Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
319 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Located on the second floor of the Hyatt Regency Seattle, guests enjoy downtown views with live piano music, USDA Prime Steaks—the top two percent of all graded beef in the nation—as well as other traditional steakhouse favorites and our award-winning wine list. Our Rickhouse Whiskey Bar offers a wide selection of whiskey and other fine spirits from around the globe.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Specials

Happy Hour Seven Days a Week (In the lounge only)

Join us for Happy Hour daily from 3:00pm - 6:30pm

Terms and Conditions:

Valid For: 1 - 20 people

Starts: December 9, 2019

Ends: December 10, 2118

Availability: Daily 3:00PM-6:30PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 12:00PM - 1:00PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

What 319 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
73% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined 18 hours ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

The customer services was great!! The server Taylor was amazing and when my steak wasn’t cooked to my liking he went and got it fixed. This location is way better than the services at lake union

OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined 19 hours ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding food and service. Great place for special occasions, and will definitely go again

S
Seattle
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The other two locations are our favorites, we got some sort of an extra gift certificate for going to this location, so we thought we'd try it. You just can't beat the water view at the other two locations. The food and service were excellent.

MB
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were there for a date night on Valentines Day before seeing Frozen at the Paramount. The entire evening was perfect! Our waiter Taylor and the entire staff was top notch!!

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded a day ago

Hello Mike, thanks so much for the five-star review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Valentine's Day date night with us and that Taylor was able to help make the experience so special. Hopefully, we'll see you again sometime. Have a great day!

Report
JW
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was fantastic about our visit. We didn't wait long to be seated. The steak was cooked to my request and was perfect with every bite. The tables weren't close together, which really minimized the noise level. Our waiter was so knowledgeable about every dish and how everything is so meticulously prepared. We can't afford to come here often, but it's definitely a place that we'd like to return to!

MR
Seattle
5 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience3

Always great steak and good service. Unlike other Daniel's Broiler, this place lacks good view. In addition, it lacks high end restaurant ambiance.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the review. We're so glad you liked the steak and service. We also appreciate your feedback about the ambiance and the view. Hopefully, we'll see you again sometime.

Report
SM
Seattle
8 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent server was friendly and helpful

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Sam - Thank you so much for leaving us a five-star review! We are so pleased you had a wonderful meal with us. Have a wonderful day!

Report
MV
Cleveland
4 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Seated 30 minutes late with a reservation. Took over an hour to get our entrees and one was prepared incorrectly.
Very expensive for the service received. Food was fine.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 7 days ago

Hi Michael - Thank you for leaving us a review from your experience at our Downtown location. We are sorry to hear that we missed the mark on your visit with service and food preparation. This is never the goal. If you could send us a message referencing this review of our Downtown location along with your name, the name on your reservation, and the best way to contact you, we will be in touch. Thank you!

Report
JD
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall2food4service3ambience3

Steaks were good, not great, but price was way too expensive.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Jeffrey - We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review about your experience. We never want our guests to leave with a negative experience. If you could please message us with your name, name on the reservation and a method of contact, we would appreciate it. Thank you.

Report
OT
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience4

Service takes a long time. It took 15-20 min to get our first round of drinks, then 25ish min before the gal came back to the table and asked if he wanted drinks again. Dinner took 3 hrs from the time we sat sown to the time we got up...

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 7 days ago

Hi there - Thank you for leaving us a review from your recent visit. We are sorry to hear that we missed the mark on service this visit. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We continuously address feedback from our guests as we aim for a five-star experience every time. We hope you'll come back again soon.

Report
OT
Seattle
2 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great experience, it was our 4th time in this location. Our server Jay was fantastic and was able to provide some great insight on the menu and led us to some great choices. We will be back soon.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on February 9, 2020

Hi there - Thanks so much for a lovely five-star review. We are so pleased to hear how well Jay took care of you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
Seattle
9 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Food was good, but certainly not $70 steak good. Way overpriced for what it is.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 6 days ago

Hi there - We are sorry to have let you down on your recent visit at our Downtown location. Thank you for providing feedback about your experience as we value hearing from our guests. Have a wonderful week.

Report
OT
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined on February 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Was waited on by Jason. I decided to try one of the Featured seafood entrees. He recommended the Chilean Sea Bass. It was an unexpectantly good selection. Lots of interesting and intense flavors.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on February 6, 2020

Hello there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a five-star review. It's great to hear that Jason made the experience a positive one and that you loved the seafood selections. Hopefully, we'll see you again sometime.

