to hear your birthday dinner didn't go well. It might have been that perfect storm of staffing and backed up orders, but regardless, we are truly sorry that your special day was nothing short of 5 stars.

Report
J
James
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic food! Great service! Nice selection of specialty drinks and vast selection of sushi. Fresh and delicious!!!!

E
Eric
Chicago
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great place to get Sushi! We love going to Kitaro any chance we get!

B
Beanygirl23
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love kitaro the food is great every time we go

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a great dinner, the sushi was awesome and the wine was excellent.

O
vipOrlando
Chicago
18 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome service and food for Indiana. I give this place 10 stars for being proficient when it come to customer service and quality of food. Kitaro has mad my list of favorites when guest come town.

LA
LoriA
Chicago
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Downtown Chicago feel but right here on nwi ! The prices are a bit high forever the quality of food is well worth it! The food is absolutely delicious! No complaints, service was friendly, music was peaceful, and outdoor seating was available! Will be going back!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious and fresh sushi, great exotic mai-tai’s, and nice outdoor patio

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on September 9, 2020

Hello! Thank you for not only giving us the 5 stars, but also letting us know what you enjoyed during your stay with us!! We hope you can join us again soon in the patio before the weather turns (which, here in the Midwest, could be anytime!)!!!

Report
k
kathleen
Chicago
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was TOP NOTCH!!! Would definitely recommend!!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on September 9, 2020

Hi kathleen! Woo hoo!! We couldn't ask for more than your recommendation for us and the service!! Many thanks for the 5 stars!!!

Report
AB
AdryanB
St. Louis
11 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Never disappoints!

Report
TC
TashaC
Chicago
11 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My Birthday!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on September 9, 2020

Awwwww, TashaC! Thank you for making your Birthday a 5 star experience with us!! We hope we don't have to wait a year to see you again!!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on August 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic birthday dinner

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on September 9, 2020

We are so happy that a birthday was celebrated with us! Thank you for letting us know you spent your special day with us and awarding us 5 stars!!

Report
DS
vipDanS
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

This is my 4th time coming here. 3 out of the 4 times it was so amazing. This last time it was really great. That lobster tempura is my new favorite.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on September 9, 2020

Hi DanS! Thank you so much for being a repeat customer, it truly is such a compliment!! We hope to see you a 5th time soon!!! Since you have the lobster tempura as your favorite, you can also find it in our Knucklehead and Kitaro Surf & Turf makis!!!

Report
KJ
KaylaJ
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience on my birthday. Would come back ❤

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on August 26, 2020

Hi KaylaJ! Happy Belated Birthday!! Thank you so much for celebrating your special day with us, what an incredible compliment!!! We can't wait for you to join us again!!!!!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food/service always good per usual. Only thing was, there was an annoying overly loud guy in the bar area— being extra loud and boisterous about neighboring casinos not paying out. Other than that, everything was great!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on September 9, 2020

Greetings! We appreciate you giving us the 5 stars and letting us know most of your visit with us was enjoyed!! If this should happen again, please feel free to let your server know and we will do what we can to make your dining experience better!!!

Report
TH
TomH
Indiana
1 review
Dined on August 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We HIGHLY recommend the Crab Cake. We had never had anything like it - I don't like Crab Cakes and I can't wait to have it again.
All employees wore face masks and made sure outdoor tables were placed to observe social distancing - important to us.
We will definitely return to try other things on the menu.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on August 26, 2020

Greetings, TomH! We're so happy you enjoyed the crab cake in our socially distanced restaurant and look forward to having you back!! Many, many, many thanks for your 5 stars!!!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome place!!! Elegant, yet simple!!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on September 9, 2020

Hello! Many, many, many thanks for your 5 star review!!

