FISH Honolulu

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
175 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
FISH Honolulu offers a mix of new and classic dishes with a modern, Island influence. The menu features fish sourced daily from the local fish auction as well as oysters flown in from the mainland. The food is paired with an extensive wine list as well as custom crafted cocktails and local beers. The dining area features a custom wall mural, fish scale bar and a unique louvered trellis that provides an unforgettable outdoor experience. We look forward to having you as our guest.
What 175 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
60% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
B
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

I went with my grandma. She had the lobster roll, I had seared salmon, both were delicious!

OT
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great food! Friendly staff

FISH Honolulu
Responded 12 hours ago

Mahalo for your kind review! Please keep in mind we have Happy Hour everyday from 4-6PM. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
CW
Hawaii
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food3service3ambience4

Had an early 6:30pm reservations and noticed not all tables were filled for Valentines Day dinner. Seated quickly got our cocktails ordered quickly but waited about 20 minutes to get it served. We ordered our fried calamari and 6 raw oysters appetizers while waiting for our cocktails. The calamari was small pieces, dry and full of batter. Yikes, the oysters were about less than 1" in size and paid $23.50 for tiny tiny oysters. We finally got our dinner around an hour after ordering. We liked the scallop dish but the steak entree had a brown sauce that we didn't care for. Also, they were out of the mashed potatoes that was supposed to come with the steak, so they substituted with roasted potatoes. Don't understand why they just couldn't make more mashed potatoes if they had roasted????? We did eat all of our main entree as we were hungry after waiting so long. Seemed they only had 3 servers, which resulted in the delays. Being this was our first time here and receiving this experience, we won't be returning.

FISH Honolulu
Responded 12 hours ago

Aloha, We are sorry that your visit did not meet your or our expectations. We do appreciate your feedback and will take them into consideration for improvements. We do get our oysters flown in every other day from the oyster farms in Washington. Currently, the sizes and variety are what is in season. If you like larger oysters, summertime is usually a good time for the larger size. And we do have Happy Hour from 4-6pm where they are half priced. Thank you again for taking time!

Report
OT
Hawaii
5 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Super chill place for a comfortable dinner for 2 . Outdoor romantic ambiance is perfect for date night. The steak wasn't the greatest but the oysters and PAPIO seafood starter was amazing. I had the sliders and that was great too. Wine selection isn't the greats but the sangria was tasty. We would come here again ❤️

FISH Honolulu
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking time to review us! I love the ambiance as well! Please keep in mind we have Happy Hour everyday, from 4-6pm were our oysters are half off. We do hope you can visit soon!

Report
C
Hawaii
9 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service5ambience4

This kills me! Cuz I really liked this place. But we always went primarily for (and told everyone I know!) the Lobster Roll Sandwich. This dish is now Lobster Roll Sliders. Two small ones on a totally different roll/bread. And it is just NOT the same. And with a side of fries ii was $22 - not exactly “value”. We were told there was a new chef hired in the last several months and he wanted to make “changes”. SALT was packed. Moku was packed. Fish was basically empty. Hope they turn this ship around before it’s too late!

J
1 review
Dined on February 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best restaurant in Honolulu and the most freshest seafood!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on February 10, 2020

Aloha Jazzy, thank you so much for this kind review! We are so glad you had a great time dining with us.

Report
W
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience4

The ambiance is nice and we were able to get in on the same day but the food was kind of bland, they were out of a couple of things we wanted and the service was a little slow. The oysters were great. The ceviche had no real flavor and they sold out of the whole fish. All in all we probably wouldn't return.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 22, 2020

Aloha Wend, We are very sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience that we could have provided for you. We do appreciate any feedback as it helps us get better. Our new menu has only been out for a week so it is very helpful. We do hope you give us another try. If you enjoyed the oysters, we do half priced oyster everyday for happy hour from 2-6pm. Mahalo again for your review!

Report
AD
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Came here for a birthday. The open air seating was really nice. Food was good, and came out in a timely manner. They were out of several things we tried to order which was a little bit disappointing. Service was slow but to be expected on the island. Overall a great experience and would eat here again

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 23, 2020

Aloha Aja, Thank you very much for taking time to review us! We do apologize for being out of a couple things. We've recently been getting busier and are trying to find the balance of always having fresh product for the demand. Please do let us know when you are in again, we do love to make new friends. Mahalo!

Report
d
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience3

Chili pepper water needs some work! Only tasted like water. Other than that food was excellent!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 22, 2020

Aloha Daniel, Thank you for your review! We will revisit our Chili Pepper water and make sure we did not send out a botched recipe. We hope to see you soon! Mahalo

Report
OT
Hawaii
3 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Food was okay but not worth the price. Service was great. They ran out of all beer and our reservations was at 630 on a saturday

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 22, 2020

Aloha, Thank you for taking time to review us! We do apologize for the lack of beers, we had a very busy Friday. But at least you know we do not serve beer that sits on the shelves for too long! We do hope you can visit us soon!

