hicce

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
407 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
hicce is the creation of Pip Lacey and Gordy McIntyre
Friends for many years, hicce is a dream realised for this ambitious duo and the space and concept has been meticulously thought out to create the ultimate dining experience.
The menu will highlight Pip’s passion and skill for using the barbeque as a fuel source; grilling to steaming and smoking. From traditional smørbrød with cured meats and homemade pickles; to fish, meat and yakitori cooked over specialist holm oak charcoal. Pip will use traditional techniques to create beautiful dishes inspired by her travels and driven by her commitment to the very best produce.
Gordy is fantastically knowledgeable about drinks and guests can expect to see a carefully curated list of biodynamic wines, craft beers and original cocktails, each chosen to bring the best out of every plate.
What 407 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
KT
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had Sunday lunch at Hicce and it was wonderful! The slow cooked pork and all the little sharing starters were fab and we will definitely be returning.

TD
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had an excellent meal on Sunday, great sharing plates and fantastic service. The wine was very slightly on the pricier side but I couldn't fault the whole experience. Far superior to a lot of the options around Kings Cross at a similar price point and I will definitely be returning.

A
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

amazing food, high-quality ingredients, great service. Would recommend any time. Hope they change up the menu as seasons change.

hicce
Responded 18 hours ago

Thank you for taking the time to review & glad you enjoyed the experience. The menu is ever evolving, so changes are sometimes daily.

Report
EM
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Excellent place to go with a group. We were 5 and got to try pretty much everything we wanted on the menu. The waitress was very helpful and the maitre d' was excellent. Stand our dishes were the brussels sprouts which I usually hate, mushroom terrine and the beef.

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, can I ask for a little more detail on the food score please?

Report
GS
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food4service4ambience5

A great vibe and atmosphere.
The Service was great.
Loved it.

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for the review, can I ask for a bit more detail on your value score please?

Report
TH
London
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place with lovely attentive but not overly staff. Fab food. Great atmosphere.
Will definitely be back. Took my 80 year old mum & going to take my 14 year old daughter next time!

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you very much, really nice to hear that we made your experience a great one.. See you soon

Report
NF
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Spacious, well lit environment with plenty of room for our table. Initially delightfully quiet, but noisier by the time we left when it had filled up. Still much better acoustics than most tho, as one could both eat and talk. Staff attentive and helpful, quick to do what they promised such as top up the water. Food and portions worked well for us. One dish was a bit overcooked, and one side dish was forgotten, tho quickly retrieved. Other dishes were very enjoyable, and some (particularly starters of mussels with shaved fennel, and a mushroom terrine) were a delightful surprise. We ate fish and vegetarian dishes so can't comment on the meat. Not particularly cheap, but the combination of the physical environment, service and food was well worth it.

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for these very kind words. Glad that you enjoyed the whole experience. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report
SS
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sat at the counter. Lovely ambience. The woman who served us was excellent, explained the menu well and gave us great recommendations!

hicce
Responded 18 hours ago

Thanks for the stars & really kind words, Our guys are a very special lot, so they will be really happy to hear they have helped you enjoy your experience with us.

Report
F
London
5 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Food was very good but service was exceptionally slow from ordering took a good 30 minutes for the bread to arrive. The dessert that was ordered didn’t arrive and after 30 minute wait left it and got the bill.

Arrived at 7 and left at 10.20 which shows how long it took. Overall food and ambiance was enjoyable.

Please note that if you sit on the bar table in front of the kitchen you will literally reek of cooking when you leave!

I also wasn’t keen on the unisex toilets as from a woman’s point of view they smelt unclean and someone was also smoking in one of them!

Would probably try once more but wouldn’t rush back!

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Firstly allow me to apologise for the wait you describe, this is not our normal practise. I will look into any issues that would have caused the wait and pick these up with the team in our weekly meeting

Report
DN
London
18 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service3ambience4

We had a very tasty meal for most of our group. However, one of our party has food allergies and although the staff were told before hand and at the time about it, the meal made her feel ill. The manager tried to compensate by giving us free puddings, but restaurants need to take people’s allergies more seriously.

