Dirty Habit

4.2
508 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
Dirty Habit located in the Historic Hotel Monaco DC delivers a vivid social scene centered around expertly crafted cocktails, an innovative social plates menu, provocative design and a dramatic urban patio.
icon/ic_review copyCreated with Sketch.
Delivery or takeout
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Asian, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast - Monday - Friday: 7:00am to 10:00am

Brunch - Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am to 2:30pm

Lunch - Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner - Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm , Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm

Late night - Thursday 10:00pm to 11:30pm , Friday -Saturday 11:00pm to 12:30am

Bar - Monday -Thursday: 10:30am - 1:00am

Friday - Saturday: 10:30am to 2:00am


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 449-7095
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kyoo Eom
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact our Private Dining Sales Manager, Raquel Sharma at raquel.sharma@dirtyhabitdc.com with any private dining inquires for Dirty Habit. If you are interested in an event with the beautiful Hotel Monaco, please contact our Director of Catering for the hotel, Buddee Clinton at buddee.clinton@hotelmonaco.com.

icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
F Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is available in front of The Hotel Monaco on F St between 8th and 7th street. Discounted Parking Validation is available upon request while dining at Dirty Habit.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Metro – Gallery Place Metro – Gallery Place China Town Stop
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From intimate, seated meals to full restaurant takeovers, we offer alluring spaces spanning from gothic-inspired and completely private, to naturally lit and industrial, to open-air private patio including a patio bar.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:15PM
Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Reviews from verified diners
508 reviews
4.2 out of 5 Stars
Outstanding
52%
Very Good
28%
Good
11%
Fair
5%
Poor
3%
4.2
food
4.0
service
4.3
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Newest
Filters
d
4.0Dined on July 8, 2018

Went for brunch on a Sunday. Great space and ambiance with the view of the courtyard, but the food was just so-so. Not bad but nothing amazing. It was pretty quiet/not crowded on a Sunday for brunch. Biggest complaint is the lack of a bathroom - you have to go far into the hotel to find one.

Report
Helpful
OT
5.0Dined on July 7, 2018

Delicious food. Great service. Beautiful restaurant.

Report
Helpful
LG
5.0Dined on July 1, 2018

Interesting ambience, quality food, we had an awesome server-loved him. Great for a pre theater meal. Recommend it!

Report
Helpful
OT
2.0Dined on June 27, 2018

Limited choices but n menu with slow service. Polite but ended up sick after eating falafel wrap

Report
Helpful
JB
1.0Dined on June 24, 2018

Your menu doesn't say that the pre-theater menu is not available on the weekends but the waitress told us twice that we can't order off the pre-theater dinner (this was on Sunday).

Report
Helpful
TB
5.0Dined on June 23, 2018

Fun was had by all! Food was sooo good. Service was great. Will be making reservations after my return from New Orleans.

Report
Helpful
OT
2.0Dined on June 17, 2018

I thought the service was slow and the food was mediocre (and expensive). Also, the temperature was too hot and the restaurant seemed kind of dirty - no pun intended. They probably cater to crowds having dinner in advance of events at Capital One Arena (which is across the street), but this doesn't excuse what I would describe as a "bus station" feel. This was an awful experience.

Report
Helpful
OT
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Service is delivered with a side of attitude. Our greet was “are you ready to order” after being ignored for 10 mins after being seated. Feels understaffed. This was our second try of this restaurant. It’s convenient to the arena but overpriced for the food and service offered.

Report
Helpful
DC
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Dirty Habit is connected to a hotel and has a cool vibe. It has really cool skylights and an industrial feel. Everyone was very polite and we were seated immediately after having made a reservation prior.

The service was very slow and our waiter (Sarah) was often absent. My girlfriend has three allergies to really common ingredients, and while I appreciate this is annoying, it is very important that she not eat these ingredients or she could have an allergic reaction. We ordered the gluten free cornbread but wanted to know what kind of flour was used since wheat and rice are on her allergy list (many gluten free flours have rice as the substitute). Our server and the kitchen couldn't tell us what kind of flour was used which we found very strange considering that they would advertise as "gluten free" and then not know what is actually in the dish. I know that dealing with allergies can be frustrating but when you get to this level of dining you expect simple questions and requests to be reasonable. We waited over 20 min before our first drink arrived and an hour before any food arrived (appetizers). We had tickets to a show across the street at 7:30pm and thought that a 6pm reservation would work, but I had to order the check as our food arrived so that we could be on time. That may be on me for timing things too quickly, but waiting an hour for food is frustrating.

