Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle

4.3
137 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Located on the second floor of the Hyatt Regency Seattle, guests enjoy downtown views with live piano music, USDA Prime Steaks—the top two percent of all graded beef in the nation—as well as other traditional steakhouse favorites and our award-winning wine list. Our Rickhouse Whiskey Bar features a 36 barrel bourbon display wall and offers a wide selection of whiskey and other fine spirits from around the globe.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Treat dad to a USDA Prime steak at Daniel's Broiler for Father's Day!

Sunday, June 16, 2019

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 12:00PM - 1:00PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

What 137 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
BS
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 4

Usually my favorite steak house in Seattle, but maybe my worst visit to date. The steak and baked potato were good but by the time the waiter brought it to my table it was Lukewarm and borderline cold by the time I was done eating it. Again I love this place, but it wasn't a great visit.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 3 days ago

Hi there, BrianS. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us. We sincerely apologize that your meal was not to your liking. We're disappointed to know that we left you with this impression, so we do hope to redeem ourselves during your next visit, with speedier service and an excellent dining experience. Again, thank you for leaving your review.

Report
Helpful
OT
Seattle
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

They couldn’t get the Moscow Mule right. Really unfortunate. Overall pretty good, but over priced.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 3 days ago

Hi there. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do sincerely apologize that your Moscow Mule was not prepared to your liking. We hope to see you again for the chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit. Again, thank you for your feedback!

Report
Helpful
AT
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Fantastic. Great steak and enjoyed the cab recommendation.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 3 days ago

Hi there, AlisonT! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We're happy to know that you enjoyed your dining experience and we'll be looking forward to your next visit!

Report
Helpful
j
Las Vegas
14 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful food and service! There were five of us in our party and we all had a lovely time. I can’t wait to go back.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for this five-star love! We're so glad that your entire party enjoyed dining with us. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report
Helpful
OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined on May 15, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 5

Steak sandwich was just ok. Not much flavor in the filet. The popcorn shrimp was delicious!

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 3 days ago

Hi there. We're glad to know that you enjoyed the popcorn shrimp! We apologize that the flavor of your steak was not to your liking, but we do hope that you will join us again soon. We'd love a chance to hopefully exceed your expectations next time around! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Report
Helpful
E
Seattle
4 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

We attended the Mother’s Day brunch. I’m not a fan of buffets as I feel the quality suffers. I had gone to an Easter brunch in Bellevue where there were choices to select from a menu. That experience was excellent. To me this was overpriced for the quality of the food. The eggs Benedict yolks were hard, the prime rib was cold. The crab legs were ridiculously small that they weren’t even worth the effort. I will definitely stay away from buffets even at Daniels.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded 3 days ago

Hi, Eysha. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we would like the opportunity to look into this further. We pride ourselves on serving excellent food, so we'd like to have the chance to make this up to you, if possible. Would you please respond with the name on your reservation and your preferred method of contact? Again, we appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report
Helpful
CD
Seattle
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 3

We had reservations at this location yesterday for Mother's Day Brunch and we were very dissatisfied with the service and quality of food we received. First, we were seated and after waiting at least 10 minutes for someone to greet us, my husband finally talked to the man that was at the host stand and who had seated us to ask if anyone was going to come greet us and take our drink order. His response was "it's a buffet so you just go help yourself". I've been to Salty's many times for a buffet and was still greeted and had my drink order taken so that by the time I got my food, I would get my drink order around the same time I sat down to eat my meal. I do not understand nor appreciate the response from the Host, even if it's a buffet, it's proper etiquette to be greeted and welcomed. Finally, our waitress came and said that no one told her that we were seated so she was in the back doing prep work even though several employees had walked past us several times including the Host (who obviously didn't care). We ordered omelettes which the chef had to prepare and then we had to ask if they were ready (which I knew they were because I walked by where the chef places the cooked orders and saw that our 3 omelettes sitting there for a while so by the time we got them they were not very hot. My mother said the soy salmon tasted like it had gone bad, the potatoes O'Brien were super dry and the sausage was lukewarm at best. We had to seek our waitress just to get more creamer because it came in a very tiny little server and barely enough for our table. We've been to Daniel's many times in our lives but never to this location and we will never return here. The service and food was absolutely not on par with the other locations. Then, because this location is in Seattle, we were required to pay a 20% service charge but we did not feel the staff that helped us deserved it. We are completely disappointed in our experience at this location.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on May 15, 2019

Hi, CatherineD. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We do apologize that you did not receive the type of service nor the food quality that you've come to expect from us. We would love the opportunity to look into this further so that we can hopefully make it up to you. Would you please respond with the name on your reservation and your preferred method of contact, so that we can reach out to you directly?