Report
DR
1 review
Dined on January 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

good happy hour, excellent well priced oysters. i ordered the scallops and they were excellent!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 15, 2020

Mahalo for your review, Davin! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
MK
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on January 9, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Yummy fresh and good.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 11, 2020

Aloha Mary, Thank you for your kind review! We do hope to see you soon!

Report
NN
Hawaii
12 reviews
Dined on January 3, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience2

We had a horrible experience. My steak was inedible with all the grizzle and fat. My friends fish dish was served with 3 of the clams that were not even opened. I would not recommend this restaurant.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 8, 2020

Aloha Nancy, We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We always welcome feedback and will take yours to heart. We are in the process of changing our menu and hope that you will give us another try. Thank you again and have a lovely day!

Report
G
Hawaii
5 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

New a years eve -we had the prix fixe meal. Appetizer wasn’t good at all. Fish was awesome!!!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 3, 2020

Aloha Gigi, Thanks for taking the time to review us! We are so glad you came in for New Year's Eve, it's an honor to be able to serve someone their last meal of the decade! We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the appetizer, but glad to know that you loved our fish! We'd love to have you back for dinner again soon.

Report
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food4service4ambience4

日本語の出来る店員さんがとても感じが良かった

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 3, 2020

Mahalo for your kind review!

Report
NF
Denver
13 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Service was very good. Food came out very quickly and was pretty good. Only complaint is that the potato gratin server with my fish entree was ice cold. Overall it’s a good spot and we will definitely go back.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 3, 2020

Aloha Nicholas, Thanks so much for your review! We are sorry to hear that not all of the dishes you had were up to our standard, and really appreciate the feedback and the chance to focus on ways we can improve. We are so glad you plan to come again, we can't wait to have you back!

Report
NA
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on December 30, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

美味しい料理を、リーズナブルなお値段で楽しめるお店です。外なので解放感もあります。風が強くてサラダが飛ばされました。(笑)中心地からは少し遠いですが、壁画を見るついでに訪れてはいかがですか?

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 8, 2020

どうもありがとうございました

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on December 30, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Service was good but food was ok for the price. Meal came out cold

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 3, 2020

Mahalo for taking the time to review us. We are so sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience while dining with us, and would love the opportunity to have you back so you can enjoy a meal that is up to our standard. Please feel free to reach out if you have any further feedback or would like to set up a reservation!

Report
OT
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Service was great!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 8, 2020

Aloha and thank you for taking time to review us! We are in the process of changing over our menu in the next few weeks. We do hope you can give us another try then. We always appreciate feedback!

Report
AA
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on December 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What an amazing place. From the hostess to our server to the food the entire experience was absolutely amazing. We asked the waitress several questions about the menu and she was very knowledgeable and gave great suggestions. Every single thing we ordered was so fresh and absolutely delicious. I went with a group of friends and together we had fresh oyster, crab cakes, salmon, scallops and Thai shrimp and every single thing was cooked and seasoned to perfection. The decor was beautiful and it was so nice to not be packed in like sardines like some restaurants in that area. I lived on the mainland before where you could get fresh oysters but honestly this restaurant had THE freshest oysters I have EVER had. Cannot wait to go back.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on January 1, 2020

Aloha Arlene, Thank you so very much for your kind review! We are so happy you had a wonderful time with us! Please do visit us again and make sure to introduce yourselves, we love making friends! Mahalo and have a safe and happy new year!

Report
OT
Hawaii
3 reviews
Dined on December 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent as always!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on December 29, 2019

Mahalo for your kind review!

Report
OT
Hawaii
9 reviews
Dined on December 27, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Excellent food. Smaller sized portions. Great server. Overall good experience

P
Calgary
8 reviews
Dined on December 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good food overall. Kid pasta was a little disappointing. Kids meal should come with small drink? More selection on happy hour would be good. Perhaps some seaweed salad with the fried oysters. Use larger, meatier oysters for fried ones.

LJ
1 review
Dined on December 19, 2019
Overall1food1service4ambience3

Food was not great; and for a place called Fish, they only Fish they had was Marlin.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on December 24, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for taking time to review us. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience. We are currently in the process of changing some of our item menus and would love for you to come back once in place to give us some feedback. Otherwise, thank you again and have a Happy Holiday!

Report
d
Hawaii
13 reviews
Dined on December 4, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I'd been wanting to try this place for a while, and finally had a chance to have lunch there. After asking for suggestions from the items that appealed to us, our waiter, Matthew, steered us to the newly revised lobster roll duo on brioche, and told us why he liked it better than the previous version. Sold! One of us had it with fries, one with the house salad. BOTH were great, and the lobster rolls were amazing. Another must-try is the house cocktail made with vodka, lychee, citrus and elderflower. And ask for Matthew. He aims to please, and does.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on December 7, 2019

Aloha deej, Thank you so much for your kind review! Yes Mattieu is pretty fantastic and he really does try to give each one of his guests a catered experience. Please do visit us again and make sure to introduce yourselves, we love making new friends! Mahalo

Report
F
New England
8 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Our server was excellent and kept us updated on our when our meals would arrive
Scallops and the bread pudding were exceptional

