Fogo de Chao - Kansas City

3.9
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1898 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Brazilian Steakhouse
Fogo de Chao is the leading Brazilian steakhouse specializing in fire-roasting high-quality meats since 1979 utilizing the centuries-old Southern Brazilian cooking technique of churrasco.

Bring the Fogo Experience to you. Order Fogo To-Go, Butcher Shop or Catering for Pick-Up or Contactless Delivery to enjoy a Churrasco experience of fire-roasted meats, Brazilian sides, seasonal salads and more. Visit https://fogodechao.com/catering/ to discover all of your options and to place an order.

Support Fogo de Chao - Kansas City during COVID-19

What 1898 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
4.2
food
3.8
service
4.0
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
67% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food3service1ambience2

The wait staff was rude. The Wagyu strip was $135 and ordered medium and was nearly well done. Sounds crazy but I’ve had better at Outback. And the ambiance was about the same. Never again.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded 7 hours ago

This is disappointing to hear, as we always want to deliver unforgettable experiences. We hope you award us a chance in the future, as we'd hate for you to never return.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Jackson Hole
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1food3service1ambience1

From the tome we sat down, the staff were extremely unprofessional and rude. Will not be back.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded 8 hours ago

This is disheartening, as our team would hate for you to not return. Please visit us in the future, as we know we can earn your 5-stars.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Wasn’t very impressed with this restaurant at all. I’ve heard wonderful things and was very let down. We went for a birthday celebration and didn’t even get offered a free dessert (while the table next to us received one for a birthday). The food was not cooked well under cooked and the sides were worse than an Applebee’s.. rsvp elsewhere to spend $53 a person. Sad day

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded 7 hours ago

Impressing every single guest is our mission, so we're sorry to hear we missed the mark. Our team truly hopes you visit us once again, as we know we can earn your satisfaction.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food1service5ambience3

The service was great the food quality was not some of the meats were burnt from the outside even though they were medium rare as I ordered from the inside, Other cuts of meat came almost raw.

Porto Do Sul, food tasted much better

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Worse experience ever it’s the same that astreet market

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded 5 days ago

We're sorry you feel such a way, as we love to deliver spectacular dining experiences. Our team hopes you visit us in the future!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. Our waitress, Blythany, was super friendly and attentive. She explained everything and gave us some great suggestions. The fresh caipirinhas made right at our table were absolutely delightful! All of the food was top notch and delicious. Would highly recommend!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was perfect!

S
Sammi
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing place with classy interior fit for their diverse selections. Recommend by friends and finally came to check them out. Staff was friendly and caring. Alexis was so attentive with her tables and so kind.

BK
BrianK
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Angelica and Alexus were great staff and provided us with wonderful service. Will come again!

TK
TomK
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Overall, I would not recommend. The music was way too loud. We could not hear our server. We were placed in a back corner and were basically ignored by the chefs. The food itself was not high quality. The lamb was grisly, the pork was dry, mashed potatoes were served cold. I asked 4 separate times for a specific cut (out of 16) of beef. It finally showed up after I had paid the bill. As a frequent diner, this was my first and last visit to this restaurant.

Tom

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on October 7, 2020

Tom, we're disappointed to hear that your meal didn't meet your expectations, as that's what we always wish for. Please don't allow this to keep you from awarding us a second chance in the future.

Report
MG
MarkG
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Waiter and manager went out of their way to make the environment safe for my family and I to celebrate our wedding anniversary :-)

AG
AmandaG
Kansas City
7 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Service this time was wonderful, food was amazing as always. Cleaning practices in place were evident (Covid needs) The only difficulty we had during this visit was outside the restaurant's control as there was a motor rally going on which made parking and the noise level a little worse for wear. Overall we did enjoy ourselves and the dining experience was good again.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

When I made the reservation I made it for our anniversary even stated that it was our 9 year anniversary and that I wanted to have a desert come out for this.occasion and nothing happened so food was great service was good but for the occasion I don’t understand having the option of saying why you’ll be there just for nothing to happen I didn’t want to ask for the dessert to say our anniversary in front of my wife since a she loves those kind of surprises but oh well food was really good

JU
JeffUS
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience5

The staff were incredibly friendly and courteous. My problem was that after going to the market table, we waited at least 15 minutes to get any meat offerings. After about 4 or 5 meats offerings it was quite a while before we got another round. We requested some meat specifically and it was easily 10 minutes before any was brought out. My husband ordered a drink from the bar and that took quite some time to get even though it wasn't busy at all. I normally am not one to complain about service or portions but for a $170 meal I do expect a bit more from the entire visit.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on September 23, 2020

Jeff, we understand your frustrations, as you should've been delivered the experience you expected. Our team hopes you visit us in the future, as we'd love to make this up to you.

