ELY Wine Store – Maynooth

4.5
120 Reviews
€30 and under
Wine Bar
ELY WINE STORE Maynooth is an exciting venue with a wine shop, café and wine bar; open for breakfast, lunch, dinner each day and brunch at the weekend. The Wine Store will be an exciting addition to Maynooth’s bustling town centre. It also has a distinctive design, maintaining some of the original features of the building.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 120 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
SC
SheC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Overall very good, but we were waiting approx. 15 minutes before anyone came to seat us. Our table was empty at the time......

KK
KevinK
Dublin
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience5

The food was ok. Expected a little better to be honest. Staff were very friendly.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Meath
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food and great atmosphere. Made our anniversary very special

L
vipLaurenlouise
London
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Unreal as always!

CC
CatherineC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Very enjoyable evening and both the food and wine were lovely - staff very knowledgeable on all the wine.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 20, 2021

Dear CatherineC, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I'm delighted to know you had an enjoyable evening. Be assured I'll pass your kind words on to the entire team, they'll be thrilled to hear how much you liked the food, wine and service. We look forward to welcoming you back the ELY team.

Report
L
Laura
Meath
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fab evening! First time in this restaurant and couldn’t fault it. Good food. Great, friendly and attentive service. We had dinner at the table and later on moved on to the barrels at the front and had some more wine! Great wine recommendations, our glasses were never empty. Very fun atmosphere! Highly recommend!

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 20, 2021

Dear Laura, Thank you for the wonderful review! Delighted to know how much you enjoyed your first time dining with us. I'm passing your kind words on to the entire team, and thank you on their behalf. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, the ELY team

Report
MP
MrsP
Meath
2 reviews
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good quality food well presented. Good service too.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 20, 2021

Dear MrsP, Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely feedback. I'm glad to hear you had such a good time while dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. the ELY team.

Report
S
Sarah
Manchester
1 review
Dined on July 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food. I had perfectly seasoned lamb rack with beans and a very nice glass of malbec. Highly recommended.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 15, 2021

Hi Sarah, Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! Delighted to hear you had such a positive experience while dining with us yesterday. The Chefs and sommelier will be thrilled to hear your comments on the meal and wine pairing. Very glad you enjoyed it. Look forward to welcoming you back Kind Regards, the ELY team.

Report
N
Niamh
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience1

Our booking was messed up so we were seated along the side of the restaurant on small and uncomfortable table not as nice as the main seating area at the front and there was no ambiance there.
The food was presented poorly with out any garnishis or decorations which was disappointing considering the esthetic of the restaurant and the price. If a dish is 18 euro you would expect decent presentation.
The staff were very nice but service was poor, table was not cleared for ages and had to get up to order new drinks as we were waiting so long for a waitress to come.. Suspect this was because we weren't in the main seating area.
Overall very disappointed for the price. The wine choice is great but wouldn't go for a meal again.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 15, 2021

Hi Niamh, Thank you for leaving us a review. My most sincere apologies that your experience didn't meet yours, not our, expectations of what the ELY experience should be. I have passed on your comments to the site manager who assures me he is working on improving the aspects you so rightly pointed out, specially service and food offering. At this point all I can do is apologise but should you like to pass on any more feedback please contact us at elymaynooth@elywinebar.co m the ELY team

Report
CK
CaitrionaK
Meath
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Lovely time lovely food. very nice outside area felt holiday like

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 12, 2021

Dear CaitrionaK, Thank you for sharing this lovely feedback. We are glad you had such a positive experience in your recent visit to the restaurant. We've been very lucky with the weather lately, so we are thrilled you got to enjoy some 'al fresco' dining. Look forward to welcoming you back. the ELY team.

Report
K
Kath
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Beautiful food and excellent service. The waiters were all wonderful, very attentive and happy to help. We shared that beef special and it was delicious, cooked to perfection. The only small negative was that there was only one toilet open, which I was surprised about given Covid 19, and unfortunately it wasn’t very clean.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 12, 2021

Dear Kath, Thank you for taking the time to share is wonderful feedback. Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the service and food. Be assured I'll pass your compliments on to the chef. I'm sorry to hear the toilets were not very clean, be assured we'll pay extra attention to this. Although, it shouldn't have happened in the first place, I hope you had the chance to inform a staff member on the day, so the issue could be addressed immediately. Thank you for the lovely review. the ELY team.

