Permanently Closed - Del Frisco's Grille - Chestnut Hill

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1221 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American

Restaurants you may also like

View all

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Del Frisco’s Grille is a stylish, modern restaurant with a vibrant ambiance where life is celebrated around the table. Boasting premium American classics infused with fresh, seasonal ingredients, the Grille’s thoughtful menu features Del Frisco’s Prime, hand-cut steaks and craveable, shareable dishes such as the signature Cheesesteak Eggrolls. With an award-winning yet accessible wine list and hand-crafted cocktails, Del Frisco’s Grille takes guests through a social culinary journey with each experience, no matter the occasion. Centrally located in the heart of Chestnut Hill just 15 minutes from The Shops at The Prudential Center & The Burlington Mall, Del Frisco’s Grille is on Boston’s famous Boylston St. just past Hammond St which is only minutes from the Chestnut Hill T Stop. Over looking Hammond Pond at the Chestnut Hill Shopping Center.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
BRUNCH Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm LUNCH Monday - Saturday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 608-3682
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joel Caraballo
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hammond St.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Multiple bus stops on Boylston St.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1221 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
74% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
w
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

great spring rolls! steaks are A+, service was awesome

F
New England
23 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2019
Overall1food3service1ambience3

Not only did they overcharge my credit card, but when I tried to get them to fix it, they have not been responsive at all. When I first talked to a manager, Pete, he asked me to wait to see if the charge changed. It did not change, so I called back. Yesterday I called and no one picked up. Left a message, no return call. Just tried again and they put me on hold until I gave up. They also did not respond to email. Double-charging a credit card is not legal and I am disappointed they have not done more to fix this. I used to love this place. Now I can't imagine ever returning.

C
New England
42 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had an excellent meal at Del Frisco’s Chestnut Hill. This was the second visit in the last two weeks that was outstanding after a few OK visits in recent months. The food was excellent (had the Halibut special) and the service was great as always. Everyone in my group enjoyed their dinner and dessert as well. The food is back at a high level. I am sorry to hear that this location is closing. It will be a loss to the Chestnut Hill restaurant market.

s
New England
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall2food3service2ambience1

Too many kids and parents who can't keep their behavior appropriate for the venue.

b
New England
15 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Service was mediocre. Waitress not attentive. Never refilled water glasses, didn't check in to see if we needed anything. Food prep was great

OT
New England
25 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience3

The first time I came to Del Frisco's Grille (back when they opened) it was SO noisy that I never went back. Gave it a second chance with an early dinner on a Sunday. What a difference!! It's a very nice place...when you can hear and actually have a conversation....and would've been even better if they turned down the music. Why do restaurants think noise improves ambiance?? The food was excellent (hamburger and fries) - even though they don't offer a simple hamburger (or build your own option), they were totally accommodating. I'd come back now...but ONLY in the off hours.

OT
New England
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Didn’t realize they had an extensive brunch menu! Everything was delicious- we’ll be back!

S
New England
64 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Del Frisco’s is an under-utilized spot with a lovely view and a serene setting. There were very few patrons when we went for lunch. I ordered the “Fish & Chips,” and it was delicious.

TN
New England
234 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Located in "The Street", this lively restaurants offers professional service and a great variety of menu items. Flatbreads or Guac are a great way to start and meat, fish or salads are expertly prepared. Service is always friendly. Generally crowded so reservations are a good idea.

c
New England
4 reviews
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Music too loud and very noisy as crowd grew. Hard to have conversation.

Much confusion on part of the Del Frisco greeting staff on our entrance about whether we were a party of four or six...actually reseated first couple to arrive twice...although reservation always clearly stated six.

Clear attempts to up-sell us at every stage of our meal were not appreciated by us as customers. Although we understand the need for you to make a profit, there are smoother more professional ways to handle it.

We felt very rushed at the end when our shared dessert was still on table and one of managers with a waitress (not our own) came and asked to take the remaining unfinished dessert in middle of table and our plates away! (There were still empty tables and no waiting customers, so we aren't sure what the critical need to turn over our table was.)

Overall we were quite disappointed. We were a group of friends. One of the three couples at our table was visiting us from overseas and we had not seen each other for years. The entrance confusion, the loud music, the constant up-selling, and the rush at the end did not meet our expectations.

