Founding Farmers - DC

4.5
30227 Reviews
$30 and under
American
NOTE: 4/11 - 4/15 we are under going a kitchen spring refresh and will not be offering our regular service. Stay tuned! We have been working together to do everything we can to ensure we do our part to support and feed our community and our team. We are currently serving our scratch-made food and drink in our dining room and on our patio. We also have breakfast, lunch, dinner, weekend brunch, and weekday happy hour. If you would prefer to stay at home, we have To Go and delivery everyday. Our hot ready-to-eat Founding Farmers favorites are available To Go for breakfast, lunch & dinner, as well as our At Home special seasonal menus, which are started in our kitchens and ready to be finished in yours. We have developed multi-layered systems to provide you with great food, drink, and hospitality and are continuing to adapt our operations to keep all of us as safe as possible. Visit our website to learn more.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 30227 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
SA
SandraA
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

The food was excellent! Service was sporadic but good. Made a reservation so we could sit inside. We ordered an appetizer, 3 entrees and 2 desserts and the bill was about $125 which isn't too bad. Highly recommend this place!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Atlanta
28 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience2

Loved my meal but neighbor seated next to us ruined my good time. He was drinking and was very loud. Had to hold my hands over my ears!!!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Surprise farewell for coworker

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The cheesecake deserves special mentions.

S
Susan
Seattle
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Founding Farmers offered a variety of dishes for dinner. Delicious food and friendly staff.

DA
DAVIDM
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Food was great...service was SUPER FRIENDLY but a little slow. Overall love the place and the food!!!

YF
YogaFan
Richmond
76 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

The burgers were fantastic. Our server did a great job but had too many tables to cover- not his fault. All was good and can’t wait to go back.

CS
CollinS
Houston
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great environment and food! Definitely one to visit.

DC
DCba
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience3

The service personnel especially the one who served was very rude, no attention to details. Took his own sweet time to provide us food. Even they did not care to keep sugar or other condiments in our table. The service was extremly poor.
The food was also not up to the mark. The impossible burger was not cooked properly it was almost frozen. The egg whites and avacado toast again - the egg whites prep was very oily and not good at all.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry the food and service missed the mark this time. I'd appreciate the chance to follow up and turn around the poor impression we left you with. Please email me: AGrant@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. -Amber

Report
BE
vipBigE
Washington DC
14 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Anniversary waiter was very slow for any and everything 15 min for ketchup and extra salad dressing just an example but other than that everything was cool as usual

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food1service4ambience4

Wow- probably the most overhyped place that I’ve ever eaten. I’m just so grateful that we didn’t wait 2 hours on Sunday to eat there. Soggy hashbrowns, no gluten free bread(!), small portions and high price.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Oh no! I am very sorry for the disappointing outcome to your brunch visit this time. I would love the chance to touch base and hopefully turn this around! Please email me: AGrant@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. Thank you and we appreciate you alerting us to this. -Amber

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great experience. Super friendly service amazing food. We were blown away and wish we had this restaurant near us.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Food was very good albeit a little salty. The service was timely and the waitress checked on us but not too frequently. Overall a nice experience

BB
vipBillyBlessed
Washington DC
14 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Warm Day in DC sat outside under fan
Perfect!

OB
OliviaB
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Service was great but somewhat slow. Food was amazing

MH
MarkH
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Founding Farmers is as rated elsewhere, excellent!

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Whoo-hoo! Thank you SO much for sharing this with our team! Greatly appreciated and we hope to have you back again soon! -Amy

Report
TM
ThomasM
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food was very flavorful. Hot dog and 7 cheese macaroni were terrific.

A
Abby
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience3

The food was great! Awesome place to go with friends. It is loud though so a quiet brunch isnt Founding Farmers.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great location, food, professional staff and prices. Overall great experience and excellent food.

N
Nita
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food4service1ambience1

Service was terribly slow. Made for an unpleasant visit. Took 30 minutes to get our drinks (all draft drinks) — didn’t appreciate that.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Nita: I am very sorry the service missed the mark and your drinks took some time to be served. :( I'd appreciate the chance to follow up and turn around the poor impression we left you with- please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined + location. -Amy

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The waitress was awesome. She was super attentive and so friendly!

RR
RobertR
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Went there for brunch and sat out on the sidewalk. Seating was excellent for distancing and air-flow. Service was indifferent and slow.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Bummer. :( We are so sorry the service failed to deliver this time and this understandably decreased your overall rating and outcome to your experience. This said, I would love to have a hand in turning this around and ask you to please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location to connect further. -Amy

Report
n
nikki
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Only thing is I had to wait 30 minutes pass my reservation time for my table to be ready. Otherwise all was great!

J
Jojo
New York Area
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great dining experience with high quality food! Will return!

EM
EMHA
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

service was good the wait time was little long although we had reservations but all in all food was very good and we sat outside in a quiet area which was a plus !!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Atlanta
29 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Never had a califower steak before. I’m a changed woman. So delicious and just loved the taste. I’m going to order this again for sure!!!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Favorite restaurant in DC

Report
EB
ElizabethB
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food, great staff, great experience would recommend for sure!

AE
vipAlisonE
Washington DC
69 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Our experience was a disappointment. Our table wasn't ready until close to 1/2 hour past our reservation time; the music was louder than necessary (even outside) and that made it hard to converse; servers, drinks, and food took a long time to arrive; two in our party were served green beans that were nearly raw; a "recovery fee" was added to our bill even though we all ordered drinks and desserts in addition to our entrees.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and sharing these details with our team. I am so sorry your overall experience was sadly not one for the books and you left disappointed this time. This said, I'd love to connect and find a way to make this right! Please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location to continue this conversation. -Amy

Report
JM
JohnM
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Food was very good -not really a family/kid-friendly atmosphere. Seemed more like a hangout for college/post-college transplants. Prices were extremely high ($3 for a can of soda) and there was an odd “5% surcharge” to shore-up business losses from the past year. -not exactly sure how that offsets expenses since their prices are already very high, but I am guessing they dupe a lot of unsuspecting tourists that way. Food was good -but not enough to surpass the bar-like atmosphere and high prices.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Hi John: I am very sorry for the disappointments you left with concluding this visit. We feel let down for the poor impression you left with and I would love the chance to hopefully turn this around! Please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. Thank you and we appreciate you letting us know your takeaway from your time with us. -Amy

Report
AK
AngelaK
New York Area
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Maybe I expected a lot because of the reviews but I thought it was just ok. The restaurant music was unbearably loud and perhaps they are short staffed right now because it took a while to get drink orders.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry the service and ambience missed the mark this time. :( I'd appreciate the chance to follow up and turn around your disappointment- please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. -Amy

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Great ambiance. The blue cheese steak salad was so tasty although it was served in a glass bowl that myself and my friend had a hard time eating out of. The steak kept sliding away from being cut by the curvature of the bowl. Lots of effort but totally worth it. Desserts are ENORMOUS and I am glad we only ordered 1 per couple. Definitely will be going back.

VN
ValerieN
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food1service4ambience3

First let me say the servers were good but the food not so much. Two in our party ordered catfish to find out they ran out and our reservation was at 5pm. None of the entrees were good at all. Some were down right tasteless. So different from our 1st visit.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Valerie: We are very sorry the dishes ordered missed the mark and we were out of the catfish your guests had their eyes on. :( I would love to follow up with you and ask you to please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location to connect further. Thank you and I hope to make this right! -Amy

Report
CM
CookieMonster
Hawaii
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sat at the bar, full menu. Staff was amazing

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food3service4ambience4

I ordered the grilled veggies sandwich which was good. However, I ordered the side salad. Instead of a salad with mixed greens, I ordered the salad with romain lettuce which I was told they could do. Instead I received the salad with iceberg lettuce. It's all good! That was not my first visit and it will not be my last. 7/24/2021

OT
OpenTable Diner
Seattle
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food1service4ambience2

Food was mediocre. Flavor was lacking. Waste of time.

S
vipSukki10
Washington DC
51 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience3

My food has always been pretty good at Founding Farmers. I enjoyed my brunch yesterday.

Z
Zanda
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Have always liked this place but felt underwhelmed with our last experience. Very busy and waited a long time to order, particularly frustrating as we had small kids with us. Made note of the kids on our reservation and were seated at a high top (not practical) and then told there were no high chairs available anymore. Overall seemed they were struggling to keep up with high volume.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Oh no! I am very sorry for the disappointing outcome to your family's visit this time and feel terrible for the overly busy and underwhelming areas of your visit. :( I would love the chance to touch base and hopefully turn this around! Please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. Thank you and I hope to be in touch soon. -Amy

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Food was great. Menu options offer a wide variety. I had pancakes at brunch - light, fluffy and perfect. The link sausage is great protein add-on. Others in my party had chicken and waffles and French toast. Both of those dishes were great. Upon return, I’ll get the French Toast! Service was a little slow as our server had tables on both floors.

GJ
GarJos
Jacksonville
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1food5service1ambience2

The only reason I am giving 1 star is because of the manager Jose and his attempt to right out server Donnas poor service (the only reason we got her name was because she addressed herself to our neighboring table). The service received a 1 star because tables that were seated after us were able to get water, drinks, order and get their food all before we got water or coffee. In all, a meal that should’ve taken 35-45 minutes took over an hour and a half with 3 interactions with our server while she was doting and attentive to the tables around us. It was also unsettling to see birds flying around and picking at food on empty tables inside - clearly the birds are used to human interaction and live in this 2 story building. Also unsettling was the fact that the restaurant was packed, taking 4 tops and splitting them into smaller tightly packed 2 tops so close together you could intimately hear the conversations of your neighbors and if you reach at a 45 degree angle you could touch them. We inched our table over slightly and our server told us to move it back..Food and menu are great but unfortunately each location has service that is lacking and is ultimately the main reason we will not be back

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 3 days ago

Oh no! I am very sorry for the multiple disappointments that took place and feel terrible our service and accommodations left you not wanting to return. :( I would love the chance to touch base and continue where Josue left off- hopefully turning the outcome to this experience around! Please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. Thank you and we appreciate you giving us the chance to address this. -Amy

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Founding Farmers - DC using the Order Online button. Founding Farmers - DC also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Founding Farmers - DC also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (202) 822-8783.

Founding Farmers - DC is rated 4.5 stars by 30227 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Founding Farmers - DC