Report
OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall1food1service5ambience1

Food was truly subpar, even when compared to the Daniels location in Bellevue.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on February 5, 2020

Hello there, we want to apologize for the disappointing experience. There's never an excuse for something like that and we appreciate you letting us know. We'd like to look into this further and get some more information. If you could send us your name, the name on the reservation, and the best way to contact you, we will reach out. Thank you for letting us know.

Report
C
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Joe from Salt Lake City was great! Made my birthday super fun.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on February 5, 2020

We're so glad to hear that! Thanks for deciding to celebrate your birthday with us. Have a great day :)

Report
KD
Seattle
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The service fee of $66 was so unnecessary in this restaurant. I would not have tipped so high, or maybe at all, had I seen this first.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on February 3, 2020

Hi Kathy - Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate hearing feedback from our customers. If you could let us know your name, the name on your reservation, and the best way to contact you and reference this review of our Downtown location, we will be in touch. Thank you!

Report
JW
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on January 29, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience5

I’m not sure I’d recommend to be honest. The atmosphere was incredible but the service was a little much. She was very nice, my water glass was never empty but it was like way, way over the too. Then my salmon came, a special by the way, and it was not good at all. It was super fishy...I was covering up it up with the mashed potatoes. Definitely not worth $62. Our guests loved it but I’m ‘meh’.

GM
1 review
Dined on January 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

High quality service and food. Lamb chops were excellent

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 30, 2020

Hello Gary, thanks for the five-star review! We're so glad you loved the lamb chops.

Report
BM
Orlando
1 review
Dined on January 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome filet!! Awesome!!!

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 30, 2020

Thanks for the awesome review! Hopefully, we'll see you again sometime.

Report
LC
Seattle
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

I thought I had made the reservation for Lake Union and it was actually downtown unfortunately. Service was very mediocre for a 20% surcharge that the waiter likely sees little of. Our bill was over $980.00 for seven people with one bottle of champagne. Ambiance was non existent. Will not chose to go there again.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 29, 2020

Hello Lisa, we're sorry to hear that this experience was a disappointing one. The service charge is distributed our team members in the form of wages, commissions, and benefits. As for our prices, we appreciate your feedback and will pass that along to our team. If you'd like to discuss this with us further, we'd be happy to see what we can do to make things right. Feel free to send us your full name, the name on your reservation, and the best way to contact you and we can be in touch.

Report
JH
Seattle
1 review
Dined on January 23, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

I should have asked during our dinner about the tofu preparation with the protein salad from the plant based menu. I thought it was a bit dry and flavorless. It is easy to season tofu, so I was surprised. It was fine when I cut up the pieces and mixed then with the salad and I suspect that is what the chef intended. It just left me thinking I should have chose something else on the menu.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 30, 2020

Hello Joyce, thank you for the review. We really appreciate your feedback about our plant based menu and will make sure we pass that along to our chef. Have a great day!

Report
B
Indiana
6 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time dining at Daniel's Broiler. I went in skeptical it could live up to its pricing, using as my benchmark St. Elmo's steakhouse in Indianapolis and El Gaucho here in Seattle - but it delivered.

My wife and I shared the Daniel's Delmonico steak with sprouts as a side. The steak was brilliant, and the sprouts (with pork belly) were outstanding as well.

For dessert we had the "deep dish chocolate chip cookie" and we both agreed it was probably the best dessert we've had at a restaurant, including two- and three-Michelin star restaurants we've enjoyed in Europe and Japan. It sounds a bit silly but the execution is great.

I will say the shrimp cocktail does not stand up to the legendary dish at St. Elmo's.

All in all we had a wonderful time and highly recommend it.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 22, 2020

Hi Brandon - We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed review of your dining experience with us. We are pleased to have served you and hope you will return again. Have a wonderful day.

Report
JG
1 review
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was predictably outstanding, even considering the fact that my wife and I are mostly vegetarian. But what stood out above the rest is the service that we were provided by Megan. She provided thoughtful recommendations and outstanding service throughout the visit. She was charming, funny, and perfectly attentive. Made for a great date night.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 20, 2020

Hi John - Thank you so much for a lovely five-star review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful date night and that Megan was so attentive and fun. It is our hope that you return again soon.

Report
F
Chicago
52 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a nice experience, but felt that the food was overpriced.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 20, 2020

Hi Fish - Thank you for leaving us a five-star review from your recent visit. We are happy to have served you and hope to see you again soon.

