Fable - SF

4.7
994 Reviews
$30 and under
Californian
Fable represents the next evolution in California cuisine. We use only the freshest ingredients and as a result our menu changes frequently with the availability of the locally grown produce that is currently in season. Fable is looking to bridge the gap between farmer and consumer by preserving the story that the ingredients in each dish tells.

Support Fable - SF during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 994 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
MH
MadisonH
1 review
Dined on January 9, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Drove 2 hours for brunch on my birthday only to show up and the place be completely closed, no note on the door or anything. Super disappointed.

G
Gilbs
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

That evening, I ordered seared ahi tuna and it was sublime and perfection. For dessert, the trio of sorbets was tart and delightful which helped as a digestive/digestif. Excelkwnt all around. Magical evening ambience.

Fable - SF
Responded on December 15, 2020

Thank you Gilbert, we really appreciate your review and kind words! We are still open for pick-up and delivery through the holiday season if you would like to enjoy a special meal at home. See you when we are open for dine-in service again.

Report
MG
MaryG
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a wonderful lunch/brunch. I'll be right back when patio seating is allowed again!!!

RG
vipRobfromGE
San Francisco
36 reviews
Dined on December 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Patio area is so peaceful and beautiful! Great service and excellent food. Nice to have this special gem in the hood!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on December 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such an amazing meal and AJ was great.

D
Drashti
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on December 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Please was really cool. It had outdoor patio sitting. each table had one heater, but still it was little chilly in SF, so you will need jacket. Food was good. Service was good too.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
10 reviews
Dined on November 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The outdoor patio was lovely and vegan lasagna scrumptious.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Beautiful outdoor seating with trickling water and gorgeous plants. Food service was very fast even though there were lots of people.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 22, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Very crowded outdoor dining area in the garden. They added way too many tables to make money during covid. The garden used to be much nicer and quieter. Each reservation only gives you one hour including the time it takes to order and cook and pay. Service was okay not great. There were eggshells in the Benedict and they didn’t offer to do anything about it.

Fable - SF
Responded on November 24, 2020

While you came at our busiest time (weekend brunch), we'll assure you all tables are spaced apart 6+ ft, we have taken tables out, and are following COVID regulations. To meet demand for outdoor dining with these restrictions we limit guests' time at their table to accommodate other reservations. We apologize if there was an issue with your food, but know that we will always make it right. We invite you to come back on a weekday for lunch, happy hour or dinner for a quieter dining atmosphere.

Report
T
Teddy
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on November 21, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

We were sat at a lovely location on the patio. Server was OK- forgot to bring my coffee and something was not included on my friends order. Both were quickly remedied. Food was great as always

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 21, 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Food is good service is good only complaint they have an hour limit for every visit.. if I knew this before I wouldn’t have dined with them I wouldn’t be returning.. we didn’t even finish our drinks or food and was asked twice to leave because there’s other people waiting... how is this okay an hour is not enough to order drinks and food and finish them

Fable - SF
Responded on November 24, 2020

We're glad that your meal and service were great! We apologize though that you felt rushed out. We'll work with our hosts and servers to address communication with guests to let them know early on that the table is needed for another reservation. We're a small restaurant trying to meet the demand for outdoor seating while following COVID restrictions around table distancing. We hope you understand and although you said you won't return we would love if you considered giving us another chance.

Report
JS
JoeS
Seattle
5 reviews
Dined on November 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent brunch. Felt a little rushed at the end, but I understand that they needed to clear the table for the next guests.

CL
vipCatherineL
San Francisco
20 reviews
Dined on November 19, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Great little spot and outdoor dining was nice and warm. The wine list is outstanding, and the meal, albeit heavy on meat (bacon on butter lettuce salad?) and limited, was very tasty.

NS
vipNeighborSusan
San Francisco
9 reviews
Dined on November 19, 2020
Overall5food3service5ambience5

It’s such an amazing outdoor space I love going here. The service is always incredible too.

F
vipFish
Chicago
21 reviews
Dined on November 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a must try. They have mastered the outdoor dining experience.

Fable - SF
Responded on November 24, 2020

Thank you for the glowing review! We are really happy that you enjoyed everything so much. See you again soon!

Report
JS
JoeS
Seattle
5 reviews
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food. They have made the best of a bad situation by expanding seating to the storefront.

SH
SabrinaH
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great ambiance and delicious food. Definitely recommend for a fun night out. Also, a great place to take a date.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Francisco
129 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent experience - the burrata appetizer was delicious, and the pork chop cooked to perfection. Our server was fantastic! Safe distancing outside in the garden, so everyone feels comfortable during the pandemic.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Columbus
1 review
Dined on November 11, 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience5

I have come on many occasions to Fable, mostly for dinner, and always loved it, and the service was always great. However, I attempted to come for brunch last Saturday with a girlfriend that didn’t know the place, and we were shocked on how rudely we were treated. First we arrived at 10:40 am for brunch, we saw the door open and came in only up to the host stand. Very rudely we were told to leave because they were not opened yet. No more explanation was given. Despite the shock on how this person named “Lore” treated us, she could have said the same in a much more inviting way, we came back 20 minutes later when they were officially open. This time we were treated very poorly by the host (I don’t remember his name). He asked us if we walk ins, when we said yes he told us we could not sit at the patio without a reservation. So I made the reservation online, then he told us we could not sit at the patio because of construction. We inside and he kept being rude. He was defensive and condescending the whole time. We ended up getting up and leaving without eating brunch. We were disbelief on the poor customer service they had. I was so disappointed, I wanted to share with my friend a place I loved and it ended up being a total fiasco due to the rude service.

