Farmers Fishers Bakers

4.3
7892 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Farmers Fishers Bakers is majority owned by the more than 40,000 family farmers of the NDFU. Offering a full bar with 24 beer taps, delicious hand crafted tiki cocktails, sushi, pizza, fresh fish, tacos, and a sunny patio with water views. Weekend brunch is BUFFET style, with a wide array of breakfast, lunch, salad, entree, and dessert options. We're proud to cook food from scratch with ingredients you can trust. The restaurant is upscale casual, which welcomes business casual dress, and dress that would be appropriate in a nice restaurant; this includes jeans and athletic wear, and warm-weather clothing, including shorts.
What 7892 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined 17 hours ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food excellent service, overall a great experience

Report
Helpful
NB
New York Area
30 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Overall great experience. Nice view, great service and good food.

Report
Helpful
LM
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 5

Service was great. Mussels were very underwhelming - perhaps not the freshest and poorly cooked.

Report
Helpful
n
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 4

The food was amazing and so was our server. However, the overall service was pretty terrible. We didn’t receive our drinks until right before the entrees came out 45 minutes after we ordered. We came on the later end for lunch (2pm) so the restaurant wasn’t busy at all.

Report
Helpful
OT
San Diego
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 2

Terrible service! The server gave us attitude

Report
Helpful
J
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Asked for outdoor seating and didn’t get it. Very loud. Some of our party ordered a pizza and requested for half cheese and half pepperoni. The waiter said it couldn’t be done! Small portions. Water wasn’t cold and no ice. Mediocre tasting food. We love founding farmers but were so very disappointed with this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Food and service were excellent.

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 2

Service was horrible! It took 15 minutes for the server to freest the table. And another 20 for our drinks to arrive. If you want an enjoyable time then don’t come here.

Report
Helpful
HD
Washington DC
33 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Food was excellent as usual but a little loud for trying to have a conversation with the whole party. Once the lunch hour rush was over it became a lot easier to talk. With that said I like coming here and will be back again and again as it is a great place.

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 4

I have been a customer for a long time, but this place is not where I used to go!! Not recommend it anymore!!!! Everything has changed except the name of dishes and the price!!! I would say it is a crime to sell something for a while and change it completely, reduce the amount, and sell it for the same price!!!!!

Report
Helpful
JS
Los Angeles
5 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 2

While we were not in a hurry to eat, once we ordered our food, the service was very minimal. After receiving our meals, the server never returned to see if everything was OK. We needed something, so eventually we stopped another server who happened to be passing by. When we stopped her, she rolled her eyes and seemed to be annoyed that we stopped her. Clearly she didn’t want to help us, so we asked for her to send our server over to the table. Our server eventually arrived and then it took another five minutes just to bring back a condiment.
We were there at 4PM and it was not busy.
We were very disappointed in the service.

Report
Helpful
J
Washington DC
10 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

We waited almost an hour for our food and our server was unapologetic. I’m not one to complain, but we were just getting a quick bite and it should not have taken nearly as long as it did. All we ordered were tacos and a salad. The icing on the cake was that the table next to us, a party of six, sat down after us and they got an order of sliders long before we got our food.

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded 3 days ago

Jfm3691, I am so so sorry for the long wait you had for the food you ordered this time. I understand your disappointment and feel badly that your planned "quick bite" turned into an hour+ experience. :( That said, I would love to touch base and will send you a PM. -Amy

Report
Helpful
f
Washington DC
26 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

Server was excellent. My crab cake sandwich had little taste and engulfed by a bun vastly larger than the crab cake itself. Wife said her chicken and spinach was good. Overall nice setting on waterfront and service good. Food just ok and not sure restaurant warrants another visit taking into account Georgetown traffic and parking

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded a day ago

Thank you very much for your review! Our Culinary Team read your feedback and will look into improving the overall preparation of our Crab Cake Sandwich. We really appreciate that you let us know these details. We hope to have you back for another try and please call us at 202-298-8783 for any future reservation help you & your wife may need. -Amy

Report
Helpful
SL
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 5

A lot of the servers were dropping plates and cups and it was a mess. The fried chicken and blackened catfish were way too salty.

