Kanki North Market

4.6
199 Reviews
$30 and under
Japanese
Planning a family dinner, birthday dinner or date night in North Raleigh? Try a meal at Kanki Japanese House of Steaks & Sushi in North Market Square, voted “Best Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar in the Triangle” for more than 14 years! Like all Kanki locations, our North Raleigh Japanese restaurant and sushi house serves up a wide selection of hibachi fare, sushi and other tasty menu items that you, your family and your friends are sure to love. Much of our food is expertly prepared by our chefs right at your table, providing a unique dining experience you’ll never forget.

Support Kanki North Market during COVID-19

What 199 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
p
pckiller00
Raleigh
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Made a reservation, we had a grill table to ourselves. Our chef Victor was great and friendly; food was delicious.

Kanki North Market
Responded 11 hours ago

I’m delighted you had a great experience at Kanki. We’re passionate about serving delicious fresh food right in front of you. So it’s fantastic you enjoyed your Hibachi meal so much! Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, the Kanki team especially Victor, really appreciate the feedback. You can request him the next time you visit. Arigato!!

Report
MR
MaryR
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Hostess must of been in a bad mood. Waiter was good attentive but felt like he didn't like kids. We had 2

Kanki North Market
Responded 11 hours ago

Mary, We are extremely sorry to hear about this, and even more sorry to disappoint a customer. Next time, please walk right up a manager and voice your concerns. We'd like to make sure that such mistakes don't happen again. Please reach out to us on call or by email. Eunice Duran is the General Manager and is available to discuss your experience at Kanki. We want hear all about your concerns and address them in the most suitable way. We look forward to hearing from you. Your feedback matters.

Report
NP
NaileaP
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

It took too long for someone to finally serve us & the food took forever

Kanki North Market
Responded 6 days ago

Nailea, Thanks for taking the time to share your valued opinion on Kanki with other Open Table guests. Our Team leaders will address the servers in improving service to all guests. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customer and we are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We hope to see here again and please bring all your friends and family. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have. Arigato!

Report
JL
JulieL
Charleston
1 review
Dined on January 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Victor was our server, and he was so fun! We go every year for our daughter's birthday. Food was GREAT!

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 7, 2021

Julie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. Most people don't bother to leave reviews about positive experiences unincentivized. It's only when we receive such positive feedback, do we rest knowing that we have done our jobs well. Thank you for giving us this proverbial pat on the back, you made our day and will make Victor's day as well. We will strive to deliver great experiences consistently, please do come again.

Report
BP
BarbaraP
1 review
Dined on January 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I was worried at first about how dining would be affected, but no problems at all. Very professional with every aspect of my visit there.

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 7, 2021

Barbara, I’m delighted you had a great experience at Kanki. We’re passionate about serving delicious fresh food right in front of you. So it’s fantastic you enjoyed your Hibachi meal so much! Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, the Kanki team especially Victor, really appreciate the feedback. You can request him the next time you visit. Arigato!!

Report
TH
TashaH
1 review
Dined on January 3, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Has a great time for my birthday. Waiter was great food was good

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 6, 2021

Tasha, Thanks for taking the time to share your valued opinion on Kanki with other Open Table guests. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customers and we are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We hope to see you here again and please bring all your friends and family. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have. Happy Birthday!

Report
j
jeanineb
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on January 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was absolutely delicious and our chef was amazing! We come as a family to this location and Crabtree and I believe the lunch is always amazing and they always keep you entertained.

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 5, 2021

Jeanine, I’m delighted you had a great experience at Kanki. We’re passionate about serving delicious fresh food right in front of you. So it’s fantastic you enjoyed your Hibachi meal so much! Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, the Kanki team really appreciate the feedback.

Report
RM
RnMP
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We always have a very nice time when we go there. The waitress was super sweet & attentive.

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 4, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to share your valued opinion on Kanki with other Open Table guests. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customers and we are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We hope to see you here again and please bring all your friends and family. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Seattle
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

New Years Eve

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 4, 2021

Thank you for your dining at Kanki! We hope to see you again soon! Arigato!

