This restaurant now offers Takeout

Bring the restaurant to you. Order and pay for food directly on OpenTable.

View Takeout menu

Havana Central - NJ

4.3
1322 Reviews
$30 and under
Cuban
Real Cuban cooking in a fun & lively setting. Featuring indoor dining, private parties, catering, curbside pick-up and delivery (through 3rd party apps!). Reservations are recommended.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1322 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
DD
DennisD
Charleston
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food great service
Appetizer sampler was a good choice

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on October 19, 2021

Dennis we're glad you had a delicious time!

Report
T
Toni
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Great drinks and entrees. The mojitos were great!!

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on October 11, 2021

Toni we're so glad you enjoyed your visit, cheers!

Report
IP
IngridP
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall3food1service2ambience3

Food was not good. Drinks looked beautiful but did not taste good. Overall would not go back.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on October 11, 2021

Ingrid we are sorry to hear about your experience. Sending you a private note now to learn more.

Report
JG
JefersonG
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Nice place to enjoy with the person you love special moments ❤

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on October 4, 2021

How lovely! We are glad to serve you anytime!

Report
RV
RainaV
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always great service and food when I come

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on October 4, 2021

Raina we are happy to hear that and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
MW
MeghanW
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

I made the reservations because it was a promotion for half off food but I didn't get half off! The food was good but not great. I would go back but not going out of my way.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on October 4, 2021

Meghan thanks for joining us and bringing this to our attention. We are glad we were able to make things right after the fact and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Terrific atmosphere and delicious food!

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on October 11, 2021

Thanks for the kind words. We hope to serve you again!

Report
AD
AmericanDream
New York Area
34 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Went for Guest Appreciation Day and thoroughly enjoyed it. Food for the most part was on point and the service was excellent as well.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on October 4, 2021

Thanks for joining us for the promo! Hope to see you again sometime soon!

Report
ET
EdwinT
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Food was good, appetizers and drinks were very good. Definitely will be back!

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 27, 2021

We look forward to serving you again!

Report
RP
RosieP
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our waitress Alex was very attentive and personable. Both the food and service was amazing. My favorite dishes were the appetizers. Will definitely be back.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 20, 2021

Rosie we are so happy you had a nice visit! Cheers!

Report
W
Weeatfish
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience4

Menu was changed , seemed ran down , not really dirty, but neglected . Entree was just ok ….. I was disappointed considering the hype friends gave

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thanks for dining with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your experience. We take great pride in our appearance and certainly would like to address any issues you saw during your visit. Sending you a private note now to learn more. Thank you.

Report
AV
AliciaV
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was delicious, service was great servers were in masks. I will definitely be returnjng

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 20, 2021

Alicia we look forward to serving you again anytime!

Report
BB
BBTS
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was amazing as usual. Rianna was kind and attentive.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 14, 2021

Thanks for sharing your feedback! Come visit us again soon!

Report
JT
vipJustinaT
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience2

Overall, the food was good. We had:

- the sampler, which was 8/10
- guac was 7/10. It was a tad salty IMO
- ropa vieja 8/10
- vaca frita 9/10 - cilantro rice was amazing
- stuffed peppers 8/10
- steak - 9/10
- chimichurri sauce 12/10 - order extra and put it on everything!

Our server was great. He was attentive and friendly.

However, the table we were at looked like it wasn't cleaned as there was leftover food on the table and seats. Also, there were leftover items from the previous patron and utensils on the floor. Also, we noticed that majority of tables were not cleaned. However, I loved the hand sanitizer on the table. I understand that during the pandemic, the staff is limited as a result, the cleaning is lacking.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 14, 2021

Justina may we say how much we appreciate your detailed feedback! Makes us happy to hear you enjoyed the food - especially the chimichurri! We apologize for any lack of cleanliness you noticed. Yes we are short staffed but that does not mean you should have to witness anything like that. We've shared this with the team to ensure we pay more mind to this issue but do appreciate your patience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
DC
DannyC
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

It seemed they were very short handed and took a long time for food and drinks to come out. Food was very good unfortunately it was ice cold when it came to the table. We didn’t send it back only because it took so long to come out

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 14, 2021

Danny thank you for sharing your feedback. Yes we are incredibly short staffed due to the current situation but we are very sorry if that impacted your experience. Cold food is unacceptable no matter what! We do wish we could have fixed that for you but certainly understand you did not want to wait any longer. Sending you a private note now to make things right. Thank you.

Report
D
Danny
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Absolutely excellent food and drink and amazing service. Definitely returning.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 14, 2021

Danny we are so happy you had a great visit! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
C
vipCindy
New York Area
35 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was excellent and so was the service!

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 14, 2021

So glad you enjoyed Cindy!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Our food was cold. We were offered replacements but those were cold as well.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 10, 2021

Very sorry to hear about this! We would welcome the opportunity to connect directly and make things right as we know we can impress much more. Sending a private note now. Thank you.

Report
T
Tubes
New England
4 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dinner in the midst of Hurricane Ida was unique! Food was great, portions were generous and cocktails were really well done. Set the stage for a harrowing journey back to our hotel and a vey memorable evening!

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 7, 2021

Well we are very glad you made it back safe! Thanks for dining with us even during a crazy storm!

Report
p
vippopalock
Philadelphia
10 reviews
Dined on August 30, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

We were a party of 6. we were given a table for 4 that wobbled horribly. we ordered drinks and they were expensive and extremely SMALL, not to mention that we had to change a couple because they were out of one of the liquors to mix. Appetizers all over cooked, empanadas half the size they used to be with no dipping. chicken thighs burnt, pork and beef from sampler burnt beyond recognition. Dinners: Cuban sandwich, dry and over cooked, ordered salmon with mango and pineapple salsa and they sent it out just grilled because they were out of the salsa, really?? street corn ice cold, sweet plantains all dried out. order fresh lemonade to only get a mouth full of pits each time you took a drink through the straw. never refilled any water or drinks. just a horrible, horrible place, service and food. Beware, do not go there!!!!

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 1, 2021

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. It's disheartening to hear about your visit and that you did not enjoy your meal. We are known for our flavors & hospitality and really wish we did a better job at taking care of your table. Sending you a private note now in hopes of making things right.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience1

It wasn’t lol le it usually is , the waitresses and servers were nowhere to be found seemed stressed out .the tasted different and not in a good way which is suprimí g seeming that nevera happens at Havana central. Not only that but I hope is was only a one time thing o l

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 10, 2021

We are sorry to read about your experience. We strive for our guests to have an enjoyable experience from start to finish and apologize if yours was anything short of that. Sending you a private note now to make things right. Thank you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 27, 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Started raining and water was leaking under our table. Nothing was done even after I made the waitstaff aware of the situation

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 30, 2021

We are very sorry to hear about the leaking issue during your visit! Sending you a private note now to make things right. Thank you!

Report
JR
vipJoseR
Atlantic City
5 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience2

Being hispanic I expected more from this location. The first expression was the place was not as clean. You can see the dust on the wood when you sit. The server was not friendly at all. Then the food was subpar. The only thing that was good was my wife mojito.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 30, 2021

Jose we are sorry to hear about your experience! We truly aim to show each of our guests a delicious and impressive experience and anything short of that we are disheartened by. Sending you a private note now in hopes of making things right.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Fun ambiance!

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 23, 2021

Thanks for dining with us!

Report
RR
RoxanneR
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Everyone was happy with their food especially the Cuban sandwich! It was one of the best that I've ever eaten.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 19, 2021

Wow Roxanne we are so happy to hear you loved our Cubano! Come back for more bites sometime soon!

Report
CC
vipCeCe
New York Area
12 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Delicious food!

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 19, 2021

We're so happy you enjoyed your meal CeCe!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love Havana Central. The food is consistently great, good atmosphere. Miss the live music on the weekend though. Sophia is the best server in the place, sad to see he leave

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 19, 2021

Thank you so much for dining with us and sharing your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience1

Restaurant was very dirty.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 19, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We take the restaurant's cleanliness very seriously and will be sure to share this feedback with the team. It would be helpful to learn more details so we are sending you a private note now. Thank you.

Report
P
iliaP
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Service was poor. Food left a lot to be desired. Lacked el sabor Cubano. The yellow rice had no taste more like boil rice. Will never return rather eat from a Cubano food truck.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 19, 2021

Ilia we are disheartened to hear about your experience. We strive to share bold & fresh flavors with our guests and do wish your meal was more enjoyable. Sending you a private note now to learn more and hopefully make things right.