Report
JW
vipJohnnyW
New York Area
17 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Gavin was serving for the first time on his first day! He was terrific. Great food...lovely wine...magical setting!

KK
KenK
Meath
1 review
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service. Nice atmosphere and service was great

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 12, 2021

Dear KenK, Thank you for the lovely 5-star review! Delighted you had a positive experience while dining with us. Be assured I'll pass your kind words on to the entire team, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. the ELY team.

Report
D
Djam17
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Everything was great but we had to leave as it started raining and we were only half undercover.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 8, 2021

Dear Djam17, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad to hear your overall experience was positive, but I'm very sorry you couldn't stay longer as our terrace is not fully covered, which is a must in Ireland, for sure! Be assured we are working on that, it is definitely a priority improving our outdoor space and make it as weatherproof and cozy as we possibly can. Once again, thank you for your feedback and support. We look forward to welcoming you back ELY Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Greasy fatty chicken which was nice the few other times I have eaten here and it had to be sent back. Very disappointed and won’t be back.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 8, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. It's lovely to know you've enjoyed dining with us several times, but I am sorry your most recent experience was not as positive as the previous ones. I appreciate how disappointing it is having to send the dish back, but I trust the in house team was able to solve the issue on spot, and you got to enjoy a good meal in the end. We really hope to welcome you again. If you have any further comments, please email us on elymaynooth@elywinebar.co the ELY team.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic evening of outdoor dining with amazing wine and yummy nibbles!

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 8, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review. Delighted to hear you had such a positive experience while dining with us. Be assured I'll pass your kind words on to the entire team, it's always lovely to hear nice things from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. the ELY team the ELY team.

Report
BQ
BernadetteQ
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, excellent wine, excellent service.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 8, 2021

Dear BernadetteQ, Thank you for sharing this lovely review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoy our menu, service and wine. Thank you for your continued support. all the best. the ELY team.

Report
PC
PaulC
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience3

Brought to seat and eventually had to ask for the menu ourselves after 10 minutes. No drinks menu, told that there were only a few so one would be given to us when available. Never came - saw another couple come in, take their seat and were given a drinks menu immediately. Asked again for drinks menu. Got served first drink after about 30 minutes. Got two starters to share - the olives and the flatbread. Both were nice. My wife ordered the courgette flower plate which was unspectacular. Three courgettes on a plate, the flower stuffed with goats cheese. You would have done it easily yourself at home. Luckily the waitress had suggested for her to get chips as a side as there was little else to it.

I decided to splash out and order the 12oz ribeye. When it came it was obvious that it was sitting under a hot lamp for quite a while. I ordered it medium rare, but there was no juices flowing from it - at all. The watercress puree that it sat on had a crust on it. Being typical Irish I didn't complain, I moaned to myself only.

I understand that businesses have had it tough and are getting back on their feet. But if you saw what I got after paying €29 for that steak alone you would have been annoyed too. It seems Ely is living off its reputation. The quality of the service and the food served are simply not good enough for the prices charged.

I won't be returning - I'll be giving my money to other restaurants in Maynooth who are worth it.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 9, 2021

Hi PaulC, Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies that your experience was so disappointing. We've been always proud of serving great steak, so we're very sorry that it let you down. Although it shouldn't have happened in the first place, should you have let us know you were unhappy with it we would have done our best to rectify the situation. As for service, we're getting back on our feet and working very hard on staff training but clearly need to work harder. Once again, our apologies.

Report
AG
AndreaG
Dublin
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Lovely food and the wine the beautiful ❤️ staff were great

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 8, 2021

Dear AndreaG, On behalf of the entire team, thank you for sharing this wonderful review! We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your recent experience, and we hope to welcome you back very soon. take care, the ELY team.

