Harvest

4.6
4163 Reviews
$31 to $50
Contemporary American
Located in the heart of Harvard Square, Harvest celebrates the modern American table. Harvest presents inspired American cuisine showcasing the region's freshest ingredients and seasonal product. Serving Lunch, Dinner, and Saturday/Sunday Brunch with seating on our seasonal outdoor Garden Terrace. We highly recommend making a reservation, outside tables are available weather permitting and may be requested but cannot be reserved or guaranteed. Harvest offers Private Dining from 15 to 60 people. Sit-down lunches, dinners, and receptions are just some of the Private Functions Harvest can provide.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 4163 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
JM
JillM
New England
4 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thank you for the exceptional evening! The patio was enchanting and the cuisine -- oh la la we felt like we were back in France.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The best restaurant in Cambridge!

M
Mick
Richmond
22 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

An utterly delicious meal enjoyed by my adult son, his mother, and me.. We split 8 oysters, two kinds. They each had soup and salad. I had duck breast with potatoes fried in duck fat, a veggie, and apples cut in very small cubes. Two glasses of the Provence blend, red wine, and a cappuccino for me with a small cheese plate, bread, chocolate sauce, green apple slices, and nuts. Son had cocktail, Daily Rx, and two glasses of my red wine. Wife had sangria. We sat on the heated patio in the rear. A great ending for our son's holiday visit.

Harvest
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Mick, Thank you very much for your compliments. I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your entire experience at Harvest. Best, Mike

Report
DC
DianaC
New England
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Impeccable service, gourmet food. We love Harvest for special dinners.

Harvest
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Diana, Thank you very much for your compliments and your continued support. We hope to see you for another special dinner soon!! Best, Mike

Report
KW
KevinW
New England
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Two of us had a wonderful time sitting at the bar. The food, drinks, service and ambiance was wonderful.

Harvest
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Kevin, Thank you very much for your compliments, we hope to see you again soon!! Best, Mike

Report
MW
vipMaureenW
New England
11 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Exceptional service and post-Thanksgiving food.
An absolute pleasure!

Harvest
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Maureen, Thank you very much for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!! Best, Mike

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Sam our server was the best waiter we’ve ever had. Also the food was great.

Harvest
Responded a day ago

Thank you!!

Report
m
vipmare
New England
78 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food and service is great at Harvest. The desserts were delicious!

Harvest
Responded 3 days ago

Hi there, Thank you very much for your compliments, we hope to see you again soon!! Best, Mike

Report
v
vozick
New England
29 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience3

Lovely lovely holiday

CA
vipCAndZG
New England
15 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great Thanksgiving meal and service.

KC
KateC
New England
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The perfect place to have Thanksgiving dinner. The 3-course meal options all sounded delicious, it was hard to choose. We loved everything we got and it was some of the best hanger steak we've had. I'm still dreaming of the wild mushroom pappardelle. They staff were busy but all lovely and really made us feel special. We sat out on the deliciously warm and cozy heated patio. The wine pairing was great and my husband had fun trying a number of the cocktails. We would love to visit again soon.

Harvest
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Kate, Thank your very much for your compliments and for choosing Harvest to celebrate Thanksgiving. I am glad to hear you enjoyed you experience with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best Mike

Report
BM
BostonMom
New England
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a wonderful time and the ambiance and food were perfect. We will be back.

Harvest
Responded 4 days ago

Hi there, Thank you very much for your compliments, we hope to see you again soon. Best, Mike

Report
I
Iknowfood
New England
15 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

This was a Thanksgiving lunch. Oysters were perfect and dessert outstanding. But main was served warm rather than hot, as if it was plated and sitting a long time before being served. Service was eager but uneven, especially when we wanted to order coffee and get the check, despite the restaurant not being full.

Harvest
Responded 3 days ago

Hi there, Thank you very much for your feedback, I will be sure to share it with our culinary team. I am sorry to hear your service was a bit uneven, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the details further. I can be reached at mbainton@harvestcambridge or at the number below. Thank you, Mike 617-868-2255

Report
RP
RichardP
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner with family at Harvest. The waitperson (Matthew) was very attentive, even though the restaurant was full. We requested a quieter corner table (due to my wife's hearing disability) and scored the corner table right next to the lovely fireplace. The food courses were wonderful and never felt massed produced (even though it was pre-fixed menu for holiday). Definitely want to come back for a regular meal in the near future.

General manager even came over to wish us well.

