Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant

4.1
71 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Our mission is to bring excitement and innovation to American comfort food classics and to the bar experience. Step through our doors and feel the salvaged and recycled materials hinting at the history of an earlier time when things were handcrafted with pride and respect.

Support Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 71 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food1service5ambience4

The service was great and our server Erin was great! The food was lacking. Our grits were cold the second they hit the table, the eggs looked gross and tasted like they were powder. The coffee was less than desirable. We will be back for drinks but will definitely dine elsewhere.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the service Erin provided, I will be sure you share with her and the team. Although, I am sad to hear we came up short with the food and coffee. We are currently working on updating our food offerings. I hope that you're able to come back and try our new menu, I am certain they will exceed your expectations.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Atlanta
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

In Charleston for a weekend trip with my husband. Found something that had reservations available and this place seemed to have a nice vibe to it without being too “sports bar”. The open garage doors didn’t make the inside too cold, the other guests were mindful of others, and the food portions were just enough for you to not be able to finish it all. Our server, Janine, was very eloquent with how she communicated with guests and seemed knowledgeable with food and beverage. The hosts/(managers?) were kind and visited our table throughout the meal to assist with food delivery as well as checking in on our experience. My husband got the fried chicken and he appreciated that it wasn’t too greasy, but it needed a side of their BBQ sauce to make it more enjoyable texture wise. I had the handcraft Mac n’ cheese and the kale salad with grilled shrimp and both complimented each other swimmingly. The Mac n’ cheese wasn’t too heavy like you see with most skillets. The salad was light and refreshing. We thoroughly enjoyed this spot and would recommend it to both locals and visitors.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on April 12, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Overall poor - it was quiet in restaurant ( 4 tables and 2 at bar ) and service was poor / timing was slow / food was not great and chicken under cooked ...

Was expecting more

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded 7 days ago

I am sorry to hear you didn't receive a typical HandCraft dining experience. I hope you're able to give us another shot, as I am sure we can exceed your expectations in offerings as well as service. Thank you for your feed back,.

Report
EE
ElizabethE
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place with really wonderful people. Food was superb and the setting was perfect. Very convenient and enjoyable.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded 7 days ago

Hey Elizabeth, Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you had a great time with us. Be sure to stop by on Wednesdays, we offer $3 glasses of wine all night and live music on the patio from 5-8pm.

Report
s
southernfoodie
Greensboro
9 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails is a great restaurant for couples and friends to dine at in Mount Pleasant. We chose to dine outdoors on the patio and that made for a pleasant dining experience. We had the most amazing waitress Janene, who was very knowledgeable about the menu items and provided exceptional customer service. We chose a variety of their cocktails from the cocktail menu. The drinks were awesomely crafted and were worth their money. We ordered the Mac and cheese appetizer and it was amazing. This is a large dish and 2-3 people could possibly share this dish. It was served in a skillet, piping hot with several cheeses melted all through the macaroni pasta. The dish was topped with bread crumbs and had pancetta with peas scattered throughout the dish. The beet salad is also a great starter with the vinaigrette dressing evenly covering all of the contents of the salad. I highly recommend any patron looking for an eclectic cocktail menu with exceptional service to go dine at the Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails.

DC
DavidC
Raleigh
2 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Had a great experience. Family dining experience. Food was a little slow but worth the wait. Of you can carry a good conversation then the staff and atmosphere is worth it all.

MK
MelindaK
Charleston
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Blood Orange Mimosas and Bloody Marys were great. My pup thoroughly enjoyed his hamburger bowl. Service was excellent and the food was wonderful.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
4 reviews
Dined on April 3, 2021
Overall1food1service5ambience3

Not the best menu. Drinks were pretty good

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on April 4, 2021

We're glad you enjoyed the drinks. We are in the process on enhancing our food menu and hope you're able to come back in and give us another shot. Please let me know if you have any other feedback on how we could improve your dining experience?

Report
LM
vipLMV126
Baltimore
113 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Four for lunch. Nothing that I tasted had any flavor. I had to add salt (which I never do) to the butternut squash soup and to the Mac and cheese. Service was slow, and I didn’t get the coffee I ordered.

