Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Washington, D.C. Area
  4. District of Columbia
  5. Foggy Bottom
Founding Farmers - DC, Washington, DC

Founding Farmers - DC

4.4
4.4
30602 Reviews
$30 and under
American
We have developed multi-layered systems to provide you with great food, drink, and hospitality and are continuing to adapt our operations to keep all of us as safe as possible. Visit our website to learn more. You can enjoy our scratch-made, thoughtfully sourced food and drink in our dining room and on our patio. We have breakfast, lunch, dinner, weekend brunch, and weekday happy hour. If you would prefer to stay at home, we have To Go and delivery everyday. Our hot ready-to-eat favorites are available To Go for breakfast, lunch & dinner, as well as our At Home special seasonal menus, which are started in our kitchens and ready to be finished in yours.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 400 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Other options

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Uber Eats

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Cuisines

    American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

  • Hours of operation

    Breakfast Mon–Fri 7:30 am–11:00 am Sat, Sun 8:30 am–2:00 pm Lunch Daily 11:00 am–4:00 pm Dinner Mon–Thu, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (202) 822-8783

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Smart Casual

  • Executive chef

    Joe Goetze

  • Private party facilities

    Founding Farmers includes is a second floor mezzanine level that is ideal for special events/parties or corporate events and can accommodate 100 comfortably seated for dinner or 120 for a standing reception. There are no fully private rooms.

  • Private party contact

    FFDC@FarmRequest.com: (202) 822-8783

  • Neighborhood

    Foggy Bottom

  • Cross street

    20th St. / Pennsylvania Ave. (Foggy Bottom)

  • Parking details

    There is metered parking on Pennsylvania Ave., 20th St., H St., and elsewhere within 2 blocks of the restaurant. There are 3 parking garages within 3 blocks of the restaurant; the closest is at the Shops at 2000 Pennsylvania (enter on 20th St.).

  • Public transit

    There are two Metro stops within 3 blocks of the restaurant, Orange/Blue lines at Farragut West or Foggy Bottom/GWU. The red DC Circulator bus Georgetown/Union Station line stops on Pennsylvania Ave. at 21st street, as well as on K Street and on 19th, all just one block away.

  • Entertainment

    The bar at Founding Farmers is a truly unique and innovative experience, with true mixologists specially trained in 'bar-chefing'. The bar menu harkens back to the pre-Prohibition era with handcrafted cocktails that use juices and mixers prepared by hand.

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Popular dishes

What 30,602 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.4
4.4 based on recent ratings
  • 4.4Food
  • 4.3Service
  • 4.3Ambience
  • 4.2Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Washington, D.C. Area

    Most Booked

  • District of Columbia

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. F

    Foodie1092

    Philadelphia

    29 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    29 reviews

    Dined today

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Very good but could be great. Sign of the times that we the consumer may need to lower our expectations due to the crazy volatility in the restaurant industry. I would definitely return.
  2. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined today

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great food! Great service!
  3. BL

    BettyL

    Nashville

    7 reviews

    4.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall4food3service4ambience4
    Had reservation for 7. Seated 45 minutes late. Outside was quiet atmosphere. Could have used overhead fan to cool areas. Food was good but not as yummy as we heard it would be. 😃

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayThank you so much for dining with us, Betty! We look forward to your next visit with us! -Najjah :)

  4. ES

    EmilyS

    Minneapolis

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall4food5service5ambience2
    I know it's July in DC, but it was very stuffy and warm upstairs. I was uncomfortable for most of the dinner.
  5. DG

    DanielG

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The food was amazing!!!! We had the cornbread for an appetizer and then the shrimp and scampi risotto and the beef short ribs with mashed potatoes and Mac n cheese. It was all so good. We then decided to have dessert and I got the Death by Chocolate and my wife got coffee and chocolate covered strawberries. I loved every single bite and the service was amazing as well
  6. AV

    AmberV

    Washington DC

    9 reviews

    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Parents were in town, mom can be a picky eater and she approves!
  7. WH

    WhitneyH

    Indiana

    6 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Server was great…we ordered the wings which were really tasty and crispy! Sushi bento box and crab cakes were so fresh and good, definitely come back here next trip!
  8. RW

    ReginaldW

    San Francisco

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service4ambience5
    Great food, great ambiance, great place to celebrate a special occasion.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you so much for spending the Fourth of July with us! :) -Kerry

  9. SP

    SusanP

    Atlanta

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    One of our favorites!

