Heirloom

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
55 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Heirloom would like to welcome all that are feeling well to our pristine indoor and outdoor dining areas. We are taking all measures to ensure the safety and well-being of our guests.

-Tables have been placed 6 feet apart
-Thoroughly cleaning and sanitizing
-Frequently sanitizing high use areas
-Screening employees for symptoms daily before work
-Employees temperature documented daily before work
-Disposable menus
-Requiring employees to wear gloves and frequently change them
-Takeout and delivery orders available
-Masks are required for servers

Inspired by the lasting connections that were woven around the table, our restaurant offers a fresh twist on classic milltown staples that will bring people together. At Heirloom, we celebrate the bounty of local farmers and purveyors with dishes that are humble in roots yet inspired in execution.
What 55 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
BF
BrendaF
1 review
Dined on July 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

it was great! We really were treated so nice
food and service was excellent

loved our ranks too

KB
KimB
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience5

The space is lovely . The waitperson was too much , pushing for us to order food IMMEDIATELY . We ordered cocktails and apps but then were basically forced to take our dinner order literally in the first 5 minutes . It was weird and off putting .Food was mediocre at best . Biscuits were delicious .

Heirloom
Responded on July 21, 2020

Kim, we sincerely apologize that your waiter was overly attentive to your table. We will talk with our staff to make sure that we give our guests time to enjoy their evening without feeling rushed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to grow. We hope you will give us another chance and hope to see you again soon!

Report
l
luv2eat
Charleston
13 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Clean, nice looking with indoor and outdoor seating. Service was on point. Food was great, look forward to going back to see a normal menu.

Heirloom
Responded on July 7, 2020

So happy to have you join us! Thank you for a kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really enjoyed eating here. Food was EXCELLENT!

Heirloom
Responded on July 7, 2020

Thank you for joining us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your food! Hope to see you again soon!

Report
EN
ErinN
Charleston
1 review
Dined on June 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We sat outside. Our food and service was wonderful!

Heirloom
Responded on June 25, 2020

Thank you Erin for the great review! We are thrilled that you had a great experience with us! Hope to see you again soon!

Report
d
db864
Charleston
1 review
Dined on June 21, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience4

My husband and I went on Father’s Day in the afternoon and asked to be seated outside. The setting was fine. We didn’t realize that there was a Special Brunch Menu only. It was late in the afternoon, so this was nor optimal. We had to wait over an hour for our food. The waitstaff apologized repeatedly. We would like to return when there is a regular menu.

Heirloom
Responded on June 25, 2020

We apologize that you did not enjoy our Father's Day Brunch! We hope that you will be able to join us again for dinner in hopes of a better experience. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us improve for the future!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on June 21, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Delicious... sat on the patio... had a wonderful experience..
Highly recommend!!

Heirloom
Responded on June 22, 2020

Thank you for joining us! We are so glad you had a great experience!! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
MA
MissAmericaJunkie
Western NC
4 reviews
Dined on June 21, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Everyone’s food was amazing. My husband had fried chicken and grits. One of my daughters had a great twist on Mac-n-cheese, it was brisket Mac-n-cheese, also amazing. Our older daughter had the classic shrimp and grits, which did not disappoint either. We had the fruity pebbles waffle for “dessert” which was a delight.

Heirloom
Responded on June 23, 2020

We are so happy that your family was able to join us and try many of our delicious options! Thank you for such a kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
GH
GaetanH
Naples
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a great place to get a nice meal. I would recommend this location.

Heirloom
Responded on June 22, 2020

Thank you Gaetan for the kind words! Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report
PR
PatrickR
Charleston
4 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is one of the best places in Spartanburg to eat. The food is absolutely great and the wait staff is top notch. I highly recommend you give them a try.

Heirloom
Responded on June 22, 2020

Patrick, we are ecstatic that you had such a wonderful experience with us! We can't thank you enough for your kind feedback! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect portions. Locally sourced foods. Well-prepared, flavorful dishes. Attentive service. Pleasant atmosphere. Heirloom has all the ingredients for a sublime evening out.

Heirloom
Responded on June 15, 2020

We can't thank you enough for such kind words! Thank you for dining with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report
SB
ShirleyB
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was our first indoor dining experience since March, and I could not be more happy with Heirloom. Greeting at the door, Mattie, our server, and the food, all A Plus!!
We will be back very soon. Thank you. Shirley Bryant

Heirloom
Responded on June 9, 2020

Shirley, we are so happy that you were able to enjoy your first outing since March! Thank you for such a kind review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
BB
BobbyB
1 review
Dined on May 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One of our favorite restaurants. The limited menu was perfect. I had a salad and my wife had the fried green tomatoes and both were great. We both got the fried chicken for our entree’s and it and all the sides we tried were excellent. We had the chocolate tart for dessert and it was probably the best dessert we’ve ever had there. The service and atmosphere were perfect, but we’ve never had bad service there. It’s always great.

Heirloom
Responded on May 18, 2020

Bobby, we can't thank you enough for your kind review! We are so happy that you and your wife were able to enjoy a nice evening with our delicious offerings! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
MA
MissAmericaJunkie
Western NC
4 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing the best kept secret in Spartanburg County!

Heirloom
Responded on May 14, 2020

So thankful to have you!

Report
SH
SharraH
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff and food are wonderful! Drinks were fantastic as well!! We will definitely be going back!

Heirloom
Responded on May 14, 2020

Sharra, we are so happy you enjoyed your night with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
DF
DavidF
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We drove down from Hendersonville, NC and we were not disappointed in the least. It was a very special time for my wife's Mother's Day and birthday. You made me look good. Thank you so much!

Heirloom
Responded on May 14, 2020

We are so happy you were able to celebrate two important occasions with us! Thank you guys for joining us all the way from Hendersonville! We hope to see you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
7 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A double date with friends. We had an amazing time, incredibly delicious food and great service! If you have never been their it is time you give them a try. This is not the typical restaurant connected to a hotel that serves institutional food. Chef JR and his staff create amazing taste adventures for you. The menu is ever changing with fresh local fare. We have never been disappointed any of the multiple times we have been there. We will be back, many times over!

Heirloom
Responded on May 18, 2020

We can't thank you enough for such a kind review! We are so happy that you and your friends enjoyed your night with us! Can't wait to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on May 9, 2020
Overall1food5service1ambience3

Food was good, but service was bad. No management, like no one cared about customer comfort. Unbelievable given small number of diners.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on March 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great atmosphere, great service

Heirloom
Responded on March 16, 2020

Thank you so much for the kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed!

Report
MH
MHUL
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on March 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Heirloom is always my pick for a date night! Between the delicious menu items and the specials you can't go wrong!

Heirloom
Responded on March 11, 2020

Thank you for joining us for date nights! We are so happy to have you!

Report
MG
MelissaG
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience5

Lovely ambiance, great service. The live music was wonderful. I was very disappointed in the charcuterie board. The item is described as "Chef’s selection of meats & cheeses, house made accompaniments & local farm fresh offerings". Our board had several meats, but only 1 cheese - a goat cheese. Fortunately, we like goat cheese, otherwise we would have been out of luck. There were only 4 toast points on the board, no crackers or other crunchy items to eat. We have had charcuterie at many other places in town, and this was by far the saddest one, considering the $19 price tag. The braised beef mac & cheese was good, but there were only 4 small pieces of beef in the entree. Cocktails were just ok. I had 1 of their specialty cocktails and then stuck to wine. I feel like the items are overpriced for what you get. I may go back for a cocktail at the bar, but the $80 price tag for a shared charcuterie, shared entree and 3 drinks each was kind of high for what we got.

Heirloom
Responded on March 12, 2020

Melissa, we sincerely apologize that you were disappointed in our charcuterie board. We have given this information to our kitchen staff in hopes of delivering a better selection offered in the future. We also apologize that you were not thrilled with our specialty cocktails or the prices you paid. We do offer a happy hour at our bar from 4:30PM-7:00PM and would love to have you back! We hope to see you again and appreciate your honest feedback!

Report
LI
LICritter
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Restaurant was not busy for a Saturday night at 7:00 pm. First, they were out of a number of items. How can that be early on a Saturday night? Disappointing. Next, there was a couple talking on their cell phone with some relative while on speaker phone. I could hear the other side of the conversation clearly from the far side of the room. People at adjacent table kept turning around to stare, but staff did nothing. Unacceptable. Lastly, when our entries arrived, the protein was steaming hot (as fried chicken should be) but all of our sides, potatoes and coffee-infused carrots, were room temperature(which they shouldn’t be). We don’t send things back to be recooked for fear of kitchen staff retribution. And the staff saw all our sides untouched but never put 2 and 2 together to ask. All in all, a fail on multiple levels.