Overall this is a cool place with really good food. We found the service slow and disappointing but this can vary wildly with each experience. I'd also point out that the ambiance is diminished some by the tourists from the hotel wearing shorts and flip flops to what would seem to be a fancier joint. I will give this place another try if I'm in the area (especially for drinks) but I don't think I'll go out of my way.

Report
Helpful
b
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Dirty Habit is a good restaurant. They just need to add more to their brunch menu.

Report
Helpful
EA
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Confusion at the Host stand re: table. After that, flawless and delicious.

Report
Helpful
TB
1.0Dined on June 14, 2018

I am a frequent customer of Dirty Habit. This past week, I went to the restaurant only to have the worst experience. Our server was incredibly cold and absent. She never came back to check on our food which was truly sub par. I had ordered the steak frites as my entree and was given the most fatty cut of meat, I could not even eat it. But since our server never came back, I was not able to let her know that my meal was inedible. She didn't come back until we were running late for our evening engagement. The server also got our drink orders wrong. Overall, it was a terrible experience and I will not be going back for quite some time. I am truly disappointed, as this has been a long time favorite during my past 6 years in DC.

Report
Helpful
c
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

This is a very busy place at lunchtime, with a lot of business meal meetings going on, as well as office parties. So it makes sense that they have a convenient $20 business lunch with 2 appetizers to choose from (Vichyssoise soup or Artisan Greens) and several entrees. The Cubano sandwich was quite large and served with large slices (not shredded) of pork and Swiss cheese, as well as a small portion of green salsa and fries. The Falafel Wrap with eggplant wasn't as tasty, just so-so in flavor. The service wasn't outstanding, but ok--our waiter took our order, brought the check, and checked on us once But it was a good quick meal.

Location is of course great, right across from the National Portrait Gallery, catty corner from the Verizon Center, and a block from Ford's Theatre and the Shakespeare Theatre. It's located inside the historic Hotel Monaco and worth a visit just to see the bathrooms with lion pillars on the sinks and bright blue mirror frames.

Report
Helpful
VA
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We enjoy this place very much. Great cocktails, welcoming service, great food. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
KF
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Great lunch spot for business meetings. Very courteous wait staff that provided a free salad during our meal.

Report
Helpful
C
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Their burger is huge, full of flavor and one of the best I’ve had. Great service, reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
m
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We went there for my birthday, a group of 8 people. First, we were asked to take down the balloons, but it would have been OK if the service was ok. Our waitress though was very impatient with us, rarely came and when she did, she was unpleasant. We ended up having to order drinks from the bar because she didn't come to get our order.

Report
Helpful
TB
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We chose Dirty Habit for our anniversary date. Was not disappointed! We had such an amazing time, very good service, delicious food and drinks. I ordered the steak medium rare, unfortunately it came out medium to medium well. But the staff and kitchen were very quick to make me a medium rare steak and made sure it was perfect! Loved the Toki-yo sour cocktail, will be coming back for more. Thanks Dirty Habit!

Report
Helpful
OT
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Decor is fantastic and service was average. Outside area I’d very nice

Report
Helpful
VP
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The food was great, the service at times was a bit slow; however, overall a good experience.

Report
Helpful
OT
2.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Sooo noisy. We could not converse well through the meal.
Food OK . chef is trying too hard to be different

Report
Helpful
s
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

My wife and I visited Dirty Habit for dinner while on a quick vacation in D.C., we were optimistic we were in for a memorable meal, all the signs were there, interesting menu, nice ambience and friendly waitstaff, sadly the food just didn’t deliver. Across the board from appetizers through dessert every bite was under-seasoned, flavorless and frankly boring.

The two aspects of the meal that make it memorable were the cocktails and dessert, the cocktails featured a ‘banana daiquiri’ without even a hint of banana flavor, and a drink that included ‘orange oil’ that honestly was undrinkable.