Richard

Harvest
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Richard, Thank you very much for your compliments and for choosing Harvest to celebrate Thanksgiving. I am happy to hear that your seating arrangement worked out perfectly and you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you soon!! Best, Mike

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had THE best Thanksgiving dinner. Everything was delicious. Most delicious turkey ever. I would certainly recommend this restaurant!!!

Harvest
Responded 4 days ago

Hi there, Thank you very much for choosing Harvest to celebrate Thanksgiving and for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!! Best, Mike

Report
CE
vipCEW54
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on November 23, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Your turkey club sandwich uses brioche toast, which is much too flimsy— the sandwich falls apart into an unappetizing mess when one tries to pick it up and eat it like a proper sandwich. Also, our waiter was not as attentive as he should have been: we had to flag someone else down in order to get a second glass of wine.

Harvest
Responded 4 days ago

Hi there, Thank you very much for your feedback, I will be sure to share it with the culinary team. I am sorry to hear you did not receive our usual great service. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the details of your experience further, we use this type of feedback to coach and teach our service team. I can be reached at mbainton@harvestcambridge or at the number below. Best, Mike 617-868-2255

Report
SL
SLMBoston
New England
9 reviews
Dined on November 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had such a nice brunch out on the patio in November! The heat lamps and fireplace kept us toasty while autumn leaves drifted down. Tables are a little too close together in a few spots, given uptick in COVID spread, but staff was wonderful and we had a great time.

Harvest
Responded on November 22, 2021

Thank you very much for your compliments and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your brunch at Harvest. Weather permitting we will have the patio available all winter, we hope to see you again soon!! Best, Mike

Report
MP
MikeP
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server Sam was amazing and very knowledgeable. Good food and great wine selection.

Harvest
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Mike, I am happy to hear your wife's birthday dinner was a success. Thank you for the nice compliments, I will be sure to share them with Sam and the culinary team!! Best, Mike

Report
KL
KarlL
New England
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Great food, good service, very noisy

Harvest
Responded on November 22, 2021

Hi Karl, Thank you for your compliments, I am glad you enjoyed great food and service at Harvest. For future reference, we are always happy to move your party to a quieter area if it is available, thank you for your feedback. Best, Mike

Report
VM
VictoriaM
New England
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing, flavorful and unique. Recommendations: App: Potato & Confit Garlic Soup & Entree: Wild Mushroom Pappardelle

Harvest
Responded on November 22, 2021

Hi Victoria, Thank you for your compliments, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner at Harvest and we hope to see you again soon!! Best, Mike

Report
CC
CaseyC
New England
2 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience1

Wine was very late. Felt like our waiter forgot about us, perhaps because we were stuck in a corner. My pasta dish was semi-cold and not enough food for the money. For the price, pretty disappointing.

Harvest
Responded on November 22, 2021

Hi Casey, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not have a great experience at Harvest. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the details of your visit further. I can be reached at mbainton@harvestcambridge or at the number below. Thank you, Mike 617-868-2255

Report
RL
RickL
New England
2 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Old favorite as good or better than ever. Great menu options. Liked the vegetarian (vegan?) options in particular.

Harvest
Responded on November 22, 2021

Hi Rick, Thank you very much for your compliments, we hope to see you again soon!! Best, Mike

Report
J
James
New England
8 reviews
Dined on November 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lunch on the patio was great and very comfortable with the heaters.

Harvest
Responded on November 22, 2021

Hi James, Thank you very much for your compliments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed lunch on the patio. Weather permitting, we will have the patio available right through the winter. We hope to see you soon!! Best, Mike

Report
MF
MaryF
1 review
Dined on November 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I always a good experience at Harvest! Great food, great service and friendly.

Harvest
Responded on November 22, 2021

Hi Mary, Thank you for your compliments and continued support, we hope to see you again soon. Best, Mike

Report
B
Buddy
Charlotte
37 reviews
Dined on November 19, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Always good, though why a party for six cannot be seated on the terrace is a mystery to me.

Harvest
Responded on November 20, 2021

Hi Buddy, I am glad you enjoyed Harvest and thank you for your compliments. We can sit a party of six on the patio, however, due to the table configurations we have very limited areas where we can accommodate a party of five or more. We will always do our best to try and fulfill any requests. Thank you, Mike

Report
H
Happydiner
Denver
7 reviews
Dined on November 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food is superb, setting is great. The patio is the best arrangement I've seen for the pandemic era. You're sitting in a sort of atrium in the middle of the restaurant, not on the street, and the heaters in the ceiling keep you very toasty even on a cold night. Outstanding.

