H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar

2.9
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
79 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Just like water, our restaurant is cool and refreshing – serving fare from both land and sea, 7 days a week, 3 meals a day. We’re all about fusion. Fancy and Fun. Spicy and Sweet. Contemporary and Casual.

From our eclectic, delectable cuisine to our refined yet unpretentious beachfront atmosphere, we invite you to enjoy fine dining inside … or no-frills food poolside.

In our wide-open, delightfully designed dining room overlooking our Gulf front deck, we also have a full bar – for socializing and sipping.

Whether for brunch with friends, lunch al fresco or a night out on the town, let us take care of your party and help you make memories over a memorable meal.

What 79 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
2.9based on recent ratings
2.8
food
3.7
service
3.0
ambience
2.8
value
Noise · Quiet
50% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
NN
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience1

They no longer do sushi on sundays and mondays but they have not clarified that at all on their website. It’s the lobby of the Hilton- echoey and right by where guest with luggage amble by. No atmosphere at all.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on October 29, 2019

Hello NNnnn, thank you for reaching out about your visit. We are disappointed we did not exceed your expectations during your visit and apologize for the issues with no sushi and general atmosphere. It's comments like this that help us improve, and we appreciate your patronage and candid feedback. -Bradley D.

Report
KM
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Many excellent menu choices, service was AMAZING. Very helpful and attentive. Scallop appetizer was, hands down, the best scallop dish I've ever had. They were perfectly prepared. Sushi was fair. Attractive, but just sort of bland. Chocolate souffle was GREAT.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on October 22, 2019

Hi Katy, thank you for the nice review. We are absolutely thrilled to hear your experience was outstanding and that you and the little ones found the perfect menu item. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. -Bradley D.

Report
L
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on September 29, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Went for sushi as website clearly stated sushi available daily starting at 4pm. We were seated, handed menus and told sushi wasn’t available even though it was 5pm.

Service was mediocre and food was just ok.

d
Louisville
24 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2019
Overall3food4service5ambience4

Was very disappointed related to went there for sushi and person who prepares was off that night. Hire more than 1 to prepare or only advertise on days she will be there.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on September 21, 2019

Hello dottie, thank you for dining with us and for sharing some valuable feedback. We are disappointed about the issue with our scheduling and appreciate your candid comments to help us improve. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. -Bradley D.

Report
C
New Orleans
11 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Absolute dump. Service is absolutely terrible. For a Hilton you’d expect better. We dined their before and it was equally bad. I will never step foot in this place again.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on October 22, 2019

Hello Conor, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to leave some feedback. We apologize we did not exceed your expectations and will pass along your comments to our team. We appreciate your patronage. -Bradley D.

Report
Z
New Orleans
2 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience1

Food look like it was just thrown on a plate ordered the seafood pasta and sent it back ordered a steak and just boxed it to go staff didn’t seem to interested in my liking of the food got kind of an attitude when I sent the pasta back horrible experience!!!

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on September 21, 2019

Hello Zarnelld, thank you for reaching out about your recent visit. We are extremely sorry and terribly disappointed with your experience. We wholeheartedly apologize for this interaction with our team and apologize for the negative impression this made on your visit. We will be sure to move this along to our management team immediately and hope one day we have the chance to welcome you back for an incredible dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
OT
Mississippi
6 reviews
Dined on July 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We are the breakfast buffet, they had everything in stock and was on top of it when it was out. Waitress always checking on us

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on September 21, 2019

Hello, thank you very much for dining with us and for providing some great feedback. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy a fantastic breakfast with us and we hope you'll be back to visit again soon. -Bradley D.

Report
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience3

My wife and I ate here for our anniversary. We were very disappointed! The drinks were horrible. The lobster risotto was very lumpy and fishy tasting. The creme brulee was beyond gross. It looked clumpy and like scrambled and the sugar topping is supposed to "crack" but instead the whole sugar topping came up in one piece looking like melted caramel. The only saving grace were our appetizers - the scallop appetizer and sushi were great. Our server was awesome.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on July 29, 2019

Hello Martin, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We are very disappointed and truly sorry that we did not exceed your expectations with your menu main courses and dessert and apologize this left a negative impression on your visit. We will be sure to move this along to our team and hope one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a truly remarkable dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
MK
Jacksonville
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience2

My wife's food was cold upon tabled. Service was good.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on July 29, 2019

Hello Martin, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We are very disappointed and truly sorry that we did not exceed your expectations with your wife's meal and apologize this left a negative impression on your visit. We will be sure to move this along to our team and hope one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a truly remarkable dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
OT
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall1food1service4ambience3

Sushi was really difficult to eat, service was already slow but the food appeared rushed and cooked poorly.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on July 9, 2019