RR
San Diego
13 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience4

We were not happy with the restaurant.
They advertise Prime Rib and that is why we went. There was no Prime Rib.
I had instead a Filet Mignon. Asked for it to be medium cooked and it was dry and overcooked.
I sent it back and the manager came to show me that in the very center of the filet it was pink.
I didn't want to argue and left must of it on the plate.
That is not the right way to treat a customer!
Payed for the whole bill.

L
New England
70 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall3food1service4ambience3

I am not sure if it was a Monday or the restaurant is going down hill. The food cam out cold and mediocre. Not sure I will go again.

EM
New England
2 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall2food2service4ambience3

Quality dependent on menu item ordered. We had to ask for bread for the table...a first. We have been here several times and it is consistently inconsistent.

LN
New England
213 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

It was a very special night, my daughters birthday and the food was very good, the service was excellent, not too busy during the midweek. We had a great time👍🏻

C
New England
42 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Very disappointing dinner. I have been to Del Frisco’s Grille 20+ times since it opened. On the last few visits, the food has been mediocre. On this visit, the food was atrocious: inedible flatbread (which actually was not a flatbread), under-cooked fish, over-cooked. I am not sure what happened at this location, but I don’t plan to go back for a long time.

W
New England
6 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Meat was chewy
Service poor
Expensive

OT
New England
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Fabulous and our waitress from Brazil was wonderful.

MC
New England
3 reviews
Dined on August 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, excellent service, beautiful restaurant. I look forward to going back.

a
New York Area
15 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

My party came here for restaurant week, and we had a great time. The portions were large, the food was good. Not much else to say. The service was a little slow and the waitress was not that attentive, but nothing to spoil the experience.

JP
New England
2 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was superb. Our waitress was outstanding. We ordered an appetizer but wanted to taste another one on the menu. The chef sent out a sample for us to try - beignet was amazing.

JT
Washington DC
21 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great meal. Steaks are awesome and other options are great too. We went for restaurant weekwbixb was a great value too

OT
Jacksonville
1 review
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Very poor service our waiter was covering the bar and our table had to march to the bar to ask for sugar for tea as she said she will bring it and forgot it she had no personality at all with tattoo covering her arm. Hostes hardly spoke any English. Not a good reelection of the upscale chestnut hill area.

F
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Every single dish was poor. The crab cake was okay. The house margarita was probably the worst I’ve ever tasted. Don’t waste you money here on dinner. Way over priced for what you get

LF
New England
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2019
Overall4food5service2ambience3

Very slow service requiring manager to bring food to our table. Very noisy environment.
Very good food.

OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and really good food at relaxing pace.

OT
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Was really surprised at how disappointing this was. From overcooked shrimp as my meal to a waitress with perhaps the worst personality I've ever encountered in any restaurant anywhere. I'm not sure why people even bother dining here. Maybe it's because the guacamole was good? I guess if you actually do go here you should get the guac.

BF
New England
22 reviews
Dined on August 12, 2019
Overall3food1service3ambience5

What a disappointment after so many positive experiences! A lackluster response from management in response to a disaster of a $60 bone-in filet that they tried to serve. A return to the kitchen only made the piece of meat worse. May consider returning at some point, but it won’t be for quite a while. Now feel reluctant to visit their Double Eagle Steakhouse in the Seaport, and it has always been a favorite.

TA
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were there for Sunday brunch and the restaurant was very quiet, just a few early reservations. Our server Samantha was very attentive but unobtrusive! She was professional and friendly. The food did not disappoint... it was delicious! My daughter goes often but it was my husband’s and my first time. We will be back!

M
New England
46 reviews
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food was fabulous albeit quite pricey
Waitress was trying too hard to please us after not coming to us for a bit at the beginning
Was disappointed shades were drawn so view was blocked

a
New England
10 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

The Caesar salad with chicken can entirely out of bought-in ingredients. The chicken was chilled, very bland, the croutons were made in a factory and tasteless. My partner had the ribs which had not been properly marinaded, the sauce was sweet and bland while the membrane had not been completely removed from the inside. Shrimps in the shrimp bowl were over cooked.

