Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop

4.2
697 Reviews
£26 to £40
European
Rooftop Bar & Grill at Boundary London offers seafood, skewers and sharing dishes. Our Glass Orangery protects against the elements but retains the fantastic views, allowing you to eat and drink all year-round. The Robata grill dominates the open kitchen serving a menu of freshly grilled meat, fish and vegetables reminiscent of a Mediterranean Summer BBQ.

NOTE: Boundary Rooftop is an 18-and over venue. All advance bookings are for a seated lunch/dinner in our all-weather, socially distanced Glass Orangery. Boundary does not accept booking for drinks or any outdoor terrace space. Outdoor terrace tables are available on walk-in basis only, subject to availability. Boundary accepts contactless card payments only.

In line with government guidelines, Boundary requires contact phone number and names of all attendees in order to provide access. All guests are expected to adhere to social distancing guidelines as informed on arrival by Boundary Rooftop host.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 697 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.1
service
4.4
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CK
vipClaireK
London
13 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really lovely evening Despite the covid restrictions. Staff were all lovely. Food was delicious and cocktails some of the best I’ve had in a while. Look forward to going back!

L
Linda
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Amazing food, amazing cocktails!
Waitress sweet but a bit too attentive...
Can imagine in a non covid this place would have a very good ambiance.

NE
NeilE
London
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food2service2ambience1

Disappointing. Food ok, staff uninterested, shocking music - real shame.

T
vipTanzai
London
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great outside space, nice cocktails. Bit expensive but you get what you pay for.

A
Annie
London
5 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Lovely evening at Boundary with friends. The Burrata was delicious, as were the cocktails! A little pricey, but that's London for you

EA
ElishaA
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great views of London. Great ambience, large food portions depending on what you get. Only negatives were the 15% service charge which is optional but extortionate an the fact you only have a two hour sitting.

MM
MaxineM
London
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a wonderful experience. Great atmosphere on the rooftop, background music, delicious food. The staff were attentive and gave some great menu and cocktail recommendations. We’ll be back 😁

n
notimportant
London
3 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall3food2service3ambience4

The food was quite average - everything is quite oily, including salads and fried squid, in particular. The rooftop is great in nice weather though. Music could be less loud but I am a bit sensitive to noise.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Terrible customer service on 9th May - waitress cleared our food when we hadn’t finished and was generally quite miserable when taking our order whenever we asked for something!

ZM
ZoeM
London
1 review
Dined on May 8, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Didn’t eat, just went for drinks but wonderful location. Really nice setting with the heaters, lights and way tables are set out. Mix of people on the rooftop not your usual Shoreditch vibe. Service was very good, I’d definitely return & recommend.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Derbyshire
3 reviews
Dined on May 5, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Everything was lovely and the staff were friendly and attentive

KJ
KJane
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 3, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Lovely meal out with my partner yesterday. Service by the staff was amazing. Food we were also impressed with! It was very windy and rainy outside so we were placed in an area that was covered with the windows open. Very pleased that the weather didn’t ruin the evening. Highly recommend the oysters and the chocolate brownie 😍

A
Anon
London
1 review
Dined on May 2, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Would go back. Small bites which were nice and really nice cocktails, a bit pricey.

RM
RhianM
London
1 review
Dined on May 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service! Delicious food! Staff were very understanding that we were stuck in traffic and kept our table

TR
TeeR
London
1 review
Dined on April 30, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Cocktails were okay and very few food items were tasty. The service was poor, they were rushing everyone out. Won’t be returning.
Decor was pretty but nothing about the experience was spectacular.

Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop
Responded on May 3, 2021

Hi Tshelane, Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you felt the service was poor due to feeling rushed. As you're aware, you were booked in for dinner at 8.30pm - you arrived at 8.45pm with your remaining two guest arriving at 9.15pm. I was hosting on Friday evening and kindly reminded you of the kitchen closing time after which you were apologetic for your guests arriving late but you understood given the circumstances vs. our operations. We'll pass on your feedback.

Report
GS
GailS
London
1 review
Dined on April 30, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Disappointing- food VERY small robarta sticks that turned up cold, and tasteless at a table too low to eat at happily .. humourless and officious staff, yes I KNOW it’s a 2-hour booking!, nice rooftop, absolutely wasted on current operation.

Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop
Responded on May 3, 2021

Hi Gail, We're sorry to hear of your feedback regarding the robata sticks . I was hosting on Friday evening and we kindly reminded you of the agreed two hour sitting once you had gone over this time and the next guest had arrived for the table. As we hope you can appreciate, guests expect their table at their booked time and this is dependent on the cooperation of the preceding reservation vacating their table in good time to also allow for cleaning during Covid times. All the best, Sharif.

Report
SF
SFWS
London
2 reviews
Dined on April 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous night out with friends. Superb to be back at the wonderful Boundary. Ambience perfect.

S
Samantha
London
1 review
Dined on April 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service, great night , great energy. I will definitely go back.

KG
KatieG
London
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Expensive food (and not great quality) but the ambience is good

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience3

Nice terrace, it’s a shame the staff is rude.

L
Lnp30
London
16 reviews
Dined on April 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely setting. Service was absolutely brilliant - really friendly. Food was so tasty. Could have stayed all day!

SB
SophieB
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I loved this bar!! The view from the rooftop was amazing, the heaters lights and trees were pretty. The food and cocktails were outstanding, I will definitely be coming back!

L
Langers
London
9 reviews
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Service very friendly, polite and efficient. Good cocktails, tasty food which arrived quickly. Venue looked great. Nicer buzzy atmosphere.

AT
AT31
London
68 reviews
Dined on April 23, 2021
Overall3food5service5ambience5

Initially I called to advise that a friend of mine had an operation on her foot and need to be raised. I was told that we were seated at a 'low' table as we had to be outside. I had booked for lunch and would not have been impressed with being seated at a coffee table for lunch! I asked to change and could only do this if I came earlier. So after checking with my friends we could get there at 12.30. I was very disappointed with this as no where had we been told that it was not normal lunch service and even though I had visited before I assumed they had taken the tables from the restaurant and put them outside during these times. Anyway enough said as they did confirm a 'normal' table in the end although it did leave a bitter taste in my mouth

However when we arrived we were seated at a normal table and our waitress made the whole day, she was excellent and very sorry I did not get her name. The food was also amazing so I would recommend this but if you want a proper table then I would suggest you check ahead of time !!

Note to the restaurant: I do think that you should be advising people that they are low tables, fine if you are having just a drink and lite nibbles but if you are expecting to go for lunch then you would be very disappointed.

K
Kira
Chicago
1 review
Dined on April 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really enjoyed the atmosphere and the variety of skewers on the menu! Definitely will be going back.

B
Birthday
London
2 reviews
Dined on April 22, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience5

Thank you for making such an effort despite the outdoor conditions and weather. Great that you had heaters and blankets and fab food.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on April 21, 2021
Overall1food1service4ambience4

Food was very poor. Everything on the platter was dry and days old by the taste.

Nice spot but probably just for drinks.

AL
AnnaL
London
1 review
Dined on April 20, 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience4

The food was overpriced for what it was, £55 for a platter of a few skewers and it was over cooked and dry. Also our waitress was incredibly pushy, left us no time to make any decisions about ordering, quite cold and made us actually feel a bit uncomfortable. We had a great night but it would’ve preferred a friendly atmosphere rather than pushy and rushing us

P
Poppyrobbo
London
5 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Chilled out ambiance & music, great food & drink, only downside the time limit of 2 hours but understandable in current climate.
Also want to point out excellent heaters if the evening is cooler.