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

My sincerest of apologies for the staff not dealing with your allergies in the correct manner. We take dietary requirements & allergies extremely serious here, so I am upset that the team have not handled this better. Please can you email me directly if you have a chance, Gordy@hicce.co.uk

Report
e
London
48 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Innovative and interesting cooking, and friendly service. Music now less intrusive than on our previous visit.
Quality food at a fair price in a lovely venue.

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for your kind words, always nice to hear from returning customers

Report
TL
London
1 review
Dined on November 9, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a lovely lunch with a fantastic waitress from Leeds who looked after us superbly well.

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Great to hear & I will pass on your comments to Leah

Report
SB
London
1 review
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had such a great experience on Friday night. The staff were great and fun. The food was outstanding and the restaurant was great! Weird to think I used to be dancing to house music where I was sat eating fine food! Great experience. Couldn’t recommend it more!

hicce
Responded on November 11, 2019

Thank you so much for the kind review and lovely words regarding your experience. Always great to hear when we have really nailed one of our guests visits.

Report
NS
London
2 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Both the waiting and kitchen staff dealt extremely well with my multiple dietary requirements, and the food was excellent.

hicce
Responded on November 11, 2019

Thank you for the kind review, can I ask for a bit more detail on the value score if you can find the time please?

Report
g
London
291 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Our server was amazing, so energetic and enthusiastic about the food at Hicce. My favourite dishes were desert the brandy snap and the chocolate 👍🏽

hicce
Responded on November 11, 2019

Really sorry to see the overall stars here as it looks like you enjoyed your visit. Can I ask for a bit more detail from your visit please?

Report
FC
London
4 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

My husband and I spent a lovely evening at Hicce. We enjoyed the mixed starter- delicious beer bread, pickled cabbage and smoky squid skewers. I had brown shrimps form my main which were lovely, my husband found the skate very good. We shared a brandy snap and some blue cheese to finish. The recommended red wine was very drinkable and I also had an orange wine with dessert that was delicious. The service was very very attentive and helpful.
We booked the same day but it was busy.
Only gripe would be don’t have music playing, I can’t recall if this was turned off once it got more full.

hicce
Responded on November 11, 2019

Thank you for these very kind words and really glad you enjoyed the experience. We do have music playing throughout the service as we think it adds to the atmosphere as long as it is appropriate and at the correct level

Report
AT
London
1 review
Dined on November 5, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great staff. Lovely food, just not much of it for the price.

hicce
Responded on November 11, 2019

Thank you for your review, we try our best to ensure we are value for money with regards price and portion sizes. I will pick up your comments bwith the kitchen team at our weekly meeting.

Report
AM
1 review
Dined on October 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were three for lunch. The staff were really helpful and ingredients and quantities. It was all delicious especially the mushroom pate and the skate which is not often on menus. The speed of service was just right so that we had plenty of time to talk and eat.

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the very kind review& hope to see you again very soon

Report
MM
London
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience2

This place did nothing for me food very average had to send 2 dishes back what we kept very average. We have a table for 6 booked for 29th Nov which I would like to cancel

hicce
Responded on November 4, 2019

Sorry you fell this way, can I ask for a bit more detail on your experience please. I will cancel your future booking now.

Report
CP
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience1

First visit to hiccup midweek at lunchtime. Greeted warmly by staff and shown to table, menu explained well. Food arrived swiftly and quality very good . Not keen on ambiance, seats rather uncomfortable, felt more like a cafe than a restaurant. Food good , very reasonably price ; definitely will go again !

hicce
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for your review, can I please ask for a little more detail on the service mark?

