French Roast Uptown

4.5
238 Reviews
$31 to $50
French American

New policies have been put in place based on the guidelines set by the state. Our staff will be masked and gloved (where needed) to serve you. Sanitizer station have been set up in the restaurant for our use and for our guests.
Table settings have been changed to assure less contact., we will offer contact free delivery, and you may call ahead to place pick up orders, Our patio is spaced to follow socially distant guidelines and we are educating ourselves daily on any and all further steps to assure your safety.
All you have to do is relax and enjoy your friends and family while having a lovely time finally out to dinner again.

As one of Europe’s largest cities, Paris is the center of France’s cultural melting pot. The cuisine of Paris reflects this diversity with influences from many regions of France and other countries. At French Roast Uptown, we try to recreate the lively atmosphere of a Parisian Bistro and pay homage to this lively and cosmopolitan city.

Support French Roast Uptown during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 238 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
d
vipdiner44
New York Area
45 reviews
Dined on January 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My friends and I walked across the park for lunch here this week. I had read how well done the Covid protections were set up for the outside dining area, and we were quite impressed with the comfort, seating and fabulous food and service they had. The Nicoise Salad had a large piece of fresh tuna which was perfectly cooked, and I had the Lyonnaise salad (like a frisee salad) which was perfect with great dressing (on the side). I asked for an extra p[oached egg and they were happy to serve. Great field trip for us Upper East Siders!!!
Well done!

KY
vipKentY
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on January 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good service and nice people.

p
vippamyo
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on January 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outdoor Pandemic dining done right! We made a reservation requesting to sit in the open air structure they built. It’s enough to counter wind, but not overbuilt - which I am avoiding anything too enclosed.

We bundled up with warm coats, Scarf, hat etc. The heater over the table worked well. The staff was attentive. They food was very good. A very nice Friday evening dinner. We’ll be back!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
4 reviews
Dined on January 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

They handle everything perfect vis-a-vis covid preparedness. They have airy, heated outdoor tables... the food is well-priced & delicious. I tipped accordingly because they deserve our support for a job well done.

EF
ElisabethF
1 review
Dined on January 7, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

French Roast is doing the best they can with the constrictions of Covid. The overhead heat lamps do a decent job but after an hour I was pretty cold. The hamburger and beer were great and the service was excellent. And it was nice to be out in the fresh air with friends. Keep up the good work.

P
vip250Pipster
New York Area
74 reviews
Dined on January 7, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

As usual food was quite good and reasonable, however the heat lamps were not sufficient enough (and it was daytime) so a couple of friends just ordered cappuccino and left

French Roast Uptown
Responded on January 11, 2021

Sadly there is only so much heat lamps can do in 30 degree weather, and with all the rules the fire department has in effect for them. We apologize.

Report
LS
vipLauraS
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on December 28, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

French Roast has been doing a good job keeping it going during the pandemic, it's one of the few places in the neighborhood I have enjoyed eating at outside. The service and food quality is the same as when things were "normal."

AV
AngieV
New York Area
1 review
Dined on December 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Miss having it 24/7 - one of my fav place in my hood

S
Sleestan
New York Area
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Fit requirements: safe enough outdoor dining with adequate heating, reservations available and opened on Christmas (hence need for rez) But the food was great and the service excellent - both hoped for pluses in this weird time.

VP
VP13
New York Area
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I’d eat there ANYTIME, everything is well appointed and the staff are some of the best in the city!

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing service made our night!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

After a CRAZY 2020 year- it was amazing to see how resilient French Roast Has been. Their modified socially distanced outside dining was beautiful and much appreciated. The staff lead by Sam, their phenomenal Manager, was accommodating, professional and warm. Thank you for a beautiful Christmas Eve!

SD
SydD
Dallas
5 reviews
Dined on December 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love this restaurant. The servers were great and the food was amazing!

TG
vipTGCcc
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on December 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We sat outside on last Saturday night and were kept warm enough by the new chandelier style heaters. The Coq au Vin was fantastic and just the thing on a chilly evening. Go out and support your local restaurants!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My husband and I love coming here. Always consistent food and service. Great spot in UWS

NR
NormaR
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thanksgiving meal. Love the outside tables with cover. Very pleasant and calm. Good food and service. Clean.

MM
ManhattanMom
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on November 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great brunch in a nice outdoor, socially distanced setting. There was also a musician playing, so it was great to sit outdoors in the sun and eat this delicious food.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
16 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good outdoor arrangement with heat lamp

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and food. Was very comfortable with sanitary conditions. Was able to enjoy a nice dinner out.

M
vipfoodfaceMarin
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My favorite neighborhood spot! I love their burgers and fries! They've done a great job decorating the outdoor tent with plants and lanterns. Lovely and cozy!

RK
RikaK
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

It was a cold and windy day, heat lamps would have helped and made it more enjoyable.
Also, the hot chocolate was disappointing. I had expected a tres French chocolat with cocoa. (This was more like a kid chocolate milk.) However the zucchini noodles dish is excellent. The street noise is an issue, but these are Covid times.

French Roast Uptown
Responded on November 18, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review French Roast. We do have heat lamps but unfortunately Sunday's storm did take out two of them along with one of our tents. New portable heat lamps are being assembled and should be in place by Wednesday PM

Report
ML
MelanieL
Atlantic City
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Food was great, but we were outside and they didn't have heat lamps so it was cold

French Roast Uptown
Responded on November 18, 2020

Our heat lamp issue was compounded by Sundays storm where it left 2 of the 5 lamps damaged. new lamps are being installed and large portable ones will be up and running by Wednesday PM. Unfortunately however there is very little even heat lamps can accomplish when it is a cold windy night in NYC.

Report
PD
vipPaulDorr
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great fries and staff!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Had lunch but outdoors dining was cold and the noise from next door construction was bad. We reluctantly moved indoors but the tables were well spaced and the restaurant kept the door open for good circulation.

L
vipLoveflorida
New York Area
27 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Portions are way too small. Some food came out cold.

French Roast Uptown
Responded on October 26, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review French Roast. I have to admit you hit us with a complaint we have never heard before....we are usually told our portions are too large....May I ask what you ordered?

Report
t
tartar
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2020
Overall2food1service5ambience4

The only good thing was the service. It was friendly and attentive. We went to French Roast because it used to be a great place to eat and the courses we reasonably priced. Not anymore. The food was mediocre at best. A simple liver pate appetizer, which one would think cannot go wrong with, was so bad that after the first bite we left it there. They are quite pricy considering the food quality.

French Roast Uptown
Responded on October 26, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review French Roast. I am sorry to hear we let you down. I will discuss the food issues you mentioned with our chef. Our pricing however is based on the cost of products . I'm sure I don't have to tell anyone in this time of Covid the pricing on the simplest grocery store item as skyrocketed, that being said we at French Roast have not raised our Menu Prices sin October of 2019.

Report
S
Sybel
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Not really a French menu. More an American chain restaurant looking for some French bistro flair. Not bad, but not special either

AM
AMfromUWS
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience4

I was expecting more from the previous reviews, this restaurant may have been good when it opened in the 90s, but the quality of the food is kinda stuck there. The pate reminded me of cat food and the duck was dry....something I thought would be physically impossible from a duck. May be keeping food a bit too long under the food warmers. Tough call. For the price, go elsewhere.

French Roast Uptown
Responded on October 17, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review French Roast. I'm sorry to hear we let you down. I will address these issues with our Chef right away. Thank you for your valuable input as we always strive to do an be better.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

delicioussss

K
Katie
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great happy hour deals and excellent service. Outdoor seating is spacious and staff is taking all safety precautions. Would definitely come back!

TG
vipTGCcc
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

it always an enjoyable meal, with excellent food and portions big enough to have half for lunch the next day!

B
vipBabinho
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience2

Place looks lovely and we have been meaning to try for as long time (we live 2 blocks away). Unfortunately the food was mediocre. The Mussels Mariniere had zero taste and were very small, the steak frites was below average. I am sorry to make this review...

French Roast Uptown
Responded on October 6, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review French Roast, I am sorry we let you down, you spoke of two of our most popular and well reviewed items and something clearly went wrong that evening and I will address it immediately with our Chef. I'm also curious as you said we looked lovely why we scored so low on ambience, is there something that would have made it better? We appreciate your input as we strive to always be better.

Report
L
vipLynn
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Unfortunately our outdoor table was right next to construction taking place on the next block over. Regardless, good lunch spot and good service. COVID safety measures adequate.

French Roast Uptown
Responded on November 18, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review French Roast . May I ask whey you only found our Covid measures adequate? What do you think we could be doing better?

Report
HL
HollyL
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great outdoor dining experience. Service and food were excellent.

MM
vipMeganM
New York Area
28 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Waiter was very attentive and the food was wonderful. They did a ice job of so axing out the tables too.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great outdoor space. Good food. Friendly staff.

LJ
LJ22
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food, as always, was delicious and plentiful. This is one of our favorite restaurants and as it is good quality food and reliable. In terms of health and safety during COVID, we were able to reserve a table (outside) and were placed in the perfect table for social distancing (they have spacing between tables as well as partitions between and close tables). We watched as they sprayed and cleaned each menu and all staff members wore masks, making sure we felt safe the entire time.

BG
vipBGReview
New York Area
30 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

French Roast has done a good job of turning an indoor neighborhood cafe into an outdoor neighborhood cafe. They have plenty of sidewalk tables (thanks to their corner location), most of which are well-spaced, and are offering a complete menu, including daily specials and good wines by the glass. Yes, your conversation is occasionally drowned out by a passing M-104 bus less than 10 feet away, but we have all pretty much learned to live with that, in NYC, as the price of a nice meal out. The zucchinni noodle appetizer was particularly good, and the service was friendly.

TG
vipTGCcc
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on September 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, great bistro food with attentive service. We’ll be back!

FF
vipFamousFresser
New York Area
65 reviews
Dined on September 2, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

One of my favorite restaurants. As many years as I’ve enjoyed this place, and no matter who is helping you, they have consistently provided above average service—even in the midst of COVID restrictions requiring outdoor dining. Yesterday we came for lunch and were seated an the location I’d requested. It was as quiet as one could expect. After 1/2 hour, construction noise began across the street. We were already eating when our waitperson came to ask if we would like to be moved around the corner where it was slightly less noisy.

Being treated this attentively is what you become used to at French Roast Uptown. Nice.

FAQs

French Roast Uptown offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (212) 799-1533.

French Roast Uptown is rated 4.5 stars by 238 OpenTable diners.

French Roast Uptown does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://frenchroastnyc.com/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.