Fogo de Chao - San Jose

4.3
2325 Reviews
$31 to $50
Brazilian Steakhouse
Fogo de Chao is the leading Brazilian steakhouse specializing in fire-roasting high-quality meats since 1979 utilizing the centuries-old Southern Brazilian cooking technique of churrasco. Please join us in our dining room and patio, or bring the Fogo Experience to you with Fogo To-Go, Butcher Shop or Catering for Pick-Up or Contactless Delivery. Visit www.fogo.com to make a reservation or place an order.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
What 2325 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best experience & great service!

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded a day ago

Thank you! Hope to serve you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food3service3ambience3

Service was a bit slow.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Tampa
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

It was a wonderful Mother’s Day celebration. Thank you. We appreciate the service.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food5service1ambience1

The food was good but the service was terrible I didn't have a waiter every time I want something I have to ask 2 or 3 difrent people dad bad service I used to love this place for the food and the service but for me Saturday was the last time I will go to the this restaurant I will make a comment on Yelp too

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded a day ago

We want to impress you with our quality meals and attentive service, and we are sorry for falling so short during your visit. We'll be sure to send you a direct message in hopes of inviting you back. Kind Regards.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food2service3ambience4

We checked in and they asked us to wait outside. We went back in and they had given away our table. They didn't give us an indicator for the table to show if we still wanted food so half way through our meal they stopped bringing us food. Then they kept trying to rush us out. We have never had this bad of an experience at this place.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded 2 days ago

It's very disappointing that you didn't receive the high quality service our team is dedicated to providing. If you're ever in the area again, we hope you'll consider giving us another chance to better meet your expectations.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time visiting this establishment. Enjoyed the food and the service.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on May 2, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience1

We visit Fogo at least once a month. Today was the worst experience we’ve ever had. Basically has to beg for meat, and even still didn’t get much. Will not be returning to the San Jose location.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on May 4, 2021

We never want our guests to experience this, as it is our goal to ensure you are always able to try our variety of cuts. We'll be sure to send you a direct message shortly, as the opportunity to regain your support is very important. Best.

Report
SD
SonjaD
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing COVID practices in place. Very safe. Everyone was very accommodating

RR
RussrllR
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place is awesome definitely a mist do going back

DD
DeerDoc
San Francisco
6 reviews
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very attentive wait personnel. Not too much, just right.

K
Kimonster
San Francisco
50 reviews
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We went to celebrate a belated birthday. My picky eater son loved the bacon wrapped sirloin and that was his sole eat choice. Both my hubs and I enjoyed all the skewers brought to our table.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great and server was very attentive to us.

E
Eric
Central Coast
1 review
Dined on April 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food. Good wine

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 26, 2021

Thank you for the review, Eric! We hope to serve you again, soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 17, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience3

The server ignored us the entire meal after we said we would just be drinking water. We had to ask someone else for a new plate. Also, most of the meat was over cooked (med well +). All the meat came out at the same time back to back and then nothing. All the meat was piled on top of the same plate as the fruit and salad plate. Not a great experience. Tried to get a second plate but our server ignored us completely.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 21, 2021

We apologize for these inconveniences, as our team should always deliver attentive service that ensures your needs are being met. We will be sure to be in touch shortly, via direct message, as we'd love to regain your support. Thank you.

Report
JF
JohnF
Central Coast
4 reviews
Dined on April 16, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Just so so nothing special, food was ok not worth $62 a plate. Told them we were celebrating birthday but unless you order dessert I guess it doesn’t really matter. It was crowded despite it being Covid protocols. The salad bar was lacking in most items. Nice people but save your money for a place that actually has spectacular food.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 19, 2021

John, we should always be serving you spectacular meals that meet your expectations, so we apologize for missing the mark. It's concerning to hear that we were crowded, as every location should be maintaining our 12 Safety Promises. We will be in touch with you via direct message to address this matter further. Thank you.