Dessert is my favorite part of any meal, my wife ordered the ‘Baked Alaska’ which was thoroughly enjoyable, I ordered the ‘Trio of Creme Brulée’, (dark chocolate, raspberry, vanilla) the dark chocolate was right on the edge of bitter, which is fine, but there was nothing to offset the bitterness, the other two Brulees were equal parts flavorless and disappointing, a little sugar could have gone a long way towards making this dessert palatable. All in all the only reason this meal was memorable was because of how consistently disappointing it was.

Report
Helpful
OT
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

David was my server, and I had the best time at dirty habit.

Report
Helpful
DS
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Had Sunday Brunch here with friends. The Crabcake Benedict was delicious and a very generous portion. The bottomless memosa's were fine, but we wanted a Bloody Mary, which they don't serve until after 10 am, so that was a bit disappointing. The atmosphere is good, the restaurant is in the Hotel Monaco, so there are a lot of tourists there. Overall it was good, attentive and friendly waitstaff.

Report
Helpful
MM
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The cocktails and ambiance were both very good. Dirty Habit has a fun, comfortable vibe. The food is what makes this place stand out. Every dish we had was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
VA
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Brook at the bar is great. Always recognizes us and gives wonderful recommendations.

Report
Helpful
P
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Food was excellent. Would have rated outstanding if our waitress wasn't so ditzy. Bought wrong food and drinks to our table 3 times. Long wait for items we ordered. Otherwise loved food & drinks and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
CM
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

This was a wonderful brunch spot. We got the breakfast burrito, the arroz frito, and the donuts to share and everything was fabulous. The bottomless mimosa deal was great and well worth the money. Definitely would like to visit again.

Report
Helpful
M
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wine and desserts were excellent. The main courses were only OK. The chicken was cooked perfectly but everything else on the plate was a bit bland. The pasta was a bit too al dente. The deep chairs were better for sitting back and lounging than eating the food too. I get the feeling this place is more for drinks and appetizers and ambiance and socializing than the main fare.

Report
Helpful
OT
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Loved it. Lucky find for us while visiting. Highly recommend and would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
DS
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Elaina was a wonderful server, very informative with the menu and guided us to some great choices. We were a business party of 7 and had a excellent dining experience. It wasn't until after that we noticed the fantastic patio outside. Would love to come back when I'm in town again and utilize the patio with friends.

Report
Helpful
TR
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Fun menu, fun place. Good food!

Any place that serves deviled eggs as good as these is tops!

Report
Helpful
L
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food is great, but expensive for what it is compared to the surrounding restaurants of the same caliber. The food came out in a timely manner, but the service is terrible - so slow and not conscientious of the tables. For instance, it took my dad 30 minutes to get the beer he ordered and when it finally came, the waiter brought him the wrong beer. One positive though is the waiter was apologetic and comped both of our drinks. Definitely give yourself ample time if you're trying to come here before an event.

Report
Helpful
VA
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Had a group of friends get together. We stayed over 3 hours and noshed our faces off. Great cocktails and service - thank you

Report
Helpful
OT
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We enjoyed our dinner very much. My only criticism is that several members of the restaurant staff congregated in a prominent location next to the kitchen and the dining area to socialize among themselves and with the chef for extended periods, which seemed inappropriate.

Report
Helpful
OT
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The service was terrible. I had to wait over an hour for oatmeal and fruit cup. Have been here numerous times and the wait is always long.

Report
Helpful
MA
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The branzino and steak frites were great, the ambiance is good and in the center of Chinatown.

Report
Helpful
DC
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

So there was a corporate party in the outside dining area with the requisite high volume, frenetic music, but the food and our very gracious and attentive server Brittany certainly made the evening wonderful.

Report
Helpful
S
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Outdor patio was nice and restaurant location is good in Hotel Monaco. Urban vibe— loud but fun. Prices were high, but equivalent to most downtown restaurants. Cocktails a major plus. Food had nice presentation. But we had a serious problem with he timing of wine and food. Server was actually nice, but we didnt get our wine until meal was slmost over. We’ve tried restaurant twice and seen the same problem both times. We’ve complained about problem, but restaurant seems unresponsive. Really unacceptable.

Report
Helpful
s
1.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The food was pretty good. Service was atrocious. We asked four times for water. Twice for the wine menu. We just about had to tackle our server to get her to come to the table. We asked when we first sat down to split the check. That was not done either. With all the other good restaurants in this area there is no reason to come here.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13