K
Kimberlee20
Charleston
18 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Evan was very attentive and anxious to be sure that all our requests were met. The old fashioned drinks were wonderful with the large ice cubes which we enjoy and the delicious cherries! The cast iron shrimp was also delicious as always! Thank you for a lovely evening!

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on April 4, 2021

Hey Kimberlee-Thank you for the great review! We look forward to serving you again.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Tampa
2 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall1food1service4ambience2

Wow. Terrible. Steak not seasoned. 40 minutes for a cocktail. Less than 1/2 full, steak had grill crunchy residue and was well done. Chick pea patty was a hockey puck. Management and staff nice enough. Really poor kitchen and execution.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 30, 2021

Good evening. Thank you for your feedback, I waned to once again apologize for your recent experience. I hope you're able to give us another try. I 'm sure your next experience will be more than note worthy.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved the cocktails and the menu very simple but well done. I’ll definitely be back.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 30, 2021

Thank you for the great review. We will be doing a tiki takeover starting in the month of May. Be sure to stop back in and check it out.

Report
KS
KatherineS
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

Menu was really limited and expensive for what it was. I think we could have gone to a Ruby Tuesdays spent half and got the same thing. I would not choose this place again for a meal. This a start your night with a good drink then move on to the cheap fun place. The bright side of the meal was that our waitress was awesome.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 24, 2021

Thank you for your review Katherine. I am glad that you enjoyed our cocktails as well as our service. We are constantly updating our food menu and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Be sure to stop by on Wednesdays where we offer $3 house wines and live music from 5-8pm.

Report
N
vipNewbern
Raleigh
10 reviews
Dined on March 13, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Nice variety of cocktails with wait staff well educated on drinks , kitchen a bit slow

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 16, 2021

Thank you for you review. We are always striving to improve and will use your feedback to focus on areas of concern. We hope to serve you again soon. Be sure to try our daily happy hour from 4-6pm.

Report
K
Kimberlee20
Charleston
18 reviews
Dined on March 8, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Disappointed that our old fashioned drinks lacked the traditional large ice cubes and cherries to which we are accustomed which has been their custom. Maybe next time.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 9, 2021

Hey Kimberlee, Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear your drink was not as expected. I will look into this and see why your drink was not served as it normally is. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Report
SP
vipStephenP
Charleston
20 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Was in the mood for a burger and beer. Ordered the crab dip and the smash burger. Excellent! The restaurant inside looks great and the bar has everything you could want to drink. Will be back

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 9, 2021

Hi Stephen, Thank you for the great review. We are glad you had a great experience and we look forward to serving you again.

Report
AO
AnneO
Columbus
13 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We went for brunch for our first time. Food as good and service was great. I wish they had a few more brunch selections but I think we will try them for dinner next time!

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 9, 2021

Hi Anne, Thank you for the great review. We are always trying new things at HandCraft. Be sure to check out our daily happy hour form 4-6pm daily or our wine Wednesday, featuring $3 glasses of house wine and live music on the patio form 5-8pm.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything is great! Food, drinks, music- great find!

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 6, 2021

Thank for the great review. We are hosting live music Every Wed. in March from 5-8pm, with $3 glasses of wine. Be sure to stop back in.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on February 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My husband and I had a very nice lunch on the patio. The kale salad was amazing!!!!

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on March 6, 2021

Thank you for the great review. We have happy hour daily from 4pm-6pm, we hope you have a chance to stop back and check it out.

Report
JU
JUDYP
Charleston
1 review
Dined on February 19, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

I really like the place, but it is more of a Happy Hour vibe and less about the food selection. I did not realize this when I made the reservation. The food we ordered was good, the choices are very limited. The servers were all great. The drink selection and specials are extensive.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 26, 2021

Thank you for the great review Judy. We are always expanding our menu offerings, including our food menu. We hope to serve you again soon,

Report
L
Lovemylab
Charleston
10 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Out with a party of 5. Everything was fine, didn't love anything. Special was delicious but nothing special or out of the ordinary about it... steak and shrimp.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 18, 2021

Thank you for the review, we are always looking to improve and hope we get a chance to serve you again. We always focus on using regional sourced, high quality seasonal ingredients.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and amazing service! We were sitting at the bar. The bar keeper did a great job and the cocktail were delicious!

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 18, 2021

Thanks you for the great review, I will be sure to share with the team. We hope to serve you again soon.

Report
JN
JenN
New England
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food3service5ambience5

I sat at the outside bar this past Sunday and the waitress was wonderful! She had great suggestions for drinks, brought over a mug of hot water to help keep my hands warm (it was rainy and cold), really friendly. Will definitely be back!

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 18, 2021

Hi Jen, Thank you for the great review. We do our best to make our guests comfortable. We look forward to serving you again and look forward to the warm Spring weather right around the corner.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The service staff was amazing, the food and cocktails were amazing also! Loved the Bloody Marys! We absolutely loved the atmosphere. We will definitely be going back. Thank you for making our family Valentine’s Day special.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 18, 2021

Thanks for the great review and the shout out on our house infused Bloody Mary's. And thank you for spending your holiday at HandCraft.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience3

Poor menu selection and service. Brunch time should be clearer (that it ends at 4pm). Chicken tenders vs added chicken on the biscuits, VERY different. And the chicken for the biscuits came out burnt. If you are going to be out of 2 items on your limited brunch menu, consider adding something from your regular menu. Waitress apologized but "didn't realize" we were her table. Our food came out after another table that was seated and ordered after us. We asked for gravy on the side, and biscuits came drowning in it (it was not good, and waitress again admitted fault). Salad was drenched in dressing. Pears in the fruit were clearly over ripe and old. Overall not a good experience.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 15, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you didn't have our traditional Handcrafted experience. My Email is daniel@handcraftmtp, I would love to learn more about your experience, I hope to hear from you soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The ambiance and the drinks were amazing. The wait staff was very accommodating.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 18, 2021

Thank you for the great review!

Report
BE
BrookE
Charleston
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

The service was pretty slow overall. It took a while to get our drinks. When our food finally arrived not all of it was there. We had to ask for the missing items. When we finally got them they were not even that hot.
I wouldn't go back.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 18, 2021

Hi Brooke, I'm sorry you encountered slow service during your visit in addition to an inaccurate order. This is not typical of HandCraft. We are always improving and focus on providing an elevated service experience, I hope your able to give us another try in the future.

Report
SM
SarahM
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience3

Went for the advertised speakeasy during February 2021. Perhaps our expectations were too high but we were all very underwhelmed. The signature cocktails were cute but pretty over priced. Food was very very rich.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 18, 2021

Hi Sarah thank you for your review. I would like to learn more about your experience as we always strive to meet expectations. I can be reached at daniel@handcraftmtp , I hope to hear from you soon.

Report
OG
OceanGirl
Charleston
16 reviews
Dined on February 11, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Came here for lunch with a friend. Our food was passable. With only 4 tables full, the kitchen made us wait a half hour for our food. Our server was excellent. This appears to be more of a night spot (read bar) than a lunch restaurant. May try again later for drinks, but not for the food, at least not for lunch.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 18, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, I will be looking into this. We do cook everything to order, although, a 30 minute wait is unacceptable. I am glad you enjoyed the service, I am sure if you come back in for cocktails you will have a much better experience.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 29, 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience1

Terrible attitudes. Every employee we encountered was rude and condescending. Our waiter was the nicest of them all except he did not check on us but once. Planned on ordering dinner but left after a drink.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 3, 2021

I am so sorry to hear this. This is not a typical experience at Handcraft. I would love to learn more about your visit. Please contact me at daniel@handcraftmtp

Report
M
Mimi
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on January 23, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Loved the food on my first visit, but the food on the second visit was just okay. The service is excellent.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 3, 2021

Thanks for the great review. Please let me know if you have any feedback on the food. I can be reached at danile@handcraftmtp Stop back in and check out Speakeasy theme for the month of February.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved!! Excellent drinks, excellent food quality and service. Try the Kentucky mule and the bone marrow. You won’t regret going here.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 3, 2021

Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
GO
GinaO
Orlando
1 review
Dined on January 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing. Great customer service. And overall enjoyable experience.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 3, 2021

Thanks for the great review Gina! Stop back in and check out our Speakeasy theme that we are hosting for the month of February.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on January 20, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Wonderful service with a great cocktail list. We had a great time and left feeling happy and satisfied. Give them a try.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on February 3, 2021

Thank you for the great review. We hope to serve you again soon.

Report
ME
MegE
1 review
Dined on January 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We were first time diners at Handcraft Kitchen and we did the Restaurant Week menu (2021). The service and food were both excellent!! Nice decor and I thought they did a nice job with social distancing indoors (too cold outside for outdoor service, but looked like a nice patio for when the weather is good). We will return! :)

MT
vipMelanieT
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on December 27, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

My husband and I visited to experience Miracle Pop Up Holiday event. Our server was wonderful! She was friendly and attentive. We started with the crab and kale dip which was a delicious, large portion. Our server offered to get us more pita to finish our dip. For entrees my husband had the baked chicken and I had the smash burger with fries. My husband enjoyed his entree very much and I enjoyed mine as well. I had the Jingle Ball Nog cocktail to finish and it was delicious! Great experience. Would definitely recommend and return.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on December 30, 2020

Hi Melanie, Thanks for the great review. I am glad you were able to join us for our Miracle event. Be sure to stop back after the new year and check out some of our new specials and great cocktails. Hope you have a safe and happy 2021.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on December 26, 2020
Overall2food2service5ambience2

Didn’t order food but not an option to put n/a. My girlfriend and I went for the Christmas Pop-up bar on Saturday night at 7:45p. The establishment required masks to be worn upon entering and until you got to your seat. Since there were only two of us we were seated at a two top that was in the middle of the restaurant...normally not a problem. However, in light of the recent uptick in the COVID-19 spread, we were practically on top of other guests that didn’t seem to be concerned about how tightly packed in everyone was. Everyone had their masks off as allowed at their tables but we weren’t really sure what the purpose of wearing a mask was in such a tightly packed establishment. We were amazed that this establishment made no effort to practice social distancing between the tables, unlike other restaurants in the Lowcountry. While the servers did wear masks, they didn’t wear any gloves when tables were being bussed...I literally watched a waitress bus a table of 8 touching the forks that people had eaten off of with her bare hands. It is apparent that the staff either never received proper training from management on cleaning and hygiene techniques during a pandemic. Pretty sure DHEC would’ve shut them down on the spot for having the restaurant at full capacity and virtually no preventive measures followed. We honestly would’ve just left and probably should’ve but I didn’t want my credit card to be charged a $25 fee. Our waiter was very professional. We didn’t order food. We quickly consumed our over priced cocktail in an uncomfortable setting and regret that we even attempted to patronize this establishment. As far as the Christmas Pop-up Bar, it was really disappointing as I just felt like I was in an airport bar with Christmas lights...I know the restaurant industry has been hit hard and I am a supporter of local businesses but again, not sure how or why this establishment doesn’t fall the appropriate guidelines put in place with limiting guests inside.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on December 30, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, I would like to learn more about your experience. You can reach me at daniel@handcraftmtp . I look forward to hearing from you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Greensboro
1 review
Dined on December 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for the Christmas pop up and it was absolutely fantastic. He atmosphere, food,drinks, and service were absolutely phenomenal! I will absolutely go back to the pop up once it’s over

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on December 28, 2020

Thanks for the great review.

Report
EP
vipEsterP
Charleston
7 reviews
Dined on December 26, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience4

This was our first time here, we had two out of town guests and were excited about the holiday decorations and drink I read about. What appalled us was that this restaurant didn’t observe social distancing! We felt very uncomfortable with tables so close together, very disappointed. Food was not that great, sorry to say. Decorations and server were excellent though, not sure if we will return though :(

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant
Responded on December 30, 2020

Hi Ester, Thank you for your feedback. Due to the popularity of the Miracle event, we are sold out each night and every table is booked back to back. I recommend coming back when the event is over for a more traditional and dining experience with more social distancing and flexibility in seating. I would love to learn more about your food and experience. My email is daniel@handcraftmtp , I hope to hear from you soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2020
Overall2food4service4ambience1

Way way way too crowded. Zero covid safety measures. Tables packed in way too close together.

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant using the Order Online button. Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (843) 972-8060.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant is rated 4.1 stars by 71 OpenTable diners.

Handcraft Kitchen and Cocktails Mount Pleasant does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.toasttab.com/handcraft-kitchen-cocktails-mount-pleasant/giftcards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.