Report
d
vipdtiger
San Francisco
16 reviews
Dined on April 13, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

We have eaten at Fogo De Chao many times and have always enjoyed the experience. The Salad bar was as good as always, but most of our beef dishes were very tough or worse. It was our worst food experience at any of their locations. We hope it was just a one time event; we will go back and hopefully they will be back up to their usual standards. Fortunately, we had an excellent server, Marcela, who saved the evening and still made the night memorable.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 16, 2021

Although we are happy to hear our Market Table hit the spot, it's disheartening to learn your cuts missed the mark. We look forward to welcoming you back and delivering you a wonderful time.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on April 11, 2021
Overall2food4service2ambience4

Unfortunately, I should have looked at some of the previous reviews before coming here.
My wife and I decided to visit for our one year anniversary. All seemed well. Our server got our water (we explained we needed time to decide on drinks) and explained the Covid salad bar stuff and off we went.
When we came back to the table our sides were there. We started eating our salad stuff. We were waiting and waiting and waiting for our waiter, John, to come back. Instead, I noted him joking around with some busboys in the corner. I tried to get his attention to no avail.
The manager Jose was walking by and I asked him for our server. He gestured to a nearby waiter, Robert, who asked what we needed. He asked who our server was and I explained it was the guy horsing around in the corner.
Thankfully, Robert was the savior of the evening. Spot on and quick service. The manager, Jose, came to inquire about us and unfortunately, instead of really hearing us out, he was making excuses about staffing from the previous shift and such. Robert give us a $25 gift card for our next visit and asked the manager if we could apply it to tonight’s bill but Jose refused. Robert got my wife a free creme bulee.
They need to promote Robert or he needs to go to another restaurant where his talents are appreciated. That’s the only reason this place didn’t get one star.
I would probably steer clear of here; there are better places to eat with much better customer service.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 16, 2021

These remarks are troubling, as we never want a guest to come across such inconveniences while celebrating a special occasion. We thank you for praising our team member and the support he gave you, and we hope you award us a second chance in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 11, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Some of the meats served were either salty or dry and we received meat that was raw.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on April 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

25th wedding anniversary

VT
VirginiaT
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great and the service was very COVID friendly and safe.

MM
MarcoM
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

It was cold inside.

j
joelf
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Great good a little over priced cold in restaurant. Seemed like they constantly try to upsell you with extras . Shrimp cocktails and drinks and desserts. The meat is incredible and delicious. Salad bar great but it was a bit messy and not restocked when we went there. They could do a better job keeping salad bar clean and appealing to look at . But they overall the food tasted excellent. Just expect a little more cleanliness and restocking salad bar for expensive meal .

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 12, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, as we will be sure to keep our Market Table tidy, appealing and stocked. We apologize for this inconvenience and we truly hope to deliver you a 5-star experience in the future.

Report
DD
DougD
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food is always outstanding and the variety of what you get is spectacular

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 28, 2021

Thank you so much, Doug. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again!

Report
H
Honestreview
Central Coast
5 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Table was tippy, steaks were tuff, waiter yelled at me loudly because I couldn't understand his slurred english. 3 people and the bill was $275 without any drinks. Poor value.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 13, 2021

We understand your frustrations as no team member should ever raise their voice at a guest. It is our hope that this doesn't keep you from awarding us a second chance down the line.

Report
EB
EvaB
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Meat was fairly good. Need more options for sides without going to the salad bar. It isn't the most comfortable solution because of COVID times! Sat inside and was still very cold, heat would have been nice!

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 12, 2021

Eva, we appreciate your feedback, as our team always wants to learn how we can be better for you. When you're ready, visit us again.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Easter Sunday. Nice late afternoon lunch at Santana Row.

h
hubbyluvs2eat
San Francisco
9 reviews
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went for Easter, had a great time.

M
vipMike
Sacramento
31 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Service was great! Seated on time and the restaurant was quite busy.

Quality of food not as good as as I remember from several years ago. Honestly, even at medium-rare, the filet mignon was tough and lacked flavors.