FISH Honolulu
Responded on November 25, 2019

Aloha Freddie, So happy you enjoyed your experience! And thank you so much for taking time to review us. I am currently obsessed with our Bread Pudding! I love that it's super flavorful but not too heavy. We look forward to your next visit! Mahalo

Report
PH
Phoenix
9 reviews
Dined on November 16, 2019
Overall4food3service5ambience4

For the most part the food was good. I had the Uni Risotto which I enjoyed. We also had the cioppino which the sauce was too thick and the special crab legs which was good but not great. Our side order of Brussel Sprouts was not cooked long enough and even when we had it cooked more it was still tough on the inside. We ordered their Ube Bread Pudding which was very good.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on November 20, 2019

Thank you for taking time to review us! Very happy that you enjoyed the Uni Risotto! It is one of our new Chef's signature dishes. And thank you for the feedback on the sprouts, we will look into it. We look forward to your next visit! Mahalo

Report
ES
Hawaii
4 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always excellent, tasty and savory food!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on November 14, 2019

Aloha Erika, So happy you enjoyed your experience! And thank you so much for taking time to review us. We look forward to your next visit! Mahalo

Report
OT
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Stopped in to try the lobster roll-it was just delicious. Staff was attentive and friendly. Restaurant was open air with nice fans and comfortable even in the midday heat. Parking is easy on the street or in the structure (restaurant partially validates). Will be back! Mahalo and aloha

FISH Honolulu
Responded on November 15, 2019

Mahalo for your kind review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report
TL
Hawaii
38 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Quincy was a rock star! Very accommodating and a great bartender and server! Hostess was very kind and friendly!
Will definitely return to their Happy hour one day as well as Pau Hana on Fridays.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on November 10, 2019

Thank you so much for your review! Quincy is a rock star! Yes please do come back to visit us soon! Mahalo

Report
HD
Hawaii
70 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great food. Server, Michael, was very good. Enjoyed the ahi and lobster sandwiches. A new favorite for casual and tasty eats.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on November 11, 2019

Aloha, So happy you enjoyed your experience with us! We look forward to your next visit and thank you so much for taking time to review us! Mahalo

Report
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on November 1, 2019
Overall3food2service2ambience3

Cooking is slow.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on November 3, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We will make sure to work on our timing!

Report
JB
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Slow service even thought it wasn’t busy. Oyster shooters were bad, sour and bitter tasting (the waiter said it was the special lilikoi cider, but it just tasted bad). Took us an hour half to get our appetizers, so we didn’t order entrees and just left.

CI
Hawaii
5 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and service excellent. Highly recommended and we'll e back very soon!

L
Hawaii
25 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2019
Overall5food5service3ambience4

We very much enjoyed our experience at FISH Honolulu. They seemed understaffed today but the server was friendly and hustled to get our order in and out. The food was absolutely delicious... everyone in our party enjoyed their meal.

FISH Honolulu
Responded on October 16, 2019

Aloha Lisa, We appreciate your review and are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us! Mahalo

Report
A
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waiter was awesome I can’t remember her name :( but she was kinda brunette or blonde with highlights she was super nice and was probably one of the best waiters I’ve ever had thank you!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on October 16, 2019

Aloha Audissey, Thank you so much for your review! I also agree, Quincy is very good at her job! We hope to see you again! Mahalo

Report
OT
Tokyo
9 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall3food4service4ambience3

お店全部がテラス席のように外です。
屋根もちろんあります。
美味しいお魚料理でした。
ハッピーアワーに行くとお得です

Report
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Food was great and service good. Likes the cool breeze and blue lights. It was my birthday so ice cream dessert from Butterfly was free. All our left over boxes were labeled and they included utensils, extra sauces. Loved the extra service and will go again the next chance I get.

MC
Hawaii
4 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

First the bad or rather the mediocre: ordered a standard margarita, the house tequila was good but the brand of mix used could be better as it left a weird aftertaste in my mouth. I should have ordered my tried and true straight up Marino to do a better restaurant evaluation. The three of us had the cioppino as an entree. My buddies thought it was good but I like mine more brothy than stew like; however the flavor was nice and very edible with the two slices of Italian bread and half a slipper lobster, many mussels and clams along with a few bites of white fish. Great value at $29. The best part was that we unexpectedly made heaps hour and the raw oysters were 50% off! Winner! We ordered two dozen. There were four varieties of oysters so our waiter suggested six of each. It was the right suggestion. To say we ENJOYED the oysters is an understatement! It was my girlfriend’s 50th birthday and we got a scoop of Butterfly ice cream. The calamari was good. As was the crab cakes. Definitely will go back!

FISH Honolulu
Responded on October 9, 2019

Aloha, Thank you so much for the your review! I do agree the Cioppino is a tasty dish! Keep in mind we do Happy Hour every day from 4-6pm. And if you are a fan of oysters, we hold an Oyster Fest at the end of the month. If you follow us on facebook or instagram, you will see the specifics closer to the date. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report
AD
Hawaii
4 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food great service