Hello, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations during your visit. We appreciate your patronage and hope one day we can invite you back for a truly extraordinary dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
JC
Tallahassee
23 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Not impressed, service wasn't good food was meh

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on July 9, 2019

Hello, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations during your visit. We appreciate your patronage and hope one day we can invite you back for a truly extraordinary dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
4
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on June 14, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience2

The sushi tasted good but for how upscale the hotel looked I thought the presentation would be nicer. The rolls were cut uneven and had big fat end pieces. I had a steak and my friend had the risotto and they were really great and generous portions. The restaurant needs and outdoor area. You can see out but does not feel like a beach hotel restaurant. Also the light fixtures that looked like bubbles were dirty looking and the one fixture in the center of the restaurant wasn’t even on. The food was good but the atmosphere was lacking.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on June 21, 2019

Hi, 4fungurlz, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that your sushi was delicious, but we completely agree that presentation is certainly part of an incredible dining experience. We appreciate the feedback about the lights and outdoor seating and hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon for a truly remarkable dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
G
Western NC
6 reviews
Dined on June 1, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience2

Food not great, but good.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on June 8, 2019

Hi, jimG, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are a little disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations during your visit and it's comments like this that help us continually improve. We sincerely hope that we can welcome you back again one day for a truly extraordinary dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
OT
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall4food3service3ambience4

Breakfast was nothing special. Atmosphere is nice, but it was noisy.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on May 8, 2019

Hello, thank you for dining with us and for leaving us some valuable feedback. We are disappointed we did not "wow" you during your visit, and we truly hope that we can welcome you back one day for a truly extraordinary experience. -Bradley D.

Report
RC
Indiana
1 review
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall1food2service2ambience1

First off. The table they sat us at had bread and other food all over the floor. When i asked if they could move us or clean it up, the server didn't want to clean it while we where there but she would. Now, mind you, when we arrived there was no one else in the dining room. Whe ordered, and got our soup and meal at the same time. The gumbo was so mushy I couldn't tell what was in it. The ribeyes had so much gristle in them my wife and I could only eat about half of it. In the meantime, our servers friends had arrived and we were not checked on again. And there were plastic placemats on the tables for dinner. Wont ever go back and will tell others about this experience. I expected more from a Hilton.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on April 27, 2019

Hello Ralph, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to leave some valuable feedback. We are very disappointed to hear about the issues you had during your meal including restaurant cleanliness and unsatisfactory menu items. We have already informed our team to address these concerns immediately and apologize for this experience. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope that one day we may be able to welcome you back for a truly extraordinary dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
AL
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience2

Food was ok, sushi was good, ribeye over cooked. Mahi sandwich good. Service was great! Definitely not a date night spot, but if you want to spend $250.00 on a family dinner that’s super bathing suit casual and loud this would be the spot.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on April 8, 2019

Hi AlanB. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us and it's great you experienced wonderful service. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your visit. We are sincerely sorry you didn't enjoy your meal or the cost as well as the atmosphere. We appreciate you letting us know and we hope you come back for another visit so we can exceed your expectations in the future. -Heather

Report
AB
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall1food3service1ambience3

Server tried to steal a tip. Added 20% gratuity for 2 poeple and lied about it ..

RM
San Francisco
8 reviews
Dined on March 26, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Food was good.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on April 1, 2019

Hello, Richard, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some nice feedback. We're delighted you had a great time during your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. -Bradley D.

Report
L
New Orleans
16 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall2food1service1ambience1

I had hoped that the quality had returned to that of years past. That was not the case. Even the placemats were stained. I had brought friends from out of town and was quite embarrassed.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on March 25, 2019

Hello, Lisastwin, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. We are very disappointed that your time with us was not exceptional and we apologize for the issues with general quality. We will be passing along this information to our team so we can address these concerns immediately. Again, we appreciate your patronage and hope you will consider us again in the future for a truly extraordinary dining experience. -Bradley D. Online Concierge

Report
HM
Mobile
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

It was an excellent experience at H2O. My wife had sushi and I had the steak special. Steak was cooked perfectly and the sushi was amazing. Definitely will be added to our date night list.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on March 25, 2019

Hello, HappyinMarch2014, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We are delighted that your time with us was incredible and that your menu selections were superb. We sincerely appreciate your recommendations for future diners, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next date night for a truly extraordinary experience. -Bradley D. Online Concierge

Report
m
Mississippi
3 reviews
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

I have been a diamond member for at least a dozen years and stay at this property regularly. We (Mystic Mafia) are locals here and have a large group brunch here every Mardi Gras weekend and every blue angel weekend, and many of us have rooms here those weekends as well and have for many many years. TJ is always so accommodating getting us seated close to each other as a large group. Tonya has taken care of us the last three or four years and she is always on top of it. Looking forward to many more to come!

