H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar

4.1
64 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Just like water, our restaurant is cool and refreshing – serving fare from both land and sea, 7 days a week, 3 meals a day. We’re all about fusion. Fancy and Fun. Spicy and Sweet. Contemporary and Casual.

From our eclectic, delectable cuisine to our refined yet unpretentious beachfront atmosphere, we invite you to enjoy fine dining inside … or no-frills food poolside.

In our wide-open, delightfully designed dining room overlooking our Gulf front deck, we also have a full bar – for socializing and sipping.

Whether for brunch with friends, lunch al fresco or a night out on the town, let us take care of your party and help you make memories over a memorable meal.

What 64 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
57% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
AL
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 2

Food was ok, sushi was good, ribeye over cooked. Mahi sandwich good. Service was great! Definitely not a date night spot, but if you want to spend $250.00 on a family dinner that’s super bathing suit casual and loud this would be the spot.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on April 8, 2019

Hi AlanB. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us and it's great you experienced wonderful service. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your visit. We are sincerely sorry you didn't enjoy your meal or the cost as well as the atmosphere. We appreciate you letting us know and we hope you come back for another visit so we can exceed your expectations in the future. -Heather

Report
Helpful
AB
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 3

Server tried to steal a tip. Added 20% gratuity for 2 poeple and lied about it ..

Report
Helpful
RM
San Francisco
6 reviews
Dined on March 26, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Food was good.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on April 1, 2019

Hello, Richard, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some nice feedback. We're delighted you had a great time during your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. -Bradley D.

Report
Helpful
L
New Orleans
10 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 1ambience 1

I had hoped that the quality had returned to that of years past. That was not the case. Even the placemats were stained. I had brought friends from out of town and was quite embarrassed.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on March 25, 2019

Hello, Lisastwin, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. We are very disappointed that your time with us was not exceptional and we apologize for the issues with general quality. We will be passing along this information to our team so we can address these concerns immediately. Again, we appreciate your patronage and hope you will consider us again in the future for a truly extraordinary dining experience. -Bradley D. Online Concierge

Report
Helpful
HM
Mobile
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

It was an excellent experience at H2O. My wife had sushi and I had the steak special. Steak was cooked perfectly and the sushi was amazing. Definitely will be added to our date night list.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on March 25, 2019

Hello, HappyinMarch2014, thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We are delighted that your time with us was incredible and that your menu selections were superb. We sincerely appreciate your recommendations for future diners, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next date night for a truly extraordinary experience. -Bradley D. Online Concierge

Report
Helpful
m
Mississippi
2 reviews
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

I have been a diamond member for at least a dozen years and stay at this property regularly. We (Mystic Mafia) are locals here and have a large group brunch here every Mardi Gras weekend and every blue angel weekend, and many of us have rooms here those weekends as well and have for many many years. TJ is always so accommodating getting us seated close to each other as a large group. Tonya has taken care of us the last three or four years and she is always on top of it. Looking forward to many more to come!

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on March 7, 2019

Hello, misspensacola, Firstly, let us please say thank you very much for your incredible loyalty. We are thrilled that we were able to, once again, exceed your expectations. We are so appreciative of the time you took to let us know about your experience, and we definitely look forward to letting TJ and Tonya know they didn't miss a beat with providing incredible service. Again, we sincerely appreciate your patronage and loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. -Bradley D.

Report
Helpful
AL
Birmingham
84 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Excellent meals at reasonable (for Pensacola Beach dining) price. My grilled ribeye was perfect, ditto wife’s filet. Generous sides too.

Great martinis also at great price.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on February 24, 2019

Hello, ALA50, thank you so much for the very nice review! We are simply delighted that your menu and beverage selections were superb and that you left satisfied. We look forward to seeing you and your wife back for another extraordinary dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
Helpful
k
Atlanta
16 reviews
Dined on February 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Great bar but can be noisy. Place overall was great except the two bartenders bickering with each other in front of customers. Food was great. Drinks were great.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on February 20, 2019

Hi karenb, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are are always delighted to hear that a guest enjoyed his or her selections. We appreciate your feedback about the noise and team. It's comments like this that help us strive to provide exceptional service, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for that type of experience. -Bradley D.