Report
L
Lindsey
Springfield
3 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall2food4service2ambience3

The food that we got was delicious; it was just hard to get it - unfortunately we kept getting skipped by waiters and had to ask the staff three different times for a particular cut of meat. We were really only offered meat for about the first ten minutes of our meal. Considering we were paying for continuous service, it was disappointing that most of the “service” was just staff asking if we liked what was on our plates and if we wanted more water, not staff making the rounds with the meat cuts. Staff was kind, but having to continually ask for someone with meat to come over seemed to go against what the whole experience was about. We didn’t come to pay $40/person for salad.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on September 22, 2020

Lindsey, we apologize for this oversight, as no guest should ever have a hard time calling over our team members. Our team truly hopes you visit us in the future, as we know we can earn your complete satisfaction.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience2

Realize COVID is making things difficult but the entire experience was overall poor.

We made reservations didn’t get seated until 35 minutes after our slotted time

Didn’t see our waitstaff for 10 minutes after sorting down. Has to ask someone to bring us some water.

Salad bar was run as best as could be expected

Did not receive plates for the main course for 20 minutes had to eventually just have the guys put the meat on our salad plates

For a full dining room there was only one guy running around with meat.

At the end of the meal we tried to pay then our waitress disappeared. The card reader item failed. We likely could have just walked out without paying due to the absolute disorganized nature of the service. We tried to pay three other servers and eventually had to go to the front to pay the bartender.

Fairly disappointing evening when in the past the service has been top notch. I’m assuming that the COVID restrictions are a major factor. It does not explain the poor quality of meat that was being served though.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on September 22, 2020

We've worked diligently to ensure the current state of the world doesn't effect your dining experiences, so we're disappointed to read your opinion. Please visit us in the future, as we'd love to make this right.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
12 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

10 year tradition for a close friend of mine to go to Fogo on her birthday! She even got $25 off her meal. Fogo was very accommodating even for me. If you’ve had Bariatric surgery, they will charge you a reduced rate vs the full $53.95 which is great cause you can’t eat a fraction of a full meal anymore!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Kansas City
9 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience3

This is my first time coming back since Fogo has opened back up because of covid.. it was not a great experience. The food like the potatoes and the bread that they brought to the table was ice cold. We sent it back. Brought back cold again. We waited forever for any meats to come our way and that was only after asking 3 different people to send meats to the table. It just wasn’t an enjoyable experience like it used to be. They’re very disorganized now. Not worth the $$$

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on September 8, 2020

We're disheartened to hear this, as we are trying our best to meet your every need during these times. It is our hope that you continue to visit us for a great dining experience.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Kansas City
13 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

We have been here several times in the pass years. But we were very disappointed today. The mangement is failing there employees. And apparently the kitchen staff didn't show up. Ask several times for sides. Cold mashed potatoes no bananas or plantains. The meats were sparse and very rare. We realize times are hard. But this Poor management.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on October 6, 2020

We apologize for disappointing you on your last visit, as we always want to ensure our guests leave completely satisfied. Our team hopes you visit us in the future.

Report
LN
LivvyN
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience5

We go to Fogo on special occasions only. That means that we don't go out to get $40-50 lunch/dinners regularly. From the time that we were there, we were greeted by a "Guide" who promised that our experience is going to the best one from any one of our previous experiences. He left and brought us some coffee as we asked for. Right as we were served coffee we had a rush of all the meats there were at our table. After about 15 mins or so the meats stopped, we were never given any bread. When asked for some bread the waiter sounded like it was such a pain since there was none available. After about 15 mins we got 4 pieces of bread. When it came I asked if there was an issue since before I asked for bread until she came back we were not served any meat. She said that she would get someone and 20 mins later we have someone bring us meat that we didn't ask for. Asked the manager and she came and discounted our meals and there was one other waiter who was sweet. Overall our "guide" was not to be seen and our experience was subpar. This is not what we get normally but hopefully, it will be better next time? One can only hope.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on September 2, 2020

Your experiences should always be spectacular, Livvy, so we're disappointed to hear you describe your visit as subpar. We are positive our team will earn your satisfaction on your next visit.

Report
MT
MikeT
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience3

I generally enjoy Fogo de Chao. Our latest trip was a nightmare. We arrived for our 7:45 reservation and were told they were 25 minutes behind. No big deal. Well, we were sat 40 minutes late from our reservation. Once seated we waited 7 minutes before a server came. Our favorite foods didn’t come around, so we requested one and it never did show. Our waters were never refilled. Oh and nobody ever apologized for the delay. Overall, the worst dining experience we’ve had in a long time.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on September 2, 2020

Reservations are made for a reason, Mike, so we apologize for not seating you promptly. We hope to make up for this experience in the future, as we'd hate for you to hold such an opinion.

Report
YK
Y2KY2K
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience4

For the price, we expected TOP quality meats. There were a couple of cuts of steak that were very fatty and full of gristle and did not have good flavor. The person serving at the salad bar did not offer everything that was on the bar and it seemed he was reserved with his portions. We had to ask the server several times to send the meat waiter to our table and we had to wait quite a long time to get served. It was an interesting experience, but for the price, I will not be returning.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on September 2, 2020

Here at Fogo de Chão we serve quality cuts for every meal, so we're disheartened you think otherwise. We hope to deliver you a wonderful experience on your next visit.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Des Moines
10 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience2

The necessary adaptation for COVID make sense but the service was very disappointing. It was difficult to receive meats we wished for. We requested bread multiple times and our waitress admitted missing is in that service the entire time. She even says are would get us some to go which she did not. We will not visit again until after COVID then we will give it another shot.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on September 2, 2020

During these unprecedented times we are trying our best to continue to deliver 5-star experiences, so we're disappointed to hear we fell short. We look forward to having you back in.