Report
CC
CCHfam
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a family tradition on New Year's Eve for our daughter's birthday! Thank you for an excellent meal and excellent staff!

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 4, 2021

Thank you for your dining at Kanki! We hope to see you again soon! Arigato!

Report
BJ
BrianJ
E. Tennessee
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went on New Years Eve and had a great time. The cook was fun and did a good show for our kids. The food was really good, well seasoned and had great flavor. We will definitely be back.

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 5, 2021

Brian, Thanks for taking the time to share your valued opinion on Kanki with other Open Table guests. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customer and we are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We hope to see here again and please bring all your friends and family. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have. Arigato!

Report
BK
BobKat
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on December 28, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Always fun and delicious. I is a perfect place to go for a special occasion.

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 4, 2021

Bob, Thank you for your dining at Kanki! We hope to see you again soon! Arigato!

Report
DK
vipDeniseK
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on December 27, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

We made reservations which made getting a table easy.

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 1, 2021

Denise, Thank you for your dining at Kanki! We hope to see you again soon! Arigato!

Report
R
Reese
1 review
Dined on December 27, 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience5

The service is normally amazing! Today, the server wasn't as attentive. It wasn't the worst service that I've ever had but ot was not the best by far.We still tipped very well but we were just a little disappointed.

Kanki North Market
Responded on January 1, 2021

Reese, We are extremely sorry to hear about this, and even more sorry to disappoint a customer. Next time, please walk right up a manager and voice your concerns. We'd like to make sure that such mistakes don't happen again. Please reach out to us on call or by email. We want hear all about your concerns and address them in the most suitable way. We look forward to hearing from you. Your feedback makes us better.

Report
r
rizzo
1 review
Dined on December 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

the man that cooked our dinner really put on a great show and interacted with the whole table. ONLY thing we were disappointed in was having to use plastic silverware

Kanki North Market
Responded on December 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to share your valued opinion on Kanki with other Open Table guests. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customers and we are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We hope to see you here again and please bring all your friends and family. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.

Report
R
Rachelle
1 review
Dined on December 13, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We had a reservation for 4pm. Our entire party (6 people) were there at 3:50. We were asked to wait outside due to Covid restrictions, which we fully understood. After waiting outside for about 15 minutes, we noticed another party, about our size, were seated immediately when they walked in. We went in to inquire and was told that we were waiting because our entire party had not arrived. Once we assured them that our party was in fact there and had been since 3:50, the manager immediately tried to sit us, however it was immediately obvious that they could not accommodate our party. They tried to cram the 6 of us at a table that was clearly designed to seat 4 (as evidenced by the 4 plates strategically placed on the table). When we pointed out the lack of space and the fact that they were 6 of us, they said we could wait 30-45 minutes to sit at a table that could accommodate us. Needless to say we were not pleased and left the restaurant without eating. I’m very disappointed as we have frequented this establishment many times, however, we will not be returning.

Kanki North Market
Responded on December 16, 2020

Rachelle, We do apologize about your visit to Kanki on Sunday. The well-being of our guests, our employees and our society is the most important, and it is our commitment and responsibility to support the efforts made to protect public health and safety, therefore seating in our establishment is limited as we will accommodate based on social distancing guidelines set by the CDC. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you and your guests. We hope to overcome limited capacity soon.

Report
JS
JillS
1 review
Dined on December 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very very pleased with our experience. We took a chance as it was my mom's 70th birthday. 5 in our party and they kept the table just for us, so we were socially distanced. It was a Saturday and the place was very busy, but all tables were socially distanced and all precautions were taken. Excellent service and lunch show was very enjoyable. Food was perfect! Made my mom's birthday! We brought our own cake, which they were thoughtful enough to put in the cooler and brought back out with extra plates, silverware, knife, and server, and asked if we wanted a candle (we declined). Overall, we were very pleased with how they handled everything during the Covid situation and current social distant policies.

Kanki North Market
Responded on December 15, 2020

Jill, Kanki endeavors to go above and beyond for our customers, so for you to leave a positive comment is a source of great pride! I have told the Kanki Staff about your kind comments and they’d love to thank you in person the next time you’re in! We’re grateful for your feedback and look forward to serving you again!

