Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Washington, D.C. Area
  4. District of Columbia
  5. Foggy Bottom
Founding Farmers - DC, Washington, DC

Founding Farmers - DC

4.4
4.4
30776 Reviews
$30 and under
American
We have developed multi-layered systems to provide you with great food, drink, and hospitality and are continuing to adapt our operations to keep all of us as safe as possible. Visit our website to learn more. You can enjoy our scratch-made, thoughtfully sourced food and drink in our dining room and on our patio. We have breakfast, lunch, dinner, weekend brunch, and weekday happy hour. If you would prefer to stay at home, we have To Go and delivery everyday. Our hot ready-to-eat favorites are available To Go for breakfast, lunch & dinner, as well as our At Home special seasonal menus, which are started in our kitchens and ready to be finished in yours.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 77 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Other options

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Uber Eats

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Cuisines

    American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

  • Hours of operation

    Breakfast Mon–Fri 7:30 am–11:00 am Sat, Sun 8:30 am–2:00 pm Lunch Daily 11:00 am–4:00 pm Dinner Mon–Thu, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (202) 822-8783

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Smart Casual

  • Executive chef

    Joe Goetze

  • Private party facilities

    Founding Farmers includes is a second floor mezzanine level that is ideal for special events/parties or corporate events and can accommodate 100 comfortably seated for dinner or 120 for a standing reception. There are no fully private rooms.

  • Private party contact

    FFDC@FarmRequest.com: (202) 822-8783

  • Neighborhood

    Foggy Bottom

  • Cross street

    20th St. / Pennsylvania Ave. (Foggy Bottom)

  • Parking details

    There is metered parking on Pennsylvania Ave., 20th St., H St., and elsewhere within 2 blocks of the restaurant. There are 3 parking garages within 3 blocks of the restaurant; the closest is at the Shops at 2000 Pennsylvania (enter on 20th St.).

  • Public transit

    There are two Metro stops within 3 blocks of the restaurant, Orange/Blue lines at Farragut West or Foggy Bottom/GWU. The red DC Circulator bus Georgetown/Union Station line stops on Pennsylvania Ave. at 21st street, as well as on K Street and on 19th, all just one block away.

  • Entertainment

    The bar at Founding Farmers is a truly unique and innovative experience, with true mixologists specially trained in 'bar-chefing'. The bar menu harkens back to the pre-Prohibition era with handcrafted cocktails that use juices and mixers prepared by hand.

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Popular dishes

What 30,776 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.4
4.4 based on recent ratings
  • 4.4Food
  • 4.3Service
  • 4.3Ambience
  • 4.1Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Washington, D.C. Area

    Most Booked

  • District of Columbia

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Philadelphia

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined today

    overall5food5service4ambience4
    Overall was a good meal. Waiter brought me the wrong plate. Brought it the second time and it was still wrong. He did take it off the bill for the mistakes but the third time was the charm. With the correct food, it was good food for breakfast. The beignets were really good with the sauces. Overall a nice atmosphere and decent breakfast
  2. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined today

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    Very hot upstairs. Sweltering until suddenly the a/c came on and made it tolerable. Food was fine, but nothing special.
  3. F

    Foodster

    Washington DC

    15 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    15 reviews

    Dined today

    overall4food5service4ambience3
    It was a very “humid” on the1st floor. It was a warm day but it actually appeared to be cooler out on the patio/ sidewalk area than inside. Upstairs was much cooler. I don’t like sitting in the rear near the bar. Too much traffic from the kitchen and the constant opening that outside door kept it pretty warm and let the flies in! The Dark and Stormy drink size “shrunk” significantly! Food was good but the milkshake for dessert was really poorly made. Too much chocolate syrup. Strongly suggest they revisit their recipe. The correct mix of “vanilla ice cream”, milk and Syrup is key.
  4. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New York Area

    27 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    27 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service4ambience5
    Casual eatery
  5. FD