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you so much, Susan! :) -Kerry

  10. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Food was incredible thank you. Only issue was the covered outside tables without fan were uncomfortably hot. Everything else was perfect thank you.
  11. V

    Visitor

    Washington DC

    67 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    67 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall3food3service4ambience5
    I have been a fan of Founding Farmers for more than a decade. The staff are typically very friendly, the ambience is lovely, and I appreciate the sourcing that seems to be sustainable. However, I've come to realize that most of the food is not very healthy—the menu has way too many refined carbohydrates and large portions of meat, with small portions of vegetables and few-to-no legumes in sight. I hope they add healthier and more balanced dishes to the menu. Further, given the name and the branding, I wish the restaurant would be more transparent about where it sources its ingredients (and when/how this changes) so consumers know.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayThank you for supporting us throughout the years. We appreciate you honest feedback and we hope to have you visit us again. -Najjah

  12. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was excellent and service was superb.
  13. SD

    SonyaD

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall2food1service4ambience3
    We missed Brunch by 15 minutes (which we hear is excellent) so settled for lunch. We started with a few cocktails and an order of deviled eggs before ordering our meal. The deviled eggs were chock full of raw onion (unnecessary) and topped with shallots which overwhelmed the flavor. Our waitress never came to check on us - even after our drinks were finished until after our food arrived. We ordered our lunch (shrimp and grits for my partner) and the grilled vegetable sandwich for me. When my sandwich arrived it had: a slide of tomato, cucumber, onions and cold brie cheese and a few bits of roasted red pepper). When our waitress came over I mentioned that the menu said it had grilled vegetables and showed her what was on mine. She said that it should have come with way more and took it away. She came back saying that the cooks said that it came with what it was supposed to. So...nothing grilled on the grilled vegetable sandwich? I sent it back and just finished the oniony eggs as we didn't have time to order something else My partner's shrimp and grits was beyond oily (you could see pools of yellow oil on top as if the sauce had broken. She ate the shrimp out of it and left the rest. Our bill - for 2 cocktails, deviled eggs and one entree - came to $76 which felt astronomical for the quality and quantity. Again, I've heard their brunch is great but after this experience, don't know if I would take a chance coming back.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoHi, Sonya. I reached out to you via the google review you left. Please email us so that we can turn this around! -Kerry

  14. JG

    JasonG

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The food and service were outstanding. This will definitely be a restaurant I will bring friends and family to dine out when they visit.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you for your review, Jason! We look forward to seeing you all again! :) -Kerry

  15. A

    Ashit

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall4food5service4ambience4
    The food was very good. The service was prompt and the server was very nice and helpful.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you so much for dining with us! Please come back soon! :) -Kerry

  16. S

    Sultan

    Hawaii

    1 review

    vip
    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall4food3service5ambience4
    Food was good, atmosphere was great. Have had dinner and was fantastic, breakfast was decent but not as good as dinner.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you for joining us! We look forward to seeing you at anytime! :) -Kerry

  17. K

    Kareem

    Orange County

    4 reviews

    1.0

    4 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    Terrible food quality and extremely slow service. Would definitely not recommend

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoYikes! I am very sorry to hear this, Kareem. Please email me at Hospitality@FRG.farm with a copy of your review, date dined, and location so that we can further discuss your experience! -Kerry

  18. BA

    BethA

    Washington DC

    16 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    16 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall2food3service2ambience2
    Menu lacks creativity and the service is as slow as ever. I keep forgetting how disappointing meals are here.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayThank you for joining us again, Beth. I am terribly sorry that you were not impressed with our menu and that the service missed the mark this time. We appreciate your honest feedback, and we hope you will reconsider our location again. -Najjah

  19. J

    Jenn

    Baltimore

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The food was outstanding! Our server, Cole was prompt, attentive, knowledgeable and pleasant. This was our first visit and is now a favorite!