OT
1 review
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall1food3service1ambience2

They were out of what my son wanted so he ordered something else. That came 10 to 15 minutes after all the other meals, so by then all of the meals and side vegetables were cold. Then they over charged us $67 for a $46 steak on the bill. They offered us three free desserts, that I needed like a hole in the head. Probably should’ve just comped something

JA
New England
3 reviews
Dined on July 24, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Mario at the bar was awesome!

ML
New England
1 review
Dined on July 22, 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Our server was very pleasant, but not well trained. Slow service, items that were requested were forgotten. Two steaks ordered had to be returned for further cooking (We we’re dining early so the place wasn’t crowded). Seated in a booth by the window - the a/c seemed to operate by blowing a gale of cold air down upon anyone close to the window.
The food was just OK. Prices were very high.
Don’t bother.

SW
Miami
56 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience4

After telling my server that I had to avoid all milk ingredients, she suggested zucchini, “which has cheese, but no milk.” If you don’t know that cheese is made from milk, perhaps you should not be employed in a restaurant. Just a thought.

When my prime rib arrived, there was a small dish of creamy horseradish dressing on the plate. Really? What’s going on here? Do they simply not understand dietary restrictions?

The prime rib wasn’t even that great. I’ve had much better prime rib in many other dining establishments. I hate to mention price, but they are simply charging too much for the overall experience here.

The servers definitely need a lot more training. I am placing 100% of the blame on the servers, but it may be the kitchen staff, too.

At the end of our meal, our server announced, “We don’t have any desserts that are dairy-free.” Gee, thanks. So you don’t even have a bowl of fruit? Nothing?

I went over to the bar to ask the bartender if he could recommend some wine to go with my prime rib that I had ordered. I figured, maybe the drinks can at least rescue the evening. He gave me a small amount of red wine to try and told me that it was his best recommendation. But it was absolutely awful. So disappointing.

Just cannot recommend this restaurant at all. Under no circumstances will we ever return. There’s a much better steakhouse right across the street with similar prices.

A
New England
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience4

It was a birthday and it was very nice of our server, Peggy to bring us a birthday dessert! Thank you!

DM
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2019
Overall3food4service1ambience3

We enjoyed our meal, but the waitress was atrocious. Her basic wait skills were almost non-existent. For example, she couldn't remember an order for a Coke so we had to ask another wait staff member to bring it after a 15 minute wait. We waited 20 minutes after our meals were done to have the table cleared b/c the waitress was completely oblivious...and we were the only table left in the restaurant! Clearly the manager was equally oblivious. We are frequent diners at DF's and this experience was really unusual.

JC
New England
8 reviews
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

I gave Del Frisco's a "good" but not great rating. Here's why. Del Frisco's can be hit or miss in terms of food quality in my experience (I've been there a good number of times since it opened). For example, when we ate there last night there were a few very good dishes (they do especially well on their burgers) and one dish that a member of our party found to be unacceptable in texture and taste - she couldn't eat it. She is on the picker side, however, so that's important to take into consideration! Our experience in the past has been similar, however, so I don't think that this was an anomaly. On the plus side, the restaurant is situated in an attractive room overlooking a body of water. Also, the restaurant is service-oriented, so we felt well-attended to. However, another downside was that our waiter was working a bit too hard for my taste in upselling our table (e.g., trying to get us to purchase add-ons for our meal). Upselling is often something restaurants try to do; this waiter's style was a bit off-putting because of the fact that it needed to be a bit more subtle than it was. My sense, in general, is that the wait staff could be more uniformly trained for quality of presentation consistent with an upscale restaurant. All told, I'm not unhappy I went but was a bit disappointed with some elements of our visit because I took out of town guests to the restaurant, and feel that other restaurants in the area offer greater value because they don't have these hiccups in my experience.

DG
New England
3 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience. Wonderful server and not very crowded for lunch.

OT
New England
3 reviews
Dined on June 23, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great as always!

LS
New England
3 reviews
Dined on June 21, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience3

We had a 7:45pm reservation on a Friday night, arrived around 7:15 and were seated immediately. The food was terrific. The restaurant was a bit loud. The service was really good. We will go back.

Tweets by Permanently Closed - Del Frisco's Grille - Chestnut Hill