Report
Helpful
KL
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

From the first server introduction to the final course of the meal, everything was superb!! Quintessential Daniels. The new hotel location is really pretty.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on May 15, 2019

Hey there, KathrynL! Thank you for this excellent feedback! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your entire dining experience with us, and we appreciate the feedback on our new location! We hope to see you again very soon to create more lasting memories.

Report
Helpful
JT
Seattle
6 reviews
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fabulous food. Great whiskey selection.

Report
Helpful
SM
1 review
Dined on May 8, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Beautiful dining room at tree foliage level with floor to ceiling windows. Like a tree house. Our service was lackluster at first as I had to go chase down the waiter to give our drink and food order, and it wasn’t a busy night. Service was perfect thereafter. The steak was beautifully seasoned and perfectly cooked. The field green salad had some old limp lettuce in it so was disappointing. The hollandaise sauce was not emulsified completely and not lemony. However, for a birthday treat they graciously comped a lava cake a la mode and reseated us to accommodate a hearing disability issue. Their whiskey bar staff and happy hour food rocked, especially the seared ahi. So, it is a very good restaurant but not perfect on the night we were there. We would return as they mostly got it right, except that they assess an automatic 20% service charge, regardless of the quality of service that night. We will not be returning for that reason alone.

Report
Helpful
TB
1 review
Dined on May 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Yes, we had a wonderful celebration lunch for a birthday. The food and service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
LV
1 review
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 4

Ok in a pinch but sub par overall for breakfast. Will not eat there again

Report
Helpful
OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined on May 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Always great

Report
Helpful
DW
Seattle
1 review
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 5

We paid about 75$ per steak, when we were served they came out black and tasting like charcoal. We ordered them medium. We asked to send the worst one back and the waitress treated us like we were stupid. Her response was 'it's an 1800 degree oven' like it was supposed to be black and taste burnt. I think it's their responsibility to be able to cook a steak properly in whatever oven they have. I have no qualms about sending an expensive steak back when its cooked improperly. The replacement steak took even longer than the first one and we ended up just taking it to go. My date didnt even eat with me at dinner because of it. Our bill came to 311$, they automatically added a 20 percent gratuity to our bill. The service wasn't even worth the gratuity.

I'll stick to Daniel's broiler in Bellevue if I return to Daniel's broiler at all. I dont care to be treated like I'm stupid by someone who is serving my food.

Report
Helpful
OT
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 5ambience 3

This is likely my last experience at Daniel’s. Was quite odd that the restaurant was mostly empty on a Saturday night at 730pm. The server was outstanding and service was good, almost annoyingly so when trying to converse. The reservation was for two people yet we were seated at a table set for four, had to wait for additional settings to be cleared. Uncalled for when the place was half empty and reservation was made 30 days prior. Food was well prepared and presented nicely. Absolutely unnecessary to spend $400 for two people to have a couple martinis, bring their own wine (corkage was reasonable I guess) then have some mashed potatoes (which were delicious) and a steak. I'll be going back to Canlis or enjoying two different meals out for the same price at a different steakhouse in Seattle. Overall just felt like an overpriced hotel/corporate restaurant. Far too many other more deserving restaurants in Seattle to check out.

Report
Helpful
SV
Seattle
25 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was an anniversary dinner and was truly a special occasion experience. Service was great; friendly but not intrusive. Accomodating for gluten free diners. The ribeye was delicious and the mesquite flavor came through as the sear added a nice textural element. My wife loved it and she usually isn't a steak fan. She ordered bacon wrapped scallops, Dungeness crab legs and we shared a side of asparagus. All tasted great and were perfectly cooked. We arrived a little early for our reservation and enjoyed a Happy Hour drink while we waited. The Diamond Knot IPA was great and the Drumheller Cab was a nice HH selection. When our table was ready the Host brought a tray and carried our drinks to the table. My first experience with Daniel's Broiler [I was a Chandler's Crabhouse guy] but I will definately return.

Report
Helpful
J
1 review
Dined on April 26, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 3

Mostly, I'm stunned at the price relative to the experience. And it's not like I don't got to a lot of restaurants in different cities - and enjoy a very nice evening out.

I haven't been to Daniel's for a few years, but we had some time before our show started. The restaurant (in the Hyatt Regency) was cavernous, and very lightly populated at 6:15 to 7:30. There was nothing special - no intimacy, no wow factor, and in the end, seemed like any other hotel restaurant, with slightly better food.

But the prices? Ridiculous. For two of us - two drinks, two appetizers, one steak, and one side was $187. No wine, nothing out of the ordinary. Is this the end result of the costs associated with doing business in Seattle?