Report
Helpful
E
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

Restaurant was out of creme' brulee, food did not have much flavor but was beautifully presented.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on March 10, 2019

Hello, Etshoprepeat, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're very disappointed to hear that your meal wasn't extraordinary and that we ran out of your favorite dessert. We will be passing this along to our kitchen team to address these issues, and in the meantime, we truly hope you'll be back to visit us again soon so we can show you a truly exceptional dining experience. -Bradley D.

Report
Helpful
OT
Tallahassee
3 reviews
Dined on February 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My daughter and I went for breakfast and we did the buffet everything was absolutely excellent including the service definitely will go back

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on February 5, 2019

Hello, thank you very much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are simply delighted that your experience was extraordinary, and we look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back very soon. -Bradley D.

Report
Helpful
BM
Louisville
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 1

Did the New Year’s Eve dinner special. Service was terrible. I ordered a glass of wine, never received it. Server brought my dinner and had to inquire about my wine. Was halfway through dinner, server brought dessert and set it in the table. Water glass was not refilled until after dinner. Plates not cleared. I had to push dirty plates aside for the next course. I was the only person dining there, they were not busy. Seemed like they were struggling in the kitchen and it flowed over into the dining room. Food was ok but nothing to rave about. Server was pleasant, but didn’t seem to have much experience. Really would not return. There are plenty of other places to eat close by with better service and better food.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on January 7, 2019

Hi BridgidM, thank you for choosing to spend New Year's Eve with us and for this valuable feedback. We are very sorry that you did not received extraordinary service during your time with us. We can assure you that items like this are the exception to the norm; however, they certainly do not excuse a guest from receiving anything less than an exceptional with with us. We take all of our guests' candid comments to heart, and please know what we will be passing this along. -Bradley D.

Report
Helpful
D
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great service! Great food! Will go again! Will recommend!

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on January 6, 2019

Hi Darleen, thank you so much for dining with us and for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review! We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your recommending us to future diners. Please come back to see us soon! -Bradley D.

Report
Helpful
BR
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My family loved it! It could very easily become a yearly tradition for my husband and I.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on December 28, 2018

Hi Bunnie! Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback with us about your visit to our restaurant. I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. We would absolutely love to become a tradition for your family during the holidays. Come back and see us again very soon! -Heather

Report
Helpful
j
Tallahassee
11 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

We had a great time with our family. Our usual place was booked solid so we decided to come here. Brooke or a server was terrific since she had 80% of the tables. My sons fillet was cooked just right. We had a charcuterie which was very good. The lobster risotto had plenty of lobster. We were disappointed the sushi chef was off. We will come back At another time. Again Brooke was very good at serving iscunder all the pressure.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on December 28, 2018

Hi Jersey! Thank you so much for taking a minute to share your experience with us. We are so happy that you had such a good time visiting and that you enjoyed your dish choices. I will be sure to pass along your kudos of Brooke to our management team so they are aware she is so wonderful. We can't wait to welcome you back again for some sushi! Hopefully we will see you soon! -Heather

Report
Helpful
BM
Mississippi
10 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 2

Not to be revisited

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 23, 2018

Hi B4Me. Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. We would definitely like to hear more about why you won't be returning. You can contact us directly if you'd like. Candid comments and feedback like yours are valuable to us because it helps us to improve. We do hope that one day we can welcome you back and show you how we've improved! -Heather

Report
Helpful
SB
1 review
Dined on November 9, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

There were 8 of us & our server was great...on top of things! The burger was tasty, their pesto was delish!

Report
Helpful
JA
Western NC
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2018
Overall 2food 1service 1ambience 4

We were quite disappointed in this experience. Our last visit was wonderful, but the food this time was not. Shrimp was poor quality with a very fishy taste. Other foods were subpar, as well.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 15, 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your valuable review with us, JoyceA. We're so sorry to hear that your most recent visit was not as wonderful as your previous experience with us. We have taken note of your feedback and apologize for the subpar food. We have passed along your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage as we're always looking for ways to better serve our guests. We hope to have a second chance to welcome you back for an excellent dining experience one day soon! --Krissy

Report
Helpful
DG
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 2

The food here was excellent, but the open area and hard surfaces make it noisy and not at all private. Another issue is the menus. Part of it is light print on a black background which made them hard to read and at 7 PM they lower the lights! A couple who came in after us couldn’t read it at all-they we’re about ready to give up and finally asked us what we had so they could order the same thing. Seems like an easy fix could be done.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 15, 2018

Debra, thank you for taking a moment to share your review with us. We're so pleased that you found the food to be excellent. Also, we have taken note of your valuable feedback and appreciate you letting us know about the noise as well as the print on the menu too. Comments like these always help us do better, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We can't wait to welcome you back for another bite to eat one day soon! --Krissy

Report
Helpful
K
Las Vegas
10 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2018
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 5

The food was excellent and the staff very friendly but under trained. The waitress was sweet but had not been trained on the new menu and she and the sushi chef did not understand one another. We had to walk her through what we had ordered and what it was.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 15, 2018

Kate, thank you for taking a moment to share your review with us. We're so happy to hear that you found the food to be excellent and the staff to be friendly too. Also, we have taken note of your valuable feedback and appreciate you letting us know about your experience so we can work to minimize the learning curve as we onboard new team members. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back for another bite to eat one day soon! --Krissy

Report
Helpful
GB
Orlando
9 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2018
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 3

Our experience was very underwhelming. My wife looked at the menu online which looked very good. When we arrived, it is not the same menu to say the least. It was hard to find anything to order that wasn't simply bar food. My wife ordered the Seafood Pasta that was listed as a pappardelle pasta dish but the pasta was elbow macaroni with little to no taste. Overall way overpriced for poor food. Our server tried to save the day but could not recover what the kitchen served. Would not recommend.

H2O Grill and Bonsai Sushi Bar
Responded on November 15, 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us, GBdiner. We're so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience while dining with us. We have taken note of your valuable feedback and sincerely apologize that you found your food to be subpar. We have passed along your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage as we're always looking to better serve our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to try a new dish one day soon. --Krissy

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on August 19, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 2

We went for Sunday Brunch and we’re very pleased with the selection, the quality of the food, and the service. Matthew was attentive and personable. Although the sushi I read about was not served anymore, I was told that in just a few weeks they will be bringing it back due to popular demand as well as an oyster bar. Those will be terrific additions to the Sunday Brunch. We intend to return.

Report
Helpful
OT
Mississippi
6 reviews
Dined on August 1, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Big breakfast style. Service is great

Report
Helpful
OT
Mississippi
6 reviews
Dined on July 30, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Cook to order. Plenty of food to choose from plus the drinks are abundance

Report
Helpful
OT
Salt Lake City
3 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 3

The food was not good. Service was fine. We won’t be going back.

Report
Helpful
u
Tallahassee
4 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Our family of four ate here after the Blue Angels show. When we arrived they informed us that there was an all-you-can-eat buffet or order from the menu dining. The buffet was Mexican style food. If we had wanted Mexican we would have gone to the excellent Mexican restaurant across the street. The menu we had to order from was VERY limited. I don’t know if this was because they had the buffet that night or if they have drastically cut their menu back. I am allergic to all seafood so there were about two things on the menu that I could eat.
The service was very slow. We sat for nearly 10 minutes before our drink order was taken and another ten before we got our drinks. I had to ask twice about the mojito I ordered from the bar.
I ordered the hamburger which came with French fries. The burger was ok but the fries were entirely too salty to even eat. Nowhere near worth the price we paid. The kids had chicken fingers. They came with fries but we substituted one with a fruit cup and then split the sides between the kids. Same problem with the fries. SALTY!!! The fruit was ok but certainly not fresh. Their chicken tenders were just that. Nothing inspiring but at least they ate them. My husband had the grouper sandwich that came with SALTY FRIES! He said the sandwich was ok but also not close to the $17 we paid for it. My mojito was clearly made by someone who had no idea what they were doing. It tasted like mint flavored sugar water. Waaaayyyyy too sweet.
The one very tasty thing was the goat cheese cheese cake. Sounds odd but tastes amazing!
But for two kids tenders, a sandwich, a burger, a so called mojito and one piece of cheesecake our bill came to nearly $70. Never again. Save your $ go somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
BM
Naples
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Service was great and the food was creative. They went over and above to accommodate.

