FIVE on the Hill

4.4
284 Reviews
$31 to $50
Contemporary American
FIVE on the Hill offers outdoor dining in a sophisticated yet comfortable setting for our guests to take in the breathtaking hilltop views. Come enjoy an intimate dining experience featuring signature small plates and fresh craft cocktails.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM
Wed - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

What 284 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
KW
KenW
Central Coast
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food2service5ambience5

It was very disappointing that I got charged a $110 for a bottle of wine that cost $39 everywhere else. I didn't realize it until I got my bill.

L
vipLisaple
Los Angeles
141 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Julian was friendly and willing to provide suggestions. This is definitely a secret place with a great happy hour. Definitely will be back.

TB
TapestryB
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was my fiancé’s birthday celebration and our host and waitress were so responsive to our requests and our needs for accommodations we highly appreciate the service is the hospitality we can’t wait to come back and we’re also informing others about the fresh I’m Beyonce an atmosphere

TH
TylerH
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food3service2ambience3

I enjoyed the views and the Taco Tuesday, but people should know that the PARKING is a complete scam here. You have to park at the Hilton parking garage, which is fine considering other reviews mentioned that the restaurant validates. However... they don't fully validate! We were there for under two hours and we still had to pay $9 after the validation discount. After paying for an expensive meal, why would I return after that?

FIVE on the Hill
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Tyler, Thank you for leaving us your review on Yelp and Opentable. As mentioned, to not mislead our guests, on all of our social platforms we announce that our parking is $8+tax for self-parking and $12+tax for Valet with validation. We apologize if that was a bit confusing! We hope you enjoyed your time with us nonetheless. Thanks again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
13 reviews
Dined on November 25, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Limited menu and they were out of 2 items. Food we were able to order was excellent.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 21, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Very limited menu and small portions however the food and drinks were good not a lot of food for the cost

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on November 24, 2021

Thank you for taking the time in leaving us your honest review. We are sorry you feel this way! Our menu is known for it to be tapa style, we hope you can give us another chance in the future!

Report
L
vipLisaple
Los Angeles
141 reviews
Dined on November 17, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The food was delicious the service by Julian was awesome. He was friendly and provided suggestions to us since we were first timers. The happy hour was yummy.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

Food was too expensive for what it was. Not alot of options for drinks and food.

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on November 16, 2021

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time in leaving us your honest review. We are sorry you feel this way! Our menu is known for it to be tapa style, we hope you can give us another chance in the future!

Report
MD
MarcD
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food and service under difficult circumstances achieved an excellent result. We we will recommend and return on our next trip to LA

MM
MarioM
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience2

Pictures online are different. The place is located on a corner of a parking lot. For starters the menu was to the bare minimum. They had crossed out 80% of the menu by 7pm. With little options I ordered the pizza and some cold cashew shrimp which was supposed to be served hot. The pizza was terrible definitely not fresh, it may had been frozen for a very long time. Put it to you this way, the frozen pizza I make at home is 10 times better. Don’t waste your time or money at this place. I had to try it for myself and found out the hard way. Ruined my date night with wifey.

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on November 15, 2021

Dear Mario, Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a review regarding your visit to Five on the Hill. We are known for our tapa style menu and all of our content online is created in-house, so that we do not mislead our guests. If you are referring to our flatbreads on our menu, we are sorry you disliked them! We do make all of our food fresh and made on the spot. We hope you give us another chance in the future!

Report
OV
OsirisV
1 review
Dined on November 9, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Very nice place to have a date, we came in to taco Tuesday they were small but full of flavor, also I had the margarita flight and they were delicious 😋

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

They should tell you on the menu that everything is small plates. We looked at the menu when we made reservations, and it appeared to be reasonably priced which is why we went. When we arrived found out it was all small plates. So it was not reasonably priced. We also put in her reservations it was a special occasion, yet they did not do anything to acknowledge this.

TR
TinikaR
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2021
Overall5food3service5ambience5

The staff was amazing very attentive. The food was okay but the drinks were great.

