Fable - SF
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers
Come celebrate the New Year with Fable Restaurant! We'll have a four-course prix fixe dinner with a complimentary glass of champagne. To see the New Year's Eve menu go to fablesf.com. New Year's Eve dinner will be $125 per person, excludes tax and automatic gratuity.
The outdoor patio was lovely and vegan lasagna scrumptious.
Beautiful outdoor seating with trickling water and gorgeous plants. Food service was very fast even though there were lots of people.
Very crowded outdoor dining area in the garden. They added way too many tables to make money during covid. The garden used to be much nicer and quieter. Each reservation only gives you one hour including the time it takes to order and cook and pay. Service was okay not great. There were eggshells in the Benedict and they didn’t offer to do anything about it.
While you came at our busiest time (weekend brunch), we'll assure you all tables are spaced apart 6+ ft, we have taken tables out, and are following COVID regulations. To meet demand for outdoor dining with these restrictions we limit guests' time at their table to accommodate other reservations. We apologize if there was an issue with your food, but know that we will always make it right. We invite you to come back on a weekday for lunch, happy hour or dinner for a quieter dining atmosphere.
We were sat at a lovely location on the patio. Server was OK- forgot to bring my coffee and something was not included on my friends order. Both were quickly remedied. Food was great as always
Food is good service is good only complaint they have an hour limit for every visit.. if I knew this before I wouldn’t have dined with them I wouldn’t be returning.. we didn’t even finish our drinks or food and was asked twice to leave because there’s other people waiting... how is this okay an hour is not enough to order drinks and food and finish them
We're glad that your meal and service were great! We apologize though that you felt rushed out. We'll work with our hosts and servers to address communication with guests to let them know early on that the table is needed for another reservation. We're a small restaurant trying to meet the demand for outdoor seating while following COVID restrictions around table distancing. We hope you understand and although you said you won't return we would love if you considered giving us another chance.
Excellent brunch. Felt a little rushed at the end, but I understand that they needed to clear the table for the next guests.
Great little spot and outdoor dining was nice and warm. The wine list is outstanding, and the meal, albeit heavy on meat (bacon on butter lettuce salad?) and limited, was very tasty.
It’s such an amazing outdoor space I love going here. The service is always incredible too.
This is a must try. They have mastered the outdoor dining experience.
Thank you for the glowing review! We are really happy that you enjoyed everything so much. See you again soon!
Great food. They have made the best of a bad situation by expanding seating to the storefront.
Great ambiance and delicious food. Definitely recommend for a fun night out. Also, a great place to take a date.
Excellent experience - the burrata appetizer was delicious, and the pork chop cooked to perfection. Our server was fantastic! Safe distancing outside in the garden, so everyone feels comfortable during the pandemic.
I have come on many occasions to Fable, mostly for dinner, and always loved it, and the service was always great. However, I attempted to come for brunch last Saturday with a girlfriend that didn’t know the place, and we were shocked on how rudely we were treated. First we arrived at 10:40 am for brunch, we saw the door open and came in only up to the host stand. Very rudely we were told to leave because they were not opened yet. No more explanation was given. Despite the shock on how this person named “Lore” treated us, she could have said the same in a much more inviting way, we came back 20 minutes later when they were officially open. This time we were treated very poorly by the host (I don’t remember his name). He asked us if we walk ins, when we said yes he told us we could not sit at the patio without a reservation. So I made the reservation online, then he told us we could not sit at the patio because of construction. We inside and he kept being rude. He was defensive and condescending the whole time. We ended up getting up and leaving without eating brunch. We were disbelief on the poor customer service they had. I was so disappointed, I wanted to share with my friend a place I loved and it ended up being a total fiasco due to the rude service.
Thanks for coming into Fable, we appreciate our regulars so much. Please let us apologize that you were treated rudely. We always want all of our guests to feel welcomed and respected. We'll work with our hosts on communicating and managing expectations for seating. We want to earn back your love of Fable and hope that you'll consider coming back in the future. Please send us a private message with your name and contact information so we can be in touch and see how we can make it up to you.
This is a fantastic neighborhood gem! Lunch is good, but dinner is excellent. Back patio is well done. Staff always friendly.
Love Fable. ❤️ With a great outdoor space they deliver good food, with attentive service. We are regular diners, looking forward to supporting neighborhood establishments. The Nicoise Salad is a standout, my Husband likes the French Toast for their Sunday Brunch.
Beautiful aesthetic, just be prepared for it to be busy! It is very popular and there is always lots going on.
The host gave our reservations away to someone else he actually told us that! We were 3 minutes late
Very disappointed with how he handled the situation wouldn’t up date us When we were gonna get seated
40 min later we sat down.