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayThank you for joining us! -Najjah :)

  20. SK

    SK001

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food3service5ambience5
    Fresh ingredients and great ambience. This is one of our go-to "special occasion" places

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayWe appreciate your lovely review, and we look forward to you visiting us on any special occasion. -Najjah :)

  21. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Philadelphia

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall1food2service1ambience1
    There’s no point in making a reservation because we still had to wait 30 minutes for our table. We weren’t waited on for 10 mins after being seated. The restaurant was filthy. We never got 2 items we ordered (an appetizer and a drink from the bar) and still were charged for it. Good thing we checked the bill because we would’ve paid $30 extra. The food was ok. The plates were wet and dirty. We were probably checked out twice during the entire meal. It was a mess. You’d probably get better service and food at a denny’s.
  22. F

    Francis

    Philadelphia

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great food, friendly staff-our server was super nice and friendly. We have 730 pm reservations and only waited a few minutes even though it was a busy July 3rd based on the people waiting outside.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you so much for joining us, Francis! :) -Kerry

  23. s

    sarahh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service3ambience3
    It was good. It was recommended to us. Our waiter was a bit scattered and slow, but food was wonderful.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you for sharing your experience, Sarah! We hope to see you again soon! :) -Kerry

  24. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    Not enough wait staff. Long periods of time between waiter check in. Food and cocktails were mediocre, nothing special.
  25. EA

    EricaA

    Nashville

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall4food4service3ambience4
    FF is starting to feel tired. Food was ok, one entree outstanding and one entree sub par. Service left a lot to be desired. We likely won’t be repeat diners.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoHi, Erica. I am very sorry for the impression we left you with. We never want to seem "tired" or sub par. Having said that, I think we can come back from this and show you a great visit. Please email me at Hospitality@FRG.farm with a copy of your review, date dined, and location. -Kerry

  26. s

    snow

    Richmond

    1 review

    vip
    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    Food was mediocre and while we had a reservation it still took over 45 minutes to be seated

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you for your review. I am very sorry we failed to impress this time. I hope you will join us again and we can "wow" you next time! -Kerry

  27. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall1food1service1ambience5
    👎🏾👎🏾👎🏾👎🏾👎🏾 Appetizers and main entree was not good. Black pepper wings was burnt and the catfish entree was overcooked and burnt as well. We returned both and ordered crab dip (cant mess up crab dip!) The old fashioned infused with coconut was Not good. The waiter was nice and he mentioned the cooking staff was short.
  28. N

    Nova82

    Washington DC

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food3service1ambience3
    Place was extremely dirty. Servers eating chicken wings in front of you before they go greet a table was off putting.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoOh no! This is completely unacceptable! Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will be passing this along to our management team immediately. -Kerry

  29. DC

    DCDINER

    Washington DC

    7 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall2food2service3ambience2
    Used to be a good restaurant but now feels a bit like Cheesecake Factory full of tourists.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you for your review. I'm sorry we failed to give you the experience you were looking for. We can't help who dines with us, but we have not veered away from food quality and a great time! We hope we will see you again soon! -Kerry

  30. M

    Mich

    Washington DC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Good food and service. Try the peanut butter mousse pie!

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded todayThank you so much for stopping by, Mich! -Najjah :)

  31. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food5service2ambience4
    good food. very slow service, but it was a sunday during brunch so i understand
  32. S

    Stephmb030785

    Louisville

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was delicious! Our kids loved it too. Very reasonably priced.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoThank you so much! -Najjah :)

  33. r

    ron504

    Little Rock

    7 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall2food3service2ambience1
    Had to send food back due to uncooked then took over 15 minutes to get it back. So very noisy with music blaring. Waiters had to scream. This is not true farm to table.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoThank you for your patience with our team. It took over 15 minutes so that we could ensure that everything was prepared correct and to your standards. It tends to be lively with guests over the weekend. Thank you for your honest feedback and I sincerely hope we will be granted another opportunity to give you a better experience. Thank you. -Najjah

  34. F

    Family216

    Washington DC

    23 reviews

    5.0

    23 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Our server, José, was very friendly and provided great service. He was able to give great selections when some of us were torn between two menu items. The food was delicious!!