Report
DH
DorothyH
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 13, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Although it was busy at this time of the afternoon, staffing appeared to be inadequate.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 19, 2021

Dorothy thanks for dining with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about any service issues you experienced. We are in the process of growing our team in order to keep our service top notch. We do hope you will visit us again soon and we look forward to providing you with excellent service.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on August 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My Bday
We had a the private room
Service was great - good food
Everyone enjoyed
Thank you

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on September 1, 2021

Happy Birthday! Thanks so much for celebrating with us!

Report
LW
vipLoWeb
Miami
20 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Good food. A bit loud.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 9, 2021

Thanks for dining with us!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall2food5service2ambience2

Overall I was disappointed and I doubt I will be coming back.
The service was not as it used to. Nobody asked me how was the food or If i needed anything. It took about 30 minutes for them to take my appetizer and drink orders and in addition to all, the restaurant does not have live music any longer, which was one of my two main reasons to choose this restaurant.
The food was the only single part that I was very pleased about, but unfortunately it is not enough. People go to restaurants looking for an overall experience which I was not able to accomplish this time.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 9, 2021

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit, even though we're glad to hear you liked the food. The service delays are of course unacceptable and we truly apologize for this misstep. Our live music program has been on hold since the start of covid but we look forward to bringing it back at some point in the future and do hope perhaps you'll dine with us again when it's back!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on August 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Girls night out

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 19, 2021

Thanks for bringing your girls night to Havana Central! Cheers!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

The experience was bad and the food was awful

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 6, 2021

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. Sending you a private note now to learn more about your experience and make things right.

Report
H
Howie
1 review
Dined on July 31, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience2

So we returned for a 2nd time because we received a gift card due to the poor service we received during our 1st visit. We had 9PM reservations but arrived at 8:15PM because traffic was great. Ironically we were taken to the same seats from our 1st visit in the enclosed veranda. We saw the same waitress from our 1st visit so we immediately asked to be seated indoors and was told no. I then said you’re not busy and I see a lot of open tables even with social distancing protocols. We were told they’re expecting several large parties and if we insist we’ll have to wait till our actual reservation time (9PM). My wife asked me to leave it alone so I did. In regards to the enclosed veranda, there’s no ambience. The furniture is worn, tables are wobbly and the string lights have a lot of blown bulbs. As far as our meal, everything was ok except for the Ropa Vieja. It was extremely dry and rubbery. I took one bit and almost chocked. Our waitress agreed and brought me a fresh serving. Can’t see how something so dry made its way to the table; so much for quality checks. Finally, a half hour into our meal I noticed a party of 3 being sat 2 tables away from us in the enclosed veranda. They obviously didn’t like the seating. They ask to be seated inside and they were accommodated. My wife and I couldn’t believe it. If I my suggest, I think it would be a good idea if people are asked if they prefer indoors or the enclosed area.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 2, 2021

Howie we are glad to hear your service was good & that you enjoyed some of your dishes but are sorry to hear about the dry meat and the issue with your seats. We pre-plan where reservations will sit so sometimes with larger parties it may be challenging to rearrange things but we should surely do everything in our power to accommodate a guest's request. We only wish your visit was more enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback & do wish we made your 2nd impression better than the 1st.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on July 19, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

This was our first visit to Havana Central and we will definitely be back. The food and drinks were very good.Our server Jamiah (hope I spelled that correctly) was phenomenal. She was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on July 21, 2021

Well thank you for giving us a try! Makes us happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit!

Report
DN
DianeN
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

This place is short staffed and can tell employees over worked. Overall bartender and waiter were nice. Food was great.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on July 21, 2021

Diane thanks for dining with us and sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the food! We are in the process of expanding our team!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

It was a good happy hour spot

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on August 19, 2021

Thanks for dining with us! Cheers!

Report
SB
ShamitB
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food. Courteous service and friendly place. Great place to go and relax.

Havana Central - NJ
Responded on July 21, 2021

Shamit thanks for stopping by! Cheers!

Report

FAQs

Havana Central - NJ does offer delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Havana Central - NJ also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (732) 906-5708.

Havana Central - NJ is rated 4.3 stars by 1322 OpenTable diners.

Havana Central - NJ does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://onelink.quickgifts.com/merchant/havana-central-new-york/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Havana Central - NJ