Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Book your next event with us
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Staff temperature check required
Imported prosciutto, calabrese salami, toscana salami, parma ham leg (prosciutto de parma from parma, italy) and spanish chorizo.
Malbec - Jorjão by Fogo de Chão, "Reserva", Mendoza, Argentina
Malbec – Jorjão by Fogo de Chão, "Reserva", Mendoza, Argentina
in honor of Jorge Ongaratto, the Brazilian gaucho and founding father of Fogo de Chão
First time at Fogo for brunch. Totally different atmosphere than dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The additional breakfast dishes were mostly very good. Omelet was average or below. The waffles would have been better if made upon request, instead of cooling down to room temp on the salad bar area. It would be nice to include a hot breakfast meat, such as sausage to complete the experience.
This was the worst dining experience we have ever had here. Our server was so inattentive and we had to ask several times for us to get meat to the table. We never once got a refill of drinks to our table even asking several times. Never got our sides until we had to ask server did not offer clean plates after salad was completed. Had to go get new plates ourselves. we did have the servers look to see if the our cards were face up which they were and then continue to walk passed and go to the table next to us. The manager even was walking by and touching tables but quickly walked passed our table. Knowing that we were already frustrated The one saving grace was one of the servers Josiah was really trying to be extra attentive and made sure to come and check on us once he realized that we were being ignored. Also salad bar was being shut down a little after 9pm and was told that they were out of meats for the evening. Very subpar experience for a fine dining restaurant
We never want our guests to describe their experiences in this manner, and we are sorry for falling below your expectations. You deserve amazing and attentive service, and it would mean so much to us to have a chance to work towards earning your trust. Our team will be in touch via direct message. Thank you.
We were told when we checked in for our reservation that we could not be seated without masks. This was not displayed on the door or front entry at all. It was not mentioned when the reservation was confirmed. We spoke with the manager who told the hostess to seat us and she did this begrudgingly. During the few minutes of debate, I saw multiple customers not wearing masks and I was shocked that she was requiring this of us. To say I was disappointed at the lack of courtesy and respect is an understatement. Also, we had to ask multiple times for certain cuts of meat to be brought to our table. Our server, on the other hand was great.
We're disappointed to hear we let you down, as we always want your meal and service to meet your expectations. We hope you decide to give us another chance down the line, as we know we can earn your 5-stars.
Alway a great restaurant to go to especially when different people in your party want different food items
Slow service. Inattentive staff. If you're seated away from the kitchen, you'll wait at least 15min before someone comes around to serve you. My drink order took 30min and then came in wrong. To top if off, the food was very salty to say the least. Even though we had a reservation, we had to wait for 40min before they seated us.
We truly care to deliver attentive and professional service, so it's saddening to hear we gave you a different impression. Please know your satisfaction is important to us, and we will be sure to work towards this. We appreciate your words, and we hope to welcome you in the future.
Reserved the table 1 week ahead and still waited 45 minutes to be seated. It was my fathers 65th birthday and he had never experienced Fogo de Chao. The reservation was for 12 and we all showed up 10 minutes early. My wife let the host know that the our party had showed up in full. I went up couple of times asking what happened and they said they were still setting up. The excuse was the same for 45minutes while others were being seating with a party of 4-6. Seems like they had messed up on seating folks and they had to seat us in the area where 2-4 people were sitting. I have been to this place multiple times and I know how the seating are arranged and setup.
When we all sat down, it took another 15 minutes for the server to take our drinks then another 15 minutes for our drinks to come out as well. We wanted the full experience but they never gave out the red/green token. Another server or manager (we assumed it was a manager since he was wearing different outfits) gave us the tokens so that the meat server would come out to our tables. That one person didn’t say anything or apologized.
We apologize to hear the details of your visit, as we wanted everything to be perfect, especially since you and your party were celebrating a special birthday. We hope to make this right and further address your concerns, so we'll be reaching out via direct message. Thank you.
Service was kind of slow. Our server kept forgetting everything we asked for, seemed like he was new or over sat.
Attentive service that ensures your every need is met is our mission, so it's disappointing to hear we fell short. We appreciate your feedback, as we will address this with our team. We'll be sure to send you a direct message shortly, as we'd love to regain your support.