D
Diner
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

I’ve been here twice. The first time there was a lovely acoustic guitar playing beautiful music and great service and food. The second time the food was dry, the service was mediocre, and the music was so loud you had to yell to hear each other. Also, there was not enough shade. For the price, it was not worth it the second time. I’m not sure if I’ll be back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience3

A friend of mine and I we’re going to have a small reunion over brunch, and felt like this was a good in-between for both of us. The area is very cute, the music was great, but the service and lack of communication ruined our entire experience. As a manager of a customer service business myself, I expected team management to own the experience, and at the very least apologize for the inconvenience. Our server took 45 minutes to greet us and take our orders, and another 20 minutes after that for anyone to even acknowledge that we were not being taken care of. My friend spoke to the manager and instead of apologizing, they said they were having technical difficulties and there was an issue with orders going to the kitchen. That was not what we were upset about, we were upset because they were five other tables that were seated and tended to, and even had their drinks before we were even greeted. Ultimately, the manager offered us complementary bottomless Mimosas, which was a nice gesture. But upon receiving the check, the bottomless Mimosas were still listed for payment. While it is local, and the ambience is very nice, I will not be returning due to the experience I had this weekend.

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on November 9, 2021

Dear guest, We deeply apologize for the issues you encountered. We will have our general manager contact you directly to make this right. Thank you for giving us a try and we hope that we can have you back in the near future for another chance.

Report
H
vipHugos
Los Angeles
30 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

The ambiance was nice but it’s a very odd location. Right by the cars’ valet area for the Hilton. We thought it was more of a rooftop. The drinks were good. We didn’t get any food. The ambiance is cute and it’s a small space so keep that in mind. Otherwise it’s really nice for a chill evening with friends

MV
MeganV
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on November 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Server was great!!!

VG
VanessaG
San Diego
13 reviews
Dined on October 31, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great atmosphere, food, & people!

T
Tina
Los Angeles
3 reviews
Dined on October 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The music guest Shoysauce was awesome this past Sunday. He had all the hits lol. Our waiter Alex was wonderful and the food/drinks were delish! Ladies be careful wearing stilettos, that wood floor is tricky to walk on lol

T
Toni
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

I had a reservation on a Saturday evening. It took 1 1/2 hours to receive 3 drinks and truffle fries. Service was horrible and we never got a chance to order an entree. Very disappointed!

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on November 2, 2021

Dear Toni, We are so sorry about the wait times during your visit. Rest assured that I have shared this review with our management team to better ensure our service and quality. We hope to give us another chance in the future.

Report
T
Teeskiroc
Los Angeles
6 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience2

We arrived for a 5:30p reservation, seated immediately. We were surprised to learn the restaurant was an offshoot Hilton restaurant. It had a pop-up feel and is out doors near valet so felt like a parking lot restaurant. Our view was the 101 highway and pool below.

We attempted to order the “business wine flight” for $12, as listed on the menu. The server told us, they don’t offer that flight for that price, that we had to purchase the “premium wine flight” for $18. We found that odd because both were listed on the menu, but we didn’t pushback.

We asked the waiter what red wines were included in the premium flight. He stated Merlot, Malbec and Cabernet. Didn’t offer names or regions of the wine. Didn’t seem knowledgeable.

The wine flights were dropped off by a young lady of the staff. She quickly pointed to each of the glasses and rambled off Merlot, Malbec and Cabernet. Then walked away. We weren’t sure which was which.

The glasses were dirty. The base had visible dust, I could see the dust residue on my fingers and inside the glass. I have a video.The pours were sloppy with red wine on the base we had to use our napkins to keep from dripping on our clothes.

Our server seemed slightly overwhelmed with the amount of tables he had. He was pleasant and attentive but inconsistent. He mixed Brandied nuts for us then gave is the sullied spoon he’d mixed the nuts with. Not a clean presentation. We didn’t eat them.

We split a Fig pizza, Caesar salad, garlic fries, and Brussel sprouts. Food arrived Luke warm all subpar. Because we were catching up we enjoyed each other’s company and tolerated the food.

Overall, the space is overrated. The food uneventful. Five on The Hill did a stellar job with instagram PR, tricked us into thinking we’d receive a great view, excellent service, and delicious cuisine. They failed on all levels. There are far too many extraordinary restaurants in LA. Five on The Hill missed the mark.

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on November 1, 2021

Dear Teeskiroc, Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a review via OpenTable. We apologize for the wait times you experienced and the lack of taste in your food! I have shared this review with our management in hopes that we learn from our mishaps. Thank you again and we do hope you give us another chance in the near future!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
3 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience3

It was an awful experience. When we sat down it took about 15-20 mins for someone to even greet us & then apologize for the wait. Once the drinks came, we had to walk up to the front to even order the truffle garlic fries cause we couldn’t find out waiter. Then they never came. Other waiters were coming to check on us & check on the fries. It took over 30 mins to get the fries. At that point, we had to speak to the manager. We hate doing that, but it was extreme bad & sucked about 2 hrs out of our night for no reason.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 29, 2021
Overall3food1service5ambience5

The Instagram feed makes it look like it is on a beautiful Hill somewhere. In reality is the parking lot of the Hilton. You are literally sitting next to the valley and hotel driveway. The food was gross. The cocktails were amazing and the service is brilliant.