Report
SM
SusanM
1 review
Dined on December 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food Excellent. Service was amazing. Our personal chef was funny and creative.

Kanki North Market
Responded on December 13, 2020

Susan, Thanks for taking the time to share your valued opinion on Kanki with other Open Table guests. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customers and we are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We hope to see here again and please bring all your friends and family. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.

Report
KM
KathyM
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent!! Food service entertainment. Great experience.

A
Angie
1 review
Dined on December 5, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Kanki is a place we go to celebrate. We were there for a birthday and the overall experience wasn’t like usual. The food was alright. The chef didn’t do any tricks, he talked to us but we had young boys with us and they wanted a show which they didn’t get. Our server was fantastic

CC
CierraC
1 review
Dined on December 3, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Rude Manager, she had a very nasty attitude. Needs better people skills!

BW
BreeW
1 review
Dined on December 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I come here at least once a week or every week and a half. I only wish there was a reward system in some way. But I love the food and the chef was great!!

SC
SuzanneC
1 review
Dined on November 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an amazing time...it was our son's 10th birthday and they made it very special for him!

CS
CicelyS
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Considering that we are in the pandemic, I was skeptical about eating out, but Kanki made me feel safe! The experience was great!

TI
TIASHAW
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere...Chefs are extremely delightful....

K
Kimberly
Greensboro
3 reviews
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was excellent! The restaurant had COVID provisions in place to ensure a safe dining experience. We arrived a few minutes before our reservation time and did not have to wait too long to be seated. Will definitely visit this location again.

MB
MollieBinRaleigh
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Felt very safe dining here with social distancing! Only 2 families at a table with glass and a chair in between. All staff wore masks and well as the chef. Food was delicious and we will certainly be back!

AP
AschanteP
1 review
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service food was delicious and didn’t have to wait to be seated after making reservation

H
Hazel
1 review
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Definitely a place to experience atleast once living in this area of Raleigh.

A
Autumn
1 review
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I’m very happy I chose to make a reservation. It was very busy and being able to just walk in and be taken to a table was so nice. The food was amazing as always and the cook kept us laughing! Never disappointed with Kanki and I’ll definitely be using OpenTable again!

JB
JBRockHill
Western NC
1 review
Dined on October 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great location, service and presentation was phenomenal, as well.

Kanki North Market
Responded on December 24, 2020

Thank you for your dining at Kanki! We hope to see you again soon! Arigato!

Report
a
angelas
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was amazing and the staff was very enthusiastic. They made my dads 70th birthday fun!!

Kanki North Market
Responded on December 24, 2020

Thank you for your dining at Kanki! We hope to see you again soon! Arigato!

Report
BL
BrettL
1 review
Dined on October 28, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Food was very flavorful and the steak was amazing but veggies and shrimp was overly burnt

Kanki North Market
Responded on December 24, 2020

Thank you for your dining at Kanki! We hope to see you again soon! Arigato!

Report
EM
EyleenMargarita
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Chef's show was nice, so funny. My husband, friends, and I enjoyed our lunchtime at this restaurant. Definitely, I recommend it a lot!

CS
CortneyS
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Never a bad experience. Classy. Waiter was dope. The order somehow got messed up and he did extra to fix it. With a complimentary drink. Recommended

LS
LynnS
Raleigh
5 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food. Good COVID-19 measures in place. Felt very safe eating there.

AB
AyanaB
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I think our chef’s name was Victor. He was phenomenal and very personable.

SS
StevenS
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great food, great time. The chef was very entertaining and funny too. My family and I had a great dinner.

KC
KristyC
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service, got there a little before our reservation and were immediately sat. The cook was AMAZING! He was so engaged with us and exspecially toward my 8 yr old son. And he cooked the food very well. He was all we could talk about after we left. Such a great time!

AH
AngelaH
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

It’s my favorite place and I love the staff. I was pleased with how the setup is with the pandemic going on. I’m already ready to go back.

FAQs

Kanki North Market offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (919) 876-4157.

Kanki North Market is rated 4.6 stars by 199 OpenTable diners.

Kanki North Market does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.kanki.com/giftcards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.