Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside

4.3
756 Reviews
CAN$31 to CAN$50
American
Earls Ambleside Beach, located in West Vancouver at Ambleside Beach at the Grosvenor Ambleside development, is a seaside dining destination which offers a casually sophisticated setting to gather for lunch, dinner, after work drinks, a spirited night out or weekend brunch. While taking in a spectacular view, guests can enjoy a line of exclusive bottled cocktails and a wine list curated for the West Vancouver customer - all served up with authentic hospitality. Be sure to check out our half price bottles of wine every Tuesday (all bottles) and our daily Happy Hour from 2pm-5pm and 9pm-close. Located just steps away from Ambleside Beach directly on the seawall. Visit us on the corner of Bellevue Ave and 14th St, just minutes from Park Royal Shopping Mall and Hollyburn Sailing Club.

Support Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside during COVID-19

Offers

  • Sushi + Seafood Sunday

    Multiple dates available

    Sun 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM, 4:00 PM - 10:45 PM

    Sunday Funday just took on a whole new meaning. Dig into your favourite sushi rolls for just $10, or take $5 off any seafood entrée like our classic Oven Roasted Salmon.
  • Steak Wednesday

    Multiple dates available

    Wed 11:30 AM - 4:00 PM, 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

    The most delicious, indulgent, and wallet-friendly mid-week treat! Enjoy 6oz Sirloins for $21 every Wednesday, or treat yourself to a 9oz for just $24.
What 756 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
AB
AmyB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The meal I had was very good and the service too.

W
vipWinkie
Vancouver
5 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Got great table; excellent service all around; very attentive waiter.

CC
CindyC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Earls Kitchen was a very pleasant place to meet up with old friends! I requested a quiet corner on my reservation and was given a very nice location that seemed more private. The food was quite good, but expensive (as expected). Our waiter was very responsive and attentive. All in all, a very memorable visit.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome, never had a bad meal at Earls over the last 24 years!

W
vipWinkie
Vancouver
6 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As usual we had a great time, great service and interesting new menu items.
Thank you.

LB
LindaB
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The only thing that couldn't happen was to watch our Canucks play on US TV channels.

j
vipjofahr
Vancouver
57 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience5

Didn’t order food but I rated it high just because I had to give something -should have a NA category
My issue is being charged almost $10 for 2 mint teas when we could have had a $5 glass of happy hour wine! Which we were not in the mood for!

N
Nikki
Vancouver
3 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had the ham and cheese omelet for brunch and it came with a greens salad. Delicious.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

excellent food and superb service.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall4food4service2ambience4

dad bday yahoo

BM
BarbM
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience3

The hostess sat us at our table and told us, "just so you know you only have 2 hours tonight because there's another reservation coming at 7"! Not very welcoming! My friend ordered his steak medium well and it came rare! We sent it back and by the time he got it the rest of us were finished eating! And his steak was still what i would call medium; there was still pink in the middle! Our server and his assistant were outstanding and truely saved the evening for us! Not the best night for Earls and very expensive!

CN
vipChristopherN
Vancouver
50 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My waitress tonight was Cass. She was great. I tried something new off the menu; I ordered the crispy prawns tacos and a margarita. The crispy prawn taco was really good.

DG
DonnaG
Vancouver
3 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Enjoyed our meal. Crab cake came but was just warm. Was taken back and a new crab cake delivered. Was very surprised when crab cake meal was taken off the bill.
Half price bottle of wine was another pleasant surprise. Staff very polite and helpful.
Will be back to enjoy another meal.

w
vipwestvanclan
Vancouver
36 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

We waited 15 minutes for our server to even greet us; all the while watching her walk by us repeatedly and studiously ignore us while carrying a tray of glasses, a stack of plates etc. She never came over.

Finally, we were putting our coats back on when a manager came over and gave us a half- hearted apology. Too late, my birthday lunch had already been ruined.
Maybe Earl's doesn't appreciate any repeat business as they think the walk by is enough.

Good luck, It's going to be a long cold winter!