    FrankD

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing Brunch! We will definitely be back again soon!
  6. A

    Alyssa

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall1food3service1ambience2
    Their process for seating is unorganized, and the manager that I spoke to was neither helpful nor accommodating. I consistently checked on my table and the wait time. 30 minutes after my reservation I returned to the front desk and the manager said that they had called me 10 minutes ago, but I received no notification on my cell phone. I showed my recent text messages and calls, and none of them were from Founding Farmers. The phone number that I gave was correct. He brushed it off and said that he needed a minute to fix it, but another 25 minutes passed and we still weren’t called for a table. It wasn’t until we approached another hostess when we were finally seated.
  7. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Miami

    1 review

    vip
    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall1food1service3ambience3
    I don’t understand why this place is so crowded. Food was like fast food. My dish arrived before my coffee. Portions were small. And it was barely warm. I won’t be returning
  8. SD

    SawdustDad

    Baltimore

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall3food4service3ambience3
    Nice place. Very crowded. Food generally very good - definitely enjoyed the blueberry pancakes. The service was intermittently slow and speedy.
  9. L

    Leeg

    Baltimore

    3 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall4food5service4ambience4
    Kailey was amazing and very fast and helpful.
  10. c

    catwoman

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall2food1service3ambience4
    I had the farmers breakfast with scrambled eggs (very runny), sausage (very gross), fruit (okay) and biscuit (great!). I sat at the bar and had very little interaction with the bartender. It was a wait for a table with a reservation so I sat at the bar.
  11. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The service was took notch, for sure. The food was also delicious. We had reservations for breakfast. There was already a long line when the doors opened.
  12. DB

    DavidB

    New York Area

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Outstanding. Simply the best. A family tradition to eat there when we're in D.C. and will ALWAYS do so when we visit.
  13. MK

    MackenzieK

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall3food5service4ambience1
    Good food. Okay service. It was SO hot. Felt like there was no AC in the building. Not pleasant when it’s 90 degrees outside

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayThank you for dining with us, Mackenzie. Next time, please join us inside for a better experience. -Najjah :)

  14. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Austin

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall3food3service3ambience2
    Used to love this place but it’s changed significantly as it has become more popular—we waited 20 minutes after our reservation time to be seated and food was mediocre. Disappointing considering the great past experiences here.
  15. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Came for my fiancée’s birthday. We had the Mussels. I’m am not a mussel’s eater. After that day. My new favorite food to eat from this restaurant is the mussels.
  16. a

    as501

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall3food4service5ambience2
    I’d say it’s become a cheesecake factory. Sorry about that. I guess that’s what comes with success. Also, the entryway sitting area is looking a little shabby. I asked to be seated upstairs and we were. It has a rat race feel to it. Again, that’s what success often looks like. They serve one hell of a hamburger. Cheers.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayThank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you feel this way. I am happy to read that we were able to accommodate you upstairs and that you enjoyed our hamburger. We look forward to you stopping by again. -Najjah :)

  17. JB

    JoeB

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall2food5service2ambience1
    Food was fantastic, but nothing else was. We had a reservation for 6, made a month ago, and we were put at a table for 4 in the bar. Fortunately, they moved us to a table of 6 when I asked. I was not given the opportunity to move to the dining room, even though there was plenty of room. It was very hot, I had to ask the waiter to have the manager turn down the temperature. If you are coming for the food, this is a great, but insist on the dining room. I will not be back.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayHi, Joe. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the food, however you left disappointed. It is very unfortunate, Joe. I sincerely hope you will reconsider visiting our location so that we can give you an experience you expect from us. Thank you. -Najjah

  18. R

    Robyn

    Philadelphia

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Nice place to be; nice atmosphere and quality food.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayThank you so much for dining with us, Robyn! -Najjah :)

  19. l

    lennypham

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Just FYI, this location does not offer the Jefferson Donuts.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayUnfortunately, we do not but we are so glad you decided to visit us, Lenny! -Najjah :)