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on March 7, 2019

Hello, misspensacola, Firstly, let us please say thank you very much for your incredible loyalty. We are thrilled that we were able to, once again, exceed your expectations. We are so appreciative of the time you took to let us know about your experience, and we definitely look forward to letting TJ and Tonya know they didn't miss a beat with providing incredible service. Again, we sincerely appreciate your patronage and loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. -Bradley D.

Report
AL
Birmingham
98 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent meals at reasonable (for Pensacola Beach dining) price. My grilled ribeye was perfect, ditto wife’s filet. Generous sides too.

Great martinis also at great price.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on February 24, 2019

Hello, ALA50, thank you so much for the very nice review! We are simply delighted that your menu and beverage selections were superb and that you left satisfied. We look forward to seeing you and your wife back for another extraordinary dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
k
Atlanta
19 reviews
Dined on February 17, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Great bar but can be noisy. Place overall was great except the two bartenders bickering with each other in front of customers. Food was great. Drinks were great.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on February 20, 2019

Hi karenb, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are are always delighted to hear that a guest enjoyed his or her selections. We appreciate your feedback about the noise and team. It's comments like this that help us strive to provide exceptional service, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for that type of experience. -Bradley D.

Report
E
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience5

Restaurant was out of creme' brulee, food did not have much flavor but was beautifully presented.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on March 10, 2019

Hello, Etshoprepeat, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're very disappointed to hear that your meal wasn't extraordinary and that we ran out of your favorite dessert. We will be passing this along to our kitchen team to address these issues, and in the meantime, we truly hope you'll be back to visit us again soon so we can show you a truly exceptional dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
OT
Tallahassee
3 reviews
Dined on February 4, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My daughter and I went for breakfast and we did the buffet everything was absolutely excellent including the service definitely will go back

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on February 5, 2019

Hello, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are simply delighted that your experience was extraordinary, and we look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back very soon. -Bradley D.

Report
BM
Louisville
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2018
Overall2food2service1ambience1

Did the New Year’s Eve dinner special. Service was terrible. I ordered a glass of wine, never received it. Server brought my dinner and had to inquire about my wine. Was halfway through dinner, server brought dessert and set it in the table. Water glass was not refilled until after dinner. Plates not cleared. I had to push dirty plates aside for the next course. I was the only person dining there, they were not busy. Seemed like they were struggling in the kitchen and it flowed over into the dining room. Food was ok but nothing to rave about. Server was pleasant, but didn’t seem to have much experience. Really would not return. There are plenty of other places to eat close by with better service and better food.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on January 7, 2019

Hi BridgidM, thank you for choosing to spend New Year's Eve with us and for this valuable feedback. We are very sorry that you did not received extraordinary service during your time with us. We can assure you that items like this are the exception to the norm; however, they certainly do not excuse a guest from receiving anything less than an exceptional with with us. We take all of our guests' candid comments to heart, and please know what we will be passing this along. -Bradley D.

Report
D
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2018
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great service! Great food! Will go again! Will recommend!

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on January 6, 2019

Hi Darleen, thank you so much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review! We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your recommending us to future diners. Please come back to see us soon! -Bradley D.

Report
BR
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My family loved it! It could very easily become a yearly tradition for my husband and I.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on December 28, 2018

Hi Bunnie! Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback with us about your visit to our restaurant. I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. We would absolutely love to become a tradition for your family during the holidays. Come back and see us again very soon! -Heather

Report
j
Tallahassee
14 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience3

We had a great time with our family. Our usual place was booked solid so we decided to come here. Brooke or a server was terrific since she had 80% of the tables. My sons fillet was cooked just right. We had a charcuterie which was very good. The lobster risotto had plenty of lobster. We were disappointed the sushi chef was off. We will come back At another time. Again Brooke was very good at serving iscunder all the pressure.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on December 28, 2018

Hi Jersey! Thank you so much for taking a minute to share your experience with us. We are so happy that you had such a good time visiting and that you enjoyed your dish choices. I will be sure to pass along your kudos of Brooke to our management team so they are aware she is so wonderful. We can't wait to welcome you back again for some sushi! Hopefully we will see you soon! -Heather

Report
BM
Mississippi
10 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2018
Overall3food2service3ambience2

Not to be revisited

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 23, 2018

Hi B4Me. Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. We would definitely like to hear more about why you won't be returning. You can contact us directly if you'd like. Candid comments and feedback like yours are valuable to us because it helps us to improve. We do hope that one day we can welcome you back and show you how we've improved! -Heather

Report
SB
1 review
Dined on November 9, 2018
Overall4food4service5ambience4

There were 8 of us & our server was great...on top of things! The burger was tasty, their pesto was delish!