C
Chandni
London
3 reviews
Dined on April 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such a beautiful rooftop space, all the seating is nicely spaced out considering covid social distancing. Drinks and food was lovely too and it’s local to other food and drink spots if you wanted to do something else after.

SB
SimonB
London
1 review
Dined on April 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One of the best venue, I've been. Good vibes and amazing food

Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop
Responded on April 20, 2021

Hi Simon, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Boundary Team :)

Report
PP
PPat
London
1 review
Dined on April 17, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Service was very poor from the receptionist to the wait staff. Food was fresh and light (perfect for a lunch), however is on the expensive side.

CJ
CharlotteJ
Brighton
3 reviews
Dined on April 16, 2021
Overall3food1service4ambience4

Food was poor. For a BBQ place they need to learn how long to leave food on the grill for! Halloumi was still cold in the middle and the calimari was cooked to a crisp. Shame as the cocktails and atmosphere was nice. Overpriced bad food.

Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop
Responded on April 20, 2021

Hi Charlotte, thank you for your feedback. Food quality is of the utmost importance and your comments have been passed on to the kitchen team. We're glad you enjoyed the cocktails and look forward to welcoming you back soon ;)

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on April 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great service, lovely rooftop environment!

HS
HughS
London
1 review
Dined on April 15, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Felt like a place trying to make money back after lockdown whilst spending as little as possible. Service was a bit slow and it wasn’t busy. All that was really on offer food wise were small kebabs of fish, meat and veg which were ok I suppose but not very exciting. Our bill was £75 each with wine and frankly that’s £25 a head too much for this experience. Not serving any ale as well (no craft ale? In Shoreditch?) is also a ridiculous decision. I’m all for putting money back into the restaurant sector but I still want to quality to justify that support and I am afraid this falls short.

Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop
Responded on April 20, 2021

Hi Hugh, Thank you for for visiting us and your feedback. Customer value is so important and your comments will be fed back to the team so we can improve. We do hope you visit us again soon :)

Report
SM
SaraM
London
1 review
Dined on April 13, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Great vibe with the music, plants, and heaters. The server was good and not too pushy, everyone worked well together. Lavander vodka cocktail was ok, but poor value for money as there was hardly any liquid and overpowered by lavender. Just being specific as the rest of the experience was great.

S
Sophie
London
1 review
Dined on April 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Quite a shame there is a 2 hour limit. Felt very rushed at some parts.

CW
CarolW
London
1 review
Dined on April 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great way to celebrate end of lockdown. Staff amazing and v friendly!

J
Julia
London
1 review
Dined on April 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

great place, wonderful view, good and fresh food and a wonderful Bloody Mary! Lovely service.

M
Miranda
London
2 reviews
Dined on December 15, 2020
Overall3food2service1ambience3

We booked a table for two on the rooftop for dinner and cocktails. From the moment we entered the building, we were constantly reminded by grumpy staff that we only had two hours at the table and were made to finish our drinks very quickly when our time was up. We politely asked several members of staff if we could possibly move to a different table to continue our evening, but received very short responses each time that it was not possible. We weren't made to feel very welcome at all. The rooftop itself wasn't very busy and we were surrounded by empty tables. It's possible they had to leave time between seatings to clean the tables throughly, but this was not explained and the general attitude of the staff seemed quite mean and stressed. The decor was nice and the food was ok (a little overpriced). It was VERY well heated, so do wear layers that you can take off if you're seated outdoors.

Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop
Responded on December 19, 2020

Hi Miranda, We are saddened to hear of your experience the night before Tier 3 restrictions came into effect. Whilst we would love to host for the evening, sadly the first sittings need to be turned after a standard two hours. We were fully booked for later dinner bookings and a reduced capacity in line with social distancing means we have less flexibility. We hope to see you again once the government permits for what will hopefully be a less stressful time for all. All the best - stay safe.

Report

FAQs

Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo.

Glass Orangery at Boundary Rooftop is rated 4.2 stars by 697 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.