Bring the restaurant to you. Order and pay for food directly on OpenTable.
Havana Central - NJ
Book your next event with us
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Our famous yuca pockets filled with your choice of: Beef Picadillo, 3-Cheese (Vegetarian), Chicken Sofrito, Shrimp Sofrito, Ropa Vieja
Ropa Vieja Braised Beef
The classic Cuban dish! Braised shredded beef, peppers & onions
Camarones al Ajillo Garlic Shrimp
Sautéed in garlic, parsley, olive oil & white wine
Great food great service
Appetizer sampler was a good choice
Dennis we're glad you had a delicious time!
Great drinks and entrees. The mojitos were great!!
Toni we're so glad you enjoyed your visit, cheers!
Food was not good. Drinks looked beautiful but did not taste good. Overall would not go back.
Ingrid we are sorry to hear about your experience. Sending you a private note now to learn more.
Nice place to enjoy with the person you love special moments ❤
How lovely! We are glad to serve you anytime!
Always great service and food when I come
Raina we are happy to hear that and look forward to serving you again soon!
I made the reservations because it was a promotion for half off food but I didn't get half off! The food was good but not great. I would go back but not going out of my way.
Meghan thanks for joining us and bringing this to our attention. We are glad we were able to make things right after the fact and look forward to serving you again soon!
Terrific atmosphere and delicious food!
Thanks for the kind words. We hope to serve you again!
Went for Guest Appreciation Day and thoroughly enjoyed it. Food for the most part was on point and the service was excellent as well.
Thanks for joining us for the promo! Hope to see you again sometime soon!
Food was good, appetizers and drinks were very good. Definitely will be back!
We look forward to serving you again!
Our waitress Alex was very attentive and personable. Both the food and service was amazing. My favorite dishes were the appetizers. Will definitely be back.
Rosie we are so happy you had a nice visit! Cheers!
Menu was changed , seemed ran down , not really dirty, but neglected . Entree was just ok ….. I was disappointed considering the hype friends gave
Thanks for dining with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your experience. We take great pride in our appearance and certainly would like to address any issues you saw during your visit. Sending you a private note now to learn more. Thank you.
Food was delicious, service was great servers were in masks. I will definitely be returnjng
Alicia we look forward to serving you again anytime!
The food and service was amazing as usual. Rianna was kind and attentive.
Thanks for sharing your feedback! Come visit us again soon!
Overall, the food was good. We had:
- the sampler, which was 8/10
- guac was 7/10. It was a tad salty IMO
- ropa vieja 8/10
- vaca frita 9/10 - cilantro rice was amazing
- stuffed peppers 8/10
- steak - 9/10
- chimichurri sauce 12/10 - order extra and put it on everything!
Our server was great. He was attentive and friendly.
However, the table we were at looked like it wasn't cleaned as there was leftover food on the table and seats. Also, there were leftover items from the previous patron and utensils on the floor. Also, we noticed that majority of tables were not cleaned. However, I loved the hand sanitizer on the table. I understand that during the pandemic, the staff is limited as a result, the cleaning is lacking.
Justina may we say how much we appreciate your detailed feedback! Makes us happy to hear you enjoyed the food - especially the chimichurri! We apologize for any lack of cleanliness you noticed. Yes we are short staffed but that does not mean you should have to witness anything like that. We've shared this with the team to ensure we pay more mind to this issue but do appreciate your patience. We hope to see you again soon!
It seemed they were very short handed and took a long time for food and drinks to come out. Food was very good unfortunately it was ice cold when it came to the table. We didn’t send it back only because it took so long to come out
Danny thank you for sharing your feedback. Yes we are incredibly short staffed due to the current situation but we are very sorry if that impacted your experience. Cold food is unacceptable no matter what! We do wish we could have fixed that for you but certainly understand you did not want to wait any longer. Sending you a private note now to make things right. Thank you.
Absolutely excellent food and drink and amazing service. Definitely returning.
Danny we are so happy you had a great visit! We look forward to serving you again soon!
The food was excellent and so was the service!
So glad you enjoyed Cindy!
Our food was cold. We were offered replacements but those were cold as well.
Very sorry to hear about this! We would welcome the opportunity to connect directly and make things right as we know we can impress much more. Sending a private note now. Thank you.
Dinner in the midst of Hurricane Ida was unique! Food was great, portions were generous and cocktails were really well done. Set the stage for a harrowing journey back to our hotel and a vey memorable evening!
Well we are very glad you made it back safe! Thanks for dining with us even during a crazy storm!
We were a party of 6. we were given a table for 4 that wobbled horribly. we ordered drinks and they were expensive and extremely SMALL, not to mention that we had to change a couple because they were out of one of the liquors to mix. Appetizers all over cooked, empanadas half the size they used to be with no dipping. chicken thighs burnt, pork and beef from sampler burnt beyond recognition. Dinners: Cuban sandwich, dry and over cooked, ordered salmon with mango and pineapple salsa and they sent it out just grilled because they were out of the salsa, really?? street corn ice cold, sweet plantains all dried out. order fresh lemonade to only get a mouth full of pits each time you took a drink through the straw. never refilled any water or drinks. just a horrible, horrible place, service and food. Beware, do not go there!!!!
We are very sorry to hear about your experience. It's disheartening to hear about your visit and that you did not enjoy your meal. We are known for our flavors & hospitality and really wish we did a better job at taking care of your table. Sending you a private note now in hopes of making things right.