G
Getinmybelly
Vancouver
13 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great service, tried the new seafood platter, was delicious.
Only grip, wish there was a section for couples without children to enjoy their quiet meal.
Parents tend to ignore their children at meals with no nanny. Not all, but many in this area.

r
rezodllub
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Earls amblside has been consistently vey good since it’s opening

EG
ElizabethG
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Everything satisfactory except too , noisy. yes, i am 90 so maybe not surprising. Would only recommend to those under 60!

PH
PerryH
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Good value. Excellent food and service. Location is great.

CN
vipChristopherN
Vancouver
51 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I ordered the 6oz steak cooked medium rare with double mashed potatoes; I am not a big fan of asparagus hence the double mashed potatoes.
Hannah was my server and she was great. After my food came she came by after a couple minutes to see how I liked and to asked if she could get me anything else.

j
vipjofahr
Vancouver
58 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Mother Earth Bowl wonderful!

PP
PatioPeople
Vancouver
11 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Wait staff go out of their way to please and accommodate requests

W
vipWinkie
Vancouver
6 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

If you love a bright open space in a lovely seaside setting frequented by young and old alike and being served interesting food by a bevy of young super friendly servers, then there is no better place than Earl's at Ambleside!
My friends have come here weekly ever since they opened and we always have a wonderful time. We enjoy the tasty fare, the obliging staff and the amazing ambience! Come on down...

OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
6 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful !

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall3food5service1ambience4

Terrible service. Server was slow, inattentive, could not operate iPad properly. 3/4 of our received meal first, guest of honour received her meal 8 minutes later. Server offered dessert to the rest of the table while guest of honour was still eating dinner. Neglected to offer refills, follow up on drink requests. Scott should not be a server. Put him behind the bar.

JL
JenL
Vancouver
3 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good wine, good food, great service.

CN
vipChristopherN
Vancouver
51 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My servers name was Hannah, she was very good at her job. I ordered the $21 6oz sirloin with mashed potatoes and I substuted garlic bread for the asparagus which comes with the steak. It was cooked to my desired wellness. I ordered it medium rare; which it was. It was very good.

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Christopher, thanks very much for your review! We are glad to hear Hannah took good care of you and your steak was cooked to your liking! We will see you again soon. Thanks, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director remmerson@earls.ca

Report
MM
MikeM
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The four of us really enjoyed our evening out, especially since we had visitors from France staying with us.
Our tableserver, Juliette, was great, and was able to converse in French about all the details of our choices; it was wonderful that she waited on us.
Thank you very much.

Janet M.

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Mike, thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that Juliette took great care of you. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director remmerson@earls.ca

Report
SJ
SharonJ
Vancouver
4 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous food & service! Will definitely be back!

DW
DanW
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Server served soup at same time as main course. Server disappeared for 20 mins when asked for coffee.
Not good

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Dan, we are very sorry for letting you down on your recent visit. Can you take a moment and reach out by email to myself at remmerson@earls.ca. I would like to learn more and make this up to you. My email is remmerson@earls.ca. I hope to hear from you soon. Sincerely, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director

Report
m
meeshy69
Vancouver
11 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience4

I've come to earls many times for happy hour brunch. I decided to take my kids and my mom for her 77th bday. The food was excellent, however a new girl was our waitress and had too many tables for her to handle. I asked for pepper and another cutlery place setting 2 separate times and neither one came. And I found it confusing u don't get a printed out bill to look over until after u look at the iPad to pay and it finalized. Seemed strange. But usually it's been good ☺️

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Meeshy69, thanks for dining with us and submitting your feedback. We are sorry we missed the mark with the level of service. If you have some time, please reach out to me at remmerson@earls.ca as we always like to learn from these situations. I hope to hear from you soon and make this up to you. Thanks, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director

Report
SM
SonyaM
Vancouver
5 reviews
Dined on September 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

No issues.Consistent and generous. I will be back for sure
Tim

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Sonya, Thanks for dining with us and taking the time to post your review. We hope to host you again soon! Thanks, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director remmerson@earls.ca

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and waiter

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Thanks for your visit and posting your review! Great to see that the server took good care of you and the cooks provided great food! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
JP
JamesP
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience4

Service was slow. Got food: wanted salt/pepper and parmesan - wasn't around - ate anyway - waited a long time for wine. Would have like more garli9c bread. Not very good service and I am a frequent visitor to Earls.