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 2 days agoThank you so much for the glowing review! Please come back soon! -Jessica

  35. TB

    TramaineB

    Washington DC

    9 reviews

    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Thanks for a great visit

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoThank you for joining us, Tramaine! -Najjah :)

  36. LK

    LtKitten

    Atlanta

    14 reviews

    5.0

    14 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great Brunch! The biscuits were amazing and the brûléed grapefruit was delicious. Everything we ate was delicious.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 1 day agoThank you so much for joining us for brunch! :) -Kerry

  37. S

    Sierra

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall2food1service5ambience2
    Food was terrible. Biscuit was hard as a brick, eggs were gross and soggy, the fruit was mediocre and the chicken apple sausage was nothing special. Could’ve made better brunch at home and for way cheaper.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoThank you for your review and sharing these details with our team. I am terribly sorry that the biscuits, eggs and chicken apple sausage missed the mark. We appreciate your honest feedback. This is not the impression we want to leave you with, Sierra. We hope that you will join us again for a better dining experience. Thank you. -Najjah

  38. S

    Steve

    Fort Lauderdale

    10 reviews

    5.0

    10 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Excellent experience. Server was excellent+

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoWe appreciate you, Steve! Please come again! -Najjah :)

  39. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    New England

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Dined there twice during our vacation week in DC, once for dinner and once for brunch. Fun experience and the food was enjoyable. Love the concept! Only wish it was possible to order a dinner roll or biscuit for our child without having to order what turned out to be huge portion. The brownie sundae portion size was also excessive. Sometimes less is more :-)
  40. JL

    JerryL

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The server Ryan was very nice and helpful. He explained each dish ordered to ensure we were happy with the selection. It was a great celebration for my daughter.

    Founding Farmers - DCResponded 3 days agoThank you for the glowing review, Jerry! We are thrilled that you and your family had a great time! -Najjah :)

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Founding Farmers - DC using the Order Online button. Founding Farmers - DC also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Founding Farmers - DC also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (202) 822-8783.

Founding Farmers - DC is rated 4.4 stars by 30602 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 400 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Other options

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Uber Eats
Google Map for Founding Farmers - DC

1924 Pennsylvania Ave. NW Washington, DC 20006

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Cross street

    20th St. / Pennsylvania Ave. (Foggy Bottom)

  • Neighborhood

    Foggy Bottom

  • Hours of operation

    Breakfast Mon–Fri 7:30 am–11:00 am Sat, Sun 8:30 am–2:00 pm Lunch Daily 11:00 am–4:00 pm Dinner Mon–Thu, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Dress code

    Smart Casual

  • Parking details

    There is metered parking on Pennsylvania Ave., 20th St., H St., and elsewhere within 2 blocks of the restaurant. There are 3 parking garages within 3 blocks of the restaurant; the closest is at the Shops at 2000 Pennsylvania (enter on 20th St.).

  • Public transit

    There are two Metro stops within 3 blocks of the restaurant, Orange/Blue lines at Farragut West or Foggy Bottom/GWU. The red DC Circulator bus Georgetown/Union Station line stops on Pennsylvania Ave. at 21st street, as well as on K Street and on 19th, all just one block away.

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Executive chef

    Joe Goetze

  • Entertainment

    The bar at Founding Farmers is a truly unique and innovative experience, with true mixologists specially trained in 'bar-chefing'. The bar menu harkens back to the pre-Prohibition era with handcrafted cocktails that use juices and mixers prepared by hand.

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

  • Phone number

    (202) 822-8783

  • Private party facilities

    Founding Farmers includes is a second floor mezzanine level that is ideal for special events/parties or corporate events and can accommodate 100 comfortably seated for dinner or 120 for a standing reception. There are no fully private rooms.

  • Private party contact

    FFDC@FarmRequest.com: (202) 822-8783

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo