Fia

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
37 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Coming Soon!
What 37 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

While the restaurant was very cute and had a great ambiance, out of the handful of drinks and food we ordered, four came back as no longer available. Unfortunately this was also not explained to us prior to ordering, nor did our server review the menu with us. We also ordered a bottle of brut rose but had to wait about 30min before our server brought an ice bucket.

L
New York Area
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Gorgeous setting. Outdoor patio space is beautiful and comfortable. Went on the first Sunday that they were open for brunch. Ordered the Cheesy Scramble with truffles on challah toast, shakshuka, steak & eggs and a croissant. All were delicious but the star was the Cheesy Scramble with truffles. Loved that the bread was challah bread! Also had a spritzer from the bar and it was lovely and refreshing. Want to try dinner here soon! 10/10 would come again and will be recommending this to friends!

c
Los Angeles
14 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Great experience with yummy nibbles

CJ
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

The hosts at the entrance were all very attentive. Same can be said for the restaurant staff. Service was superb. The food was meh. We ordered macarons with a liver paté. It seemed intriguing. Pass on this. The macaron was good. But the filling was a green, gelatenous mess. It was not at all appealing in the mouth. The pasta course was ok. I ordered the rabbit. The filling was tasty but the pasta was chewy. I had the rack of lamb for the main entree. It needed seasoning, the sauce was not very helpful to elevate the it. Funny enough, the raw oysters was the best thing I had on the menu.

Probably not coming back.

SF
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

What a nice place to dine. They were incredibly packed, but they made an exception for us to move our dinner back a bit, as well as give us outdoor seating after I forgot to request it. For this, they get five stars in my book. Food was incredible, drinks were perfect and ambiance was fantastic. Only nick on them would be service, which was a bit slow (but where isn't it in California now that restaurants can't afford to hire help!).

RR
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

Unfortunately, was not a big fan. Some dishes were really good, others mediocre. Service was really friendly, although dishes were brought to the table when we were still eating the previous dish ... and oddly the server would move our plates around to fit the next dish on the table rather that either waiting for us to finish or asking if we wanted the dish now or wait (we would have requested to wait vs. having a table cramped) And, one of our dishes was apparently served incorrectly. Without our request, our server said the dish was not prepared properly and proceeded to take a fork and knife and creating his own style of how it was to be presented. By time he was done, it looked like a mess of food on plate. My wife and I were laughing afterwards on how strange that was. The other issue my wife and I had was the music was so unfitting. Not to knock Gangster Rap ... but please don't play it loud when I am trying to enjoy a romantic dinner with my wife.

WC
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This place is amazing! We got the hamachi crudo with leche de tigre, prosciutto and burrata with peaches, lobster bolognese, beans and salmon. It was ALL delicious. Great atmosphere too. Be sure to request outdoor seating.

CE
Hawaii
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 1

A very disappointing first time to Fia. The chairs are uncomfortable. There was a group of 12 women in the center of the room who were ridiculously noisy. My friend and I couldn't have a conversation. My friend's Black Cod was good, but my blue shrimp dish was truly disappointing. The shrimp was served on a stick in which I had to cut around to get the shrimp off to eat it. The shrimp was also overcooked and very dry.

KB
Los Angeles
6 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Great ambience, good food, service needs a little work.

p
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

I took my grown kids and nephew there for a birthday dinner and we arrived at 7:30 and not seated until 8:40 . And this was with a reservation.
Then we had to wait another entire hour to get any food and when it finally arrived only two entrees was good. The cod was flavorless as were the brussel sprouts. My daughters lasagna was half eaten as well. I left the restaurant with an entremely bad taste in my mouth. The staff were rude, dismissive and aggressive with us. The manager was brought in and when I tried to explain how disappointing the food was he deflecting and never once apologized for keeping us waiting and then being given food that was bland and flavorless. Look, I know new restaurants have good nights and bad nights, It happens, but when you are having an off night ,apologize! Buy a drink or someone, anything ....but to be treated so badly with no apology is entirely unacceptable. I am a 62 year old woman who knows fine reataurants and I must say ,from the hosetss all the way to the manager I was mortified at their manners and bad behaviour.Not to mention the food. I will never go back.

Fia
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Pamela, We apologize regarding your experience here at Fia but you failed to mention one of your guests told our hostess to "buss that sh**" when we were getting the table ready for you. We offered to seat you inside right away but you chose to wait for an outdoor table. Additionally, we took your Brussel sprouts and cod off your bill despite your entire party consuming the cod completely. We treat our guests with the utmost respect and expect the same despite. Thank you.

Report
VG
Los Angeles
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious food with exceptional service. Can't wait to return!

JP
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

First of all, if you make a reservation for this clearly OUTDOOR restaurant on OpenTable, for some reason you are "required" to note that you want to sit outside -- otherwise the fairly stern hostess that you ask about sitting outside when there are tables available there will tell you that you didn't specifically request it on OpenTable and will proceed to seat you in the kind of small, pretty loud inside dining room on the uncomfortable chairs.

Not a great start...