Report
AW
vipAngelaW
Chicago
8 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Service was extremely slow and tables were not spaced appropriately.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on August 26, 2020

Hello AngelaW, I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't a 5 star experience. As for our tables, we do our best to ensure social distancing is being adhered to using the CDC's guidelines for spacing, barricades, etc,.. I hope that you can perhaps give us another opportunity to provide a better serving experience in our social distanced environment!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Kitaro is spectacular. It’s not just dining, it was a food experience! Our waiter explained the menu really well and answered all my questions. I wanted to be more adventurous so I chose an entree that allowed the chef select what I was served. I was not disappointed! Everything was delicious. I also had an oyster shooter, which was probably my favorite thing there. I can’t recommend this place highly enough.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on August 26, 2020

Hello! We are over the moon happy that you had what we want for all of our customers,...an EXPERIENCE!! Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was with us, we really appreciate the wonderfully kind words you expressed!! Please come back and see us again soon!!!

Report
LL
vipLisaL
Chicago
21 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Happy with service of waiter, however was disappointed when an outdoor table was requested and then the hostess told me they don’t see the special requests written in on the Open Table sight. Then why have it if you can’t view it.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on August 26, 2020

Hi LisaL! As much as we liked hearing that you were happy with our service, we are sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the patio seating request and would like to make a recommendation: after you go through OpenTable app and select your time, there will be an option that pops up to "Select your seating", which is where you would need to opt for "Outdoor Seating". The system will pre-assign a table automatically versus putting it as a note in the special requests section.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
9 reviews
Dined on August 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was really tasty and drinks were good too! It was a bit on the more expensive side. But the quality is there! Just wish there was a bit more quantity.

I’ve gotten the poke bowl a few times before and thought that was perfect!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on August 26, 2020

Hi! Many thanks of appreciation for posting your review and rewarding us 5 stars!! Poke bowl is one of my favorites and recommend the tuna tartar tapa if you decide to join us again!! We appreciate your feedback!!!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on August 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The vibe was amazing. Chic. Tasteful. The sushi was up to par and the drinks were remarkable. I’ll definitely be back.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on August 19, 2020

Hi! We absolutely loved your review, it encompassed everything we hope for every customer and can't thank you enough for posting!! We can't wait for you to come back!! (Are you here yet?! LOL)

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Very good!!

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on August 19, 2020

Hello,, thank you so much for awarding us 4 stars!! Come back and see us again soon, we have new monthly specials such as Grilled Baby Octopus and Crabby Joe Maki (softshell crab, avocado, cucumber, rolled in soy paper)!!!

Report
LO
LOVABLETLC
1 review
Dined on August 2, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Love the atmosphere! Amazing food and excellent service!

MR
MaryR
1 review
Dined on August 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellant food, service was on point she knew how to answer all of our menu questions! We loved our dining experience!! Can't wait to return!

LH
LaurenH
Kansas City
6 reviews
Dined on August 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Gem in NWI for steaks and sushi. Ask the chef for fresh fish and sake recommendations! Perfect for date night or girls night out.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 31, 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience4

The server was prompt. But... I ordered a drink and it took over 20 minutes to come out. Our food took 40 minutes. Very slow. Very expensive.

JW
JackieW
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on July 30, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

The food & service were great. It's a bit pricey though. We will definitely go back!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely the best Sushi in the area and by far some of the best I’ve experienced. The miso soup is amazing, cucumber salad was fresh and exceptional!! Definitely will be spending more sushi dates here!!

m
michellebrenee
Chicago
9 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, the food is great, the atmosphere is beautiful and the staff is friendly. One of my favorite Indiana restaurants.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on July 29, 2020

Greetings michellebrenee! Your review is one of our favorites!! We loved hearing that you enjoyed all things Kitaro from the service to the cuisine and hope that you can join us again soon!!!

Report
C
Cyndi
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined on July 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time having the oysters. I’ll be back for the oysters. LOL

kitaro surf & turf & sushi
Responded on July 22, 2020

Hi Cyndi! Oysters it is then!! :) We loved that our oysters are your reason for returning and thank you for your fun review and 5 stars!!

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from kitaro surf & turf & sushi using the Order Online button. kitaro surf & turf & sushi also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (219) 301-5090.

kitaro surf & turf & sushi is rated 4.6 stars by 325 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.