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded a day ago

I am super sorry, Samuel to read that your experience with us was considered a mess and the chicken & catfish were both too salty for true enjoyment. :( This is an understandable let down, and our team will apply what you shared towards ensuring our service is consistently clean & organized, as well as us not overly seasoning our Fried Chicken & Blackened Catfish. -Amy

Report
Helpful
ML
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 2

This review was for graduation weekend, so I don't know if our experience was an anomaly. We arrived on time for our 1:15 reservation, to be told that we'd be alerted when our table was ready. There was nowhere to sit, and only a cramped area by the revolving door to wait to have your name called. 10 minutes go by, 15, 20, 25...when our names were finally called almost a half hour after our reservation. By the time we sat down, the restaurant was in sad shape. The floors were filthy. People were jammed into the aisles so that you could barely move from your table to the buffet. Our bread plate came after we'd already eaten. It was a haphazard mess. The food was good, so I might give it a second chance, but if the experience were the same, I'd never go back.

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded a day ago

Oh no! I am so so sorry, MLWdc that your experience with us failed to make the grade by all counts. We know that service & atmosphere play a HUGE part in the overall enjoyment of your time with us, and our team feels badly that we fell short in these areas during your visit. That said, we hope to have you back for another try and I will send you a PM with my email address to keep connected. -Amy

Report
Helpful
VS
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

The biggest challenge I've experienced at this restaurant has been making reservations and having that reserved table ready even close to on time. Most recent experience here was 25 minutes late and there were clearly available tables just sitting while folks were waiting for their tables. Similar challenge at Founding Farmers in DC.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A great time! Will return for sure!

Report
Helpful
BS
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 1

Very disappointed in all respects except our server was pleasant.

Report
Helpful
NM
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

It was a great time. I proposed to my girlfriend...now fiancé 🎊 The only thing I would say is that the food was pretty salty in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
MW
Miami
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 4

Service was very slow...made a reservation for 2pm got seated at 2:20 and didn’t finish the meal until about 4pm due to slow service and food wait time. Salad was good but the Tuna Salad Sandwich was terrible. Ended up sending it back and got a pizza which was pretty basic and took another 35 mins to get. Sat outside which was nice and the server was nice, just think he had too many tables maybe. I’d come back but try something different or maybe just drinks and apps.

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded 3 days ago

I am so sorry, Maranda to read that our service was slow and your initial meal- our Tuna Salad Sandwich was far from enjoyable. :( We appreciate you letting us know these details and really do hope to have you back for another try! That said, I will send you a PM with my contact info to stay in touch. -Amy

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 3

Food was good and staff was nice, but this restaurant was extremely disorganized and slow to the point that I would hesitate to eat there again. It took ages to get seated, our drink orders were forgotten, and nobody seemed to know who our waiter was. I’ve had much better experiences at the other ‘farmers’ locations in DC.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

I’ve dined several times at farmers venues. This is the first time in which staff seemed to only work their tables while in the past when you needed lemons or sauce there seems to be anyone that was quickly able to help. But the overall experience is still good.

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 2

I’ve been going here for years and have loved the food but I learned last night that they no longer put pork in their jambalaya and they no longer serve beignets for dessert. It was a terribly disappointing evening. The service is never very good and you have to wait for a table even with a reservation but I was willing to put up with that in the past for the good food.

Report
Helpful
AC
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 4

Food was fine but nothing spectacular, service was absolutely awful. We usually love coming here but this experience probably scares us off for awhile.

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded 3 days ago

Bummer. I am super sorry, Alexis to read that this experience was only worthy of 2-Stars. :( I would love to know more about what happened with the service and will send you a PM with my contact info to continue this conversation. -Amy

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 4

Service was extremely slow. Food was excellent, as always.

Report
Helpful
m
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 2

It was just the wrong day. Graduation weekend, etc. I had a lovely lunch of blackened catfish the week before and will certainly return, just at a quieter time!

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you, margaretl for your review! I am so sorry the restaurant was overly boisterous during your visit this past weekend, and YES- please come back for another try. Also, give our team a call at 202-298-8783 before you plan to return as we can help find a date & time that will be less busy and much quieter. -Amy

Report
Helpful
L
Philadelphia
12 reviews
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 3

8pm reservation. Table wasn’t ready when we arrived. Seated at 8:30. Service was extremely slow. Had to ask multiple times for drink order that was placed and didn’t arrive at the table. Food was good but overall experience was diminished by issues with service!