Heirloom
Responded on March 2, 2020

So sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your night with us. We have had a pretty busy weekend so we do apologize that we may have been out of some of our menu items! We do apologize that you did not enjoy your food options and that your potatoes were not the correct temperature. Our staff loves feedback as it helps us grow and we do wish that you would have mentioned your dislike to us! We would have fixed the issue right away! We hope that you will join us again and give us another shot!

Report
P
Pate
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Service was pretty bad... didn’t get to hear specials - server has a good heart and tried but she seemed flustered and everything, esp getting drinks and the check took way too long. Would recommend and will be back. Bring back creme brûlée!

Heirloom
Responded on February 25, 2020

We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy the service you received. That is not what we expect from any of our servers and we will make sure to talk with them immediately to make sure that this does not happen again. If you'd like to provide any more details or feedback, we would love to hear from you 864-913-1212. We are glad that you enjoyed your food and agree that the creme brûlée should be added to our menu... it is delicious! Thank you for your feedback & we hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Nashville
1 review
Dined on February 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server Zach was amazing. He made sure we were taken care of and didn’t just take our order and bring us our food and drinks. He also had conversations with us. Definitely a great meal.

Heirloom
Responded on February 23, 2020

We are so happy you had such a great experience with Zach and enjoyed your meal! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
JS
JoeS
1 review
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Food order was wrong. Daughters burger came out wrong. I ordered the center cut ribeye and it looked as if the put a flat iron on my plate. Part of the food was cold as well. Only brought out part of the food the first trip. Was at least 10 minutes before the rest came out.

Heirloom
Responded on February 20, 2020

Joe, this is not the type of service or food that we strive to provide at our restaurant. We sincerely apologize for your food not being delivered to your table in a timely manner and that it did not come out correctly. We will talk with our staff immediately about these issues to ensure this does not happen again! Don't hesitate to call us at 864-913-1212 if you'd like to express any other concerns so that we are able to provide for a better future service and we hope you will join us again!

Report
DS
DonnitaS
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was better than I had expected. My husband ordered the steak, which was seasoned and cooked to perfection. The squash and collards were wonderful. I had the shrimp and grits which was equally delicious. Our reservation was at 9, we were seated at 9. For Valentines Day it was not overbooked and the ambiance was nice, not too quiet but not really loud. Can’t wait to go back!

Heirloom
Responded on February 23, 2020

We are so happy that you enjoyed your food and had a wonderful date night! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Nashville
2 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great Valentine’s Day dinner. Service was quick and food was delicious. Definitely will be back.

Heirloom
Responded on February 18, 2020

We are so happy that you enjoyed your Valentine's Day dinner with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
AS
AdamS
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food!!! Service was fantastic!! Highly recommend going if you haven’t!!

Heirloom
Responded on February 18, 2020

Thank you for such a great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
MH
MHUL
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Heirloom is always wonderful! We came on a Friday night before heading to the movie theater and the service, food, atmosphere and drinks were outstanding! Perfect for a date night any day of the week!

Heirloom
Responded on February 4, 2020

We are so glad you enjoyed date night with us! Hope to see you again very soon!

Report
DH
DavidH
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Excellent food but limited in choices overall. Food very good, Rainbow Trout very good. Burger very good. Wings very good. Shrimp and grits very good. Nice bar and choices. Good atmosphere will be great when warm enough to be outside in patio area

Heirloom
Responded on February 4, 2020

Thank you for such great feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed all of the food you were able to try! We are always making seasonal changes and hope you are able to join us again to try new items! Our patio area is a dream to dine in! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 28, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience5

We had a birthday party dinner here and it was overall a great experience. The food was so delicious and the drinks were amazing. A little pricey but worth the splurge. We went on a Tuesday evening and it was not very busy. I was disappointed with how slow the service was and when we needed our server it would take some time for him to come check on us. Although we had slower service, he was very polite and helpful.

Heirloom
Responded on February 3, 2020

We are so happy you had a great experience, enjoyed your food and drinks, and that your group chose us to host your birthday party dinner! We do greatly apologize for slow service as that it not what we expect from any of our servers. We appreciate your feedback and we have talked with our staff about creating a better environment and checking on tables more often! We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Report
EF
EdwardF
Western NC
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our second trip to Heirloom. Went for Restaurant Week and while they were out of our first choice the second pick was probably even better. My wife loves it.