Report
CL
CLODAGHM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Nicely spaced out, comfortable, friendly staff. Will definitely be back!

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth
Responded on July 15, 2021

Dear Clodaghm, We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your recent experience. Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you soon. the ELY team.

Report
A
Anonymous
Dublin
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and great customer service. Lovely atmosphere as well.

LT
LornaT
Meath
2 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service. Lunch menu is very limited at present but what we had was great.

AS
AideenS
1 review
Dined on June 24, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Had an enjoyable outdoor meal in Ely. The staff did their best given the horrible weather. Found the booking system very confusing we asked to be sat at another table and were told that we couldn’t sit there as it was booked in an hour, confused as to why the other table couldn’t have just been placed at our table when they arrived. This happened to a few different customers not just us. Overall we had a good experience!

NM
NiamhM
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food was very tasty. Staff were very friendly. Service was quick.

CL
CiaraL
Meath
2 reviews
Dined on June 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had such a lovely evening. I didnt get our waiters name but he was fantastic!! Very knowlegable on wine and made a fantastic reccommendation.

A
Ahkildare2020
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic meal - service was excellent too , thanks Keelin for another lovely Christmas Eve lunch! (Hope I’ve spelled it right!!)

c
camden
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Decor was just lovely, Scandinavian Christmas feel. Very comfortable with covid guidelines, well separated and all wearing face masks. We had been to Ely for coffee and cakes often but hadn’t had the chance to get dinner before now. Dinner was delicious, I had the special Sole and my partner the steak, which was perfectly cooked. I didn’t get the name of the waitress, but we were sitting upstairs early Friday evening the 18th of December- she made the evening all the better, so friendly and really knew her stuff food and wine wise. Really lovely evening all over!

J
Juliereynolds
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on December 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous food and the team there are so friendly and welcoming. Will
Definitely be back

PH
PatrickH
London
2 reviews
Dined on December 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went to Ely's on Sunday for lunch, food was lovely and the service was really good. Would definitely recommend..

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on December 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was absolutely outstanding but the service was fantastic, our server was not only friendly but he was so professional. Would definitely recommend to friends and we will be back

UM
UnaM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a boozy Christmas lunch with 3 friends. We had buttermilk crispy chicken burger and hamburgers which were fresh and delicious. Got recommended a beautiful Austrian Sauvignon blanc which we got more to bring home. Very friendly staff. Very pleasant experience.

OB
OrnaB
1 review
Dined on December 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I ate in Ely last Friday evening with three friends. Everything was amazing, the food, staff and ambiance. Will be returning again soon. Highly recommend 😁😁

ZD
ZoeD
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such a lovely experience as always with Ely. I felt so safe at all times, there was loads of room between us and other table next to us. The food was outstanding and the waiter was so helpful and knowledgable about the wine.

GC
GraceC
Meath
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a really lovely lunch and drinks on Sunday. Service was great and food and wine was fab. Will definitely be back!

KM
KatieM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely spot overall. Great atmosphere and brilliant service.

D
Deef
Meath
2 reviews
Dined on December 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waitress was so friendly. All staff were very really lovely. There was a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. And of course it was great to be in the company of friends again. 😀

CD
ConD
Dublin
1 review
Dined on December 4, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The staff were lovely - you could tell they were smiling even though they had facemasks on. They had a good knowledge of the food and wines available.

P
Pescetarian
Dublin
1 review
Dined on September 30, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Decent food, chips a bit cold, great coffee. Overall very good.

M
Mairead
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience3

We were disappointed with the quality of the food - felt it was overcooked

FD
FamilyD
Meath
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Booked for 6 +baby. Table set for 5. In fairness they accomadated splitting to 2 tables. Menu very limited. Board not updated. Good for lunch not so good for dinner. Girl serving did her best.

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from ELY Wine Store – Maynooth using the Order Online button. ELY Wine Store – Maynooth also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (01) 504 3709.

ELY Wine Store – Maynooth is rated 4.5 stars by 120 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.