Report
BG
London
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Surprisingly nice carefully prepared food. Structure of menu and small dishes worked well for lunch. Lovely bread and butter. Great unfussy service, pleasant room and view. Signage to find it could be better.
Will be back.

hicce
Responded on November 2, 2019

Thank you for these kind words, will certainly pass your comments on to the powers that be in Coal Drops Yard about improving the signage

Report
V
London
4 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Foor was good but selection wasn’t great. Small plates for £6 are literally tiny!!! Also none of the waitress really had a clue of what the food was and how big the plates were...they recommend us many dishes and lucky we didn’t as the mains were filling. The waitress also ordered two mains when I only asked what one dish was and then said I will take the fish. God I noticed and stop but only when the wrong dish came...they just try to oversell you the food which is good but I don’t appreciate gay attitude. Also bread is £0.90 in England but they still don’t give you more hen 2 tiny pieces. Seriously!!!!

hicce
Responded on October 29, 2019

Not sure I totally understand everything in your review? Apologies for our obvious mistake when taking your order, our guys do work very hard to ensure we recommend the right amount of dishes this can be difficult as some people are hungrier than others. Not sure I understand 'gay attitude'? Our breads are also served 3 slices per portion, so I'm not sure you would have received 2? That aside, apologies you did not enjoy the experience, certainly not what we like to hear.

Report
HW
London
40 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Hicce has a great vibe, excellent customer service and wonderful food. It's clear that they really care about top quality ingredients.

hicce
Responded on October 29, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words

Report
P
London
14 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Relaxed dining room and bar in the Wolf and Badger store. Food was delicious and beautifully prepared. Shout-out for the brandy snap and orange cream dessert - stunning.

hicce
Responded on October 29, 2019

Thank you for your kind words & stars

Report
OU
London
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Horrible customer services. Rude. Came for business lunch and were really disappointed by the way of hospitality

hicce
Responded on October 29, 2019

Really sorry to read this, can I please have a bit more detail on the customer service you received please?

Report
SK
London
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great setting, great food.

Had a small business lunch there and was perfect. As setting was calm and atmospheric. Food delicious and we ordered lots to share

Will return for sure.

hicce
Responded on October 29, 2019

Glad you enjoyed & thank you for the kind words

Report
AT
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience2

Very nice food and the young waitresses were really cheerful but the manager was very pushy, asking for us to order when there was no rush and plenty of empty tables. She could do with learning a bit of etiquette as she represents the whole restaurant.

hicce
Responded on October 29, 2019

Adam, sorry you feel this way. As you were booked in our first sitting, what we were attempting to do was ensure that your order did not go in when our next sitting arrived and could have caused a slight delay on your food. I will ensure we get this point across better in future.

Report
W
London
28 reviews
Dined on October 22, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Our first visit and based on the reviews, we were excited to try it. The restaurant is attractive and the service was excellent but we just weren’t blown away by the food. We had a board with Hazelnut salami, Combe cheese and the rye bread, all excellent but we weren’t crazy about the beetroot, the mackerel pate and didn’t enjoy the artichokes. We didn’t order a main as we thought we would after the starter but we decided not to on the basis of our board. Maybe we just chose the wrong dishes but it is a limited menu. Doubt we would go back, there is so much choice at Coal Drop Yard now, I’d try somewhere else next time.

hicce
Responded on October 29, 2019

Sorry you didn't find us to your taste, never like to hear we have not quite hit the mark

Report
LC
1 review
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience4

The food was fantastic. The waiting staff were lovely, but didn't seem to be communicating with each other as well as you might hope - several of them asked us the same questions about ordering etc. We had to chase up parts of orders and ask for drinks.
Would go back though. Sure it's teething problems.

hicce
Responded on October 21, 2019

Glad you enjoyed the food, we will work on your points made regarding service.

Report
FA
1 review
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Amazing service from Leah, all the staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was really good

hicce
Responded on October 21, 2019

Thank you for the stars & I will pass on your kind comments to Leah.