Will give it another try- maybe another location. But at $85/person including tip- yet no alcohol and one shared dessert- I hope it impresses- or will look at another option.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 6, 2021

Mike, we're disappointed to hear that we let you down, as we always want your cuts to be flavorful and hit the spot. We'd love a second chance, so please visit us when you're ready.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience2

The food was not as good. The service also was not good. It was unfortunate since we go there often and loved it.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 6, 2021

We're sorry we fell short of your expectations this time around. Please don't allow this to keep you from another visit, as we know we can deliver you the experience you know and love.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on March 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a great experience and the service was excellent. Thank you for making my friends birthday a special one.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was amazing just wished they wouldn’t put to much attention into seeing who eats what.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on March 29, 2021

Thank you for the review! We're so happy to read you enjoyed. Hope to serve you again!

Report
SI
SusanI
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The four of us all had a delicious meal. We were celebrating a life event and it was a great place to do that. We sat outside since it was a beautiful evening (and because of COVID). The noise from the street was pretty loud, but through no fault of the restaurant. All in all, a great evening.

SC
SugCarD
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience2

They don’t have good Covid protocols and it felt pretty unsafe. The place was packed and the people being the meat up so close to you can can breath on it so it was very offsetting. The meat wasn’t as delicious as I thought and the overall visit was just ok. I wouldn’t come here again.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on March 30, 2021

You should never feel unsafe with us, so this is troubling to hear. Please know, our team is following all of the mandated guidelines, and we hope to make this right in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on March 26, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Good food and good drinks

L
vipLaura
San Francisco
12 reviews
Dined on March 26, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Nice place to have lunch or dinner but too pricey.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
4 reviews
Dined on March 25, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience2

I have had tons of Brazilian steak houses and love the food. But this is the first time that i am left disappointed. The food was not great to say the least. The meat wasn’t tasty and the waiters weren’t coming often with meat to our table. Horrible experience. Very disappointed.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on March 29, 2021

It's troubling to hear we were the ones to leave you with a disappointing experience, as your opinion of us means the world. When you are ready, please award us a second chance.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on March 22, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience4

Overall a horrible experience first time here definitely not what I expected the service was poor unorganized. I don’t know what it was but the servers refuse to acknowledge the women of our group to the point where us women would tell the men of our group to order our drinks in order to get them in a timely matter that was very odd never had to do that before. Ordered an appetizer the seafood platter came out after we ate our food. And then the warm butter and lemon for the seafood platter didn’t come out for 20 minutes after we’ve been served the appetizer that came after our meal. I was told before hand that they would hold our birthday cake in the fridge until we were ready for it our birthday cake sat on a table the entire time unrefrigerated. The meat portions was served in fatty cuts not the tableservice that I was expecting the chicken breast was good there was no complaints there but overall the food was trash. Since we were celebrating a birthday we just made the best of it I highly do not recommend this restaurant let alone return! I was told of another Brazilian steakhouse in San Mateo I should’ve did my research and went there!

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on April 5, 2021

Your first impression of us should always be amazing, so it's concerning to hear that we let you down. We appreciate these details, and we hope to deliver you an amazing authentic experience in the future.

Report
P
Patrice
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall1food3service2ambience2

They have same prices as before Covid but quality and service are down

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on March 22, 2021

Quality and service should still be as wonderful as you remember it, Patrice. We apologize for this, and we hope you visit us again.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on March 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Jose made our party felt like we were home!
Food and Service was Amazing!!

We will definitely be back!

v
vipvalerier
Seattle
8 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience3

We had a terrific waiter, Robert. He was attentive and made the experience fantastic. He was great at offering a delicious wine recommendation and guiding us through the experience.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose
Responded on March 19, 2021

We are so happy to hear this, as your experiences with us should always be so wonderful. We hope your next visit is worthy of your 5-stars.

Report

FAQs

Fogo de Chao - San Jose offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (408) 244-7001.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose is rated 4.3 stars by 2325 OpenTable diners.

Fogo de Chao - San Jose does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://fogodechao.com/gift-cards/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Fogo de Chao - San Jose