It wasn’t lol le it usually is , the waitresses and servers were nowhere to be found seemed stressed out .the tasted different and not in a good way which is suprimí g seeming that nevera happens at Havana central. Not only that but I hope is was only a one time thing o l
We are sorry to read about your experience. We strive for our guests to have an enjoyable experience from start to finish and apologize if yours was anything short of that. Sending you a private note now to make things right. Thank you.
Started raining and water was leaking under our table. Nothing was done even after I made the waitstaff aware of the situation
We are very sorry to hear about the leaking issue during your visit! Sending you a private note now to make things right. Thank you!
Being hispanic I expected more from this location. The first expression was the place was not as clean. You can see the dust on the wood when you sit. The server was not friendly at all. Then the food was subpar. The only thing that was good was my wife mojito.
Jose we are sorry to hear about your experience! We truly aim to show each of our guests a delicious and impressive experience and anything short of that we are disheartened by. Sending you a private note now in hopes of making things right.
Thanks for dining with us!
Everyone was happy with their food especially the Cuban sandwich! It was one of the best that I've ever eaten.
Wow Roxanne we are so happy to hear you loved our Cubano! Come back for more bites sometime soon!
We're so happy you enjoyed your meal CeCe!
We love Havana Central. The food is consistently great, good atmosphere. Miss the live music on the weekend though. Sophia is the best server in the place, sad to see he leave
Thank you so much for dining with us and sharing your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!
Restaurant was very dirty.
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We take the restaurant's cleanliness very seriously and will be sure to share this feedback with the team. It would be helpful to learn more details so we are sending you a private note now. Thank you.
Service was poor. Food left a lot to be desired. Lacked el sabor Cubano. The yellow rice had no taste more like boil rice. Will never return rather eat from a Cubano food truck.
Ilia we are disheartened to hear about your experience. We strive to share bold & fresh flavors with our guests and do wish your meal was more enjoyable. Sending you a private note now to learn more and hopefully make things right.
Although it was busy at this time of the afternoon, staffing appeared to be inadequate.
Dorothy thanks for dining with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about any service issues you experienced. We are in the process of growing our team in order to keep our service top notch. We do hope you will visit us again soon and we look forward to providing you with excellent service.
We had a the private room
Service was great - good food
Happy Birthday! Thanks so much for celebrating with us!
Good food. A bit loud.
Thanks for dining with us!
Overall I was disappointed and I doubt I will be coming back.
The service was not as it used to. Nobody asked me how was the food or If i needed anything. It took about 30 minutes for them to take my appetizer and drink orders and in addition to all, the restaurant does not have live music any longer, which was one of my two main reasons to choose this restaurant.
The food was the only single part that I was very pleased about, but unfortunately it is not enough. People go to restaurants looking for an overall experience which I was not able to accomplish this time.
Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit, even though we're glad to hear you liked the food. The service delays are of course unacceptable and we truly apologize for this misstep. Our live music program has been on hold since the start of covid but we look forward to bringing it back at some point in the future and do hope perhaps you'll dine with us again when it's back!
Girls night out
Thanks for bringing your girls night to Havana Central! Cheers!
The experience was bad and the food was awful
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. Sending you a private note now to learn more about your experience and make things right.
So we returned for a 2nd time because we received a gift card due to the poor service we received during our 1st visit. We had 9PM reservations but arrived at 8:15PM because traffic was great. Ironically we were taken to the same seats from our 1st visit in the enclosed veranda. We saw the same waitress from our 1st visit so we immediately asked to be seated indoors and was told no. I then said you’re not busy and I see a lot of open tables even with social distancing protocols. We were told they’re expecting several large parties and if we insist we’ll have to wait till our actual reservation time (9PM). My wife asked me to leave it alone so I did. In regards to the enclosed veranda, there’s no ambience. The furniture is worn, tables are wobbly and the string lights have a lot of blown bulbs. As far as our meal, everything was ok except for the Ropa Vieja. It was extremely dry and rubbery. I took one bit and almost chocked. Our waitress agreed and brought me a fresh serving. Can’t see how something so dry made its way to the table; so much for quality checks. Finally, a half hour into our meal I noticed a party of 3 being sat 2 tables away from us in the enclosed veranda. They obviously didn’t like the seating. They ask to be seated inside and they were accommodated. My wife and I couldn’t believe it. If I my suggest, I think it would be a good idea if people are asked if they prefer indoors or the enclosed area.
Howie we are glad to hear your service was good & that you enjoyed some of your dishes but are sorry to hear about the dry meat and the issue with your seats. We pre-plan where reservations will sit so sometimes with larger parties it may be challenging to rearrange things but we should surely do everything in our power to accommodate a guest's request. We only wish your visit was more enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback & do wish we made your 2nd impression better than the 1st.
This was our first visit to Havana Central and we will definitely be back. The food and drinks were very good.Our server Jamiah (hope I spelled that correctly) was phenomenal. She was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant.
Well thank you for giving us a try! Makes us happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit!
This place is short staffed and can tell employees over worked. Overall bartender and waiter were nice. Food was great.
Diane thanks for dining with us and sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the food! We are in the process of expanding our team!
It was a good happy hour spot
Thanks for dining with us! Cheers!
Excellent food. Courteous service and friendly place. Great place to go and relax.
Shamit thanks for stopping by! Cheers!
Havana Central - NJ does offer delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Havana Central - NJ also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (732) 906-5708.
Havana Central - NJ is rated 4.3 stars by 1322 OpenTable diners.
Havana Central - NJ does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://onelink.quickgifts.com/merchant/havana-central-new-york/.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.