Report
Helpful
PA
Tallahassee
2 reviews
Dined on May 19, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

There is NO SUSHI!!!!!
Extensive sushi menu online but they haven’t had ANY SUSHI for a long time now!!!
Server was young very uninformed girl that could care less about what we ordered and hated seafood she told us.
Now the hotel rooms were amazing! And Latitudes pool restaurant was awesome for lunch by the pool. Service was friendly and fast. Burgers out of this world!!
Come for the hotel but eat dinner elsewhere!

Report
Helpful
SV
Toronto
37 reviews
Dined on April 12, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good food, good atmosphere and service.

Report
Helpful
OT
New Orleans
2 reviews
Dined on April 1, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 1

Went here for Easter Brunch and will not be returning to brunch. If you decide to go to H20 then go to the restaurant and order off the menu, do not go to the brunch. You might as well be at a $10 all you can eat buffet. Come on H20, you can do better! The only saving grace of the meal was the omelet station.

Report
Helpful
KS
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 3

Dinner was absolutely amazing, the four course meal with wine was paired perfectly. The service was a little lacking as our waitress seemed like she didnt want to be there. Our only complaint was the restaurant is open on one side to the walkway for the hotel. While having our valentines day dinner we had several people walk right by our table in swimsuits. While it wasnt a dealbreaker it could have been designed a little better.

Report
Helpful
DC
Cleveland
4 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

Great brunch on Sunday. All the breakfast favorites one can think of. Prime Rib is okay, nothing special. The baked oysters are typical for the area although a nice addition for ones brunch. Plenty of desserts, and fresh fruit. The mimosas paired with the unlimited Bloody Mary bar is the bomb!! Plenty of garnishes and mixes to make your own drink. Very good service.

Report
Helpful
D
Dallas
18 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2017
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 1

Drab and old decor. Waiter competent but bored. Food average at best. Menu and food choices lack inspiration. Asian restaurant?? Was not given sushi choices.

Report
Helpful
KG
New Orleans
14 reviews
Dined on November 23, 2017
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 3

The service was better than all of the good dishes. Some were a hit but most were a miss. Turkey was super dry and no gravy. I must say the service was shockingly great.

Report
Helpful
OT
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on November 23, 2017
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 1

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. The restaurant was clean, and the food was decent considering it being a holiday. My only complaint is that when asked during the booking if we had any special requests, we specifically asked for a single vegan dish to be made for one of our party. The request was completely ingnored and our waitress didn’t even bother asking kitchen staff if that was a possibility. So, I won’t be returning to this restaurant until their menu can include choices for people who don’t eat meat or dairy. Not because sides aren’t enough for a meal, but because there isn’t any effort to accommodate on their behalf.

Report
Helpful
MW
New York Area
70 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2017
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 2

I was surprised that the food was not that good based on some of the positive reviews. I don’t know if they had an off night.

Also, they do not serve sushi anymore.

Report
Helpful
MH
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is my wife’s favorite on PB. Our annual gathering of frat brothers of 50 years had dinner. Private room. Great service and food.

Report
Helpful
M
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on August 18, 2017
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 1

I was extremely disappointed with everything but the bar and bartenders. It was my birthday, and as a resident of Pensacola I was REALLY looking forward to finally eating some of the much takes about cuisine. Unfortunately, or waitress was lackluster at best, the food was cold, and one couple had to send their whole order back. The prices were insane for such poor fare, and sadly there wasn't even a dessert mentioned. Damn.. The one time I would have eaten something sweet. I hope they can fix the issues. It's truly a shame.

Report
Helpful
CB
Tallahassee
1 review
Dined on August 10, 2017
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 3

Low light made it difficult to read the menu. Food was average. I would not recommend it.

Report
Helpful
OT
Mississippi
3 reviews
Dined on August 9, 2017
Overall 2food 3service 4ambience 2

this restaurant was much different five or so years ago when it had a true Asian ambiance. Now its just a bar restaurant with not much going for it. The wait staff was limited and the menu choices were also. Its really much more of an American dining spot with nothing special about it.

Report
Helpful
m
Tallahassee
18 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a fantastic meal with my family, mixture of small plates large plates, sides and appetizers all delicious. Interesting menu and delightful service.

Report
Helpful
1
2