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you so much for reaching out with your feedback, James! We're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by this latest visit with us and we apologize for letting you down. We will be taking this feedback to heart and hope we have a chance to really wow you in the future. If you would like to talk further, please don't hesitate to reply with your name, reservation name, and your preferred method of contact. We'd be happy to connect you with our team. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
k
1 review
Dined on April 24, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

The waiter seemed inexperienced. He would forget things and seemed unsure of himself. But he was also polite and apologized every time he forgot something.

The food was good but nothing special. Especially the steak. the good thing was that the portions were decent and we had left overs for the next night.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on April 29, 2019

Thanks very much for giving us another shot. :) Hope you have a great week!

Report
Helpful
BE
Seattle
5 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

I love the other two Daniel's... Went to this one Easter, found out they were having brunch. The brunch was just fair. The salad section of the bar was virtually nonexistent. I've seen better - just about everywhere else. The basics, meats and potatoes, were fine.

Here're the things that really got me: First, when we sat, neither our waitress nor or hostess had mentioned the buffet. So we were left to fend for ourselves on figuring that out. I had to ask, twice, to have food items refilled on the bar. I asked for coffee, but wasn't at my table when it was delivered. The waitress didn't automatically leave cream, and was out of sight for a while before I could ask for it. But, NO PARKING VALIDATION, REALLY? The only reason we went to the Hyatt was for Daniels. Given we were a party of four, with two cars, that added $36 to the tab.

Daniels in Bellevue - we love you! Hyatt? Won't be back.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on April 24, 2019

Hello Bruce, thanks so much for the feedback! We're very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed by our Easter Brunch. We never want you to feel this way and we'd like to apologize for the letdown. We will be taking your feedback to heart and hope we have a chance to make it up to you in the future. If you would like to talk further, please reply here with your name, reservation name, and your preferred method of contact. We'd be happy to connect you with our management team. Thanks again!

Report
Helpful
OT
Seattle
2 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 4

Easter brunch at a Steakhouse you would think would include, oh, I don’t know, steak of some kind. But you would be wrong. $60 each for scrambled eggs and prime rib? Really?

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on April 24, 2019

Thank you so much for reaching out with this feedback! We're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our Easter Brunch menu. We never want you to feel this way and we apologize for letting you down. We will be taking this feedback to heart and hope we have a chance to really wow you in the future. If you would like to talk further, please don't hesitate to reply with your name, reservation name, and your preferred method of contact. We'd be happy to connect you with our team. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fabulous food and impeccable service. The

Report
Helpful
r
Seattle
4 reviews
Dined on April 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful restaurant, it was my first time at this location. Staff was friendly, accommodating, and made our night that much better. Food was incredible as always.

Daniel's Broiler - Downtown Seattle
Responded on April 24, 2019

Hey Renee, thanks for leaving us this glowing review! We're so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful evening at this location. We will be sure to let our Downtown team know all of your kind praise. Thanks again and have a great day!

Report
Helpful
FL
Seattle
1 review
Dined on April 18, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service (with 20% service fee). Delicious three course dinner with good price during restaurant week. The creme brûlée was my favorite! Beautiful dining area in new location in downtown Seattle. Restaurant is in Hyatt hotel so there are many tourists and visitors. One drawback is no validated parking for dining. I would come back for breakfast, restaurant week, or happy hour with live music in the bar and lounge.

Report
Helpful
CT
Seattle
2 reviews
Dined on April 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Came for Seattle restaurant week. WE brought our youngest daughter and her fiancee and we all had a wonderful time..Loved the food. Our waitress ,Darelle, was pleasant and more then professional. All the staff was wonderful from the moment we walked in to the time we left.

If you are coming for dinner, be prepared to spend some money. If we hadn't been there for restaurant week it would have cost us a lot more then we paid. That being said , we will be back.

Report
Helpful
OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined on April 16, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Apple crumble was very soggy but the steak tasted great.

Report
Helpful
T
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on April 16, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

I went for Restaurant Week. Ordered the Filet Medallions, medium rare. The food was good, not great. Steak temperature was tepid. The dessert was TERRIBLE. I have had better creme brulee at dinner buffets.

Report
Helpful
BJ
Tahoe
2 reviews
Dined on April 14, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 3

We came into Daniels Broiler knowing they had an extensive wine list and looked forward to having some suggestions for pairing with our meal. When we were seated I asked our server if I could speak with the Sommelier. The server did not understand what a Sommelier was, so I asked for someone who could help me with a wine choice and he said they didn't have anyone. So we were off to a bad start. We did end up ordering a bottle we were familiar with, but @ 4x the price we pay at retail we considered it excessive.