M
vipMaui
Sacramento
25 reviews
Dined on October 29, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great service and really fun venue food excellent

5
vip5course
Los Angeles
49 reviews
Dined on October 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I've now been here several times and have found the meals and drinks consistently good. Nice views, good service and each time I've gone they had a performer singing and playing acoustic guitar which was really nice.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Orange County
5 reviews
Dined on October 27, 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience4

It’s was okay

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience4

Overall a very mediocre experience. All our meals did not arrive close to the same time and only warm, not hot. A unfortunate situation of the kitchen being a long way away inside the hotel and not out in the restaurant area. Never got the coke we ordered after multiple request, then bill came and there was the coke on the bill.

C
Cassandra
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice romantic dinner. Our server was Alex and he was the best. Went above and beyond to make our anniversary special.

B
reneeB
1 review
Dined on October 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

we had a great time, cant wait to come back for brunch!!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
5 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The vibe is amazing and a brunch menu is also nice if you have a vegan friend :)

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful service and a Beautiful atmosphere.

LC
LindaC
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Amazing experience for an evening dinner date with amazing views and peaceful setting with my best friend !!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2021
Overall5food4service3ambience5

Great food ! They give you peanuts to start off and they were delicious! Service was a bit slow but our waiter had a lot of tables. The wine flights were excellent and the charcuterie board was delicious !

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on October 14, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a review regarding your experience with us! We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary drunken nuts. We hope to have you back on the hill soon!

Report
DL
vipDianaL
Los Angeles
16 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

People should know this is NOT a *restaurant*! It is an elaborate "deck" set up on the Hilton Hotel parking lot. There is no running water or bathroom nearby. The bathroom is inside the hotel at least 500 feet away. The food comes from the kitchen inside the hotel. So, we were seated and told to watch out for the space between the decking and my heels. I invariably got a heel stuck in the space, almost hit the floor. Had to take my pumps off to pry the heel out.
As for the food, it was a very limited brunch menu, with no low carb offerings, no omelet, etc. NOT the pictures in the Open Table ad. The food took 1 hour to get served, even the supervisor came to apologize. My husband's hamburger was supposed to be medium, but it came bone dry. They took it off the bill.
I think the images were very deceptive. Not my idea of a nice Sunday brunch/breakfast. Bottom line: We don't need an Open Table reservation to go basically camping!

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on October 11, 2021

Diana, We are sorry to read you had a disappointing time at our cocktail bar. Our goal is never to mislead our guests, we will be addressing the problems you mentioned with our team as we always appreciate feedback that will better our guest experience. We hope you give us another chance in the near future!

Report
LC
LianeC
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place was perfect for little plates and great drinks. You will be parking at The Hilton hotel universal city.

SR
SydneyR
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was amazing! What a great find close by and relaxing

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Smaller than I expected but very nice and service was amazing!

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on October 14, 2021

Thank you for rating your experience with us at "The Hill"! We hope to see you again in the near future. Keep up to date on our specials on our Instagram!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent service done by our waiter Daniel and his colleagues. He was helpful, attentive, and charming. Food was great along with a view of the hotel pool and city. Management was very accommodating and on top of everything when our lamb chops were a bit cold. They rushed us to get warm fresh plates on the house along with our drinks! Now that is something you don’t see or revive from any restaurant or manager. So definitely recommend this spot if you like a nice relaxing evening with your friends or a date

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on October 8, 2021

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a review regarding your visit with us! We are glad to learn that our team members were accommodating. We hope to have you back here in the near future!

Report
S
Susan
Los Angeles
5 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

This is a unique setting, all outdoors. Heaters limited so some areas can get cool in the evening. Incredible vocalist with guitar played beautiful background music. We were there for dine LA. Food was excellent for all 4 courses. Wait staff seemed inexperienced. Eager to please but didn't understand courses, and did not know what the corkage fee was. Overall a very nice experience and we will be back, probably for a warm summer evening.

P
Pargrrrr
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall1food1service4ambience3

The amount of food is ridiculous, the drinks are good but the food disappointing

FIVE on the Hill
Responded on October 8, 2021

Dear Pargrrr, Thank you for your recent visit. We are sorry you were not impressed with our tapas menu at our cocktail bar! We hope you had a great rest of your visit with us!

Report

FAQs

FIVE on the Hill is rated 4.4 stars by 284 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.