Report
MM
1 review
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience4

The server, Adam, was apparently new. The crab cake smelled horrible - like a cooked dead fish on the beach. I tried to talk my wife out of eating it but she said it was OK. Should have never come to the table.
- the server should have rejected it. The oysters on the 1/2 shell were shucked by a rookie. They were mashed up. The condiment ramekin was filled with horseradish with a dollop of cocktail sauce in the middle. Very little imagination - could have done with a small portion of the horseradish, fresh not from a bottle, just a little bit of cocktail sauce and then a vinaigrette and Tabasco. The Caesar salad was great and the beet salad was OK. The steak was excellent and the white king salmon was OK. Just didn't taste fresh. The asparagus was very good however the creamed spinach was 86'd by 5:30 PM. Make more.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 20, 2020

Hi Myron - We are so sorry to hear that your recent visit was so disappointing. It's important to us to wow our guests and we would like to make it right. If you could send us your name, the name on your reservation, and a way to contact you, we will reach out. Thank you.

Report
D
Los Angeles
20 reviews
Dined on January 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a pleasure to eat here

OT
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had possibly the best New York Strip I have ever had. The service was outstanding and they were more than willing to cork wines we brought. I will definitely be back soon!

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 12, 2020

We're so glad to hear that you loved the steak! Thanks for the fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report
C
Seattle
1 review
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Best steak I've had in a long time and the staff was friendly and attentive.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 14, 2020

Hi Chris - Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that your steak was amazing and our staff accommodated you so well. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
SA
1 review
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall1food1service3ambience1

Food was very common.
Wedge Salad lacked pizzazz. Boring.
Steak tough and chewy.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 10, 2020

Hello Susan, we're so sorry to hear that our food was disappointing. That's never what we want for our guests and we will make sure your feedback is passed along to our chef. We'd love a chance to make things right with you. If you could send us your name, the name on your reservation, and a way to contact you, we will reach out. We hope you have a good weekend.

Report
EB
Seattle
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience4

We arrived from lunch at 1:30. Our server seemed new or maybe hung over? She mumbled when she spoke and would trail off the end of her sentences. It was very odd. Our appetizer arrived after our meal, the explanation was that the order had gone to the wrong system. Our server apologized, left, came back and apologized again... it was all very strange. The appetizer was supposed to be removed from our tab but we later realized it wasn't. I would go back here as the food was good, but I would make sure we had a different server. For an upscale restaurant, even at the lunch hour, I would expect better service.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 4, 2020

Hello Erin, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that the service was so off during this visit and we're glad you let us know. We'll look into the matter further. We'd also like a chance to make things up to you and your husband. If you'd like to send us the name on your reservation, your full name, and a way to contact you, we will be in touch. Thanks again and have a good day!

Report
HN
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall1food3service1ambience1

Probably one of the worst experiences I've had here . Made reservations here for New Year's Eve I know it's a hectic day so I expected it to be a little
Behind. We got there on time checked in and were asked to sit and they'd come find and seat us. ONE HOUR PASSES. So my boyfriend has to go up there and ask and she said well we tried to come find you but couldn't mind you me and my boyfriend were sitting in the waiting area in the same spot for an hour. So she said shed seat us next realizing she had missed my name card( btw there system is awful when it comes to seating you for your table). The only reason I'm giving this place a one star is because of our server at dinner. He was very on top of things. However as we were leaving and paying the bill and late to our event and missed the countdown the SAME HOST tried to apologize about them being so behind .

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 3, 2020

Hello Huong, we're so sorry for this experience. We never want to frustrate our guests like that and we apologize that there was confusion on our end regarding your reservation. We've sent your contact information over to our team and will be in touch with you soon to see what we can do to make things up to you. We hope you have a good day!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall2food4service1ambience3

Mucho tiempo de espera aún con reserva

Report
OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience4

We came in for our New Year’s Eve dinner, party of 2, first time at this location. Our reservation was at 9:30 pm and we weren’t sat until 10 pm. We were starving. Our server seemed really tired and wasn’t on top of things (like what we’re used to at other Daniels locations). We didn’t get any bread (even if we sat down 30 mins late). My Caesar salad was nothing spectacular, in fact, the presentation was terrible. The only thing good about the experience was the steak! I don’t think I’ll be coming back to this location.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hello, we're so sorry to hear that we dropped the ball during this meal. It's always frustrating to get poor service and that's certainly not what we want for our guests. We will speak to our team about this so it doesn't happen in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Have a good day!