The food was good to very good but somewhat all over the place. The service is average to good, clearly they are still getting the kinks worked out with who does what, who knows what, and who can say what.

I had high hopes given those involved but they were not met. You'd think the pedigree of the owners/operators would have avoided some of the early growing pains, but I guess it happens everywhere.

Fia
Responded on September 9, 2019

Hello Jordan, We accept seating requests but due to the high demand of our patio/garden, they are never guaranteed. We sincerely apologize for the loud room and will work to make adjustments to the volume in that area. Additionally, we are in the process of acquiring new chairs that are more comfortable for our guests so we definitely appreciate the feedback as this is the only way we can improve and refine our craft.

Report
KB
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 5ambience 3

My partner and I visited from Vancouver ( originally from New Zealand), it was a surprise anniversary dinner and we were both throughly looking forward to eating here; We had the salmon throughout our dining experience we were not once checked on, our plates were not cleared between courses, water was not topped up, and we were never offered a drinks menu. Unfortunately I believed we were misrepresented by our accent to be “ non tippers” ( which is not the case as we are both servers in Canada). It makes me so upset to even write this review as I cannot fault the food, everything was beautifully balanced, fresh and delicious. The hostess was fantastic and friendly, our Busters/service assistant was great. Just a tremendous let down with our server; it was very obvious we weren’t important and worth serving on. All and all Beautiful food and beautiful atmosphere.

LC
Los Angeles
3 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was so delicious. Presentation was beautiful and the atmosphere was charming! Loved all of it!

OT
Los Angeles
8 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

I think the place is still a work-in-progress. We had 7 different waiters (or "servers"? given that their specialty or duty varied), which made it a bit difficult to coordinate at times, for example, who should we tell which wine we want? Will he report it to the right person? Apparently he did, but then why did it take so long to get the wine? (the wine should come with or before the first dishes arrive). And when the wine came, it was being moved around (in a circular way) in an ice bucket for a while (or actually I said "that's ok, it doesn't have to be too cold.") Don't get me wrong, all the waiters were polite and apparently doing what they were supposed to do. We had to ask for extra spoons twice (this is a universal problems in most restaurants in L.A.) in order to distribute the food (we were "sharing" which is one of the ways to interpret the cryptic "tapa" style menu). Some of the food was very good. Some was ok. For example, the cauliflower and the beans were a bit undercooked. The wine we chose (Falanghina) was very good.

AG
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing time at FIA! The food was incredible, wine was even better and we loved the outdoor garden

W
Los Angeles
12 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We were sad to see The Wilshire go until we visited Fia and were very pleased. The interior of the restaurant has been upgraded and is brighter and more welcoming. The garden area has also been upgraded and has a warm and inviting vibe. The entire staff was fantastic from the moment we walked in, were seated, and served. Everyone seemed to be very happy and proud to show off the new restaurant. Our server, Brandon, was fantastic, attentive, friendly and knowledgeable.

Now for the food. Everything we had was incredible. We started with Big Eye Tuna Crudo so tender in a flavorful broth, then Peach and Burrata Salad - the peaches were perfectly ripe, Figs with fresh Ricotta and Polenta Toast - outstanding, Cavatelli with Black Truffles - delicious and my favorite, and finally Lobster Bolognese, also utterly delicious. I forgot to mention the Gigante Butter Beans - I could make a meal of the beans with a salad and be perfectly happy.

I'm going to be returning on the 11th and can't wait.

HK
Los Angeles
10 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Good food, well prepared in a lovely summertime patio. Staff was well versed on the different menu items.
Price is on the high side esprcially the wine. Had a good time. Our host treated us to a small glass of good
champagne to celebrate our anniversary. A nice touch that we appreciated.

MS
Los Angeles
32 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We went early to avoid the rush of a "hot" new place. Had a drink and delicious appetizer in the bar - the staff was amazingly knowledgeable and pleasant.
Then headed to the charming patio for a delicious dinner - wonderful, interesting and creative food. And again outstanding service.
We loved everything about Fia!

KR
1 review
Dined on September 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This new spot is a must-check out for locals and visitors to Santa Monica alike. Great ambiance, excellent customer service and delicious food!

AH
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on September 3, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We arrived early, asked for an inside table, though the garden was very inviting. We were seated at one of the two comfortable booths. We ordered plates to share and were pleased with everything; especially the peaches with burrata and prosciutto, and the rabbit rage tortellini. We also shared the very refreshing lemon meringue for dessert. The only misstep was the lovely green salad drowned in too much dressing. The service was excellent. Everyone seemed well trained, attentive and friendly. Our waiter explained the menu well and knew a lot about the wines. Fia is very near our home so eating there might become a habit!

EK
Las Vegas
10 reviews
Dined on September 3, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Interesting menu. Great knowledge about the menu from our server Kyle. We will be back soon.

MM
New York Area
23 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

Innovative and delicious food, excellent wine list in a beautifully decorated venue. Outdoor seating available. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Valet parking.

TM
Central Coast
5 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

The things Fia gets right: the ambiance, courtyard, and service.