Harvest
Responded on November 20, 2021

Thank you very much for your compliments, we are happy you enjoyed your experience at Harvest. Weather permitting the patio will be available right through the winter. We hope to see you again soon!!! Best, Mike

Report
SM
SamM
1 review
Dined on November 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing service, food, atmosphere, and great location.

R
Rachelle
New England
4 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience5

First time at this restaurant for me. Ambiance was first class. Service was great with the unexpected “miss” that our apps arrived before the wine. Food was mixed. Some was delicious and very fine, a couple dishes bombed. Papardelle was mushy and created a mash that stuck to my teeth. Sautéed cheddar app was too heavy on the cheddar and not otherwise balanced with fresher sauces and ingredients.

Harvest
Responded on November 22, 2021

Hi Rachelle, Thank you very much for your compliments on the dishes you did not enjoy as well as your feedback on the others, I will be sure to share it with our culinary team. I am glad to hear that your service was overall great and you enjoyed the ambiance of Harvest. I would be happy to discuss the details of your experience further, I can be reached at mbainton@harvestcambridge or at the number below. Thank you, Mike 617-868-2255

Report
V
vipVictor
New England
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The prices seem very high for the food we were served. For example, I can't justify $18 for an appetizer of pears and cheddar cheese. The duck fat fried potatoes the menu promised never appeared with the duck entree; we were served boiled potatoes instead.

I love the ambiance and the quiet at Harvest, and the care that's taken with the food preparation.

I would only recommend Harvest with a warning about the prices.

RM
RoderickM
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall2food1service4ambience4

I have always enjoyed coming to harvest. It is a landmark in Harvard Square. My company party was here several years ago. This time, the food was disappointing, although the service was great. My girlfriend ordered steak and it was essentially tasteless. My chicken was acceptable but the wild rice was mushy. It is still a very elegant and nice place to dine But I feel like I’ll be back soon.

Harvest
Responded on November 16, 2021

Hi Roderick, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dinner at Harvest. We appreciate your feedback very much and I will be sure to share it with the culinary team. I am glad to hear that you had great service and will share that feedback with your server. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the details of your food a bit further. I can be reached at mbainton@harvestcambridge or at the number below. Sincerely, Mike 617-868-2255

Report
F
4Friends
New England
5 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Went for brunch. Great hospitality with attentive wait staff. Food was different and delicious. Definitely going back.

RP
RebeccaP
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We had brunch on Saturday there, the Harvest brunch was delicious and also their capuccino taste very european. Our server was really professional, and the busser super friendly.
We had a table outside, the patio is nice and cozy.

GL
GeorgeL
1 review
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful dining experience following a performance at a nearby theater. It’s the perfect venue for a romantic dinner!

BR
BrettR
New England
5 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Consistent quality over 5+ years of visiting. Food is always inspired but not too exotic, has wide appeal but is concisely curated, service always operates at a more formal level than the vibe and clientele suggest.

s
squareregular
New England
7 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

For some reason, the always-reliable Harvest (have been eating here for 20 years) did not deliver on this occasion. Food was good but not outstanding, especially not at the new prices ($18 salads, $42 duck breasts). Service was friendly enough, but not at the usual professional standards. Desserts just a little overthought? Not sure this was a satisfying way to spend $140 (without alcohol) on a pretty ordinary dinner for two. Is this the new norm for restaurant dining? Or maybe just a bad night?

JE
vipJamesE
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Service was excellent. Food was a bit overpriced. There was sand and grit in the bok choy, and the duck fat fried potatoes should have been crisper. While the duck was cooked nicely it needed a bit more sauce and less of the apple and fennel relish. Cheese plate offered a nice end to the dinner.

D
Devin
1 review
Dined on November 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place to gather. The atmosphere is good and the ambient noice is low so easy to have a dinner conversation. The food and service was terrific.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on November 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, great staff. Highly recommend.

SM
SusieM142
New England
10 reviews
Dined on November 11, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Food is limited on lunch, just a couple more items to select from would be more enticing, almost as many salads as entrees, need more selections than just 5. Having said that, the butternut squash soup was sinful and turkey club was great on the brioche.

Made a reservation for 2, but companion decided the bar was fine. The bartender was very nice but seemed very busy working on side work and inventory, at times seemed missing especially when we just wanted to order and release her from her trying to figure out when it would be a good time to interrupt. But again, super sweet and very competent when we interacted.

Lastly when making the reservation, $25 stipend to make one is steep when the business should be so lucky to have customers out