Jasmine was outstanding. Great customer service. I would recommend Fogo de Chao
It took a long time to get service, only one gentlemen helped me while most others in my area just looked at me.
You deserve a wonderful dining experience that is nothing short of attentive service with a delicious meal, so we're sorry we missed the mark. Our team would like to make this right, so we will be in touch via direct message. Warm Regards.
We made a reservation through Open Table a week in advance and still waited over 30min with our party of 7. Wait staff was new but nice enough and food is good but very high for the quality. You pay for the uniqueness in my opinion.
I’ve been to Fogo in Brazil and the concept is all about the meat served on skewers with servers rotating around with different types of meats to serve on the table for a flat price. The price reflects that at almost $60/person. Unfortunately, this is exactly what you don’t get at this location! There were no waiters to be seen and you sit there just waiting for one to appear once in a while. Of course they’re happy to charge you the flat fee and instead of providing what you paid for, they start by upselling you higher grade meats like Wagyu beef. Apparently this is what they’re interested in selling and serving now, and once you say no, youre doomed for an evening of no food and frustration at a good expense. Happened to us at Christmas and we chalked it up to holiday rush, but when it happened again on a regular Friday, it’s now clearly a trend.
Advice: go to an American steakhouse where you know what to expect and get what you pay for.
Mario, we always want our guests to leave impressed with their Fogo de Chão experience, so it's disheartening to learn we let you down. We'd love the chance to regain your support, so we'll be sure to send you a direct message shortly. Thank you.
Salad bar best in KC! Meat excellent. Waiter very personable. New waiter so need to monitor water refills etc but overall awesome birthday meal and experience.
I didn't know it would be a buffet style, but that wasn't the main issue. The food could have been seasoned better, especially the seafood I ordered. When I asked for the price of the seafood, the waitress left out the additional charge for the market price of the seafood. I was charged for a drink I didn't have, and when I asked for a refund, they didn't give it to me because I had already paid with my card. My partner and I felt overly watched as some of the few Black customers in the place. The buffet was cold lunch meat, really, but I'm still slightly upset about being overcharged.
We're sorry to hear this and apologize for any inconvenience, as providing respectful and professional service is a priority to our team. We will reach out via direct message shortly, as discussing this matter in detail is absolutely important to us. Best.
The meat was excellent and so was the table side service. The woman who sat us wasn’t very friendly, but everyone else was great. The waiter was excellent. Pricey, which is why we only go on rare occasions. I was surprised how many young children were there, some of them noisy, but not terrible. Overall, a nice dinner.
Celebrating a birthday and the first day of school with a first and second grader. The staff couldn’t have been anymore accommodating! They were excellent! You could tell they enjoyed being there and were happy to provide great service. Was also surprised that they didn’t nickel and dime us, both kids were free, and they gifted us with a free dessert for the birthday and another for writing a review on google.
We will be back for sure! Thank you for a memorable experience!
I requested lamb chops and filet mignon when we were seated and they never would have it. Every time someone came to our table I asked for lamb and filet. We received our mashed potato’s 20 minutes into dinner (I asked for those at the beginning also). The lamb chops came out about 30 minutes afterwards and they were all well done and we wanted medium. We never received any more lamb chops or lamb steaks after the 1 time they gave them to us. We didn’t Filet mignon until the birthday girl was eating her cake and all of our dishes had been taken away. He had to get plates from the salad bar a d forks from the server walking buy. I was stuffed at this point and didn’t get to enjoy the filet mignon. This is the 2nd I had to continuously ask for lamb chops and filet mignon and have it take until the end of dinner to receive them.
We always want to be able to deliver everything you crave, and we apologize to hear you had to continuously ask for lamb chops. Your feedback is appreciated, and we invite you to consider returning, as we are confident we can make this right. Thank you.