Report
K
Ken55
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome place to dine with friends and family or business.

JT
JanaT
Kansas City
25 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a pleasure

ST
SherriT
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service and food was amazing!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Springfield
7 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Son’s 21st birthday. This place is BOMB for meat lovers. Try the candied bacon, it’s awesome!

AA
AmjadA
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I am always satisfied with my experience , amazing service, delicious food and good atmosphere.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 9, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Fue un poco lento lo servicio y no tenia my opciones del complententos

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on August 12, 2020

Nos decepciona escuchar que nos describe como lentos, ya que nuestro objetivo es brindar un servicio atento y rápido. Esperamos que nos visite nuevamente, ya que estamos seguros de que podemos compensarlo.

Report
CB
ConnorB
1 review
Dined on August 8, 2020
Overall3food5service3ambience4

Food stopped coming to our table as often after we were there for about an hour, yet we wanted more. Not great value overall.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on August 11, 2020

Connor, our team members should always be walking by to ensure our guests get to try the cuts they desire. We're sorry we fell short of your expectations, and we hope to serve you again.

Report
D
vipDerrick
Kansas City
67 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

This is my first visit since the pandemic began. I had a part of 7 to celebrate a special occasion. The staff did an outstanding job social distancing and accommodating my large party. The food was delicious but I was disappointed because it took a while to receive the meats I actually requested and I kept getting offered the meats I did not want. Also, we wanted leg of lamb (it's listed on the website), this is the second visit pre-pandemic and during this current visit that leg of lamb was not available. Overall, the staff were very friendly and did a great job accommodating our celebration.

BD
BriaD
Kansas City
7 reviews
Dined on August 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I’ve loved Fogo for years. Had a great time with great service as always. However, I was SUPER disappointed that they discontinued serving the leg of lamb. There are so many other fantastic meats but that was my favorite and I have to say I was so sad when they told me. Maybe they could bring it back for special occasions or nights? Please?

J
Jazzyphae
Kansas City
19 reviews
Dined on July 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food is always good. Due to Covid, they bring the market bar to you, which is fine with me. Had a great time. Loved the electronic check system.

DC
DannahC
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on March 14, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

I've been to Fogo before and remember enjoying it. This time, my mother took myself, my husband, and our three kids there to celebrate a couple of birthdays. At the beginning of the meal, they asked if we were celebrating and were then told we would get a free birthday dessert, but, no one remembered that at all and to be honest, I didn't want to ask. To me, that's part of being a good server. We also had a couple of instances where part of the table was sitting waiting on clean plates and no one was noticing this or offering up fresh plates at all - just a much longer wait than it should have been. Finally, I noticed this time that the meats didn't seem as high of quality. We had several pieces of meat there were exceptionally fatty which I personally don't care for at all. So overall, I was just disappointed in both the service and the food especially given how much we spent.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on March 18, 2020

It is saddening to hear you left disappointed, especially after coming in to celebrate your family's birthdays. Such an experience should never be experienced, and we hope you allow us the chance to make this right with a future visit.

Report
RK
vipRodneyKC
Kansas City
14 reviews
Dined on March 13, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Fogo de Chao was a dining experience to be enjoyed, especially if you are a meat lover.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My experience was excellent

A
vipAndrea
Kansas City
43 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

We went for the full rodizio and didn't see many come out. It was pretty disappointing. I asked for the lamb 3x and when it finally came out it was overcooked. The flavoring was still amazing though. Other things that never went out were filet mignon, ribs and the seasonal cut. We saw the linguica once but we were done at that point. I guess they were trying to save a buck. 🤷🏻‍♀️. We thought about asking for the filet since it is my husband's favorite but he didn't want to have to wait. Food tasted great but it was not the same experience I remember having at other Fogos (Chicago, DC and Scottsdale). We had been here before but during restaurant week. I expected them to be skimpy then but not this time. Sad.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on March 10, 2020

We are saddened to hear this, Andrea, as no guest should have to repeatedly ask for their choice of cuts. We'd like to work towards your satisfaction, as we'd love to be on the same level as the other locations you are fond of. Kindly give us a call at 972.361.6256. Warm Regards.

Report
A
Anba
1 review
Dined on March 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love this place second time going and it was a great service

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience3

Good service — but the meat was either over cooked, undercooked, or poorly seasoned. Cold buffet and meat not worth the price. Extremely busy on a Saturday night.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City
Responded on March 17, 2020

It's imperative that your meal always hits the spot, so we're sorry to hear we fell short. We hope you decide to visit us in the future, as we'd love to earn your 5-stars.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely wonderful. The synergy between front and back of house was brilliant. Came for my birthday, and absolutely will be returning.

FAQs

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (816) 931-7700.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City is rated 3.9 stars by 1898 OpenTable diners.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://fogodechao.com/gift-cards/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Fogo de Chao - Kansas City