Elephant & Castle - Monkstown

3.8
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
153 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American

Top Tags:

Casual
Now serving brunch in Monkstown 7 days a week 11am-4:30pm!

We’ve spread our wings even further. From Temple Bar, to Rathmines. . . early 2019 saw our doors open in Monkstown.

We’ll be serving the same delicious menu with all of the Elephant & Castle favourites including wings, caesar salad, and of course our juicy burgers.

What 153 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.9
service
3.8
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
AD
Dublin
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service4ambience2

Very warm , too warm really and very loud , lack of soft furnishing adds to this
Great service and great food

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Antoinette, We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards, The team at E&C Monkstown

Report
WT
1 review
Dined on November 2, 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience2

Normally like this place but they moved their food staff out to beacon and the food had deteriorated badly
The only positive was the lovely friendly waiting staff

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I would be grateful if you could contact alun@pressup.ie to discuss your visit further. Many thanks The team at E&C Monkstown

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on October 31, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience3

The food was poor. Hamburgers overcooked that did not seem fresh and fries that were obviously made from frozen with very little taste. Chicken caesar salad that was not fresh and had very little taste. Overall we would not return nor recommend.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for reviewing us. We are sorry that you felt your food was poor on this occasion. To assure you; all our burgers are cooked fresh and our fries are chipped in house. Please contact us at alun@pressup.ie if you would like to discuss your experience further. Kind regards, The team at E&C Monkstown

Report
SM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on October 29, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Very friendly and helpful staff. Service was very efficient and friendly. Would go again . T

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on October 31, 2019

Hi Susan, thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to seeing you again! The team at E&C

Report
BH
1 review
Dined on October 28, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Excellent food and very friendly and helpful staff.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on October 31, 2019

Hi Ben, we appreciate the great review and hope to see you soon! The team at E&C

Report
RP
Dublin
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2019
Overall2food3service3ambience2

It was really slow and they didn't have some of the stuff from the menu.

OT
London
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Terrible service, tuna sandwich was grim, fries were cold,

OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were upstairs for my daughters birthday-7 kids and 5 adults. Great service and great food

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on October 7, 2019

Thank you for the great review, we really appreciate the feedback! The team at E&C

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2019
Overall3food5service5ambience1

Hi There - We have eaten in your venue a few times - good experience - however on the 4th Oct at 9.15 it was very poor - as there was a strong smell of sewage/methane from our table area - it looks like our location was very close to the piping system - you may have a leak or blockage but at times the smell was nauseating -

I did not mention this to the service team as it was a special occasion and I did not want to disrupt the evening from my side.

however, it needs to be checked and I'm aware that the service manager knew about this as the main door was left open all nite to ensure a draft -

OT
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Got a table at the last minute. Very warm welcome. Really lovely waitress. Food excellent, hot, plentiful and tasty. Will visit again. The only downside was that it was very noisy. My husband has a heating issue and was quite uncomfortable with the noise level.
Next visit will be at a quieter time

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on October 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. Please do ask for a quiet table next time you are visting and we will do the best we can to accommodate you. We also have a space upstairs open at the weekends which is slightly less noisy should you like. Thanks again, the team at E&C

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Wings were a bit too crusty, but service was lovely. Seems to be a bit too expensive for the food that you get.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on October 7, 2019

We appreciate all the feedback and will take all comments on board. The team at E&C

Report
KO
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was outstanding. Staffs made me and my family feel very welcome. I’ll certainly come back!

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on October 2, 2019

Hey, Thanks for the positive rating- we really appreciate the feedback Looking forward to seeing you in the future, Kindest regards The team @ E&C Monkstown

Report
HS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food, Wine and service were all great have recommended E&C already

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 30, 2019

Hey Hannah Thanks for taking the time to review us We really appreciate the positive feedback. kind regards, The team at E&C Monkstown

Report
LG
Dublin
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Food excellent staff very friendly really enjoyed visit but we did find it noisy so I would think there is more a problem with acoustics in premises.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 30, 2019

Hey Louise Thank you for taking the time to review us. Just to note: We have a smaller dining room available upstairs- please don't hesitate to ask to be seated here next time as it is usually quieter than downstairs during busy service! We really appreciate the positive feedback. kind regards, The team at E&C Monkstown

Report
B
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Maybe teething problems but slow service. Waited 45mins for food. Brought out at different times even though we asked for all dishes to be served together. Another table who arrived after us was served before us. Very well done burger and chips so overdone there was no potato left in them. I had entered birthday for special occasion on open table when making reservation but no mention of that by any of the staff. Disappointing eatery for my husband's birthday. Probably won't be back unless hear it's improved.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 25, 2019

Sorry to hear of your experience, I would be grateful if you could contact me to discuss your feedback further at alun@pressup.ie

Report
HM
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall3food2service5ambience5

Service was the best part, from the time we arrived we were met by lovely host and our waitress was excellent, food only ok, wings we felt were under cooked, salad was limp

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 25, 2019

Dear Hillary, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we were glad you had good service in E&C, though we were disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on our food. We hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves soon. Kind regards, The E&C team

Report
WG
Dublin
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience4

I would recommend but my partner would not. I enjoyed my burger and chips where as my partner did not enjoy or finish her Risotto (special dish) on the night.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 23, 2019

Thank you WillG for the trouble taken to rate us. We have passed your words to the chefs. We hope to make your experience even better if you give us another chance in the near future. Kind regards, The team at E&C

Report
R
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2019
Overall2food3service2ambience3

Nice setting, but we booked through Open Table and they had no record of our booking. The hostess was very nice and got us a table right away. The waiters were really nice but the food took a long time and was cold. The food was solid but nothing amazing. Bill was 65euros for two mains; one dessert and two glasses of wine. Ok price I guess. Awful smell as we left the restaurant. could do with music upstairs to drown out the other tables.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 25, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, I would be grateful if you could contact me at alun@pressup.ie to discuss your experience further

Report
HE
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2019
Overall1food2service4ambience1

We booked using Open Table but were allocated a table updstairs in a much smaller room with zero ambience. Had we known that there was an upstairs room we would have asekd to be seated downstairs.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 27, 2019

Dear HungryEd, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback with us. We were very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to E&C and we hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves soon. Give us a small heads up that you prefer downstairs seatings and we will leave a table for you. With kindest regards, The E&C team

Report
PO
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience3

We have been customers of Elephant and Castle in Temple Bar for as long as I can remember and have always enjoyed going there! Our first visit to Monkstown however was very disappointing! While my husband,s goats cheese omelette was good my smoked salmon one had very little salmon and was over cooked ! Desserts on the other hand were very good!
The service was very poor although the staff themselves were very pleasant!
The restaurant alarm was going off constantly!
Kind regards, Patricia

NS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on September 3, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Second time there and didn’t disappoint. Excellent wings and staff were very efficient.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 12, 2019

Thanks for the great rating, we appreciate it! Kind regards, The team at E&C

Report
C
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Second time eating here in the space of a few weeks, for some reason i thought I’d give it another chance. The wings are tough and overcooked, i felt like they are precooked in big batches and then finished in the frier before being served. The burger was dry and tasteless, really disappointing. The deserts were good but thats about it. Service was ok and staff were friendly.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on September 6, 2019

Hi Conor, very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your meal. I can assure you we use fresh ingredients in all our dishes and our wings are never precooked however your comments have been passed on to the kitchen team as we appreciate all feedback and are always striving to improve. We do hope that you can give us another chance! The team at E&C

Report
JN
London
4 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience1

Really poor food. Dry and tasteless. No “love” in the kitchen. Will never go back and will never recommend

d
1 review
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Food service was very slow. It took 2 hours for all of our meals to arrive

B
London
6 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Lovely restaurant, really enjoyed evening catching up with friend. Food fab along with service & atmosphere

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on August 29, 2019

Thank you for your review Belle, we appreciate the kind words & feedback. We look forward to seeing you again! The team at E&C

Report
N
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall4food3service3ambience4

Didn't really enjoy the Risotto too much Goat's cheese, sun-dried tomatoes - resulted in too many strong flavours for a subtle dish. Pasta seafood dish was very fishy, too much fish stock - a tomato based sauce would be nicer. Chicken wings and kids burger were great as always.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on August 29, 2019

Hi Nassy, we are always striving to improve and all your feedback has been passed to the Kitchen! We hope to see you dine with us again! The team at E&C

Report
O
New England
2 reviews
Dined on August 19, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Food was generally of a high standard but portion sizes varied a lot. Chicken wings and pasta dishes were generously portioned but the baby ribs and chicken portions were very skimpy which was a pity as the prices did not reflect this. The fries that came with the chicken wings were not appetizing. Desserts were good.
Service was good and friendly and we really enjoyed the restaurant environment. All in all, we would recommend it.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on August 29, 2019

Hi Mairead, thank you for taking the time to review us. Very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with some of our dishes. Your feedback has been passed along to the kitchen so that we can improve and hopefully you will give us another chance & we see you again! The team at E&C

Report
A
Dublin
1 review
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very friendly and efficient service, kind to the kids which is always a winner! Great food and very accommodating to preferences. Thanks

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on August 20, 2019

Hey Audrey, Thank your for your 5 star review! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you and the kids again. All the best, The team at E&C Monkstown

Report
AM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2019
Overall3food4service1ambience2

Piped music during lunch??? Not appreciated. People have lunch together, socially or professionally, to talk. Our lunch was a combination.
Won’t return

NC
1 review
Dined on August 12, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, service and restaurant. Food here is not to be missed.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on August 16, 2019

We really appreciate the feedback Noel! Thank you

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on August 9, 2019
Overall3food2service2ambience2

Most food was over cooked
The chicken wings were over cooked and quite tough
There was an uncooked chip in the chicken wing basket
The Poached eggs were not runny, over cooked
Cheesecake was tasteless
We are left waiting do 10 mins with our bill and had to bring bill to desk to pay.
Very disappointing!

CA
London
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Food lovely and staff very efficient and friendly. Would highly recommend. Chicken wings to die for!

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on August 16, 2019

Thank you so much for your great feedback and kind words, they will be passed onto the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back. The team at E&C

Report
J
1 review
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience1

Booked table for 6.15 online, arrived 6.10, asked to wait while other walk-ins get seated. Then asked to go upstairs to a shed where we sat with all the other walk-ins they could squeeze in. Like most, we ordered wings - very disappointing, under-cooked and not at all spicey (I normally sweat just looking at spicey wings but kept my jumper on all the way through). Service ok, but won't go back after 20 years of going to the temple bar E&C. Also, number of kids was very off-putting if you want to talk over your meal. How about separate areas for families and couples and ropes to tie kids to a 1m radius from their table?

GS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on July 29, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Everything was very nice apart from the temperature. Seated at a middle table beside an open side door and the front door was also open. We had to ask twice for doors to be closed. Then when the restaurant filled up the air conditioner came on directly over us. We were so cold we had to request to move to another table for our dessert. Once seated there everything was very nice.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on August 5, 2019

Dear GrainneS , Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review us, we were glad you had a good time in E&C, though we were disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy in our chilled atmosphere. We would love to make your experience even better if you give us another chance. Kind regards, The team at E&C

Report
DR
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Love the original restaurant in town so was hoping this didn’t disappoint. The food was great with generous portions. The service was good but a bit patchy at times. My major gripe is the tables are still really small and close together but it adds to the general ambiance. It’s not somewhere for an intimate conversation or a row!!

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on August 5, 2019

Dear DROO, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review us, we were glad you had good fun in E&C, though we were disappointed to read that we didn't meet your expectations service wise. We will certainly take your review on board! Best regards, The team at E&C

Report
r
1 review
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

wings were rock hard and not enough sauce
have been here 3 times and have never been impressed
wont be back for a 4th time

S
Dublin
1 review
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Excellent food. I really enjoyed the herb frites. There were four of us and two had the elephant burger with chips and it was generous and v good. I had the shrimp with couscous and I would order it again. Only disappointment was the chicken with noodles. It was in dire need of something to elevate it from meh. Overall I will definitely go again and recommend to friends. Was packed the night we went but service was flawless if a tad slow but no complaints on my part. Really enjoyable experience.

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on July 30, 2019

Dear Stevie, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we were glad you had good fun in E&C, though we were disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy in our Lime Chicken dish. We will certainly take your review on board! Best regards, The team at E&C

Report
SM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Family friendly. Service a bit hit and miss with no one server looking after us and attention to details lacking but didn't spoil our fun

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on July 22, 2019

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we were glad you had good fun in E&C, though we were disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on that particular evening and hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves soon. Kind regards, The E&C team

Report
MM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on July 19, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Myself and my son went for dinner. He got plain chicken wings and I ordered the normal ones with the sauce. I hadn't had the wings before so didn't know what to expect. Everyone was raving about them that's why we went..the wings I got were dry over cooked wit a little bit of sauce at the bottom of the bowl. My sons were like a rock, anyway I ate mine as I just presume that's what they were to look and taste like until a family sat beside us and there order came out and looked only devine. So I went to pay and said it to the guy at the till who was very nice about it and said I shouldn't have got food like that as the wings have always lots of sauce. He gave me my money back for my portion not for my so who ate nothing. Very disappointed leaving.

SN
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on July 19, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food amazing service this place gets better and better

Elephant & Castle - Monkstown
Responded on July 21, 2019

Thank you Sarah, we appreciate the kind words, the team at E&C

Report