  20. VS

    VickyS

    San Francisco

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Our server Victor was awesome. He even walked us to our Uber with an umbrella as it was a downpour. Food was so good. We ate outside under a metal overhang, the staff brought out food and there enduring the rain.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you so much for those kind words. I will definitely pass them along. Look forward to seeing you again soon! -Jessica

  21. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Chicago

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was wonderful. Service was great. Drinks were great. It was loud but with how busy it was that is expected.
  22. RW

    RyanW

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    The food was not as good as I remembered. I hope it was an off night..good bland and the cheesecake wasn’t set.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry that you had a disappointing dining experience. I know we can do better and I would love to have you come back so we can ensure you enjoy your entire experience from start to finish. -Jessica

  23. SK

    SteveK

    San Francisco

    8 reviews

    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall4food4service3ambience3
    A bit overrated. Food was ok but not fabulous. Prices were high. Waitstaff unenthusiastic.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoHi, Steve. I am sorry we failed to impress this time. I hope we are able to bounce back on your next visit! -Kerry

  24. SD

    SandraD

    Baltimore

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    Have been to this restaurant several times. This time was a disappointment. It was hot, some restrooms were out of order, and many areas were dirty. My feet stuck to the floor. My salad was not cold as would have been expected. The romaine was room temperature to warm which did not make for a crisp salad. Food was only mediocre.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoThank you so much for your feedback. It is apparent we did not put our best foot forward tonight. I apologize for the meals you ordered not being of the quality and standard like you have enjoyed on prior visits. I know our team can do better and I hope you will give us another chance. Please come back so we can ensure your visit is outstanding and you received excellent food quality from start to finish. Look forward to seeing you again soon! -Jessica

  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Atlanta

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food and drinks were delicious! We ordered a bunch of appetizers and the blueberry muffins.
  26. MC

    MargoC

    Washington DC

    7 reviews

    4.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Dined outside with two work colleagues, thankfully we were on the shady side! Service was attentive. Food was good. My veggie burger was a bit sloppier than expected. We finished off our lunch with the kettle popcorn, a delicious and fun snack to end our meal.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoThank you so much for dining with us! So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit especially the kettle popcorn. That is one of my favorites! Please come back soon! -Jessica

  27. L

    Lunch

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Traffic Boise is pretty standard in dc. Food, ambiance and service was excellent!

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoSo glad you enjoyed your lunch experience. Please come back and visit us again soon! -Jessica

  28. JJ

    JessicaJ

    Fargo

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall4food3service5ambience5
    Great place to eat breakfast, the waffles and french toast were just normal "good" food but the accompaniments were amazing! The blueberry compote and the chicken apple sausage were both out of this world delicious and the service was fantastic. Despite the price, we would go back!

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you so much for the glowing review! Please come back soon! -Jessica

  29. RD

    RamonD

    Tampa

    11 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    11 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Overall enjoyed this restaurant, and their food quality. I enjoy eating here when in town. Nice environment and pleasant staff.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 4 days agoThank you so much for stopping by! -Najjah :)

  30. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Richmond

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was fresh and tasted great! Would definitely go again.
  31. j

    juang

    Denver

    7 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall3food2service5ambience4
    Very nice, friendly, and helpful staff. The food was mediocre but not bad. I probably won't go again.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoHi, Juang. I am so sorry we did not impress this time! Surely, we can fix this! Please email me at Hospitality@FRG.farm with a copy of your review, details of your experience, date dined, and location. I look forward to hearing from you! -Kerry

  32. CP

    ChrisP

    Washington DC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Excellent food and service at a great price! So appreciate the commitment to each guest having a good experience! One of our party arrived early amlnd was still seated immediately. My order came out with the wrong protein at first which resulted in a slight delay while it was fixed - and the restaurant actually comped the dish. Will definitely be returning, highly recommend!!
  33. KH