Fable - SF
Responded on November 18, 2020

Thanks for coming into Fable, we appreciate our regulars so much. Please let us apologize that you were treated rudely. We always want all of our guests to feel welcomed and respected. We'll work with our hosts on communicating and managing expectations for seating. We want to earn back your love of Fable and hope that you'll consider coming back in the future. Please send us a private message with your name and contact information so we can be in touch and see how we can make it up to you.

Report
JM
JoeM
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a fantastic neighborhood gem! Lunch is good, but dinner is excellent. Back patio is well done. Staff always friendly.

e
eurekavalleygal
San Francisco
9 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Love Fable. ❤️ With a great outdoor space they deliver good food, with attentive service. We are regular diners, looking forward to supporting neighborhood establishments. The Nicoise Salad is a standout, my Husband likes the French Toast for their Sunday Brunch.

J
Jacqui
1 review
Dined on November 8, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Beautiful aesthetic, just be prepared for it to be busy! It is very popular and there is always lots going on.

MN
MariahNYC
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2020
Overall2food2service5ambience5

The host gave our reservations away to someone else he actually told us that! We were 3 minutes late
Very disappointed with how he handled the situation wouldn’t up date us When we were gonna get seated
40 min later we sat down.
The host was horrible November 8th Sunday not going back

Fable - SF
Responded on November 18, 2020

Mariah, we really apologize for this mess up with your reservation process. Though it is much appreciated when our guests are on time for their reservations, you are absolutely right in saying that our host did not handle the situation well. I know that you said that you would not come back in but we would like to invite you to give us another chance and if you can make it back in, please introduce yourself so that we can apologize in person and make it right for you.

Report
FC
vipFrankyC
Berlin
9 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2020
Overall3food4service1ambience4

Regular customers, we are really upset of the new rules of max . 1 hour ... we booked a table at 12:30 . The table was not ready . We waited at least 10 min . We can understand . But you asked us to leave Already at 1:30 ... that’s not acceptable

Fable - SF
Responded on November 18, 2020

Hi Franky, we're sorry you had to wait for your table and that your time was cut short. We always want our guests to relax and enjoy themselves and it seems you weren't able to. We've had to put time limits on our tables due to COVID-19. We're a small restaurant and have had to remove some tables due to social distancing guidelines. This has put a strain on us to meet the high demand for outdoor seating. We hope you understand and can give us another chance as our regulars mean so much to us.

Report
J
Janiela
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Loved this place! The service was a bit slow due to all the celebrations happening this weekend, so it may be best to skip this place during any major events in the Castro. Overall the food and ambiance are top notch. The patio is incredibly cute, chill and totally Instagram worthy!

A
vipAdie
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love Fable!

g
ginat
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Nice ambiance. Time limit on the table. We had a cake and our waiter told us after the fact that there was a cake fee.

Fable - SF
Responded on November 10, 2020

Thanks for celebrating your special occasion with us! We do have a cake cutting fee for all of our private parties that bring their own cake. We apologize this was not communicated to you earlier, we'll make sure to in the future. The fee covers the cost of additional time required by our staff, especially on a busy weekend night. Our chef beautifully cuts, plates, and presents each piece of cake. Then our servers bring it out, clear everything, and the remainder is neatly repackaged for you.

Report
JC
vipJaniceC
San Francisco
18 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such a special place in San Francisco! Personable service, romantic setting and beautiful food. 5 stars!!!

JD
JasonD
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on November 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place, great service. Support your local restaurants.

a
vipalanbill
San Francisco
41 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great COVID protocols

RV
RaquelV
1 review
Dined on October 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome food, ambiance and service. Very romantic.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
5 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful atmosphere, and great prompt service. And oh yeah a beautiful atmosphere!!

HW
vipHate2Wait
San Francisco
130 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fable was such a surprising find! We wanted a nice lunch to end our quick trip to San Francisco and discovered this hidden gem. The outdoor patio space is such a calming sanctuary away from the bustling street. Service was respectful and efficient in spite of the busy lunch crowd. Food was delicious and nicely presented.

TG
TomG
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Beautiful location, great food! Would definitely come again.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A wonderful place to eat!
Our server was wonderful and explained exactly what we wanted. The vegan lasagna was delicious and so was the lamb! The ambience here is some thing to recognize

JS
JasonS
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really great service and a beautiful outdoor patio setting.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a wonderful place to eat at for any occasion. There is enough distance you can’t hear what’s going on at other tables. The food was delicious. It is such a cute location. Great spot. I highly recommend checking out this location.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Palm Springs
12 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and food!!! Ambient lighting and the all plants made the mood feel extra special!

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The vegan lasagna was phenomenal

OT
OpenTable Diner
2 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

It was an anniversary. We called ahead and asked for as private a table you could offer and we brought a musician to play for us and the back patio.

Service was great and people were super sweet

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Fable - SF using the Order Online button. Fable - SF also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (415) 590-2404.

Fable - SF is rated 4.7 stars by 994 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.