Just a dad on a date with his daughter
Be ready for sticker shock. Wow! I knew it wasn't going to be cheap but I did my homework and I was ready to spend about $35 per person for my party of 6. The menu indicates you can order an entree and then go to the sides buffet which is excellent, or for $54 have them bring assortments of meat to the table, which is kind of fun. I was told "because of Covid" we couldn't just order an entree anymore and had to do the expensive option . I wish they had put that on the website because learning after you've been seated, kind of embarrassed me and I felt kind of pushed into spending way more than I had planned. For 6 people it was $372 for the meal, $81 for drinks and that was before tip. It was a nice place but I am not sure it was that nice and some of the meats were kind of dry. Such a lot of money and you don't even get to bring home a doggy bag.
Still a little upset that I didn't know going in that ordering entrees was not an option.
Might be a good option for a date but for a family celebration yikes! Maybe I am just a plebeian who made the mistake of eating at the plutocrat's table. Lesson learned, I am writing this review just so others know what to expect.
We never want to surprise our guests with our available options, and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to have another chance to earn your trust and support. Our team will be reaching out via direct message, as we'd love to invite you back for a better time. Thank you.
Great 1st experience, staff and manager were awesome. Super inviting and friendly.
Outstanding food and service. Great salad bar to start. Delicious selection of beef, lamb, chicken served as often and whenever you indicate by turning over the green marker on your table. Have been at FoGo at least 12 times and never disappointed. Great dining experience.
We made reservations the day before. Sill had to wait for 10 minutes while they “set up our table.” Our reservations were for 6 o’clock, the salad bar was already picked over. We had been eating for 10 minutes before they brought water. Servers were very stingy with the meat, and we waited 30 minutes after we had asked for side dishes. We won’t go back.
We're sorry to hear we kept you waiting, as our team should always seat our guests in a prompt manner. We'd love the chance to deliver you a better time, so our team will be in touch via direct message to invite you back. Best.
I was disappointed during this visit to Fogo De Chao. I have been frequenting this Fogo location since it opened nearly 10 years ago. Like the other restaurants I visited this weekend, since the pandemic the restaurant staff is new and very inexperienced. They were not very attentive, we asked for several cuts of meat on different occasions and not received them until the manager came over and checked on us. We been waited for 40 minutes to get our side items and didn't receive them until we requested them. It took 50 minutes to get a refill on drinks. I really appreciate the manager, she salvaged our visit. I hope the service improves.
We never want you to leave disappointed with your Fogo de Chão experiences, Derrick, so know that your comments are taken seriously. We hope to review your visit offline and work towards making this up to you, so we'll be sending you a direct message soon. Best.
From the minute we walked in it was a horrible experience. Our reservation was at 5:45p. We got there at 5:40 and we were asked to wait for 5 minutes which was absolutely fine. 20 minutes later, we are still weren't seated. When I asked the lady, she said I already called you. I stated she didn't and she insisted she did. I informed her that I heard her call all the names and I didn't hear mine. She didn't apologize and looked the other way. At 6:15p we were seated. The food didn't come like expected. Maybe only 3 kinds of meats were offered the entire time. We asked for certain cuts and sauces and we were not accommodated. Our water didn't get refilled unless we ask. When I complained respectfully to the manager he said it's busy today which I understand but we shouldn't have waited for 35 minutes when we had reservations. The server was not pleasant and at the end she brought the sauces after we were done eating and getting full of the salad bar.
I have been there many times but after this horrible experience, I will not be going back. Save your money and go someplace else.
We truly care to deliver attentive and professional service, so it's saddening to hear we gave you a different impression. We will be in touch shortly via direct message, in hopes of making this right. Best.
We made a 8:15 reservation only to get there are be told they were 25 mins behind. We were finally sat at 8:45. Our waiter never did bring my friends drink and we finally flagged him down to ask him to remove it from our bill. He said ok and then never came back and we had to ask a busser for our check. The food was great as expected. But I think they are short handed or something. Service not acceptable for the price.
We apologize for delivering you such an experience, as attentive and efficient service is what you deserve. We should always be delivering top-notch, memorable experiences, so we hope we can encourage you to give us another try. Thank you.
The server Chris was outstanding. He made sure our water glasses were always full. It was really hot in the restaurant and all the servers had to wear long sleeves. He did not show that he was uncomfortable because of the heat and always had a smile for us.
Visited Fogo to celebrate 2 birthdays. Seated promptly and initial server was friendly and informative. The Brazilian lemonade was far too bitter to drink. It tasted like air freshener. Three of us ordered it and none could drink it, not even the ones that like sour. The gauchos were attentive and circulating frequently. The picanha, lamb and bacon wrapped chicken were cooked perfectly. The Parmesan pork was so dry that it was difficult to cut with a knife. A manager had come early in the meal to say that dessert would be brought out for our birthdays but nothing was brought out or ever mentioned again. Despite our table being right next to the spot where the servers congregate while watching tables we waited 15 minutes after finishing our meal and still had to flag someone down and ask for our check. Overall it was a disappointing and overpriced meal. We have been to this location and others before but will skip it next time we’re in KC and opt for one of KC’s many wonderful locally owned establishments instead.
This is disappointing to hear, as your dining experiences with us should be phenomenal, especially for two birthday celebrations. We'd love the chance to review your visit offline and work towards your satisfaction, so we'll be in touch via direct message. Best.
Just another wonderful dinner memory. The food and service was amazing!!
Service was a bit lacking at first, meat often skipping past our table, until told a manager. Then improved.
Service was terrible. Waited extremely long for drinks from the bar and dessert, both of which were awful. Tables around us were extremely loud and using inappropriate language. This was a terrible experience for our anniversary.
We understand your frustrations, Will, as our team should always deliver fantastic experiences. We will be in touch shortly via direct message, as we'd like to invite you back. Warm Regards.
Service was very slow. We spent much of our evening waiting on food, our desserts, and our $150 bill for two. We did not order drinks. The pork was dry and not good at all. Our sides came out at the end of our meal. Not a good experience and we would not recommend.
Attentive service that meets your every need is our mission, so we're disappointed to hear we let you down. We appreciate you visiting, and hope we can encourage you to give us another try in the future, as we'd love to better meet your expectations.
Loved it and service
Our first time at a restaurant of this style and we had a delightful time. Something for everyone, even our children. Food and service were very good. Manager, Yazmin was very gracious and attentive. Thank you all.
Great ambiance, great food. Our reservation was for 11:45 Saturday morning and it was not overly crowded so the noise level was less. I'm amazed at the way people dress - wife beater t-shirts, etc. Reduces the appetite somewhat.
This is the second time we’ve been to Fogo since the pandemic and both times we left full and happy. After the last of the original staff/managers left a few years ago to move up the corporate ladder, it became hit and miss on service and meats. We stopped going as much as we used to as a result. We were cautiously optimistic coming back to a buffet after covid but Fogo proved themselves worthy. There’s fewer staff but make up for it in their customer service. Whatever we asked for they gave us. We’re so glad your back!
I brought my husband here for our anniversary; it was the worst experience ever. The salad bar was 3/4 empty, we barely got any meat - the waiter disappeared after we were seated and he never returned. A different waiter actually had to cash us out. It was extremely disappointing; will not return.
We always want our guests celebrations to be perfect, so we are sorry to hear of your recent experience. We'd like to make this right, so we'll be sure to send you a direct message shortly, as we'd love to regain your support.
We enjoyed our time at Fogo de Chao. The service was outstanding. The food was very good. The next time we are in Kansas City we will return.
We had a wonderful experience, we went there with our family to celebrate us getting married, the service was excellent and the food was amazing, would definitely go there again
You can’t eat $50 of meat
We appreciate your comment and hope to have a chance to discuss this matter in detail offline, as guest satisfaction is absolutely important to us. We will be reaching out via direct message to continue the conversation. Thank you.
The level of service we usually get at Fogo was lacking: probably post pandemic understaffing. Meat came out very slowly, and servers did not seem to have the level of expertise we usually can expect. Pan de quejo was overcooked. Still, it was good snd we hope post-pandemic they will return to excellence.
Thank you for visiting Fogo de Chão and for taking a moment to bring your experience to our attention. We apologize for the lack of attentive service you mentioned, and we look forward to earning your complete satisfaction when you return.
Really great experience!
Thank you for the review! We hope to serve you again soon!
Fogo de Chao - Kansas City offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (816) 931-7700.
Fogo de Chao - Kansas City is rated 4 stars by 2080 OpenTable diners.
Fogo de Chao - Kansas City does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://fogodechao.com/gift-cards/.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.