JA
Western NC
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2018
Overall2food1service1ambience4

We were quite disappointed in this experience. Our last visit was wonderful, but the food this time was not. Shrimp was poor quality with a very fishy taste. Other foods were subpar, as well.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 15, 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your valuable review with us, JoyceA. We're so sorry to hear that your most recent visit was not as wonderful as your previous experience with us. We have taken note of your feedback and apologize for the subpar food. We have passed along your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage as we're always looking for ways to better serve our guests. We hope to have a second chance to welcome you back for an excellent dining experience one day soon! --Krissy

Report
DG
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2018
Overall4food5service4ambience2

The food here was excellent, but the open area and hard surfaces make it noisy and not at all private. Another issue is the menus. Part of it is light print on a black background which made them hard to read and at 7 PM they lower the lights! A couple who came in after us couldn’t read it at all-they we’re about ready to give up and finally asked us what we had so they could order the same thing. Seems like an easy fix could be done.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 15, 2018

Debra, thank you for taking a moment to share your review with us. We're so pleased that you found the food to be excellent. Also, we have taken note of your valuable feedback and appreciate you letting us know about the noise as well as the print on the menu too. Comments like these always help us do better, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We can't wait to welcome you back for another bite to eat one day soon! --Krissy

Report
K
Las Vegas
11 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2018
Overall3food5service3ambience5

The food was excellent and the staff very friendly but under trained. The waitress was sweet but had not been trained on the new menu and she and the sushi chef did not understand one another. We had to walk her through what we had ordered and what it was.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 15, 2018

Kate, thank you for taking a moment to share your review with us. We're so happy to hear that you found the food to be excellent and the staff to be friendly too. Also, we have taken note of your valuable feedback and appreciate you letting us know about your experience so we can work to minimize the learning curve as we onboard new team members. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back for another bite to eat one day soon! --Krissy

Report
GB
Orlando
10 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2018
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Our experience was very underwhelming. My wife looked at the menu online which looked very good. When we arrived, it is not the same menu to say the least. It was hard to find anything to order that wasn't simply bar food. My wife ordered the Seafood Pasta that was listed as a pappardelle pasta dish but the pasta was elbow macaroni with little to no taste. Overall way overpriced for poor food. Our server tried to save the day but could not recover what the kitchen served. Would not recommend.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 15, 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us, GBdiner. We're so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience while dining with us. We have taken note of your valuable feedback and sincerely apologize that you found your food to be subpar. We have passed along your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage as we're always looking to better serve our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to try a new dish one day soon. --Krissy

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on August 19, 2018
Overall4food4service5ambience2

We went for Sunday Brunch and we’re very pleased with the selection, the quality of the food, and the service. Matthew was attentive and personable. Although the sushi I read about was not served anymore, I was told that in just a few weeks they will be bringing it back due to popular demand as well as an oyster bar. Those will be terrific additions to the Sunday Brunch. We intend to return.

OT
Mississippi
7 reviews
Dined on August 1, 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Big breakfast style. Service is great

OT
Mississippi
7 reviews
Dined on July 30, 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Cook to order. Plenty of food to choose from plus the drinks are abundance

OT
Salt Lake City
3 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2018
Overall2food2service4ambience3

The food was not good. Service was fine. We won’t be going back.

u
Tallahassee
5 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2018
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Our family of four ate here after the Blue Angels show. When we arrived they informed us that there was an all-you-can-eat buffet or order from the menu dining. The buffet was Mexican style food. If we had wanted Mexican we would have gone to the excellent Mexican restaurant across the street. The menu we had to order from was VERY limited. I don’t know if this was because they had the buffet that night or if they have drastically cut their menu back. I am allergic to all seafood so there were about two things on the menu that I could eat.
The service was very slow. We sat for nearly 10 minutes before our drink order was taken and another ten before we got our drinks. I had to ask twice about the mojito I ordered from the bar.
I ordered the hamburger which came with French fries. The burger was ok but the fries were entirely too salty to even eat. Nowhere near worth the price we paid. The kids had chicken fingers. They came with fries but we substituted one with a fruit cup and then split the sides between the kids. Same problem with the fries. SALTY!!! The fruit was ok but certainly not fresh. Their chicken tenders were just that. Nothing inspiring but at least they ate them. My husband had the grouper sandwich that came with SALTY FRIES! He said the sandwich was ok but also not close to the $17 we paid for it. My mojito was clearly made by someone who had no idea what they were doing. It tasted like mint flavored sugar water. Waaaayyyyy too sweet.
The one very tasty thing was the goat cheese cheese cake. Sounds odd but tastes amazing!
But for two kids tenders, a sandwich, a burger, a so called mojito and one piece of cheesecake our bill came to nearly $70. Never again. Save your $ go somewhere else.