Report
IC
London
40 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Place is excellent, food imaginative and great granary Sq location, esp pre Kings Place gig.
Avoid sparkling wine aperitif saved in 1960s glasses. Ask for Leah excellent host

hicce
Responded on October 21, 2019

Glad you enjoyed & I will certainly pass on your comments to Leah. The sparkling you mention I believe is our house Frizzante, sorry it was not to your taste.

Report
OT
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great brunch spot. Friendly service m, good food and drinks

hicce
Responded on October 21, 2019

Thanks for the kind review & really glad you enjoyed

Report
JF
London
5 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Nice venue and staff were friendly and helpful but the food just isn’t good enough. Starters and skewers were ok but the mains were poor . The food isn’t warm enough when it reaches the table . There was limited choice and food isn’t presented well on the plates .
It’s a shame but I won’t be returning

hicce
Responded on October 21, 2019

Really sorry to hear that you won't be returning, certainly not the words we enjoy hearing. Apologies we have not lived up to your expectations.

Report
HA
London
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2019
Overall2food1service4ambience3

Great concept not quite executed. Was excited to try the food but was left disappointed. My taste buds were overwhelmed by the many flavours which didn’t compliment each other.

hicce
Responded on October 21, 2019

Sorry we left you feeling underwhelmed, certainly not what we wish to hear. Thank you for the constructive feedback which I will pick up with the kitchen team in order to help us grow and develop the menu in the future.

Report
JS
London
2 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Exciting small plates which allow you to experiment.

hicce
Responded on October 21, 2019

Thank you for the stars, I see you didn't find us good value can I ask for a little more detail on why please?

Report
LN
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Nice setting and vibe but I can't quite understand why the need such a brigade in the kitchen. Much of what we ordered was (often cold) items presented elegantly. The skewers were a disappointment, not particularly great and very overpriced. The mains were ok, the venison was over seasoned and the clementine had no place in a veal liver dish (which was slightly overcooked).
I think there is good potential but a rethink of the dishes would be wise.
The wine list was good and we had a really excellent Gamay (overchilled for me but that is a matter of opinion). A few more bottle under £35 would have been welcome.

hicce
Responded on October 14, 2019

Thanks for the review, there are obviously some negatives that I will pick up with the kitchen team. With regards to the team in the kitchen (I'm guessing you must work in the industry??), we are currently in a training process with the chef team, so it probably does look a little full in there at times. Glad you enjoyed the wine list, the Gammay is on draft & served at 7 degrees, we work very hard to created a small, varied wine list at an accessible price range, which we will continue to do

Report
PB
Hertfordshire
4 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Our fourth visit. The menu continues to evolve. The food is fresh, interesting and delicious. The choice is good. The staff are well trained and very efficient. Prices are good. We’ll be back.

hicce
Responded on October 14, 2019

Thank you Phillip for your kind review, always lovely to hear from one of our regulars. See you again very soon

Report
n
3 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is an excellent restaurant which offers high quality food. I keep coming back and it never disappoints! Make sure to try the miso-butter potatoes and the creme caramel.

hicce
Responded on October 14, 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing words & continued support with all things hicce. hopefully see you again very soon.

Report
MA
London
2 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Second time at hicce and the place is really growing on me. Innovative and very good tasting food from a great menu. Staff is amazing and you feel so very welcome.

hicce
Responded on October 14, 2019

Always lovely to hear that we have delivered well and really made our guests experience such a positive one. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report
BL
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I LOVE hicce!
The menu is constantly changing which always delivers delicious combinations.
The food is fresh, innovative and utterly delicious- something for everyone.
The gentleman who greeted me was so warm, welcoming and polite.
Our waitress and bartender were amazing (I was dining with a celiac) our waitress took the menu and with the chef highlighted what she could eat.
Our bartender had excellent knowledge and guided us through the wine menu and allowed us to sample before purchasing.
All in all outstanding!

hicce
Responded on October 14, 2019

We LOVE you. Thank you so much for this amazing review, it really means a lot to the team when one of our guests takes the time to let us know how much they have enjoyed. I will 100% present your words to the team at our next couple of briefings.

Report