We did drive in from Woodinville to partake of the Seattle Restaurant Week and try something new. We were happy to find DB had a plant based menu because our daughters are vegetarian though a little disappointed not to have a veg option on the SRW specials. The food was fantastic and the service was good but for the reasons above I would probably not come back.

Report
Helpful
GW
1 review
Dined on April 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service, food, and ambiance. We had a great experience.

Report
Helpful
D
Los Angeles
13 reviews
Dined on April 11, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Everything was great... steak was a bit over cooked but the service and everything else made up for it.

Report
Helpful
SS
Seattle
1 review
Dined on April 10, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Only negative is that we felt a bit talked down to as we were there specifically for the Seattle Restaurant Week special offer. Our server was nice enough, just not very engaging - abrupt, I would say. The food was fantastic. The ambiance and everything else about the venue were wonderful. We will dine again at Daniel's for sure.

Report
Helpful
SS
1 review
Dined on April 9, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Server not friendly, but maybe she had a bad day 😔. No croutons for Caesar salad ... they had run out, but we’re making more ... but it would take a couple hours 😮. No offer to substitute salad. Entre was tasty, tho!

Report
Helpful
B
Seattle
1 review
Dined on April 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Daniel's has always been a Go To place . Want a Great meal with impeccable service ? Yep. And for me, this new location is perfect. Will be one of the Seattle restaurants that I will visit frequently.

Report
Helpful
d
Seattle
9 reviews
Dined on April 8, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

I was a bit disappointed in the restaurant week menu. Just seemed very safe and just ok. It was quite underwhelming. The meal was good but nothing spectacular as you would expect from a Daniel's Broiler restaurant. I'd come back any other time and order off the menu. I'd skip it next year during restaurant week.

Report
Helpful
m
Seattle
5 reviews
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Our seat location and food was very good 😊 our waiter did a very good job. The salmon was done just right. We will be back

Report
Helpful
SH
Seattle
1 review
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

I booked Daniel's to celebrate my parent's 57th wedding anniversary. Also it was close the Paramount Theater where my parents were going after dinner. The Hyatt Regency is a cold and uninviting hotel. But this is not about the hotel; however, Daniel's motif was not much better. When we were greeted, the hostess did ask about the annivesary, but that was it. It was never brought up again during dinner. Although are reservations were for four people and we checked in as four, they sat us in a booth setuip for six. Please take a moment before sitting your guests and prep the table for the correct number of patrons. As for the food, no complaints. The appetizers were great. Oysters Rockefeller and fried artichoke hearts. Very tasty. The soups and salads were good as well. The dinners: salmon, filet/oscar, and prime ribs were fine as well. The entrees were very expensive relative to the service and experience. For the same money, go to The Metropolitan Grill. You'll enjoy yourselves and your meal more. Daniel's also added a 20% service charge as a tip. That explains why the service was just okay. No need to hussle when you know you're already making 20% of a $400+ bill. Overall, would I go back? Probably not. There are other steak joints in the city that offer a better experience for the money.

Report
Helpful
l
1 review
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food and service was all good. The sound level was a little on the high side.

Report
Helpful
Y
Minneapolis
32 reviews
Dined on April 3, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 4

There was maybe four other tables at 6:30pm for our reservations. We were seating in a table for two next to the window and right beside another diner. WITH LOTS of room where we could have had a more private spot. The server was very kind and the water and soda for my son was filled often and everyone was polite. My roast chicken looked great but the sauce was super salty. My sons Daniel size filet was pricey and seemed to be over cooked for medium and there was Parmesan on the mashed potatoes that was not listed on the menu. The desert bread pudding was dry and flavorless but the cheesecake was great. The problem was that my cappuccino was brought out about 10-12 minute before my dessert even showed up. The server was so busy with a table of 7... again keep in mind only 3 other tables in total, that it felt like she forgot our dessert. When I finally got her attention to ask, she said sorry the kitchen was backed up... WHAT???? The restaurant was empty... sigh. And my cappuccino was cold. A frustrating end to a dinner that could have been great.

Report
Helpful
MD
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

Food was mediocre and steak was not cooked correctly. Didn’t have the wine we wanted from their wine list. Service was good, but overall way overpriced for the what we received.

Report
Helpful
AM
Seattle
1 review
Dined on March 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner at Daniel's Broiler at the Hyatt. Everything from our appetizer, perfectly prepared steaks, to our delicious dessert were delightful. Thankyou for a great evening!

Report
Helpful
CM
1 review
Dined on March 27, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 3

Several times we were approached with fooditems we had not ordered; wrong ordered food arrived but was corrected promptly. Our wine was gratis due to the ordering issues. Apologies were made by several staff. Our steak salad was very delicious though.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4