The host was horrible November 8th Sunday not going back
Mariah, we really apologize for this mess up with your reservation process. Though it is much appreciated when our guests are on time for their reservations, you are absolutely right in saying that our host did not handle the situation well. I know that you said that you would not come back in but we would like to invite you to give us another chance and if you can make it back in, please introduce yourself so that we can apologize in person and make it right for you.
Regular customers, we are really upset of the new rules of max . 1 hour ... we booked a table at 12:30 . The table was not ready . We waited at least 10 min . We can understand . But you asked us to leave Already at 1:30 ... that’s not acceptable
Hi Franky, we're sorry you had to wait for your table and that your time was cut short. We always want our guests to relax and enjoy themselves and it seems you weren't able to. We've had to put time limits on our tables due to COVID-19. We're a small restaurant and have had to remove some tables due to social distancing guidelines. This has put a strain on us to meet the high demand for outdoor seating. We hope you understand and can give us another chance as our regulars mean so much to us.
Loved this place! The service was a bit slow due to all the celebrations happening this weekend, so it may be best to skip this place during any major events in the Castro. Overall the food and ambiance are top notch. The patio is incredibly cute, chill and totally Instagram worthy!
Nice ambiance. Time limit on the table. We had a cake and our waiter told us after the fact that there was a cake fee.
Thanks for celebrating your special occasion with us! We do have a cake cutting fee for all of our private parties that bring their own cake. We apologize this was not communicated to you earlier, we'll make sure to in the future. The fee covers the cost of additional time required by our staff, especially on a busy weekend night. Our chef beautifully cuts, plates, and presents each piece of cake. Then our servers bring it out, clear everything, and the remainder is neatly repackaged for you.
Such a special place in San Francisco! Personable service, romantic setting and beautiful food. 5 stars!!!
Great place, great service. Support your local restaurants.
Great COVID protocols
Awesome food, ambiance and service. Very romantic.
Beautiful atmosphere, and great prompt service. And oh yeah a beautiful atmosphere!!
Fable was such a surprising find! We wanted a nice lunch to end our quick trip to San Francisco and discovered this hidden gem. The outdoor patio space is such a calming sanctuary away from the bustling street. Service was respectful and efficient in spite of the busy lunch crowd. Food was delicious and nicely presented.
Beautiful location, great food! Would definitely come again.
A wonderful place to eat!
Our server was wonderful and explained exactly what we wanted. The vegan lasagna was delicious and so was the lamb! The ambience here is some thing to recognize
Really great service and a beautiful outdoor patio setting.
What a wonderful place to eat at for any occasion. There is enough distance you can’t hear what’s going on at other tables. The food was delicious. It is such a cute location. Great spot. I highly recommend checking out this location.
Excellent service and food!!! Ambient lighting and the all plants made the mood feel extra special!
The vegan lasagna was phenomenal
It was an anniversary. We called ahead and asked for as private a table you could offer and we brought a musician to play for us and the back patio.
Service was great and people were super sweet
Playful and refreshing ambience, literally incredible food. I never knew one could pack so much flavor into a pork chop.
A little pricey but they skimp on nothing.
I’ll be coming back.
First time here, our entrees were quite delicious. Ambiance was great. Will definitely return.
Super cute outdoor location with really good food and drinks. I loved it
Great service for my birthday! Happy that they accompanied my small in a nice table!
I cannot sing enough praise about this restaurant. This was the first time I've visited the Castro and actually had the chance to dine in the area. I'd say this was an amazing first pick. It really sets the standard. The host was fabulous. She was working her ass off. (We even slipped her a $20 on the way out the door). The waitstaff was just as good. Our waiter was funny and helpful. He really was interested in our entire experience. The food was delicious. I have nothing bad to say about this place.
If you get the chance to visit, you should definitely try their daily specials. We tried all of them. The tuna was amazing as well. This would be a great choice for a more sophisticated meal.
My wife and I recently visited Fable for Saturday brunch with her son, daughter-in-law and 2 year old grandson. It was our second visit for brunch, and both meals were a success. Fable has a very pleasant outdoor area, with seating socially distanced.
We reserved on Open Table, and with a 2:15 reservation I was a little irritated to find when we arrived that the kitchen was scheduled to close at 2:30. This turned out not to be a problem at all; in fact, even though the son and his family didn't sit down until after 2:30, the kitchen stayed open for us, with no ill effects on our meals, and the fact that the restaurant was not "open" again until 5:00 meant we could stay at our table until about 4:00 without feeling like we were overstaying our welcome.
Everyone enjoyed the food. I had the burger, which came out medium rare, as ordered. The wife and daughter-in-law each enjoyed a squash omelette. Service was friendly and timely, with all staff wearing masks.
Overall, this was certainly the sort of experience that will keep Fable on our list of favorite SF brunch spots.l
You can order delivery directly from Fable - SF using the Order Online button. Fable - SF also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (415) 590-2404.
Fable - SF is rated 4.6 stars by 988 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.