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi James, thanks for your visit and the honest review. We are sorry to see that we let you down this time. Can you please reach out to my email remmerson@earls.ca so we can discuss further? It would be great to make this up to you. Sincerely, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director

Report
AS
AlexS
Palm Springs
5 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Waiter, Nick, wore his mask under his nose, had our table wrong and we were to be charged next tables bill. I asked for the peppercorn separately, it didn’t. It arrived with a third of my steak left. Food was good, as always.Nick needs seasoning. He was polite, will be good at what he does, in time.

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Alex S, thanks for dining with us and your specific feedback. We will be certain to follow up with that. If you have a moment, please send me an email to discuss further as it would be great to make this up to you. My email is remmerson@earls.ca. Thanks, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director

Report
SD
SD1andOnly
Vancouver
7 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

It was my first time back to Earl's Ambleside since the pandemic began. I took my eleven year old nephew for steak Wednesday as he loves steak. Both the steak and the vegan dish I ordered were fairly good. I was slightly surprised at how much prices have increased in general but I suppose its due to pandemic inflation. Unfortunately, the service seems to have deteriorated considerably, reducing the overall value for money. Though the hostesses and the table service staff seemed to be busy doing their best, service was acceptable but underwhelming. More specifically, there were three hostesses behind the counter at reception that seemed more interested in speaking amongst themselves and other staff than acknowledging the customers, taking my vaccine passport details or my table request. Of course, there was a basic level of courtesy and friendliness despite the lack of efficiency. My waiter did his best to serve the numerous tables around us though we sat at our table for quite while before he actually made an appearance. Our waiter was kind and courteous though I was surprised at his lack of knowledge regarding the menu items, including "steak Wednesday specials", details on the plant based dishes and what substitutions/additions were possible. This led to delays in ordering as he went back and forth to the manager and kitchen staff (who were apparently having a meeting and were indisposed) for further clarification. Once our orders were placed, food arrived rapidly and service was efficient.

On a final note, I was disappointed by the lack of acknowledgement to the request/note I included in my open table reservation. In my reservation, I mentioned that it was my nephew's birthday and that we would like to have a table outside/patio as he is 11 and unvaccinated. Neither fact was acknowledged upon arrival: I made the request again for patio table upon arrival. What is the point of requesting the information on the reservation if it is not acknowledged?

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi SD1andOnly, thank you for visiting and posting your review. We are sorry we missed the mark. If you have a moment please reach out by email at remmerson@earls.ca as it would be great to make this up to you. Sincerely, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director

Report
KM
KimM
Vancouver
9 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Vibrant restaurant with good menu and fair prices!

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Kim, thanks for your business and taking the time to post your review. We are glad you had a good time! If you have a moment, please reach out to my email at remmerson@earls.ca and let me know how we can elevate your experience next time. Thanks, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director

Report
CN
vipChristopherN
Vancouver
51 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sarah was a great server. Our food was very good even the dessert

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

HI Christopher! Thanks for the recognition for Sarah! We appreciate your constant support and patronage. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director remmerson@earls.ca

Report
SV
SherryV
Palm Springs
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Felt perfectly safe, the check in line went fairly quickly with no issues. Most enjoyable!

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Sherry, thanks for visiting and posting your review! We are so glad that everything went so well for you. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director

Report
SB
SteveB
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

I sat outside and was worried about the people lining up to get in the building: they were very close, and someone (couldn't determine where) was smoking.

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside
Responded on October 1, 2021

Hi Steve, thanks for posting your review. If you have a moment, reach out to me at remmerson@earls.ca. We do have very strict guidelines issued by the city on where our guests are allowed to line up. Obviously we do not want anyone feeling uncomfortable but we do have bylaws to follow. It would be great to share those with you and offer some advice for future seating away from the line ups. I hope to hear from you soon. Thanks, Ryan Emmerson Regional Director

Report
w
wandawanda
Vancouver
5 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2021
Overall2food1service1ambience3

My girlfriend found not one but 2 long black hairs in her Cajun chicken salad.
Who cares if they compted the meal
Other than that it was fine

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside using the Order Online button. Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (604) 262-3632.

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside is rated 4.3 stars by 756 OpenTable diners.

Earls Kitchen + Bar - Ambleside does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://earls.ca/gift-cards/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.