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded 3 days ago

Lilylou2, I am so so sorry to read that there was a 30 min delay with your reservation and that overall, our service failed to deliver during your time with us. :( This is an understandable disappointment and I would love the chance to touch base by email. I will send you a PM to hopefully connect. -Amy

Report
Helpful
JG
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 3

While the food here was great, the place is clearly understaffed. Extremely long wait times for drinks, food, and check. The waitress was kind, however, clearly had too many tables at once. I probably will not return as the slow service was simply unjustifiable.

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you, Joseph for sharing your review with us. I am very sorry that service missed the mark and you encountered long wait times for drinks, food & your check. :/ Please know, our Management Team reads all reviews and will apply what you shared towards making improvements to the overall timeliness & attentiveness of our service. -Amy

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 4

Graduation

Report
Helpful
H
Columbus
11 reviews
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

The food was fresh and delicious. They accommodated our vegan appetite! Our server was very sweet, but seemed a step slower and the other servers waiting on tables around us All in all, a great experience

Report
Helpful
MB
Baltimore
6 reviews
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had so much fun with my sister and bestie there before opera at Kennedy center. We were 15 minutes late due to dc traffic but that wasn’t an issue with them at all which was kind of them because we were freaking out. Anyways, highly recommend getting the big zombie bowl to split with fun long straws. The black and purple kale salad was dynamite as are their homemade donuts. Ashley was a blast to talk to and took really great care of us especially knowing we were on a time crunch. Thank you to all and we will definitely be back very soon. In fact, we can’t wait!

Report
Helpful
RB
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 2

We were seated promptly. Food was delivered by a non-waiter and was just dropped on the table. French fries were cold and had to be re-ordered. Remainder of the food was good but the portions were on the small side. Restaurant was very loud so everyone there had to yell to be heard. For the money this was not a great dining experience...

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded on May 18, 2019

I am very sorry, Rosemary to read about the disappointments you encountered with the value of the food and volume of the restaurant. Our team reads all reviews to know exactly what we can work on for improving the overall quality experience we aim for, and your feedback hits right on the nose. Thank you for letting us know and we will look into applying your review to bettering these areas. -Amy

Report
Helpful
DC
Washington DC
26 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Food was good but not the best I've had in the city. Will I return? Likely! Will it be my first choice? No.

The service is really nice so that's always a plus!!

Report
Helpful
M
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

The service was really slow, given that it was mother's day, the waitress still never cleaned off the table, never refilled drinks unless we hailed someone, and took 15 minutes to bring a can of coke after already bringing out one of their drinks made from scratch.

The breadsticks seemed like reheated frozen breadsticks, not that good. The wings were OK. They were out of stock in the sauce we ordered for our mussels but again the waitress didn't let us know until 15 minutes later and even said they've been out of it for 2 weeks.

It wasn't a very bad experience but it wasn't good either. I'd skip this place and don't see myself ever going back.

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded on May 15, 2019

Mohawa, thank you for sharing your review with us. I am so sorry to read that service was inattentive & slow paced, and that nothing about your visit was considered good. :( This is an understandable let down and I feel badly for the many disappointments with your visit. That said, we do hope to have you back for another try and I will send you a PM to stay in touch. -Amy

Report
Helpful
SH
Mississippi
8 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Loved it! Had a great time. Started out having a drink at the bar before we were seated. The drinks are so interesting. So many unusual choices. The meal was excellent.

It was a fun atmosphere and the service was outstanding. Totally recommend!

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded on May 15, 2019

AWESOME! Thank you so much and we hope to have you back for another try soon. :) -Amy

Report
Helpful
LT
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

My family and I had an excellent time there. My daughter just you guys served pancakes.

Report
Helpful
M
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great brunch venue for the entire family. Something on the menu for everyone. Service quick and efficient. Our server was great didn't overly hoover knew the right moments to check in on us.

Report
Helpful
g
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 3

brunch here is always fun. wish we could stay all day so we could eat more!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The vegetarian in me and the carnivore in my

Report
Helpful
JL
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 4

I was visiting from out of town and previously had a wonderful experience at FFB. Unfortunately, my recent visit started with being seated 25 minutes after reservation and then being offered complementary appetizers that later were charged on our bill. Additionally, the food was mediocre at best.

Farmers Fishers Bakers
Responded on May 15, 2019

Oh no! Jay, I am super sorry for the oversight of the charge for the complimentary appetizers and would love to have this corrected. That said, I will send you a PM with my contact info. -Amy

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
198

Tweets by Farmers Fishers Bakers