Report
CH
Seattle
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience3

This was the first visit to the Downtown location and both I and my wife were quite disappointed from multiple aspects. We ordered bacon wrapped scallops as an appetizer. The bacon surrounding the scallops was incredibly burnt and scallop(s) naturally overcooked leaving a burnt taste in our mouth's and could not eat them. We ordered the new york steak and ahi tuna for dinner, both were ok. The service was consistently slow throughout the evening. I would not recommend this location, however would recommend the location in Bellevue which I have dined several times.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hello Clay, we're so sorry to hear that we disappointing you and your wife. It's unfortunate that the scallops were overcooked and that the service was slow. We appreciate the feedback and will look to improve both in the future. We'd like to make things up to you. If you could send us your full name, the name on your reservation, and a way to contact you, we will be in touch.

Report
TD
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our food was amazing! I had the filet, ordered medium, and it was perfectly cooked and tasty. Everyone else (3 more people) at the table got the Ribeye and said that it was very tasty too. The wait staff is very accommodating and friendly. I prefer Daniel's over the Metropolitan Grill, I have consistently had good food without the stuffiness of the Met.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hello Traci, we're so glad to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your meal with us! Thanks for the fantastic review. Hopefully, we'll be seeing you again sometime.

Report
S
Seattle
5 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall2food2service4ambience1

We won't be back. Once again, this location falls short of the Daniels experience I've enjoyed and expect whether its Lake Union or Bellevue locations. True disappointment and rather surprising given the standard your other locations have set. Wilted salads, that taste like the lettuce was days old. Presentation of $80 steak will the blood/juices all over the plate with potatoes soaking in it when presented to table. Bread pudding for desert billed as 'warm'. No - was cold. Comes to a point where to continue to complain is embarrassing. When making the reservation, I requested a booth. When we were called to confirm, once again I requested a booth and the woman confirmed yes, you will have a booth. When we checked into the restaurant, the hostess said 'sorry there are no booths available", as she said that I glanced down to my reservation card where the word 'booth' was circled with a red pen. So after telling her that we made 3 requests in a booth, we waited 15 minutes and finally were taken to the booth. One of the hostesses (Alexandra) acted as if she the request was not made prior, completely ignoring what was written on the reservation card.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hello Susan, we want to sincerely apologize for the poor service and disappointing food during this visit. We will use this as an opportunity to address some things with our staff so that we can improve in the future. We understand you're frustration and would love a chance to make things right. If you could send us your full name, the name on your reservation, and the best way to contact you, we will reach out. Have a good day.

Report
S
New England
22 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Service was very good. Steaks came out as ordered three out of four. One was medium rare when ordered med well. Should have sent back but did not as that was still tasty.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 1, 2020

Hello there, thank you for the review. We're glad to hear that the service was good and apologize that the forth steak wasn't cooked as it should have been. We're always happy to take those back to the kitchen when that happens. Hopefully, we'll see you again sometime. Have a good day!

Report
MI
Seattle
6 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Food was cold for both of us. Restaurant is too stark and not warm and inviting.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 3, 2020

Hello Michael, we're sorry to hear that the food and the atmosphere were disappointing. We will pass your feedback on to our team and do what we can to improve for the future. Have a good day!

Report
M
Seattle
12 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2019
Overall3food4service5ambience5

Overall, the experience at this Daniel's was great. However, it's over-priced (compared to John Howie's, for example, who has better food at the same price), and their selection is smaller than the selection at other local steakhouses. French Onion Soup was outstanding. Creamed Spinach was a bit too sweet. Mashed potatoes were really good, but next time, I'd ask them to leave the cheese off. Service was great.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hello Mark, we're sorry to hear that this visit was a bit disappointing. We appreciate your feedback about our prices, selection, and our creamed spinach. We'll pass those comments on to our team as we're always looking to improve things. Have a good day!

Report
t
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2019
Overall2food5service2ambience3

Overall, it was a slow night and they were understaffed. We had to wait a long time to be seated (despite sitting at the bar and asking for our table well in advance), waited for bread, waited for wine while I ate my whole steak (which also had to be sent back because it was purple and cold and not medium rare which should be pink).

Net, the food was exceptional. The server (Sarah) was kind and informative and bartender was great (Noah), but they were understaffed resulting in long waits, not acceptable to me with a $300 dinner.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hello there, we want to apologize for the slow service that you received. There's never an excuse for that and we appreciate your feedback. We're glad the service and food overall were good but we'd still like to make things up to you. Can you send us your name, the name on your reservation, and a way to contact you? We'd love to reach out and see what we can do to make things right.

Report