Heirloom
Responded on January 22, 2020

Edward, we are so happy that you and your wife were able to join us for Restaurant Week! We appreciate such kind feedback and are so glad that you both enjoyed your meal! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
MH
MHUL
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on January 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My family thought Heirloom was the best! We all tried different dishes and shared with one another. Every dish was absolutely delicious! The staff was super friendly as well and drinks were just as delicious as the food!

Heirloom
Responded on January 16, 2020

We're so happy that your family was able to enjoy our food, drinks, and staff! We hope to see you all again very soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Our reservation via OpenTable did not show up at the restaurant, btw. There was not a table for us inside, so we sat outside, which was very pleasant. It was better outside than inside because there was a performing artist inside who was not exactly pleasant to listen to… Very loud and twangy! There were plenty of space heaters outside that were aesthetically pleasing, plus cozy booths and airy curtains. There was an impending wind storm, so we were prepared to come inside if necessary, but the weather held off.
Regarding the food...loved the cheddar biscuits! Our shrimp and grits were a bit heavy on the cream and cheese, however, with not enough grits. We ended up finishing it like soup with big spoons, but it was a bit rich. :-)
We had a wonderful server… Very professional!

Heirloom
Responded on January 27, 2020

We apologize that your OpenTable reservation did not show up! We are happy that you were able to enjoy your night on our outdoor patio! We're sorry that you did not enjoy the live music that night and that your shrimp and grits were less than satisfactory! We greatly appreciate all of your feedback and comments and will talk with our staff about changes we can make to create for a better experience the next time! We do hope to see you again and wish you well.

Report
SS
SadieS
1 review
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Our server was outstanding, went above and beyond to make our first visit enjoyable! The food was delicious, and far exceeded our expectations. My only complaint would be that the live music in the hotel lobby was too loud. Other than that, our evening was perfect!!

Heirloom
Responded on January 7, 2020

We greatly appreciate your feedback and are so happy that you had a great first visit with us! We hope it is the first of many! As for the live music being too loud, we will try our best to schedule bands with a softer touch for a more enjoyable future experience! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 3, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Great atmosphere, great service, amazing food, and it came out fast. The only thing that was a little off was appropriate music. It was oddly quiet between the live musicians breaks and we could hear every word of conversation at nearby tables. But we honestly preferred that to the live singer. Bless his heart, it was painful to hear him sing.

Heirloom
Responded on January 7, 2020

We are so glad that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere, and service! We are so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the live music with us! We appreciate your feedback and will talk to our staff about bringing our background music on during the breaks! We do hope you join us again in the future!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on December 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very impressed!!!

Heirloom
Responded on January 13, 2020

We're so glad you are impressed! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience4

It just wasn’t for us. The beef tenderloin was mushy and tasted like fish. Carrots were hard as a rock. Biscuits dry. Fingerling potatoes were more like hash browns. Sorry, but we were disappointed.

Heirloom
Responded on December 27, 2019

We do so sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your food with us. We will give our chef your feedback right away as he loves getting any kind of feedback to learn and grow from. We do hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Report
MS
vipMarkS
Austin
8 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Attractive location, excellent bar and wine list, good food, service and coordination with kitchen needs improvement.

Heirloom
Responded on December 27, 2019

We appreciate your honest review! We will talk with our staff right away about coordinating with one another in a more efficient way and will hopefully see you again soon! Thank you for your feedback.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charlotte
8 reviews
Dined on December 21, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing!!!!Zach was wonderful..,, There was a lady named Sherry, that stood beside us talking about her family and how they all purchased homes near each other for at least 30 minutes. I don’t know if she knew the couple or not, but I’m sure that it ruined their meal too.

Heirloom
Responded on December 23, 2019

We are so very happy that you enjoyed your food and had such a pleasant experience with Zach! We do apologize that your meal was interrupted and that you had to listen to a story you weren't looking to hear. We will talk with our staff about this immediately and hope that you will join us again very soon with the outlook of no interruptions in your future dining experience. We appreciate your feedback greatly as it helps us to improve!

Report

FAQs

Heirloom offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (864) 913-1212.

Heirloom is rated 4.4 stars by 55 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.