I really want Fia to succeed. Its space is lovely and is an escape from the city in the middle of the city. The service was attentive, responsive and kind. It's a wonderful setting in which to enjoy drinks and dinner.

The not so great: the food.

We started with a 'nibble' of Calabrain chili tuna on crispy risotto. It was a bit monochromatic and bland in taste. Not bad but not notable or delicious.

Then we had the peach and burrata salad which inexplicably was situated on top of half a waffle. Which would have been fine if it been a savory waffle but it was not; it was sweet and more suited to dessert.

The two pastas we ordered--capellini lobster bolognese and bucatini pomodoro-- were really good.

We had two veggies; the grilled corn and charred charred cauliflower. The three half ears of corn were sprinkled with black truffles, hence the $23 price tag. They were served in a shallow dish of butter and marscapone and it was impossible to eat them without becoming covered in melted butter. I tried to wipe off the handles on the corn but ended up with grease all over my hands and in need of more napkins. The charred cauliflower was not charred. Its was slightly roasted, underdone, in large chunks and pretty flavorless.

I walked away feeling like the dishes were designed so that line cooks could quickly assemble them and get them out to tables. There appeared to be little care or attention put into seasoning the food or the composition of the dishes. There was no deliciousness or love in the food.

I know Fia just opened and is going to be experiencing growing pains for awhile. I hope they get their act together where the food is concerned. I'll definitely give it one more try...

AB
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Kim our server was very attentive and added immense fun to our experience. The food is really quite good, maybe just just shy of Michelin star. But the restaurant needs to be tried over and over again to get all of the dishes sampled, but based on my first visit, it is great. We had the Jonah Crab ( delish!), salad with fennel dressing ( tangy, something exotic, maybe curry?), house made cavatelli with black truffle ( personally I did not want to share that with my dining partner, it was so good), the vegan lasagna ( strictly for my daughter,, I sampled it, tasted like lasagna..), the butter beans and rapini, very tasty and maybe should not have ordered as we were getting a little full, and the salmon belly with the smoked mushroom broth ( this was one I kept an eye that the server poured the whole mini tureen in, because that broth is so good, I was going to make them leave that tureen at the table.) Great experience, ask for a table by the outdoor bar, it's almost like you're not in the city at all! Reminded me of a mini Inn of the 7th Ray experience.

KA
Los Angeles
3 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Can't wait to come back! A true hidden gem. Thank you Fia for an amazing evening.

DF
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 4

Beautiful restaurant but poor service. The waiter placed our drink and appetizer order, which were great. However we didn't see him for a while after that. He eventually came over and asked for our dinner order, which we provided. 20mins went by, no food. He came by and asked how things were going, and it was obvious he forgot to place our order. After almost two hours there, I told him that we'd take the check and come back another time. It was after 10p unfortunately. He apologized of course and said he was stressed bc an LA times writer showed up. I do still plan on coming back because the menu looked great and the appetizer (burrata) was so good. Just disappointed on the service and that we were clearly overlooked.

RK
1 review
Dined on August 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Only thing I could possibly complain about is that the chairs outside weren’t very comfortable. Best thing I had was the lobster pasta dish.

MD
Los Angeles
7 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

The service was excellent and the food was great! We also really enjoyed the outdoor patio.

S
Los Angeles
279 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent meal in the previous Wilshire space. Gracious service by a huge attentive staff. The outdoor garden area is special.

OT
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This place is sensational! We loved everything about it. The hostess welcome, the design and layout (tables had room), the waiters, the manager....and....the food! It was all outstanding! We’ll be back for sure.

FP
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 2

Food was fantastic and the service was good. Some of our food came late and after we complained their excuse was kind of weird, but they were kind enough to provide us with an extra dessert for our troubles.

The music they played (extremely loud Vegas club music from 5 years ago) was super distracting and took away from the enjoyable ambiance.

LJ
Los Angeles
11 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything was great, although the chairs are uncomfortable

OT
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The new look is great!! ...such a different vibe.
The service was very good for their first week out of the blocks. The peaches and burrata were delicious. The truffle cavatelli was great. The brussel sprouts were a little undercooked and not as much flavor as we would have liked. Very good first impression. We’ll definitely go back again soon!

A
Los Angeles
12 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Requested a patio table and was told by phone one hour before reservation time it was ok.
Got there and we were seated inside. They graciously re seated us outside.
A lot of staff but it took too long to take drink order. Finally we ordered cocktails which took 10 minutes to get. The waitress was very helpful with deciding what to order.
The first 2 courses came way before drinks were served. We then realized we had no silverware which took 5-10 minutes to receive.
Ordered the bursts with peaches which came with a soggy waffle. The rest of the food was average at best. In all fairness We were there on only there 3rd night. Staff needs a lot more training.

OT
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome experience all around! Food is incredible and the patio is so secluded you don’t even know you’re in LA.

i
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on August 19, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

Fia did not disappoint! I made a reservation for opening night and it was absolutely delicious. The ambiance was beautiful and the servers were very knowledgeable of every item on the menu. The cocktails were tasty and every dish kept getting better and better. I highly recommend it!