    KiaH

    Washington DC

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Food was good and our server Colby was friendly and attentive. We initially made reservations for patio seating but decided to dine indoors instead. We were seated upstairs and it was nice with the exception of needing to swat at flies and/or gnats more than you would expect.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 4 days agoThank you so much for dining with us, Kia! Please come again! -Najjah :)

  34. LF

    LindseyF

    Savannah

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall2food2service2ambience3
    It took forever for our server to come up the table, took forever to get our drinks, took forever for the server to take our order, burger was undercook to the point of being raw. Took forever to get the check. All this is during off peak hours.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoHi, Lindsey. I am very sorry we were so slow when you joined us last. During non-peak hours, many of our team members are switching out and it can cause some delay. I hope you will accept my apology for such slow service and join us again sometime. -Kerry

  35. J

    Jonathan

    Minneapolis

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service4ambience4
    High quality food at a good price and so many good options.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoThank you for your review, Jonathan! We appreciate your patronage! :) -Kerry

  36. m

    mindyw

    Shreveport

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    My daughter moving to dc !

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 4 days agoSo happy to hear that! Please invite her to our location! :) -Najjah :)

  37. JG

    JenniferG

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Wonderful food! The Crazy Corn Chicken salad was amazing! Corn bread is to die for!

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 4 days agoThank you so much for stopping by, Jennifer! -Najjah :)

  38. D

    Doug

    Washington DC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service4ambience4
    Great food that does not break the bank. The location and ambiance are great for a date or group gathering.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 4 days agoWe appreciate your wonderful review, Doug! -Najjah :)

  39. JR

    JenniferR

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing place! Great food! Try the cornbread and the steak and enchiladas!

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 4 days agoThank you so much for dining with us!! -Najjah :)

  40. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Hawaii

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined 6 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Wow delish. This was the surprise find for us on this trip. Everything tasted yummy. Only drawback was they were advertising blueberries related meals and were out of most by 3p.

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Founding Farmers - DC using the Order Online button. Founding Farmers - DC also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Founding Farmers - DC also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (202) 822-8783.

Founding Farmers - DC is rated 4.4 stars by 30776 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 77 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Other options

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Uber Eats
Google Map for Founding Farmers - DC

1924 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20006

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Cross street

    20th St. / Pennsylvania Ave. (Foggy Bottom)

  • Neighborhood

    Foggy Bottom

  • Hours of operation

    Breakfast Mon–Fri 7:30 am–11:00 am Sat, Sun 8:30 am–2:00 pm Lunch Daily 11:00 am–4:00 pm Dinner Mon–Thu, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Dress code

    Smart Casual

  • Parking details

    There is metered parking on Pennsylvania Ave., 20th St., H St., and elsewhere within 2 blocks of the restaurant. There are 3 parking garages within 3 blocks of the restaurant; the closest is at the Shops at 2000 Pennsylvania (enter on 20th St.).

  • Public transit

    There are two Metro stops within 3 blocks of the restaurant, Orange/Blue lines at Farragut West or Foggy Bottom/GWU. The red DC Circulator bus Georgetown/Union Station line stops on Pennsylvania Ave. at 21st street, as well as on K Street and on 19th, all just one block away.

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Executive chef

    Joe Goetze

  • Entertainment

    The bar at Founding Farmers is a truly unique and innovative experience, with true mixologists specially trained in 'bar-chefing'. The bar menu harkens back to the pre-Prohibition era with handcrafted cocktails that use juices and mixers prepared by hand.

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

  • Phone number

    (202) 822-8783

  • Private party facilities

    Founding Farmers includes is a second floor mezzanine level that is ideal for special events/parties or corporate events and can accommodate 100 comfortably seated for dinner or 120 for a standing reception. There are no fully private rooms.

  • Private party contact

    FFDC@FarmRequest.com: (202) 822-8783

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo