East Town Kitchen & Bar
Business type restaurant next the Marriott. Menu is not the same. Different items
We ordered a variety of small plates to share and everything was delicious! Service was great, and the ambience was wonderful. The only minor complaint is that we were supposed to receive bacon pops upon leaving (in return for a review) and despite mentioning it a few times, they never arrived. We had to leave so we couldn’t pursue it further.
We were in a rush to eat due to a show at Riverside within the hour. They did a great job of getting our food out in time. All of the food was very good. The only negative was that when we arrived, the hostess station was unmanned for about 4 minutes and no one greeted us, so we had no idea what was going on.
We arrived 30 minutes early, checked in and waited at the bar. The bar had a wide selection and decent happy hour pricing. It was somewhat noisy, but we were able to hear each other talk. While at the bar, one of the staff went to work on unclogging a draft beer drain. The pressure backfired and sprayed us, the bar, and our drinks with drain contents. We had to ask for new drinks with no acknowledgement of the incident, apology or even a clean towel to wipe our clothes/belongings off with.
We hunted down the hostess after our reservation time had passed and were immediately seated. Waitstaff was pleasant and attentive. We ordered all you can eat fish fries that were just “okay” and fried cheese curds that were lightly battered and delicious.
The eggs were cold! I asked for salt and pepper (none on the table) and was given two shakers of pepper. Service was sporadic.
New waitress, sweet but we waited 20 minutes for drinks and water. 2 of 4 meals were on the cool side but tasty. Food was a bit pricey.
Good food. Enjoyed the fried chicken and waffles. Very attentive and friendly service. Will definitely return.
The service was horrible. We ordered our drinks after waiting for fifteen minutes, we then watched as our drinks sat at the bar for another fifteen minutes. Our food was cold after to the point where the butter wouldn’t even melt on the steak, and a $20 fish fry had two pieces of fish and a lot of fries. We were trying to remain positive, however, we waited so long in between ordering and waiting for each next step that we started to get frustrated. Finally, we asked for the check only to wait just under 20 minutes to get a split check. Turns out, the split check was all charged under one card instead of the two handed to the waitress. At this point we had kept our cab waiting trying to figure it out and left disappointed and frustrated. I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant!
Went for Valentine’s Day... our server was sweet but everything else was not great. We didn’t get plates for our bacon jar app and when we did, the underneath one was full of food, it was disgusting. The table was wobbly, so I spilled half my $12 cocktail due to my boobs hitting the table. The 10 oz Wagyu steak was more like 5 oz... we laughed it all off but I don’t know if we will be back. Ambiance is cool.
Waiter was not checking up much. I sat at the restaurant for over 20 minutes without anyone checking up on me. Food was also way overpriced. I ordered Brussels sprouts as an appetizer. I was really disappointed to get 5 Brussels sprout pieces on my main course plate. Not coming back again
When we arrived, the hostess greeted and took us to our table right away. Our sever was friendly and made a few helpful suggestions from the menu.
We ended up getting the Salmon and Fried Chicken, I substituted their crispy Brussels Sprouts(yummy) for the mashed potatoes.
This time around the fried chicken wasn’t as good as I had the last 2 times I had it. It was fresh and hot, but didn’t have any flavor or seasoning on it, very bland. I’m not sure if this is the new thing now (I hope not) or if it was just an oversight.
I know I should’ve talked to the manager but I was too hungry to “complain” and didn’t want to wait for another dish to be made.
We will rerun again, I have to find out if this one time was just a fluke.
A wonderful dinner with my daughter who attends UWM!
Order the salmon!
Started with deviled eggs and bacon which were fine. Then asked for blacked shrimp on my salad. They have blackened shrimp and grits. Waitress thought that shouldn’t be a problem. She comes back and says the kitchen won’t do it. They will only put chicken or salmon on the salad. Ridiculous. Then they actually put chicken on a salad that already had chicken. Unimpressive.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback! With that said, please accept my most sincere apologies for the response you received for this most basic request. I have personally addressed this concern with our culinary team, and we would love to have you back for brunch on us to make up for this experience. I will put my contact info below, please reach out to our marketing manager at 414-534-4245 and we can make you a reservation!
Wonderful experience. Great menu!
Excellent food, good service. Very quiet on a Saturday morning.
Stopped here for a before show dinner. Hush puppies and the old fashioned cocktails were the standouts. The fried chicken and burgers were great too.
This place has a beautiful ambiance. The staff was great and the fish fry was amazing. I had a Wisconsin Old Fashioned and it was great. The fish fry was pretty expensive at $18.95.
Menu was small. Not a lot of options. Food we had was good nothing special but good. Place was dead on a Sunday night at 6 but server was very nice.
We've now come here two years in a row for our annual trip to Milwaukee and have loved it both times. We look forward to coming back next year! Also, don't sleep on the bacon jar.
Good flavors and some unique entrees, wide variety to please many people
Great experience ! Amazing staff and great brunch!
Great place, great food!
Such an incredible date night spot for anybody looking for that spot. Excellent food choices followed by incredible service.
The food was exceptional, the service was excellent and we have a new restraint to dine at after the theater! Will definitely dine here again!
Very slow service. Waiter rarely checked on us and food took a very long time. Extremely loud- why not purchase some noise reducing products? They were out of the Saturday night Prime Rib special at 6:30pm. Also out of one of the appetizers we wanted and the Coconut Cream Pie for desert. Very disappointed with this establishment and they could do a lot better.
Made a reservation. When we arrived , the hostess wanted to seat us in the noisy bar at a high top table. 4 football games were on screens at the bar. I could have stayed home if I wanted to watch football during dinner. She did allow us to sit in the dining area.
Ordered and appetizer and drinks with the server. The calamari came clumped together like it was frozen to begin with and the batter stuck together in the deep fryer. It was also cold. Could barely taste the calamari with the awful batter.
The server finally came over to take out order after we had long finished the appetizer. I mentioned to her that the calamari was cold and horrible. She was not fazed and did nothing to make it a better dining experience.
We had called the night before to ask about the prime rib served on Saturday. We asked the server for the prime rib and she said they no longer serve it...even though it is still on the menu! She then told us they were in the process of changing the menu.
We ordered the fried chicken, hangar steak and Mac and cheese. The butter on top of the steak was awful and tasted bitter. The Mac and cheese was grainy but the chicken was fabulous!
I guess a manager stopped by the table and asked how our meal was. I again talked about the horrible calamari.
The server gave us our bill and she charged us for the calamari! I did mention I was surprised she did that and she abruptly said she would take it off. The manager apologized for his error.
Overall, I would give the restaurant a one star. I’m new to Milwaukee and I am trying to find a fun, go to restaurant.
Unfortunately, I won’t be back
Our Med-rare and medium steaks were over cooked. Menu is very small and service was slow.
Nice room. Fish was good. Beer okay, wine not do good, service slow but still enjoyable
Food was great. Had the salmon, which was slightly crispy and lovely. My husband had the Mac and Cheese. This was definitely Mac and Cheese at another level. So good! We will definitely dine at East Town again.
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed both the Grilled Salmon and Mac & Cheese. Looking forward to hosting you again soon!
Food was okay went for brunch but they couldn't accommodate gluten free and vegetarian little for vegetarian options. They were accommodating in creating a meal for us but overall not impressed.
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our gluten-free and vegetarian options. I am glad to hear we tried to be accommodating. We will always do what we can for our guests with allergies and food aversions but at the end of the day we can only utilize the ingredients we have on hand and some dietary restrictions require specialty items. Come see us again! If you do, please reach out before-hand and we'll do the best we can to accommodate you and your guests!
Our server, Kayla, was GREAT!! Frequently checked in us and made sure we did not need anything. Food was delicious. Had the cheese curds as an appetizer. Wow! My husband had the double barrel burger, and I had the chop chop salad. Both of our meals were very good. Liked the ambiance. Wasn’t very busy.
Came to check out the chicken, which I had the last time I was there. Again it was delicious, a nice golden brown on the outside while being hot and juicy on the inside.
This looks to be our Sunday evening spot for chicken.
Service was great also
Luv2eatinmilw, thank you for your positive review! We're glad our Fried Chicken is giving you second and third lives! Don't be afraid of coming any other night, we offer it every night of the week!
Food, atmosphere and service was great. Nice beginning to a great night out. Thank you.
TeriO, thank you for such a glowing review. We hope to start your next night out soon!
My whole family enjoyed the dinner. My kids are 17 and 21. Food was great and the Wisconsin Old Fashioned’s went Dow smooth!
kenS, thank you for the glowing review! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us and the family. Be sure to come back during Happy Hour, Monday-Friday from 3-6p, when the Wisconsin Old Fashioned(s) are only $6!
Service was good. Meal was mediocre.
MarkLoki, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that our food was not up to both your and our standards during your visit but am glad your experienced excellent service. We continually strive to be better and I will share your feedback with our kitchen team. Thank you again.
We had a great experience at East Town Kitchen. We stopped in for a quick bite before a show at The Riverside. At first, I was put off by the sound level. It was loud. By loud, I mean the music was so loud that my companion and I couldn't have a conversation without raising our voices or constantly saying "what." The staff seemed to notice this and turned the sound down slightly, though it was still quite loud. Our server took our drink order shortly after we sat down, and was friendly and offered suggestions from the menu. We weren't super hungry, so we split an appetizer, and a salad and each had a cup of soup. We thoroughly enjoyed the crab stuffed hushpuppies. They were perfectly cooked - crisp on the outside, delicate and moist on the inside, and the lemony remoulade that was served alongside was the perfect accompaniment to the slightly sweet hushpuppies. I had the soup of the day, loaded baked potato. The broth at first seemed dull, but once I stirred the soup, all of the flavors of the bacon, chive and a bit of cheddar cheese were there. My companion had the French Onion soup, which had an excellent, flavorful broth that tasted like deeply caramelized onions. We split the Chop Chop salad. The ingredients were frssh, and the chicken, which I was expecting to be grilled, instead seemed to be poached, which actually worked really well with the salad! I definitely recommend East Town Kitchen and look forward to going back to try one of their burgers.
Cathiw, thank you for your wonderful review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our service and food despite our atmosphere not being to your liking. The hushpuppies are a personal favorite of mine too! You should definitely come back again for a burger before or after a show. Also, we offer a free draft beer with a purchase of an appetizer when you show us your same day ticket to the Riverside or Pabst Theaters. It's a winning combo!
Our server, Jonathan, was friendly and helpful. I wish I could have brought him back to Baltimore with me. The food and atmosphere was glorious.
JanN, thank you for your 5-star review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and that Jonathan was a welcoming host during your meal. Please visit us again the next time you're in MKE!
Location is great if you are headed to the Riverside Theater. Service was a little spotty (received wrong drinks and one of the meals was wrong). Waitstaff was nice
ErinD, thank you for your review. I'm glad you had an overall positive impression but I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some service issues during your visit with us. Giving us this type of honest feedback allows us to better focus and coach our team and I thank you for letting us know. I hope we can see you again in the future and better your experience.
Great place that was open late after a musical at the Marcus Center. Within easy walking distance. Good food and good ambiance.
Great food and delicious drinks! Loved the atmosphere, perfect for date night.
JoeyR, thanks for the review. We're always glad to hear when someone had a great time here at East Town. We hope to see you again soon!
East Town Kitchen & Bar offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (414) 847-3162.
East Town Kitchen & Bar is rated 4 stars by 471 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.